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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s

state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005
Effective Date: February 3, 2005*
Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Insurance
Rules adopted amending s. Ins 8.49 Appendix 1, Wis.

Adm. Code, relating to small employer uniform employee
application for group health insurance.
Finding of emergency

The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency
exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The federal government will be implementing Medicare
Part D insurance for prescription drugs effective January 1,
2006, therefore s. Ins 8.49 Appendix 1 needs to reflect
accurately the status of applicants as it relates to Medicare Part
D enrollment.  Further, also effective January 1, 2006, the
federal government requires employers or insurers to provide
an employee specific information on how to elect insurance
coverage after a qualifying event subsequent to have waived
coverage in accordance with 45 CFR 146.117 (c) (1).  In order
to have these changes in place prior to January 1, 2006, the
rule must be promulgated to add these modifications.

These changes include the ability for the employee
applicant to indicate that they carry Medicare Part D effective
January 1, 2006 and amends one sentence in the notice portion
of the wavier section of the application to add information on
how an employee following a qualifying event may opt to
obtain health insurance coverage after initially waiving
insurance coverage through the small employer group health
insurance plan.
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Publication Date: November 4, 2005
Effective Date: November 4, 2005
Expiration Date: April 3, 2006

Natural Resources (5)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 46 and 47, relating to the
administration of the Managed Forest Law and the
Wisconsin Forest Landowner Grant Program.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules that
govern the managed forest law.  The state legislature has
delegated the appropriate agencies rule−making authority to
administer the managed forest law.  State statute governing
the managed forest law was amended on July 25, 2005 with
an initial applicability date of June 1, 2005. This order is
designed to bring the administrative code into conformity
with the state statutes that govern the managed forest law.
Normal rule−making procedures will not allow the
establishment of changes necessary to continue processing
petitions for managed forest law received from June 1, 2005
to July 1, 2005 (petition deadline). Failure to process these
petitions will result in a delay in designation of these lands as
managed forest land and a failure to meet statutory deadlines
for designation.

Publication Date: October 4, 2005
Effective Date: October 4, 2005
Expiration Date: March 3, 2006
Hearing Date: October 19, 2005

2. Rules were adopted amending s. NR 19.50 relating to
hunter education fees.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate fees for safety education courses.  The state
legislature has delegated to the appropriate agencies rule
making authority to regulate and administer these courses.
The department must comply with state law.  This order is
desired to provide necessary funding for continuation of our
quality hunter education program.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the changes by
September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in lost
revenues and added expense to the hunter education program.

Publication Date: October 3, 2005
Effective Date: October 3, 2005
Expiration Date: March 2, 2006
Hearing Date: October 12, 2005

3. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 47 relating to
relating to master logging certification scholarships.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate and administer grant programs.  The State legislature
has delegated responsibility for rule−making to the
Department of Natural Resources.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the rules in

time to allocate funds during this fiscal year.  Failure to
establish rules during FY06 will result in lost revenues and
added expense to the Master Logger Certification program.

Publication Date: November 15, 2005
Effective Date: November 15, 2005
Expiration Date: April 14, 2006
Hearing Date: December 12, 2005

4. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 25 relating to
commercial fishing for lake trout in Lake Superior.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The waters of Lake Superior were not part of the extensive
off−reservation treaty rights litigation known as the Voigt
case.  The parties stipulated that the Lake Superior rights
would be dealt with, to the extent possible, by agreement
rather than litigation.  This rule represents the implementation
of the most recent negotiated amendments to the agreement
between the State and the Red Cliff and Bad River Bands.  In
order to comply with the terms of the agreement, the State
must change its quotas and commercial fishing regulations at
the earliest possible date.  Failure by the State to do so will not
only deprive state fishers of increased harvest opportunities
available under the agreement, but could also jeopardize the
agreement, putting the entire Lake Superior fishery at risk of
litigation.

Publication Date: December 15, 2005
Effective Date: December 15, 2005
Expiration Date: May 14, 2006
Hearing Date: January 13, 2006

5. Rules were adopted revising s. NR 10.25, relating to the
issuance of turkey hunting permits.

Plain Language Analysis
This rule change will allow the department to issue turkey

tags remaining after the initial permit drawing in accordance
with state statute, which is first−come, first−served.
Additionally, this rule updates code language to accurately
describe how permits are currently issued (by zone and by
time period) and establishes that no person may obtain more
than one turkey carcass tag per day.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 25, allowed the department to utilize

the procedure under s. 227.24, Stats., to promulgate rules
implementing s. 29.164, Stats., for the period before the date
on which permanent rules take effect, but may not exceed the
period authorized under s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), Stats., the
department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.

Publication Date: February 13, 2006
Effective Date: March 1, 2006
Expiration Date: July 29, 2006
Hearing Date: April 10, 2006 

[See Notice this Register]
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Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004

Effective Date: April 19, 2004*

Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Revenue (2)

1. Rule adopted revising s. Tax 2.50 and creating s. Tax
2.502, relating to the computation of the apportionment
fraction by multistated public utilities and
telecommunications companies.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that a rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to prescribe the method to be used
for apportioning the apportionable income of the following
business entities:

•  interstate public utilities, other than telecommunications
companies, and

•  interstate telecommunications companies.
It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to provide the

method of apportionment to be used by interstate public
utilities.

Publication Date: December 5, 2005
Effective Date: December 5, 2005
Expiration Date: May 4, 2006
Hearing Date: February 27, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising chs. Tax 1 and 2, relating to
electronic funds transfer, information returns and wage
statements.

The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists
and that a rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

Section 71.775, Stats., requires pass−through entities to
file and pay withholding tax on the income allocable to their
nonresident members. The department has determined that in
order to administer this tax in a cost effective manner, it is
necessary to require pass−through entities to file and pay the
tax by electronic means. The department has also determined
that, in the interest of cost effectiveness, a requirement to file
Form WT−7, Employers Annual Reconciliation of Wisconsin
Income Tax Withheld from Wages, should also be put in place.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to remove the
threat of revenue loss to the state as a result of pass−through
entities filing or paying withholding tax or employers filing
Form WT−7 by other than electronic means.

This rule is therefore promulgated as an emergency rule
and shall take effect upon publication in the official state
newspaper. Certified copies of this rule have been filed with
the Secretary of State and Revisor of Statutes, as provided in
s. 227.24, Stats.

Publication Date: December 28, 2005
Effective Date: December 28, 2005
Expiration Date: May 27, 2006
Hearing Date: March 15, 2006

[See Notice this Register]
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Technical College System Board

Rules were adopted creating ch. TCS 17, relating to
training program grants.

Finding of emergency
The Wisconsin Technical College System Board finds that

an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting an emergency
is:

The 2005 Wis. Act 25 (the 2005−2007 biennial budget bill)
created the training program grants under Wis. Stats. §§
20.292 (1) (eh) and 38.41.  An annual appropriation of
$1,000,000 GPR in was established.  These funds were
provided to address a critical need of Wisconsin employers for
skills training and education necessary to protect the state’s
economic vitality and health.

The Act requires the WTCS Board to promulgate rules to
implement and administer the awarding of these grants.  The
Board has begun the permanent rule making process for
establishing administrative rules for these grants, but cannot
complete the required public hearing and review of these rules
prior to the middle of the fiscal year.  Therefore, to ensure that
business in need of skills training and other education may
access these services as soon as possible and that appropriated
funds are distributed to technical college districts for this
purpose, emergency administrative rules must be established
immediately.

Publication Date: October 7, 2005
Effective Date: October 7, 2005
Expiration Date: March 6, 2006
Hearing Date: January 4, 2006

Transportation

A rule adopted amending s. Trans 325.02, relating to
motor carrier safety regulations.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is on
October 1, 2005 the new hours−of−service regulations
became effective.  The new regulations apply to drivers and
carriers transporting property and passengers by commercial
vehicles in interstate commerce.  It is imperative the industry
operates under a single set of regulations.  Additionally, the
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance out−of−service criteria
is directly formulated to the new hours−of−service.  Also
pursuant to 49 CFR 350.331(d), States are required to adopt
compatible laws or rules to remain eligible for Motor Carrier
Safety Assistance Program funding.  Currently, Wisconsin
receives approximately $4 million in such funding and that
funding could be in jeopardy if Wisconsin does not implement
these changes immediately.  The Motor Carriers Association
has urged the Department to implement these changes as it
will help ensure uniformity and increased highway safety.

Publication Date: December 1, 2005
Effective Date: December 1, 2005
Expiration Date: April 30, 2006
Hearing Date: February 13, 2006

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
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regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

Workforce Development
(Public Works Construction Projects, Chs.

DWD 290−294)
Rules adopted amending ss. DWD 290.155 (1) and DWD

293.02 (1) and (2), relating to the adjustment of thresholds for
application of prevailing wage rates and payment and
performance assurance requirements.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. The adjustment
of the thresholds for the application of the payment and
performance assurance requirements avoids imposing an
additional administrative burden on contractors for the same
reason. If these new thresholds are not put into effect by
emergency rule, the old thresholds will remain effective for
approximately six to seven months, until the conclusion of the
permanent rule−making process. The thresholds are based on
national construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be
changed by the rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 27, 2005
Effective Date: January 1, 2006
Expiration Date: May 31, 2006
Hearing Date: February 15, 2006
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Scope statements

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board

Subject

Creating a rule provision clarifying that any act of fraud
committed in the licensing process is misconduct which
subjects the perpetrator to discipline or denial of licensure.
Individuals have previously utilized forged or altered
documents to represent that they have a license, when they do
not.  In addition, schooling documents have been altered to
represent that the credential holder had obtained a certain
amount of schooling when the licensee had not.  This rule will
address these situations, creating a penalty for using forged or
altered documents during the licensing process.

