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AN ACT to amend 70.365 of the statutes; relating to: sending notice of changed

assessment by email.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under current law, if a person's property tax assessment has changed from the
previous year's assessment, the assessor is required to provided a notice of changed
assessment to the taxpayer by ordinary mail at least 15 days before the meeting of
the board of review or board of assessors so that the taxpayer has sufficient notice
to file an objection to the assessment.  This bill requires the assessor to also send the
notice by email if the taxpayer's email has been filed with the assessor.  In addition,
the bill requires that the assessor send the notice of changed assessment 30 days,
rather than 15 days, prior to the meeting of the board of review or board of assessors.

For further information see the local fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1.  70.365 of the statutes is amended to read:

70.365  Notice of changed assessment.  When the assessor assesses any

taxable real property, or any improvements taxed as personal property under s. 77.84
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(1), and arrives at a different total than the assessment of it for the previous year,

the assessor shall notify the person assessed if the physical or email address of the

person is known to the assessor, otherwise the occupant of the property.  However,

the assessor is not required to provide notice under this section if land is classified

as agricultural land, as defined in s. 70.32 (2) (c) 1g., for the current year and previous

year and the difference between the assessments is $500 or less.  If the assessor

determines that land assessed under s. 70.32 (2r) for the previous year is no longer

eligible to be assessed under s. 70.32 (2r), and the current classification under s.

70.32 (2) (a) is not undeveloped, agricultural forest, productive forest land, or other,

the assessor shall notify the person assessed if the assessor knows the person's

physical or email address, or otherwise the occupant of the property, that the person

assessed may be subject to a conversion charge under s. 74.485.  Any notice issued

under this section shall be in writing and shall be sent by ordinary mail and by email,

if an email address is filed with the assessor, at least 15 30 days before the meeting

of the board of review or before the meeting of the board of assessors in 1st class cities

and in 2nd class cities that have a board of assessors under s. 70.075, except that, in

any year in which the taxation district conducts a revaluation under s. 70.05, the

notice shall be sent at least 30 days before the meeting of the board of review or board

of assessors.  The notice shall contain the amount of the changed assessment and the

time, date, and place of the meeting of the local board of review or of the board of

assessors.  The notice shall also include the following: “Under Wisconsin law,

generally, the assessor may not change the assessment of property based solely on

the recent arm's length sale of the property without adjusting the assessed value of

comparable properties in the same market area.  For information on the assessment

of properties that have recently sold, visit the Internet site of the Department of
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Revenue at ... (Internet site address).”  However, if the assessment roll is not

complete, the notice shall be sent by ordinary mail and by email, if an email address

is filed with the assessor, at least 15 30 days prior to the date to which the board of

review or board of assessors has adjourned, except that, in any year in which the

taxation district conducts a revaluation under s. 70.05, the notice shall be sent at

least 30 days prior to the date to which the board of review or board of assessors has

adjourned.  The assessor shall attach to the assessment roll a statement that the

notices required by this section have been mailed and emailed, if the email address

is filed with the assessor, and failure to receive the notice shall not affect the validity

of the changed assessment, the resulting changed tax, the procedures of the board

of review or of the board of assessors or the enforcement of delinquent taxes by

statutory means.  After the person assessed or the occupant of the property receives

notice under this section, if the assessor changes the assessment as a result of the

examination of the rolls as provided in s. 70.45 and the person assessed waives, in

writing and on a form prescribed or approved by the department of revenue, the

person's right to the notice of the changed assessment under this section, no

additional notice is required under this section.  The secretary of revenue shall

prescribe the form of the notice required under this section.  The form shall include

information notifying the taxpayer of the procedures to be used to object to the

assessment.  The form shall also indicate whether the person assessed may be

subject to a conversion charge under s. 74.485.

(END)
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