

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

2017 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 40

April 26, 2017 – Introduced by Senators TESTIN, JOHNSON and VINEHOUT, cosponsored by Representatives SHANKLAND, BERCEAU, BOWEN, HINTZ, SINICKI, TUSLER, WACHS, ZEPNICK, THIESFELDT and SUBECK. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: congratulating the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys varsity
2	basketball team for winning the 2017 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic
3	Association Division I State Championship title.
4	Whereas, the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys basketball team defeated
5	Arrowhead High School 85–56 in the Division I State Championship game; and
6	Whereas, by winning the 2017 WIAA Division I State Championship with a
7	score of 85 to 56, the Panthers earned their third-consecutive WIAA Division I title,
8	and their sixth state championship in school history; and
9	Whereas, the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys basketball team, led by their
10	three co-captains, Joey Hauser, Drew Blair, and Beau Rosenthal, demonstrated
11	outstanding athletic performances and displayed a high caliber of sportsmanship
12	throughout the 2016–17 season; and
13	Whereas, co-captains Joey Hauser, Drew Blair, and Beau Rosenthal led the
14	team, joined by exceptional teammates Keon'te Williams, Spencer Tyson, Sam

1	Simmons, Andrew Erdman, Drew Cullen, Brennan Mueller, Logan Lewis, Max
2	Hofmeister, Brett Ehr, Michael Vitt, and Tom Hatton; and
3	Whereas, Joey Hauser led the Panthers with 33 points and 21 rebounds, was
4	awarded Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) first team All-State,
5	first Team All-Conference, and Conference Player of the Year, was named to first
6	team in the Associated Press All-State Boys Basketball Team, and averaged 24
7	points, 11 rebounds, and 4 assists per game; and
8	Whereas, Drew Blair was also awarded WBCA first team All-State, first Team
9	All-Conference, and Conference Player of the Year and averaged 19 points, 4
10	rebounds, and 2 assists per game; and
11	Whereas, Beau Rosenthal was awarded Honorable Mention All-Conference
12	and averaged 12 points, 3 rebounds, and 4 assists per game; and
13	Whereas, the team was managed by a talented coaching staff, led by head coach
14	Scott Anderson and assistant coaches Kraig Terpstra, Dave Hauser, Jon Krull, Bruce
15	Weinkauf, Travis Kornowski, Brandon Desmet, and Phil Jagielo; and
16	Whereas, seniors Beau Rosenthal and Keon'te Williams will be continuing their
17	academic careers at Lakeland University of Wisconsin, Spencer Tyson will be
18	continuing his academic career at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and
19	Logan Lewis will be continuing his academic career at the University of
20	Wisconsin–Parkside; and
21	Whereas, the entire community of Stevens Point takes pride in the integrity the
22	team has shown in its accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
23	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
24	Wisconsin Legislature commend the Panthers, their coaching staff, and their
25	student athletes on winning the 2017 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association

3

Division I State Championship title and wish continued success to the student
athletes in their future endeavors.

(END)