Policy analysis

Objective of the rule.  Currently, s. 454.15 (2) (a), Stats.,
allows the board to “revoke, limit, suspend or refuse to issue
or renew” a license if a material misstatement is made in an
application for licensure or renewal.  In addition, s. BC 3.04
provides that falsification of any information on an
establishment application may be grounds for denial,
suspension or revocation of the establishment license and
subject the person to a $100−$5,000 fine, imprisonment of
10−90 days, or both, under s. 454.16, Stats.

In these statutes and rules, penalties may only be enforced
for actions that have taken place during the application
process.  In order to more thoroughly address this problem,
this rule would address the use of forged or altered documents
during the licensing process for all of the barbering and
cosmetology professions.  This rule would provide the board
with a mechanism to address situations that do not occur
during the application process.

Existing policies relevant to the rule, new policies
proposed and analysis of policy alternatives

Section BC 3.04 addresses falsification of information in
establishment applications.  Section 454.15 (2) (a), Stats.,
allows the board to “revoke, limit, suspend or refuse to issue
or renew” a license if a material misstatement is made in an
application for licensure or renewal.

This rule would expand on this to create a violation for
using forged or altered documents during the licensing
process, not just the application process, and would clarify
that penalties exist for situations where forged or fraudulent
documents are used.

Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Comparison with federal regulations

There is none.

Entities affected by the rule

Barbering and cosmetology licensees and applicants who
produce or provide forged or fraudulent documents in the
licensing process.

Staff time required

300 hours.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
Subject

Creating a rule change, amending s. BC 4.03, to require a
minimum standard for the amount of pressure to be used when
sanitizing instruments during steam sterilization.
Policy analysis

Objective of the rule.  As recommended by the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the objective is to
create a time−pressure−temperature relationship for
instruments used in the barbering and cosmetology field that
eliminate all disinfections.  Currently, Wisconsin rules and
statutes do not contain the pressure component that is
necessary to carry this out.

Sterilization is the process which destroys all forms of
microbial life, including large numbers of highly resistant
bacterial endospores.  The recommended methods of
sterilization of instruments and items used in the practice of
electrology are FDA approved dry heat sterilizers or
autoclaves.  These methods are standardized and can be
routinely monitored for effectiveness.

In general, reusable medical devices or patient−care
equipment that enters normally sterile tissue or the vascular
system or through which blood flows should be sterilized
before each use.  Sterilization means the use of a physical or
chemical procedure to destroy all microbial life, including
highly resistant bacterial endospores.  The major sterilizing
agents used in facilities are a) steam autoclaving, b) ethylene
oxide gas, and c) dry heat.

Disinfection means the use of a chemical procedure that
eliminates virtually all recognized pathogenic
microorganisms but not necessarily all microbial forms (e.g.,
bacterial endospores) on inanimate objects.  There are three
levels of disinfection:  high, intermediate, and low.
High−level disinfection kills all organisms, except high levels
of bacterial spores, and is effected with a chemical germicide
cleared for marketing as a sterilant by the Food and Drug
Administration.  Intermediate−level disinfection kills
mycobacteria, most viruses, and bacteria with a chemical
germicide registered as a “tuberculocide” by the
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).  Low−level
disinfection kills some viruses and bacteria with a chemical
germicide registered as a hospital disinfectant by the EPA.

In order to kill the necessary levels of disinfections with an
autoclave with steam, three components are required, which
are heat exposure at a minimum of 121 deg Celsius (250 F),
except for 30 minutes of time at 15 pounds per square inch
(PSI) of pressure.  Currently within Wisconsin rules and
statutes the essential pressure component is missing.
Existing policies relevant to the rule, new policies
proposed and analysis of policy alternatives

Section BC 4.03 sets requirements for heat and time when
steam sterilizing using moist heat.  Section 4.03 (1) currently
reads:  BC 4.03 (1)

Sterilization in ss. BC 4.07, 4.09 and 4.10 shall be
accomplished by use of a dry heat or steam sterilizer cleared
for marketing by the food and drug administration, used
according to manufacturer’s instructions.  If steam
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sterilization, moist heat, is utilized, heat exposure shall be at
a minimum of 121° C., F., for at least 30 minutes.  If dry heat
sterilization is utilized, heat exposure shall be at a minimum
of 171° C., 340° F., for at least 60 minutes.

A requirement related to the amount of pressure used
during this process does not exist.

Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 454.08 (4), Stats.

Comparison with federal regulations

There is none.

Entities affected by the rule

Barbering and cosmetology licensees.

Staff time required

300 hours.

Insurance

Subject

Regarding filing of insurance forms and insurance policy
language simplification and affecting small businesses.

Objective of the rule.  A statement of the objective of the
proposed rule:

Consider changes in administrative rules required to adopt
the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
(NAIC) uniform insurance rate and form transmittal
documents and uniform product coding and changes to the
certification used to report insurance policy language
simplification.

Policy analysis

Currently Chapter Ins 6 requires the use of rate and form
transmittal documents which are unique to the State of
Wisconsin and for use in Wisconsin only.

It is the intent to adopt language and conform to the
nationally accepted uniform insurance form listing and to
modify rules relating to rate and form transmittal documents.
By adopting the uniform language and form file listings
Wisconsin will require insurers to utilize the nationally
accepted uniform insurance rate and form transmittal
documents.  All other states will be utilizing these uniform
rate and form transmittal documents.  Failure to require the
use of these uniform rate and form transmittal documents will
result in confusion and duplication efforts for insurers and
may constitute grounds for the imposition of federal
regulation.

Statutory authority

The statutory authorities for this rule are sections 601.42,
631.20, 631.22 and 631.61, Wis. Stat.

Staff time required

100 hours and no other resources are necessary.

Comparison with federal regulations

There is currently no federal regulation of insurance form
and rate listing. Use of uniform listing forms will eliminate the
need for federal regulation in the future.

Entities affected by the rule

Insurance companies, rate service organizations and third
party filers contracted to file forms, rates and insurance policy
certification forms for insurance companies.

Transportation

Subject
Objective of the rule.  This rule making will amend ch.

Trans 327, relating to intrastate motor carrier safety
regulations, to bring them into conformity with the most
recent changes to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations which went into effect on January 1, 2006.
Amendment of this rule will assure State Patrol inspectors and
troopers are enforcing the most recent Federal Motor Carrier
Safety regulations for intrastate carriers.  This proposed rule
will keep the Department in compliance to qualify for
continued Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program
(MCSAP) funding.
Policy analysis

The Department annually updates Trans 327 to keep
current with the most recent changes to the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations, 49 CFR parts 40, 382, 390, 391,
392, 393, 395, 396, and 397.

The rule will continue to reference the use of the most
recent North American Standard Out−of−Service criteria for
placing vehicles and drivers out−of−service.
Entities affected by the rule

Intrastate Motor Carriers and law enforcement will be
affected by this rule.
Statutory authority

Sections 110.07, 110.075, 194.38 and 194.43, Stats.
Staff time required

It is estimated that state employees will spend 100 hours on
the rule making process, including research, committee
meetings, drafting and conducting public hearings.

Workforce Development

Subject
Wages exempt from levy for delinquent unemployment

insurance contributions or benefit overpayments.
Policy Analysis

Section 108.225, Stats., allows the Department to
administratively collect debts owed under the unemployment
insurance program by levy upon any property belonging to the
debtor. In this section, debt means a delinquent contribution,
a benefit overpayment, an assessment due to a person making
a false statement or representation to obtain benefits in the
name of another person, or any liability of a 3rd party for
failure to surrender to the Department property or rights to
property subject to levy.

Generally, in the case of benefit overpayments, an
individual debtor is entitled to an exemption from levy of 80%
of the debtor’s disposable earnings. An exception provides
that the debtor’s disposable earnings are totally exempt from
levy if the debtor’s wages are below the poverty line
established under 42 USC 9902 (2) for a household of the
debtor’s size or the levy would cause that result. The proposed
rule will prescribe a methodology for application of this
exception.

Any employing unit that aids and abets a claimant in
committing an act of concealment of a material fact relating
to the claimant’s eligibility for benefits may be required to
forfeit an amount equal to the amount of the benefits the
claimant improperly received as a result of the concealment.
In the case of forfeitures imposed on an employing unit, an
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individual debtor is entitled to an exemption from levy of the
greater of (1) a subsistence allowance of 75% of the debtor’s
disposable earnings; (2) an amount equal to 30 times the
federal minimum hourly wage for each full week of the
debtor’s pay period; or (3) in the case of earnings for a period
other than a week, a subsistence allowance computed so that
is equivalent to the weekly exemption using a multiple of the
federal minimum hourly wage. The proposed rule will
prescribe the multiples of the federal minimum wage for use
in the case of earnings for a period other than a week.
Statutory authority

Sections 108.225, 108.14 (2), and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Entities affected by the rule
Unemployment insurance program debtors

Comparison with federal requirements
There are no federal requirements on the changes in the

proposed rules.
Staff time required

90 hours.



Page 12 February 28, 2006WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 602

Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Nursing Home Administrator Examining Board

On February 15, 2006, the Nursing Home Administrator
Examining Board submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),

Stats.
The proposed rule−making order relates to continuing

education.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on March
16, 2006 at 9:45 a.m. in Room 121A at 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Legal Counsel,

(608) 266−0495.
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 06−009]
(reprinted from 2/15/06, Wis. Adm. Register)

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed rule that consolidates,
reorganizes, and clarifies current rules related to animal
diseases and movement.  This rule also changes current rules
related to aquaculture, poultry disease monitoring, Johne’s
disease control, intrastate movement of sheep and goats, and
fairs and exhibitions, and makes other technical changes to the
rules.

