

15

State of Misconsin 2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE

LRB-2179/1 CMH:kjf:kf

2015 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 33

May 1, 2015 - Introduced by Senators Risser, Erpenbach, Miller, C. Larson, Wanggaard, Vinehout, L. Taylor, Nass, Hansen, Bewley, Wirch, Lassa, Ringhand and Lazich, cosponsored by Representatives C. Taylor, Berceau, Hebl, Nygren, Milroy, Goyke, Hesselbein, Sargent, Shankland, Kolste, Kleefisch, Bowen, Kitchens, Danou, Mason, A. Ott, Zepnick, Jorgensen, Spreitzer, Thiesfeldt, Subeck, Knodl, Considine, Riemer, Petryk, Murphy, Ohnstad, Hintz and Quinn. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison men's basketball 1 $\mathbf{2}$ team on its outstanding 2014-15 basketball season and reaching the NCAA 3 championship game. 4 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin Badgers had a record of 36 wins and 4 5 losses during the 2014-15 basketball season, the most wins in program history, and earned their 17th consecutive trip to the NCAA men's basketball tournament; and 6 7 Whereas, the Badgers earned a number-one seed for the first time in history, 8 after claiming the 2015 Big Ten Tournament Championship and the regular-season 9 conference title; and 10 Whereas, Frank Kaminsky was named the Most Outstanding Player by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association and the Associated Press National Player of the 11 12 Year, and Frank Kaminsky was named to the All-Big Ten first team, Sam Dekker to the second team, and Nigel Hayes to the third team and Coach Bo Ryan was named 13 Coach of the Year, while four Badgers, including Vitto Brown, Duje Dukan, Nigel 14

Hayes, and Aaron Moesch made the Academic All-Big Ten team; and

 $\mathbf{2}$

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger men's basketball team defeated Coastal Carolina, Oregon, North Carolina, University of Arizona, and previously unbeaten University of Kentucky to reach the NCAA national championship game; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Madison Badger men's basketball team exemplifies that "the whole is greater than the sum of its parts," in recognition for its exemplary sportsmanship and superior athletic performance; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature hereby commends and congratulates Jordan Smith, Zak Showalter, Matt Ferris, Aaron Moesch, Nigel Hayes, Jordan Hill, Traevon Jackson, Duje Dukan, Sam Dekker, T.J. Schlundt, Josh Gasser, Ethan Happ, Bronson Koenig, Vitto Brown, Riley Dearring, and Frank Kaminsky and coaches Bo Ryan, Greg Gard, Gary Close, and Lamont Paris on reaching the 2015 NCAA Final Four; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Bo Ryan and his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Barry Alvarez.

18 (END)