LRB-2647/1 CMH:skw

2025 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 30

April 16, 2025 - Introduced by Senators Roys, Dassler-Alfheim, Pfaff, Cabral-Guevara, Drake, Habush Sinykin, Hesselbein, Jacque, Keyeski, Ratcliff, Spreitzer, Wall and Wirch, cosponsored by Representatives Mayadev, Hong, J. Jacobson, Stubbs, Snodgrass, Arney, Bare, Behnke, Clancy, Desmidt, Dittrich, Emerson, Fitzgerald, Hysell, Joers, Johnson, Kaufert, Kirsch, Knodl, Madison, McCarville, Miresse, Murphy, O'Connor, Phelps, Roe, Sheehan, Sinicki, Snyder, Subeck, Tenorio, Wittke, Anderson and Palmeri. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1 **Relating to:** congratulating the University of Wisconsin–Madison women's hockey 2 team on winning the 2025 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National 3 Championship. 4 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team won a 5 record-breaking eighth title after securing the 2025 NCAA Division I Women's 6 Hockey National Championship by defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes 4-3 in 7 overtime during a thrilling Frozen Four championship game; and 8 Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team demonstrated exceptional 9 perseverance, talent, and sportsmanship throughout a dominant 2024-25 season: 10 and 11 Whereas, Kirsten Simms scored the winning goal after a rebound in overtime 12 and equalized the game on a penalty shot with 18.9 seconds left in regulation; and 13 Whereas, Ava McNaughton stopped 18 of 21 shots to secure her 36th win of 14 the season, the most of any Wisconsin netminder in school history; and

Whereas, the team was led by co-captains Caroline Harvey and Casey O'Brien
and alternate captains Lacey Eden and Laila Edwards, who were joined by
teammates Finley McCarthy, Kelly Gorbatenko, Hannah Halverson, Ava Murphy,
Cassie Hall, McKayla Zilisch, Maggie Scannell, Claire Enright, Grace Bickett,
Marianne Picard, Bella Vasseur, Vivian Jungels, Emma Venusio, Laney Potter,
Sarah Wozniewicz, Katie Kotlowski, Ava McNaughton, Chloe Baker, and Quinn
Kuntz; and
Whereas, the team was managed by brilliant coaches and staff, led by head
coach Mark Johnson, associate head coach Dan Koch, assistant coach Jackie Crum,
goaltender coach Mark Greenhalgh, equipment manager Mia Commendatore,
athletic trainer Stefanie Arndt, assistant director of brand communications A.J.
Harrison, program assistant Eric Steffen, assistant strength and conditioning
coach Paul Valukas, and director of operations/video coordinator Justin Kakuska;
and
Whereas, the UW-Madison community and our state take pride in the
integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its historic
accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of
the Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the University of
Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team and coaching staff, athletic department,
and chancellor on winning the 2025 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National
Championship title and wish the student-athletes, coaches, and staff continued
success on and off the ice.

(END)