DATCP will hold five public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Wednesday, March 22, for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Animal Health at the
address below or by e−mail to hearingcommentsAH@
datcp.state.wi.us.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Animal Health, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911,  Madison, WI 53708. You can also
obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4883 or emailing
Melissa.mace@datcp.state.wi.us. Copies will also be
available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home
To provide comments or concerns relating to small

business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing−impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by February 28, 2006, by writing Melissa Mace,
Division of Animal Health, 2811 Agriculture Drive, Madison,
WI  53708−8911, telephone 608−224−4883.  Alternatively,
you may contact the DATCP TDD at 608−224−5058.
Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations
Tuesday February 28, 2006
7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Dept. of Natural Resources
West Central Region Headquarters
Room 158/185
1300 W. Clairemont Ave
Eau Claire, WI  54701

Wednesday, March 1, 2006
11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
University of Wisconsin Marathon County
Lecture Hall 180
518 South 7th Ave
Wausau, WI 54401

Wednesday, March 1, 2006
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Fox Valley Technical College
Room A161A
1825 North Bluemound Drive
Appleton, WI 54914

Monday, March 6, 2006
1 p.m. to 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Prairie Oak State Office Building
Board Room
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53708

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule consolidates, reorganizes and clarifies
Wisconsin’s current animal health and disease control rules,
so that the rules will be easier to read and understand.  This
rule does not significantly alter the substance of the current
rules, except that this rule:

 Provides more cost−effective disease monitoring options
for small poultry producers who cannot easily participate in
the national poultry improvement plan.

 Adopts federal standards for voluntary Johne’s disease
testing and herd management, and expands producer
eligibility for reimbursement of testing and herd management
costs (based on the availability of federal funding).

 Requires official individual identification of sheep and
goats sold or moved within this state, consistent with federal
standards (slaughter animals are exempt, if neutered or under
12 months old).  This change will facilitate exports of
Wisconsin sheep and goats.

 Strengthens and clarifies disease control standards related
to fairs and livestock exhibitions, including organized swap
meets, which can spread serious disease if not properly
managed.  This rule clarifies the responsibilities of exhibition
organizers and exhibitors.

 Coordinates animal health rules with Wisconsin’s new
livestock premises identification law.  For example,
certificates of veterinary inspection must include livestock
premises identification numbers if any.  This rule does not
expand current premises registration requirements or
sanctions.

 Modifies current regulations related to fish farms, fish
imports and fish health.  This rule eliminates the requirement
of an annual health certification for fish farms.  This rule
streamlines and clarifies current fish import requirements,
and creates a $50 fee for a fish import permit.  DATCP must
approve a fish health certificate before a person imports fish,
or introduces fish to waters of the state, based on that health
certificate.

 Updates the current list of reportable diseases (deletes 4
diseases).

 Makes minor technical changes in current rules related to
farm−raised deer.

 Makes minor updates and technical changes to other rules,
as necessary.
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Statutory Authority
Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07 (1) and (10), 95.18, 95.19,

95.197, 95.20, 95.22, 95.23, 95.25, 95.26, 95.27, 95.30,
95.32, 95.33, 95.35, 95.36, 95.37, 95.38, 95.41, 95.42, 95.43,
95.45, 95.46, 95.48, 95.49, 95.50, 95.51, 95.55, 95.57, 95.60,
95.65, 95.68, 95.69, 95.71, 95.715 and 95.72, Stats.

Statute Interpreted:  s. 93.07 (10), 95.18, 95.19, 95.197,
95.20, 95.22, 95.23, 95.25, 95.26, 95.27, 95.30, 95.32, 95.33,
95.35, 95.36, 95.37, 95.38, 95.41, 95.42, 95.43, 95.45, 95.46,
95.48, 95.49, 95.50, 95.51, 95.55, 95.57, 95.60, 95.65, 95.68,
95.69, 95.71, 95.715 and 95.72, Stats.

DATCP has broad general authority to adopt rules
interpreting statutes under its jurisdiction (see s. 93.07 (1),
Stats.).  DATCP is specifically authorized to adopt rules to
protect the health of animals in this state, and to prevent,
control and eradicate communicable diseases among animals.

Background
The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including
programs to control diseases affecting domestic animals,
humans and wild animals.  DATCP does the following things,
among others:

 Monitors for disease outbreaks.
 Regulates the import, sale and movement of animals to

prevent the spread of serious diseases.
 Regulates animal identification and tracking, vaccination,

disease testing, records and reporting.
 Regulates animal−related businesses, including animal

markets, animal dealers, animal truckers, farm−raised deer
herds and fish farms.

 Certifies the disease status of animal herds or flocks, to
facilitate sale, movement and export of animals.

 Conducts disease investigations, issues quarantines,
condemns animals affected with serious contagious diseases,
and pays indemnities to owners of certain condemned animals
(as provided by statute).

 Serves as the state clearinghouse for certificates of
veterinary inspection and other health certificates issued in
connection with the import or movement of animals.

 Responds to disease emergencies and bio−security threats.
 Coordinates animal health programs with the United

States department of agriculture, animal and plant health
inspection service (“federal bureau”).

DATCP has adopted extensive rules, under chs. ATCP 10
and 11, Wis. Adm. Code, related to animal disease and
movement.  These rules provide the foundation for Wisconsin
animal disease control programs.  This rule consolidates,
reorganizes and clarifies the current rules, so that the rules will
be easier to read and understand.

This rule does not significantly alter the substance of the
current rules, except as noted below.  This rule does not
change current rules related to animal markets, dealers, or
truckers (ch. ATCP 12, Wis. Adm. Code), except that this rule
makes minor technical changes to those rules.

Key Rule Changes
Rule Reorganization
This rule consolidates current rules contained in chs. ATCP

10 (animal diseases) and ATCP 11 (animal movement) into a
single new ch. ATCP 10 (animal diseases and movement).
The new rule is organized by animal species.  This will make
it much easier for affected persons to find and understand the
rules that apply to them.  The redraft simplifies and clarifies
current rules, eliminates redundant material, and improves

internal consistency.  This rule does not change the substance
of the current rules, except as provided below.

New Options for Poultry Producers

This rule provides new, more cost−effective, disease
monitoring options for small poultry producers.  Current rules
restrict the sale or movement of poultry or eggs for breeding,
hatching or exhibition unless producers are enrolled in the
national poultry improvement program.  But the national
program is designed mainly for large poultry operations, and
may not be cost−effective for small operations.  This rule
provides more cost−effective alternatives for small
producers.  These voluntary alternatives may result in more
disease monitoring and market access by small producers.

Under this rule, a flock owner who is not enrolled in the
national poultry improvement program may nevertheless sell
or move poultry for breeding, hatching or exhibition if the
flock is enrolled as a Wisconsin tested flock or Wisconsin
associate flock.  A flock may be enrolled as a Wisconsin tested
flock if the flock owner tests annually for pullorum, fowl
typhoid and, in the case of turkeys, Mycoplasma
gallisepticum.  A flock may be enrolled as a Wisconsin
associate flock if it consists entirely of birds obtained from a
Wisconsin tested flock.  There is no charge to enroll in either
program.  DATCP will issue certificates that flock owners can
use to document enrollment.

State−Federal Consistency

This rule coordinates state disease testing and certification
programs with federal programs, to ensure consistent state
and federal standards where possible.  These technical
changes will eliminate conflicting regulatory requirements,
and will have no adverse impact on Wisconsin producers.  The
technical changes will facilitate disease control and animal
movement, and will have no adverse impact on disease
control.

Johne’s Disease; Voluntary Testing and Herd Management

Johne’s disease is a serious and widespread disease that
affects Wisconsin’s dairy and cattle industries.  The disease
also affects goats.  Wisconsin has a voluntary program for
Johne’s disease herd testing, herd classification and herd
management.  This rule changes the Wisconsin program, so
that it will be consistent with federal program standards.  This
will help ensure the continued availability of federal funds.

Based on the availability of federal funds, this rule expands
producer eligibility for reimbursement of costs related to
voluntary Johne’s disease testing and herd management.
Under current state rules, a producer may claim
reimbursement of testing costs only, and then only if the
producer participates in the Johne’s disease herd
classification program.  Under this rule, producers may also
claim reimbursement of costs for herd risk assessments, herd
management plans and herd vaccination.

A producer is eligible for cost reimbursement under this
rule, regardless of whether the producer participates in
Wisconsin’s herd classification program for Johne’s disease.
Participation in the herd classification program is voluntary,
but may facilitate sales of cattle under current state law.
Under this rule, a producer who chooses to participate in the
herd classification program must have a herd risk assessment
and management plan (per federal standards).

This rule simplifies current standards for Johne’s disease
sample collection and testing (per federal standards), and
gives participating producers more testing and management
options.  These changes may encourage more voluntary
testing and herd management.  This rule preserves the
confidentiality of Johne’s disease herd records, per current
law.
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Johne’s Disease Reactors
Under current rules, an animal that tests positive for

Johne’s disease must be permanently identified as Johne’s
positive.  This rule removes that requirement.  The federal
program does not require reactor identification, nor do a
majority of other states.

Johne’s Disease; Certified Veterinarians
Under this rule, DATCP may reimburse producers for

Johne’s disease herd risk assessments, herd management
plans and vaccinations, but only if the work is done by
veterinarians who complete training provided by DATCP.

Sheep and Goats; Identification
This rule requires official individual identification of sheep

and goats sold or moved within this state, consistent with
federal standards (slaughter animals are exempt, if neutered
or under 12 months old).  This change will facilitate exports
of Wisconsin sheep and goats.

Fairs and Exhibitions; Disease Control
This rule strengthens and clarifies disease control

standards related to fairs and exhibitions, including organized
swap meets, which can spread serious diseases.  This rule
clarifies the responsibilities of exhibition organizers and
exhibitors.

