

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

2017 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 41

April 26, 2017 – Introduced by Senators RISSER, SHILLING, WIRCH, HANSEN, RINGHAND, DARLING and VINEHOUT, cosponsored by Representatives C. TAYLOR, BERCEAU, WACHS, SINICKI, SHANKLAND, HEBL, MILROY, GANNON, SPREITZER, ANDERSON, KESSLER, TRANEL, ZAMARRIPA, CROWLEY, PETRYK, THIESFELDT, POPE, OHNSTAD, STEINEKE, ZEPNICK, SUBECK, BALLWEG, HESSELBEIN, NOVAK, SARGENT and VRUWINK. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison Men's Basketball
2	team on its 2016–2017 season and advancing to the NCAA Sweet 16.
3	Whereas, the Wisconsin's Men's Basketball team had a record of 27 wins and
4	10 losses, ranking the fifth highest total wins in school history; and
5	Whereas, Wisconsin holds the longest active streak in the Big Ten for reaching
6	at least 20 wins for the 11th straight season; and
7	Whereas, the Badgers made 19 consecutive appearances to the NCAA
8	tournament holding the fifth longest streak in NCAA history; and
9	Whereas, Wisconsin was the only school to advance to the Sweet 16 for four
10	consecutive seasons and appeared six times in the last seven years; and
11	Whereas, since 2000, the Badgers have defeated the most No. 1 teams in the
12	nation including this year's No. 1 seed, Villanova, in the NCAA tournament; and
13	Whereas, Ethan Happ was named a third-team All-American and a first-team
14	All-Big Ten; Nigel Hayes finished his career third in scoring at Wisconsin and a

1 selection in third-team All-Big Ten; Bronson Koenig was a second-team All-Big Ten $\mathbf{2}$ selection and finished his career tenth on UW's all-time scoring list; therefore, be it 3 **Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the Wisconsin Legislature hereby commends and congratulates D'Mitrik Trice, Brevin Pritzl, 4 $\mathbf{5}$ Aleem Ford, Zak Showalter, Matt Ferris, Aaron Moesch, Nigel Hayes, Jordan Hill, 6 Charles Thomas IV, T.J. Schlundt, Khalil Iverson, Ethan Happ, Bronson Koenig, 7 Alex Illikainen, Vitto Brown, Michael Ballard, and Andy Van Vliet and Coaches Greg 8 Gard, Lamont Paris, Howard Moore, and Joe Krabbenhoft along with other staff 9 members whose contribution to the team helped make this a successful season; and, 10 be it further

- 2 -

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
resolution to Head Coach Greg Gard, his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic
Director Barry Alvarez.

14

(END)