LRB-2611/1 CMH:ahe

## 2019 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 25

April 3, 2019 - Introduced by Representatives Stubbs, C. Taylor, Allen, Anderson, Ballweg, Bowen, Emerson, Considine, Crowley, Fields, Gruszynski, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Milroy, Mursau, Myers, Kolste, Neubauer, Pronschinske, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, Tauchen, Tranel, Tusler, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Cabrera, cosponsored by Senators Risser, Bewley, Darling, Hansen, Jacque, Miller, Olsen, Ringhand, L. Taylor and Wirch. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Ţ	<b>Relating to:</b> congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey
2	team for winning the 2019 NCAA Division I National Championship title.
3	Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team defeated the University of
4	Minnesota 2-0 in the NCAA Division I National Championship game; and
5	Whereas, by winning the 2019 NCAA Division I Hockey National
6	Championship, the UW-Madison women's hockey team won their fifth overall title
7	in twenty seasons; and
8	Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team demonstrated exceptional
9	athletic performances and displayed a remarkable degree of sportsmanship
10	throughout the 2019 season; and
11	Whereas, Sophia Shaver, assisted by Presley Norby and Nicole LaMantia, gave
12	UW-Madison a 1-0 lead, followed by Annie Pankowski's goal, assisted by Abby
13	Roque, for a team-leading 28 goals; and
14	Whereas, UW-Madison women's hockey had a masterpiece season, having
15	been ranked number 1 and finishing with a record of 35-4-2 for the season; and

 $\mathbf{2}$ 

Whereas, Kristen Campbell, who was named Most Outstanding Player of the Frozen Four, pitched her eleventh shutout of the season and allowed zero goals in three NCAA tournament games; and

Whereas, the team was led by outstanding cocaptains Annie Pankowski and Sophia Shaver, and joined by teammates Kristen Campbell, Natalie Buchbinder, Mikaela Gardner, Sam Cogan, Maddie Rowe, Sophie Shirley, Delaney Drake, Jesse DeVito, Maddie Rolfes, Alexis Mauermann, Caitlin Schneider, Maddie Posick, Britta Curl, Abby Roque, Brette Pettet, Nicole LaMantia, Mekenzie Steffen, Kyleigh Hanzlik, Emily Clark, Grace Bowlby, Nikki Cece, Cami Kronish, Presley Norby, and Breanna Blesi; and

Whereas, the team was managed by a brilliant coaching staff, led by Head Coach Mark Johnson, Associate Head Coach Dan Koch, Assistant Coach Jackie Crum, Volunteer Coach Mark Greenhalgh, Athletic Trainer Stefanie Arndt, Strength Coach Jim Snider, Assistant Director of Athletic Communications A. J. Harrison, and Director of Operations/Equipment Manager Sis Paulsen; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison community, South-Central Wisconsin, and the whole state take pride in the integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the UW-Madison women's hockey team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2019 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National Championship title and wish the student-athletes continued success in their bright futures.