Under this rule, a “fair” means a state, county or district
fair.  An “exhibition” means an organized fair, swap meet,
rodeo, trail ride, show or other organized event at which
animals owned by different persons are brought together from
different premises and exhibited on the same premises.  An
“exhibition” does not include any of the following:

 An animal market or animal dealer premises (animal
markets and dealers are currently regulated under ch. ATCP
12).

 An exhibition operated by an institution accredited by the
American association of zoological parks and aquariums.

 A wild animal exhibition operated pursuant to a permit
from the Wisconsin department of natural resources.

Under this rule, a person who exhibits an animal at a fair or
exhibition must do all of the following:

 Comply with current applicable requirements related to
the movement and exhibition of animals (disease testing,
etc.).  This rule does not change current requirements.

 Provide all of the following to the organizer of the fair or
exhibition:

  The exhibitor’s name and address.
  Identification of the animals exhibited, including number,

type and description.
  Documentation to show compliance with applicable

animal health requirements related to animals shown at fairs
or exhibitions (this rule does not change current
requirements).

  The livestock premises code, if any, of the premises from
which the animals originate.

Under this rule, the organizer of a fair or exhibition must
do all of the following:

 Take reasonable steps to ensure that exhibitors comply
with their disease control obligations (see above).

 Review and keep copies of exhibitor information (see
above).  The organizer must keep copies for at least 5 years,
and must make them available to the department for
inspection and copying upon request.

 Appoint a licensed veterinarian to do all of the following
on behalf of the organizer, if the fair or exhibition lasts for
more than 24 hours:

 Conduct a daily inspection of the exhibited animals.
 Review exhibitor information (see above).
Livestock Premises Codes
This rule coordinates animal health rules with Wisconsin’s

new livestock premises identification law.  For example,
certificates of veterinary inspection must include livestock
premises codes, if any.  This rule does not expand current
premises registration requirements or sanctions.

Certificates of Veterinary Inspection
This rule updates and standardizes current requirements

related to certificates of veterinary inspection.  Under this
rule:

 All certificates are valid for 30 days (90−day validity for
animals imported to fairs or exhibitions is eliminated).

 Certificates must include livestock premises codes, if any.
 A certificate must include relevant herd certification

numbers, if the certificate represents an animal originates
from a certified disease−free herd.

Fish Farms; Annual Health Certificate
Under current rules, fish farms in this state must file an

annual health certificate with DATCP.  A veterinarian or
qualified inspector must issue the certificate, based on an
inspection of the fish farm.  This rule eliminates the annual
health certificate requirement, which will save an average of
$200 per year for each fish farm operator.

Fish Imports
This rule modifies current requirements related to live fish

imports to this state.  Under current rules and this rule, a
DATCP import permit is required (there are limited
exceptions).  DATCP must grant or deny an import permit
within 30 days after DATCP receives a complete application.

Under current rules, an import permit expires on December
31 of the year in which it is issued.  Under this rule, an import
permit expires one year from the date on which it is issued,
unless DATCP specifies an earlier expiration date in the
import permit.  Under current rules, there is no fee for a fish
import permit.  This rule sets a fee of $50 per import permit.

Under current rules, a health certificate issued by a
qualified fish health inspector must accompany every import
shipment.  Under this rule, the health certificate must also be
included with the import permit application.  DATCP must
approve the health certificate before it issues the import
permit.  DATCP may set an import permit expiration date that
conforms to the expiration date of the health certificate.

Under current rules and this rule, a health certificate must
be based on one of the following:

 An inspection of the fish farm from which the import
shipment originates.  Under this rule, this type of health
certificate expires one year after it is issued (unless DATCP
specifies an earlier expiration date).  The health certificate
must include the name and address of the fish farm operator,
the name and address of the fish farm, and the fish farm’s
livestock premises code if any.

 An inspection of the import shipment itself.  Under this
rule, this type of health certificate expires 30 days after it is
issued (unless DATCP extends the expiration date).  The
health certificate must describe the source and contents of the
inspected shipment.

This rule clarifies that a person may not import fish or fish
eggs based on an expired health certificate.

Fish Introduced into Waters of the State
Under current rules, no person may introduce fish or fish

eggs to waters of the state unless a qualified fish health
inspector issues a health certificate for those specific fish or
fish eggs, or for the fish farm from which they originate.  A
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fish farm health certificate, if any, must be issued no earlier
than January 1 of the year prior to the year in which the fish
are introduced into waters of the state.

This rule changes current rules related to fish health
certificates required for the introduction of fish or fish eggs
into waters of the state, so that those rules are consistent with
rules for health certificates related to fish imports.  Under this
rule:

 DATCP must approve the health certificate before the
person introduces the fish or fish eggs into waters of the state.
DATCP must grant or deny approval within 30 days after the
health certificate is filed with DATCP.  If the fish or fish eggs
are being imported from another state, DATCP may grant
approval when it issues an import permit for those fish or fish
eggs (see above).

 The health certificate must be based on one of the
following:

 An inspection of the fish farm from which the fish or fish
eggs originate.  This type of health certificate expires one year
after it is issued (unless DATCP specifies an earlier expiration
date).  The health certificate must include the name and
address of the fish farm operator, the name and address of the
fish farm, and the fish farm’s livestock premises code if any.

 An inspection of the fish or fish eggs.  This type of health
certificate expires 30 days after it is issued (unless DATCP
extends the expiration date).  The health certificate must
describe the inspected fish or fish eggs, and must identify the
source from which they originate.

  A person may not introduce fish or fish eggs to waters of
the state based on an expired health certificate.

Fish Health Certificate Forms

Under current rules, a fish health certificate must be issued
on a form provided by DATCP.  The form may specify
information to be included in the health certificate.  This rule
clarifies that the form may require certain lab test results, to
support the conclusions stated in the health certificate.  Health
certificate requirements are orders reviewable in contested
case proceedings under ch. 227, Stats., unless they are
adopted by rule.

Qualified Fish Health Inspectors

Under this rule, as under the current rule, fish health
certificates must be issued by qualified fish health inspectors.
This rule clarifies that the following individuals are
considered qualified fish health inspectors unless disqualified
by DATCP:

 An individual who is currently certified by the American
fisheries society as a fish health inspector or fish pathologist,
and who has completed fish health inspection training
approved by DATCP.

 An individual who is currently authorized by a state to
conduct official fish health inspections in that state, and who
has completed a fish health inspection training program
approved by DATCP.

 A Wisconsin certified veterinarian who has completed a
fish health inspection training program approved by DATCP.

 For purposes of an action taken outside this state, any
accredited veterinarian.

Under this rule, DATCP may disqualify a fish health
inspector for cause, including violations of this rule or the
issuance of unreliable health certificates.  The state
veterinarian may issue a disqualification notice on behalf of
DATCP.  The notice must specify the reason for
disqualification.

Qualified Fish Health Laboratories
Fish health tests required under this rule must be performed

by qualified laboratories.  This rule clarifies that the following
laboratories are considered qualified laboratories unless
disqualified by DATCP:

 A laboratory approved by the federal bureau for purposes
of disease testing related to interstate movement of fish or fish
eggs.

 A laboratory approved by DATCP.
 A federal or state veterinary diagnostic laboratory.
Under this rule, DATCP may disqualify a fish health

laboratory for cause, including violations of this rule or
unreliable test results.  The state veterinarian may issue a
disqualification notice on behalf of DATCP.  The notice must
specify the reason for disqualification.

Farm−Raised Deer
This rule modifies current rules related to farm−raised deer.

Among other things, this rule does the following:
 It requires persons collecting chronic wasting disease test

samples to submit those samples for testing within 10 days
after they are collected.

 It clarifies and updates standards and procedures that apply
under the (renamed) chronic wasting disease herd status
program, including standards and procedures related to the
suspension, revocation and reinstatement of enrollment.

 It changes the deadline for reporting escaped farm−raised
deer from 48 hours to 24 hours after the escape is discovered.

Circus, Rodeo and Menagerie Animals
This rule clarifies that imports of circus, rodeo and

menagerie animals must comply with import requirements
that apply to other animals of the same species, as well as any
special requirements that apply to circus, rodeo and
menagerie animals.

Reportable Diseases
This rule deletes, from the current list of diseases that must

be reported to DATCP within 10 days, the following diseases:
 Leptospirosis
 Atrophic rhinitis of swine
 Porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome
 Transmissible gastroenteritis (swine)
Technical Changes
This rule makes a large number of technical and drafting

changes.  These changes have little or no substantive impact.
Fiscal Impact

The rule changes will have no fiscal impact on local
government, but it will have a slight fiscal impact on DATCP.

 This rule will have little net impact on DATCP revenues
or workload, except that this rule will cause a slight increase
in workload under the aquaculture and poultry disease control
programs.

 This rule will expand reimbursement of producer costs for
Johne’s disease testing and herd management, but the
increased reimbursement will be financed with federal funds.

 This rule creates a $50 fee for a fish import permit.  DATCP
estimates that this fee will generate approximately $5,000 in
program revenue to help support program activities related to
fish farms, fish imports and fish health certification.

 This rule requires DATCP, for the first time, to review and
approve health certificates related to fish imports and the
introduction of fish to waters of the state (current rules require
health certificates but do not require DATCP approval).  This
increased workload will have an associated cost of $5,400 and
will be handled by current staff.
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 DATCP will incur added staff and administrative costs to
administer the new voluntary poultry flock certification
program created by this rule.  DATCP expects to absorb this
additional workload with existing staff and appropriations.
There is no fee for flock owners to enroll in the program.

