14

LRB-5670/1 RAC:emw

2017 SENATE RESOLUTION 6

March 15, 2018 - Introduced by Senators Hansen and Cowles. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: honoring the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay women's basketball 1 2 team. 3 Whereas, the Green Bay Phoenix women's basketball team captured its 16th 4 tournament championship in the last 21 seasons by defeating Wright State 62-44 in 5 the championship game of the Horizon League Championship; and 6 Whereas, the 29 wins by the Phoenix are the most wins since the 2012-13 season and the third time under Head Coach Kevin Borseth that the team has won 7 29 games or more in a season; and 8 9 Whereas, senior Jessica Lindstrom was named to the All-Horizon League First 10 Team, All-Defensive Team, and All-Academic Team and finished with an average of 15.3 points and 10.4 rebounds per game, making her the only player to average a 11 12 double-double in the entire league; and 13 Whereas, senior Allie LeClaire was named to the All-Horizon League Second

Team and was the Horizon League Tournament MVP, redshirt junior Jen Wellnitz

13

1 was awarded Defensive Player of the Year, and Karly Murphy earned a spot on the 2 All-Freshman Team; and 3 Whereas, Green Bay also won its 20th-consecutive regular-season conference championship and will be appearing in its 18th NCAA tournament; now, therefore, 4 5 be it 6 **Resolved by the senate, That** the members of the Wisconsin Senate hereby commend and congratulate the Green Bay Phoenix women's basketball team on 7 another very successful regular season and wish them the best of luck in the NCAA 8 9 tournament; and, be it further 10 **Resolved, That** the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this resolution to Head Coach Kevin Borseth, his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director 11 12 Charles Guthrie.

(END)