1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

LRB-3548/1 CMH:cdc

2019 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 61

June 18, 2019 – Introduced by Representatives C. Taylor, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Billings, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Emerson, Hesselbein, Kerkman, Kolste, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, B. Meyers, L. Myers, Neubauer, Pope, Rodriguez, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, VanderMeer, Vining and Zamarripa, cosponsored by Senators Bewley, Ringhand, Risser, Schachtner, Carpenter, Miller, Hansen, Shilling, Erpenbach, Smith, Wirch, Larson, L. Taylor, Bernier, Johnson and Darling. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: commending and congratulating Justice Shirley Abrahamson on her retirement after 43 devoted years of service.

Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson was appointed to Wisconsin's high court

by Democratic Governor Patrick Lucey in 1976 and retired this year after 43 years of serving on the highest court in Wisconsin; and

Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson shattered glass ceilings in Wisconsin by becoming the first woman to serve as a justice on the Wisconsin State Supreme Court when appointed in 1976, she is the longest–serving member in the high court's history, she also was the first woman to serve as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court from August 1996 to April 2015; and

Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson has served as the Chair or President of several national organizations, won numerous awards, and received 15 honorary degrees from universities across the country, and is nationally recognized as a preeminent Justice and prolific legal scholar; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson has recognized and ensured that individual rights are offered appropriate constitutional protections and that the function of the court is to protect those inalienable rights; now, therefore, be it *Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That* the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature hereby commend and congratulate Justice Shirley Abrahamson on her retirement after 43 devoted years of service to the people of the State of Wisconsin.

8 (END)