Business Impact

This rule affects the following businesses, many of which
are “small businesses:”

 Poultry producers.  This rule will help small poultry
operators, and will have little or no effect on large operators.
Current rules prohibit the sale or distribution of poultry or
eggs, for breeding, hatching or exhibition, unless they
originate from flocks enrolled in the national poultry
improvement plan and meet disease−free classification
standards under that plan.  However, the national poultry
improvement plan is primarily designed for large poultry
operators, and may not be cost−effective for small operators.
This rule provides cost−effective disease monitoring options
that will provide greater market access for small operators.

 Dairy, cattle and goat producers.  This rule will assist dairy,
cattle and goat producers by expanding reimbursement of
producers costs for voluntary Johne’s disease herd testing,
herd risk assessment, herd management plans, and
vaccination (current rules provide for reimbursement of
testing costs only).  Participation in the Johne’s disease
program is voluntary.  This rule removes some existing
barriers to participation, and provides more testing and
management options for producers.  This may encourage
participation, and may help to control a very serious disease
threat to the Wisconsin dairy and livestock industry.

 Fish farm operators.  This rule will streamline fish import
regulations, to make them more workable and effective.  This
rule will create a modest $50 fee for a fish import permit, to
facilitate better review of fish health certificates related to fish
imports and fish stocking to waters of the state (the fee will
affect only 2% of registered fish farms).  This rule eliminates
the current requirement for an annual health inspection of fish
farms in this state, which will save every fish farm operator an
average of $200 per year.

 Sheep and goat owners.  This rule requires official
individual identification of sheep and goats that are sold or
moved in commerce, consistent with standards under the
federal scrapie control program.  This may increase costs for
some sheep and goat owners.  However, it will facilitate
interstate export of sheep and goats, and will provide better
disease control and traceback.  This rule allows for various
forms of official individual identification, some of which can
be easily applied by sheep and goat owners themselves at little
or no cost.

 Organizers and exhibitors at fairs and exhibitions.  This
rule clarifies and strengthens current animal health rules
related to fairs and exhibitions, including events such as
organized swap meets and trail rides.  This rule clarifies the
obligations of event organizers and exhibitors.  Exhibitors
must comply with current animal health rules related to fairs
and exhibitions, and must document compliance to the event
organizer.  Organizers must keep a record of exhibited
animals, and must review and keep a record of relevant animal
health documentation.  Events lasting over 24 hours must
have an attending veterinarian.  This rule will not have a
significant impact on most fairs and exhibitions, except that
it may affect certain events such as organized swap meets that
may not be adhering to current rules related to fairs and
exhibitions.

 Farm−raised deer keepers.  This rule makes minor
technical changes to current rules related to farm−raised deer.

The rule changes will have little if any impact on most
farm−raised deer keepers.

 Wisconsin certified veterinarians and their clients.  This
rule may affect veterinarians in the following ways:

 It makes slight changes to current rules governing
certificates of veterinary inspection (the changes should have
little impact on veterinarians or their clients, but will improve
animal health documentation).

 It expands reimbursement of veterinary costs related to
Johne’s disease testing, herd management and vaccination,
but only if the services are provided by specially trained
veterinarians.  The reimbursement will be very beneficial for
veterinarians and their clients, but veterinarians must
complete training to qualify.  Any veterinarian may take the
brief (less than one day) required training course offered by
DATCP.

 It eliminates annual fish farm health certification
requirements.  This will save each fish farm operator an
average of $200 per year.  Veterinarians who perform
certification inspections may experience some loss of income.

 Persons who raise, ship and market animals.  This rule
consolidates, reorganizes and clarifies current animal health
rules, so that the rules will be easier to read and understand.
This will benefit everyone involved in raising, shipping and
marketing animals.  It will improve disease control, facilitate
commerce, and promote efficient administration of animal
health programs.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has not incorporated a small
business enforcement policy in this rule, but will propose a
separate rule on that subject.  DATCP will, to the maximum
extent feasible, seek voluntary compliance with this rule.  A
complete Business Impact Analysis is attached.
Federal and Surrounding State Programs

Federal Programs
DATCP administers animal disease control programs in

cooperation with the United States Department of
Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
(“the federal bureau”).   The federal bureau has
well−established control programs for historically important
diseases such as tuberculosis and brucellosis.  Federal rules
for these programs spell out standards for disease testing,
disease control, international and interstate movement of
animals, certifying the disease status of states, and certifying
the disease status of individual herds.

The federal bureau operates national veterinary diagnostic
laboratories, and coordinates multi−state responses to major
disease epidemics.   The federal bureau exercises disease
control authority, including quarantine and condemnation
authority, and provides funding for indemnity payments to
certain owners of condemned animals.  The federal bureau
operates state and regional offices, and coordinates field
operations with states.

The federal bureau has less well−developed programs for
new or localized diseases, or emerging animal−based
industries.  States often take a lead role in developing
programs to address new animal health issues and disease
threats (farm−raised deer and fish diseases, for example),
particularly if those issues or threats have a more local or
regional focus.  Wisconsin’s program related to farm−raised
deer is perhaps the leading program in the nation, and has
provided the model for a proposed federal program.

The federal bureau may provide grant funding, regulatory
incentives, or other assistance in support of state programs
and regulation.  For example, the federal bureau provides
funding for voluntary Johne’s disease testing and herd
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management, based on federal program standards.  Under the
federal scrapie program, the federal bureau permits easier
interstate movement of sheep and goats from states that
require official individual identification for intrastate
movement.

States have independent authority to regulate animal health
and movement, including imports from other states.
However, states strive for reasonable consistency, based on
standards spelled out in federal regulations.  Where
well−established federal standards and procedures exist, state
disease control programs typically incorporate those federal
standards.  However, states may independently address new
and emerging disease issues, especially if those issues have a
state or regional focus and are not a priority for the federal
bureau.

Surrounding State Programs

General

Surrounding state animal health programs are broadly
comparable to those in Wisconsin, but vary in a variety of
ways.  Differences in disease regulations and control
programs may reflect differences in animal populations,
animal−based industries, and disease threats in the different
states.  Programs for historically important diseases, such as
tuberculosis and brucellosis, tend to be fairly similar between
states and are based on well−established federal standards.
Programs for newer forms of agriculture, such as farm−raised
deer and aquaculture, tend to be more variable.

Aquaculture

All of the surrounding states regulate aquaculture, to some
degree:

 Minnesota requires fish import permits, and licenses fish
farms and fish dealers (annual license fees range from $70 to
$210).  Health certification is required for fish imports, but not
for fish farms.  Bait imports are prohibited.

 Iowa requires fish import permits, and licenses fish farms
(annual license fees range from $26 to $57).  Health
certification is required for fish imports, but not for fish farms.

 Illinois licenses fish farms ($50 annual license) and fish
dealers (annual license fee range from $10 to $100).  An
import permit and health certification is required for certain
fish imports (salmonids).  There is limited regulation of fish
transport vehicles.

 Michigan licenses fish farms (annual license fees range
from $75 to $100).  Health certification is required for fish
imports.

Johne’s Disease

All of the surrounding states (Illinois, Michigan, Iowa and
Minnesota) have adopted a voluntary Johne’s disease testing
and herd management program, based on the federal program.
Wisconsin is proposing a similar program under this rule.

Sheep and Goat Identification

All of the surrounding states (Illinois, Michigan, Iowa and
Minnesota) require official individual identification of sheep
and goats moved in intrastate commerce, consistent with
standards specified in the federal scrapie program.  Wisconsin
is proposing equivalent identification requirements in this
rule.  This will permit freer export of Wisconsin sheep and
goats.

Standards Incorporated by Reference

Pursuant to s. 227.21, Stats., DATCP will request
permission from the attorney general and revisor of statutes
to incorporate the following standards by reference in this
rule, without reproducing the standards in full in this rule:

•  “Uniform Program Standards for the Voluntary Bovine
Johne’s Disease Control Program,” federal bureau
publication 91−45−016 (November 2005).

•  “Brucellosis Eradication: Uniform Methods and Rules,”
federal bureau publication 91−45−013 (October 1, 2003).

•  “Brucellosis in Cervidae: Uniform Methods and Rules,”
federal bureau publication 91−45−16 (September 30, 2003).

•  “Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication: Uniform Methods
and Rules,” federal bureau publication 91−45−011 (January
1, 2005).

•  “Swine Brucellosis Control and Eradication:
State−Federal−Industry Uniform Methods and Rules,”
federal bureau publication 91−55−042 (April, 1998).

•  “Pseudorabies Eradication: State−Federal−Industry
Program Standards,” federal bureau publication 91−55−071
(November 1, 2003).

Copies of these standards will be on file with the
department, the secretary of state and the revisor of statutes.
Rule notes explain how readers may obtain copies of the
standards.
Fiscal Effect

This rule creates a $50 fee for a fish import permit.  DATCP
estimates that this fee will generate approximately $5,000 in
program revenue.

This rule requires DATCP, for the first time, to review and
approve health certificates related to fish imports and the
introduction of fish to waters of the state.  (Current rules
require health certificates but do not require DATCP
approval).  This increased workload will have an associated
cost of $5,400 in staff salary and administrative expenses.
DATCP will absorb this workload with current staff.
Revenues generated will be used to offset additional costs to
the program.

This rule will allow poultry flocks to obtain a testing status
other than participation in the national poultry improvement
plan.  Flock owners will submit proof of adequate testing and
other information to the department for review and approval
to receive their status.  DATCP will incur costs for staff and
administrative expenses.  However, DATCP will absorb these
costs with existing staff and appropriations.

Business Impact Analysis1

Rule Subject:  Animal Diseases and Movement
Adm. Code Reference:  ATCP 10−12
Rules Clearinghouse #:  Not yet assigned
DATCP Docket #:  04−R−10
This rule consolidates, reorganizes and clarifies

Wisconsin’s current animal health and disease control rules,
so that the rules will be easier to read and understand.  This
rule does not significantly alter the substance of the current
rules, except that this rule:

 Provides more cost−effective disease monitoring options
for small poultry producers who cannot easily participate in
the national poultry improvement plan.

 Adopts federal standards for voluntary Johne’s disease
testing and herd management, and expands producer
eligibility for reimbursement of testing and herd management
costs (based on the availability of federal funding).

 Requires official individual identification of sheep and
goats sold or moved within this state, consistent with federal
standards (slaughter animals are exempt, if neutered or under
12 months old).  This change will facilitate exports of
Wisconsin sheep and goats.
1  This analysis includes, but is not limited to, a small 
business analysis (“regulatory flexibility analysis”) 
under s. 227.114, Stats.
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 Strengthens and clarifies disease control standards related
to fairs and livestock exhibitions, including organized swap
meets, which can spread serious disease if not properly
managed.  This rule clarifies the responsibilities of exhibition
organizers and exhibitors.

 Coordinates animal health rules with Wisconsin’s new
livestock premises identification law.  For example,
certificates of veterinary inspection must include livestock
premises identification numbers if any.  This rule does not
expand current premises registration requirements or
sanctions.

 Modifies current regulations related to fish farms, fish
imports and fish health.  This rule eliminates the requirement
of an annual health certification for fish farms.  This rule
streamlines and clarifies current fish import requirements,
and creates a $50 fee for a fish import permit.  DATCP must
approve a fish health certificate before a person imports fish,
or introduces fish to waters of the state, based on that health
certificate.

 Updates the current list of reportable diseases (deletes 4
diseases).

 Makes minor technical changes in current rules related to
farm−raised deer.

 Makes minor updates and technical changes to other rules,
as necessary.

Business Impact

This rule will have a generally positive impact on business.
This rule will have few, if any, negative impacts on business.
Negative impacts, if any, will be limited.  This rule affects the
following businesses in the following ways (many of these
businesses are “small businesses”):

 Poultry producers.  This rule will help small poultry
operators, and will have little or no effect on large operators.
Current rules prohibit the sale or distribution of poultry or
eggs, for breeding, hatching or exhibition, unless they
originate from flocks enrolled in the national poultry
improvement plan and meet disease−free classification
standards under that plan.  However, the national poultry
improvement plan is primarily designed for large poultry
operators, and may not be cost−effective for small operators.
This rule provides cost−effective disease monitoring options
that will provide greater market access for small operators.

Under this rule, a flock owner who is not enrolled in the
national poultry improvement program may nevertheless sell
or move poultry for breeding, hatching or exhibition if the
flock is enrolled as a Wisconsin tested flock or Wisconsin
associate flock.  A flock may be enrolled as a Wisconsin tested
flock if the flock owner tests the flock annually for pullorum,
fowl typhoid and, in the case of turkeys, Mycoplasma
gallisepticum.  A flock may be enrolled as a Wisconsin
associate flock if it consists entirely of birds obtained from a
Wisconsin tested flock.  There is no charge to enroll in either
program.  DATCP will issue certificates that flock owners can
use to document enrollment.

 Dairy, cattle and goat producers.  This rule will assist dairy,
cattle and goat producers by expanding reimbursement of
producers costs for voluntary Johne’s disease herd testing,
herd risk assessment, herd management plans, and
vaccination (current rules allow reimbursement of testing
costs only).  Participation in the Johne’s disease program is
voluntary.  This rule removes some existing barriers to
participation, and provides more testing and management
options for producers.  This may encourage participation, and
may help to control a very serious disease threat to the
Wisconsin dairy and livestock industry.

In order to be eligible for cost reimbursement, herd owners
must have a herd risk assessment and management plan that
meet federal standards.  However, this will not be a significant
burden because:

 Over half of the herds currently enrolled in the Johne’s
disease program already have approved herd risk assessments
and management plans.

 This rule provides for reimbursement of costs to prepare
herd risk assessments and management plans.

 Herd risk assessments and management plans, if followed,
will improve herd health and productivity.

This rule sets maximum reimbursement amounts for
laboratory testing fees, but expands reimbursement for other
activities including herd risk assessment, herd management
plans and vaccination.  This will be a net plus for participating
herd owners.

This rule changes reimbursement procedures, so that
DATCP can reimburse herd owner costs in a timelier manner.
Currently, herd owners may wait over a year for
reimbursements.

This rule removes the requirement for Johne’s disease
reactors to be permanently identified.  This requirement is
difficult to enforce and it devalues animals at slaughter.  Other
states have been removing this requirement as well.

This rule preserves the confidentiality of Johne’s disease
herd records, per current law.

 Fish farm operators.  This rule eliminates the current
requirement for an annual health inspection of fish farms in
this state, which will save every fish farm operator an average
of $200 per year.

This rule streamlines fish import regulations, to make them
more workable and effective.  This rule establishes a modest
$50 fee for a fish import permit, to facilitate better review of
fish health certificates related to fish imports (the fee will
affect only 2% of registered fish farms).   In many cases,
DATCP issues permits that cover multiple shipments from an
inspected source.

Under this rule, permits expire one year from the date of
issuance, rather than on a calendar year basis.  DATCP may
shorten permit expiration dates, and may set those dates to
correspond to health certificate expiration dates.  This will
avoid confusion, but may require additional permits in some
cases.  The change will have a limited effect on importers.

Under current rules, qualified veterinarians or fish health
inspectors must issue fish health certificates for fish imports
and stocking to waters of the state.  Under this rule, the fish
health certificates must also be pre−approved by DATCP.
This may delay the import or stocking process in a few limited
cases.  But most import and stocking operations will not be
adversely affected, and delays if any will be short (DATCP
has a maximum of 30 days to approve).

This rule requires fish health inspectors and laboratories to
report all test results for certain diseases, not just positive test
results.  This will not impose a significant burden, and will
provide better statewide information on disease testing and
test findings.

 Sheep and goat owners.  This rule requires official
individual identification of sheep and goats that are sold or
moved in commerce, consistent with standards under the
federal scrapie control program.  This may increase costs for
some sheep and goat owners.  However, it will facilitate
interstate export of sheep and goats, and will provide better
disease control and trace back.  This rule allows for various
forms of official individual identification, some of which can
be easily applied by sheep and goat owners themselves at little
or no cost.
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 Organizers and exhibitors at fairs and exhibitions.  This
rule clarifies and strengthens current animal health rules
related to fairs and exhibitions, including events such as
organized swap meets and trail rides.  This rule clarifies the
obligations of event organizers and exhibitors.  Exhibitors
must comply with current animal health rules related to fairs
and exhibitions, and must document compliance to the event
organizer.  Organizers must keep a record of exhibited
animals, and must review and keep a record of relevant animal
health documentation.  Events lasting over 24 hours must
have an attending veterinarian.  This rule will not have a
significant impact on most fairs and exhibitions, except that
it may affect certain events such as organized swap meets that
may not be adhering to current rules related to fairs and
exhibitions.

 Farm−raised deer keepers.  This rule makes minor
technical changes to current rules related to farm−raised deer.
The rule changes will have little if any impact on most
farm−raised deer keepers.

 Wisconsin certified veterinarians and their clients.  This
rule may affect veterinarians in the following ways:

 It makes slight changes to current rules governing
certificates of veterinary inspection (the changes should have
little impact on veterinarians or their clients, but will improve
animal health documentation).

 It expands reimbursement of veterinary costs related to
Johne’s disease testing, herd management and vaccination,
but only if the services are provided by specially trained
veterinarians.  The reimbursement will be very beneficial for
veterinarians and their clients, but veterinarians must
complete training to qualify.  Any veterinarian may take the
brief (less than one day) required training course offered by
DATCP.  There is a $200 cost for initial certification and $100
for the renewal certification that is required every 3 years.
Training is currently financed by federal grant funds, so there
is no cost to veterinarians.

 It eliminates annual fish farm health certification
requirements.  This will save each fish farm operator an
average of $200 per year.  Veterinarians who perform annual
fish farm health inspections may experience some loss of
income.

 Persons who raise, ship and market animals.  This rule
consolidates, reorganizes and clarifies current animal health
rules, so that the rules will be easier to read and understand.
This will benefit everyone involved in raising, shipping and
marketing animals.  It will improve disease control, facilitate
commerce, and promote efficient administration of animal
health programs.

Steps to Assist Small Business

Many of the businesses affected by this rule are “small
businesses.”  For the most part, this rule does not make special
exceptions for “small businesses,” because disease is no
respecter of business size.  However, this rule does include
provisions that are specifically designed to benefit small
poultry producers (see above).

This rule includes many provisions that will benefit large
and small businesses alike.  For example, this rule:

 Expands current reimbursement of Johne’s disease testing
and herd management costs (dairy, beef and goat herds), and
makes program participation more attractive.

 Eliminates current annual fish harm health inspection
requirement (this will save every fish farm approximately
$200 per year).

 Makes fish import permits more workable and flexible.

 Provides cost−effective disease monitoring options for
poultry producers, so that more producers (especially small
producers) can get more market access.

 Reorganizes and redrafts current rules, to make them
easier to read and understand.  The changes also make the
rules more consistent and transparent.
Conclusion

This rule will help protect Wisconsin’s major livestock
industry from devastating disease threats.  This rule will make
it easier for livestock operators to read and understand the
rules that apply to them.

This rule will generally benefit affected businesses,
including “small businesses.”  Negative effects, if any, will be
few and limited.  This rule will not have a significant adverse
effect on “small business,” and is not subject to the delayed
“small business” effective date provided in s. 227.22(2)(e),
Stats.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has not incorporated a small
business enforcement policy in this rule, but will propose a
separate rule on that subject.  DATCP will, to the maximum
extent feasible, seek voluntary compliance with this rule.

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 06−008]
(reprinted from 2/15/06, Wis. Adm. Register)

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed amendment to chapter
ATCP 21, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to Plant Pest Import
Controls and Quarantine.

DATCP will hold three public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Monday, April 3, 2006 for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Agricultural
Resource Management at the address below, by email to:
krista.lambrecht@datcp.state.wi.us

or online at:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home
You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource Management,
2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.
You can also obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4594 or
emailing krista.lambrecht@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will
also be available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule
online, go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home
To provide comments or concerns relating to small

business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by February 21, 2006, by writing to Deb Bollig,
Division of Agricultural Resource Management, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4584.
Alternatively, you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearings.
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Hearing Dates and Locations:
Tuesday, February 28, 2006
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Marathon County Public Library
300 North First Street, 3rd Floor−Wausau Room
Wausau, WI  54403

Wednesday, March 1, 2006
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Lee Sherman Dreyfus Building
141 NW Barstow Street, Room 314
Waukesha WI  53187−0798

Thursday, March 2, 2006
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule regulates the import and movement of host
materials that may spread infestations of Emerald Ash Borer,
Asian Longhorn Beetle, Phytophthora ramorum (Sudden
Oak Death, ramorum leaf blight or ramorum dieback) or
Hemlock Woolly Adelgid.  Each of these pests has been found
in the United States, and each poses a major threat to
Wisconsin’s forest and urban landscapes.  None of these pests
has yet been found in Wisconsin.

This rule regulates imports of host materials, to Wisconsin,
from known infested areas.  If any of these pests is ever found
in Wisconsin, this rule will also affect the movement of host
materials from infested areas in this state.  This rule is part of
a coordinated federal−state framework to control serious
plant pests.  DATCP works with other agencies including the
United States department of agriculture, animal and plant
health inspection service (USDA−APHIS), to control serious
plant pests.

Statutory Authority
Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07 (1) and (12) and 94.01,

Stats.
Statutes Interpreted: ss. 93.07 (12) and 94.01, Stats.
The department of agriculture, trade and consumer

protection (“DATCP”) has general authority to adopt rules
interpreting statutes under its jurisdiction (see s. 93.07(1),
Stats.).  DATCP is specifically authorized to adopt rules to
prevent the introduction and spread of injurious plant pests,
including plant diseases (see ss. 93.07(12) and 94.01(1),
Stats.).

Background
This rule regulates the import and movement of certain

host materials from areas infested with Emerald Ash Borer,
Asian Longhorned Beetle, Phytophthora ramorum or
Hemlock Woolly Adelgid.  Regulated host materials vary,
depending on the pest in question, but include things like
nursery stock, firewood, untreated lumber and mulch.

This rule is designed to prevent the introduction and spread
of Emerald Ash Borer, Asian Longhorned Beetle,
Phytophthora ramorum and Hemlock Woolly Adelgid.
These pests pose a grave threat to Wisconsin forest and urban

landscapes.  This rule will help protect Wisconsin industries,
by helping to protect the resources on which they depend.

Rule Contents
Emerald Ash Borer
Emerald Ash Borer, Agrilus planipennis Fairmaire, is a

wood−boring beetle that attacks and eventually kills ash trees.
Ash is a major urban and forest tree species in Wisconsin.  An
estimated 628 million ash trees in this state are at risk of
destruction by Emerald Ash Borer.

Emerald Ash Borer, which is native to Asia, has been found
in 3 states and one Canadian province.  Thirty−nine counties
in Michigan, 9 counties in Ohio, and 2 counties in Indiana
have infestations (20 counties in Michigan and one in Ohio
are considered “generally infested”).  An infestation was
recently found, for the first time, in the Upper Peninsula of
Michigan.  As many as 14 million ash trees have already died
as a result of infestations in Michigan, Ohio and Indiana.

Emerald Ash Borer can be spread by the movement of ash
host materials, including firewood, nursery stock, trees, logs,
bark chips, and any lumber or wood with bark attached.  This
rule prohibits the import or intrastate movement of ash host
materials from infested areas designated by USDA−APHIS,
unless a pest control official inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of Emerald Ash Borer.

USDA−APHIS publishes a list of infested areas in the
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and updates the CFR
listing as necessary.  This rule regulates the import or
movement of host materials from infested areas that are
currently listed in the CFR, or that may be listed in the future.

Asian Longhorned Beetle
The Asian Longhorned Beetle, Anoplophora glabripennis

(Motschulsky), infests and kills several types of deciduous
trees including maple, a highly important tree species in
Wisconsin.  The Asian Longhorned Beetle is a serious threat
to Wisconsin’s lumber, maple syrup, nursery, commercial
fruit and tourism industries.

Infestations have caused the destruction of more than
10,000 trees in New York, New Jersey and Illinois (Cook
County).  Preemptive destruction of trees is the only known
reliable method for controlling the Asian Longhorned Beetle.

This rule prohibits the import or intrastate movement of
host materials from infested areas designated by
USDA−APHIS, unless a pest control official inspects the
materials and certifies that they are free of Asian Longhorned
Beetle.  Host materials include:

 Cut firewood of all non−coniferous species.

 Nursery stock, logs, green lumber, stumps, roots, branches
or debris from any of the following trees:  maple, buckeye,
mimosa, birch, hackberry, ash, sycamore, poplar, willow,
mountain ash and elm.

USDA−APHIS publishes a list of infested areas in the
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and updates the CFR
listing as necessary.  This rule regulates the import or
movement of host materials from infested areas that are
currently listed in the CFR, or that may be listed in the future.

Phytophthora ramorum
Since 1995, thousands of oaks in California and Oregon

have died of Phytophthora ramorum (Werres et al., 2001),
also known as Sudden Oak Death, ramorum leaf blight, and
ramorum dieback.  Phytophthora ramorum, the pathogen that
causes these diseases, is harbored in a large number of
different plant species.  The pathogen is also found in soil in
infested areas.

This rule restricts the import or intrastate movement of host
materials from infested areas designated by USDA−APHIS,
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unless a pest control official inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of Phytophthora ramorum.  Host
materials include:

 Nursery stock, unprocessed wood, and unprocessed wood
and plant products  (including bark chips, firewood, logs,
lumber, mulch, wreaths, garlands and greenery) from species
designated in this rule.  The designated species include a large
variety of different trees and plants, including for example:
fir, maple, buckeye, heather, camellia, chestnut, hazelnut,
wood fern, beech, ash, witch−hazel, holly, laurel, oak, tanoak,
honeysuckle, Douglas fir, rhododendron, sumac, rose,
raspberry, blackberry, huckleberry, willow, redwood, lilac,
yew, poison ivy, viburnum, magnolia and sumac.

 Soil and potted media.

 Any other material that could reasonably harbor
Phytophthora ramorum.

USDA−APHIS publishes a list of infested areas in the
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and updates the CFR
listing as necessary.  This rule regulates the import or
movement of host materials from infested areas that are
currently listed in the CFR, or that may be listed in the future.

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid, Adelges tsugae (Annand), is a
serious pest that kills native and ornamental hemlock trees, an
important Wisconsin resource.  Infestations of Hemlock
Woolly Adelgid currently exist in 17 states.  DATCP rules
currently limit the import and movement of Hemlock Woolly
Adelgid host materials from infested areas identified in the
current rules.

USDA−APHIS does not have a formal regulatory program
for the Hemlock Woolly Adelgid, but the United States Forest
Service maintains and updates a list of infested areas.
Because the Forest Service does not publish its list in the Code
of Federal Regulations (CFR), DATCP lists the infested areas
in its rule (rather than by reference to the CFR).

The current DATCP rule is based on an outdated Forest
Service list.  This rule updates the current DATCP list to
conform to the most recent Forest Service list.  This rule
makes no other changes to current DATCP rules.

Fiscal Impact

This rule will have little fiscal impact on Wisconsin state
government in the short term, and no fiscal impact on local
government.  DATCP will incur some costs to provide
information and education to affected businesses.  However,
DATCP expects to absorb those costs.

The attached fiscal estimate is based on the current
distribution of the regulated pests, which have not been found
in Wisconsin to date.  There could be a much more dramatic
fiscal impact on state government in the future, if any of the
regulated pests is ever found in Wisconsin.  However, that
impact will largely result from the infestation itself, not this
rule.  This rule will help to prevent increased costs, by helping
to prevent the introduction of pests to this state.

If an infestation is ever found in this state, DATCP may
experience the following fiscal impacts with or without this
rule:

 Substantial costs and personnel demands for detection,
monitoring and control efforts.  Costs cannot be accurately
predicted at this time, and will depend on the aggressiveness
of the state’s control effort.  However, control programs could
be comparable to the gypsy moth control program which
currently costs Wisconsin approximately $3.6 million per
year (including federal grant funds to Wisconsin, but not
including direct federal services).  Michigan reportedly hired

at least 140 additional staff to control infestations of Emerald
Ash Borer in that state.

 Greatly increased demand for state inspection and
certification of commodities (host materials) shipped from
infested areas, to satisfy buyers that the commodities are free
of relevant pests.  DATCP can charge fees to cover its cost to
perform requested inspections, but would need legislative
authorization to hire additional inspectors.  The number of
inspection requests cannot be accurately predicted at this
time.  However, the number could be large, given the
importance of the nursery, landscaping and forest−based
industries in this state.

 Increased costs for information and education.
If infestation occurs in this state, local governments may

also experience dramatically increased costs related to dying
trees and pest control.  However, those costs will result from
the infestation itself, and not from this rule.  This rule will not,
by itself, impose significant costs on local government.  By
helping to prevent the introduction and spread of serious
pests, this rule will help to minimize local costs.
Business Impact

This rule will help protect Wisconsin industries, by helping
to protect the resources on which they depend.  This rule may
have some adverse impact on some individual businesses, but
that adverse impact is greatly outweighed (even for those
businesses) by the protection that this rule affords.

None of the pests regulated by this rule have been detected
in Wisconsin to date, so the initial impact of this rule will be
limited to businesses that may be importing host materials
from infested areas outside this state.  The negative effects on
those businesses will be small.  The rule will help protect
Wisconsin importers from pest infestations that could destroy
their businesses.

If any of the regulated pests is ever found in this state, the
infestation may have a major impact on affected businesses
such as nursery growers and dealers, lumber mills, paper
mills, firewood sellers, landscapers and loggers.  Businesses
in infested areas will incur added costs, and some may lose
markets for their products.  But those consequences will result
from the infestation itself, with or without this rule.  This rule
may add some incremental costs for businesses in infested
areas, but will protect businesses in other areas.  It will also
forestall a more general federal quarantine that could limit
exports from the entire state (including exports from
uninfested areas).  A complete Business Impact Analysis is
attached.
Environmental Impact

This rule will positively impact the environment by helping
to prevent the introduction and spread of serious plant pests
that threaten key tree species in Wisconsin.  The primary
environmental consequences of no action are increased risk of
pest spread and elevated environmental risks from
uncoordinated application of pesticides to limit damage from
the emerald ash borer.  Also, introductions of these pests
would lead to changes in the composition and age structure of
forests resulting from the no action alternative and could have
long−term effects on the ecological relationships in the
forested areas.  A complete environmental assessment is
attached.

Federal Regulations
USDA−APHIS regulates plant pests and diseases at the

federal level.  Wisconsin and other states work with
USDA−APHIS to prevent the introduction and spread of plant
pests and diseases.

States may regulate intrastate movement within their own
territory, and may also restrict imports of host materials from
infested areas in other states.  States may act on their own
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authority (independent of USDA−APHIS), and may restrict
imports and movement from infested areas other than those
designated by USDA−APHIS.  However, a coordinated
federal−state program promotes consistent regulation of
interstate commerce throughout the United States.

The federal−state regulatory scheme may vary, depending
on the type of pest or disease.  In the case of Emerald Ash
Borer, Asian Longhorned Beetle and Phytophthora ramorum,
it takes the following general form:

 USDA−APHIS lists infested areas (such as counties) in the
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and updates the list from
time to time.

 If a state fails to quarantine an infested area listed by
USDA−APHIS in that state, USDA−APHIS may quarantine
the entire state.  The threat of a statewide federal quarantine
is an incentive for state action.  A statewide federal quarantine
restricts exports from the entire state (not just infested areas),
but does not affect the movement of materials within the state.

 If a state quarantines infested areas that USDA−APHIS
has listed for that state, USDA−APHIS also quarantines those
areas (not the entire state).  The state and federal quarantines
restrict interstate and intrastate movement from the
quarantined areas, but do not affect interstate exports from
other parts of the state.

 State and federal quarantines prohibit the movement of
potential host materials (such as firewood and untreated
lumber) from quarantined areas.  State quarantines must meet
federal standards, in order to be recognized by USDA−APHIS
for federal quarantine purposes.

USDA−APHIS does not have a formal regulatory program
for the Hemlock Woolly Adelgid, but the United States Forest
Service maintains and updates a list of infested areas.  DATCP
lists infested areas in its current rule (rather than by reference
to the CFR), because the Forest Service does not publish its
list in the CFR.  DATCP must modify its rule if it wishes to
incorporate changes in the Forest Service list.

Regulation in Surrounding States
Emerald Ash Borer
Michigan regulates the import and movement of host

materials from infested areas designated by USDA−APHIS.
Thirty−nine counties are currently affected by state and
federal quarantines.

Emerald Ash Borer has not been detected in any of the
other states surrounding Wisconsin (Illinois, Iowa or
Minnesota).  None of those states has adopted regulations
related to Emerald Ash Borer.  However, Illinois has adopted
a readiness plan, and Minnesota has implemented a detection
program.

Asian Longhorned Beetle
Illinois is the only state, adjacent to Wisconsin, in which

Asian Longhorned Beetle has been detected to date.  Over
1,500 trees have been destroyed in Cook County since 1998
(tree destruction is the only effective method of control).
Illinois and USDA−APHIS have established quarantines in
Cook County.  Quarantines prohibit the movement of host
materials from the quarantined area.

The Asian Longhorned Beetle has not been detected in
Iowa, Michigan or Minnesota.  Those states have not adopted
any regulations related to Asian Longhorned Beetle.

Phytophthora ramorum
Phytophthora ramorum has not been found in Michigan,

Illinois, Iowa or Minnesota (only Illinois and Minnesota have
implemented nursery inspection programs for the pathogen).
None of the states surrounding Wisconsin has adopted
regulations related to Phytophthora ramorum.

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
Wisconsin is one of five states that currently regulate the

import and movement of Hemlock Woolly Adelgid host
materials.  The other states are Michigan, Maine, New
Hampshire and Vermont.  Michigan, like Wisconsin, has large
populations of native hemlock.  Michigan successfully
eradicated its only finding of Hemlock Woolly Adelgid to
date (an isolated nursery finding).

Minnesota and Illinois have no large populations of native
hemlock, and Iowa has no native hemlock.  None of those
states regulates the import or movement of Hemlock Woolly
Adelgid host materials.

Business Impact Analysis2

Rule Subject:  Plant Pest Import Controls and Quarantines
Adm. Code Reference: ATCP 21
Rules Clearinghouse #: Not yet assigned
DATCP Docket #: 04−R−09
Rule Description
This rule regulates the import and movement of host

materials that may spread infestations of Emerald Ash Borer,
Asian Longhorn Beetle, Phytophthora ramorum or Hemlock
Woolly Adelgid.  Each of these pests has been found in the
United States, and each poses a major threat to Wisconsin’s
forest and urban landscapes.  None of these pests has yet been
found in Wisconsin.

This rule is designed to prevent and limit the spread of these
pests, by regulating imports of host materials, to Wisconsin,
from known infested areas.  If any of these pests is ever found
in Wisconsin, this rule will also affect the movement of host
materials from infested areas in this state.

Businesses Affected
This rule regulates the import and movement of certain

host materials from areas infested with Emerald Ash Borer,
Asian Longhorned Beetle, Phytophthora ramorum or
Hemlock Woolly Adelgid.  Regulated host materials vary,
depending on the pest in question, but include things like
nursery stock, firewood, untreated lumber and mulch.

This rule affects a variety of businesses such as nursery
growers and dealers, lumber mills, paper mills, firewood
sellers, landscapers and loggers.  This rule applies to large and
small businesses alike.  The Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) estimates that 50−60%
of the affected businesses are “small businesses.”

This rule is designed to prevent the introduction and spread
of Emerald Ash Borer, Asian Longhorned Beetle,
Phytophthora ramorum and Hemlock Woolly Adelgid.
These pests pose a grave threat to Wisconsin forest and urban
landscapes.  This rule will help protect Wisconsin industries,
by helping to protect the resources on which they depend.
This rule may have some adverse impact on some individual
businesses, but that adverse impact is greatly outweighed
(even for those businesses) by the protection that this rule
affords.

None of the pests regulated by this rule have been detected
in Wisconsin to date, so the initial impact of this rule will be
limited to businesses that may be importing host materials
from infested areas outside this state.  The negative effects on
those businesses will be small.  The rule will help protect
Wisconsin importers from pest infestations that could destroy
their businesses.

If any of the regulated pests is ever found in this state, the
infestation may have a major impact on affected businesses.
Businesses in infested areas will incur added costs, and some
2  This analysis includes, but is not limited to, a small business analysis (
under s. 227.114, Stats..
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may lose markets for their products.  But those consequences
will result from the infestation itself, with or without this rule.

This rule may add some incremental costs for businesses in
infested areas, but will protect businesses in other areas.  It
will also forestall a more general federal quarantine that could
limit exports from the entire state (including exports from
uninfested areas).

Key Rule Provisions
This rule includes the following key provisions:
Emerald Ash Borer
This rule prohibits the import or intrastate movement of

host materials from infested areas designated by
USDA−APHIS in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
unless a pest control official inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of Emerald Ash Borer.  Host
materials include:

 Ash trees.

 Ash limbs, branches and roots.

 Ash logs, slabs or untreated ash lumber with bark attached.

 Cut firewood of all non−coniferous species.

 Ash chips and ash bark fragments (both composted and
uncomposted) larger than one inch in diameter.

Asian Longhorned Beetle
This rule prohibits the import or intrastate movement of

host materials from infested areas designated by
USDA−APHIS in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
unless a pest control official inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of Asian Longhorned Beetle.  Host
materials include:

 Cut firewood of all non−coniferous species.

 Nursery stock, logs, green lumber, stumps, roots, branches
or debris from any of the following trees:  maple, horse
chestnut, mimosa, birch, hackberry, ash, sycamore, poplar,
willow, mountain ash and elm.

Phytophthora ramorum
This rule restricts the import or intrastate movement of host

materials from infested areas designated by USDA−APHIS in
the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), unless a pest control
official inspects the materials and certifies that they are free
of Phytophthora ramorum.  Host materials include:

 Nursery stock, unprocessed wood, and unprocessed wood
and plant products  (including bark chips, firewood, logs,
lumber, mulch, wreaths, garlands and greenery) from species
designated in this rule.  The designated species include a large
variety of different trees and plants, including for example:
fir, maple, buckeye, heather, camellia, chestnut, hazelnut,
wood fern, beech, ash, witch−hazel, holly, laurel, oak, tanoak,
honeysuckle, Douglas fir, rhododendron, sumac, rose,
raspberry, blackberry, huckleberry, willow, redwood,
viburnum, magnolia, lilac, yew, and poison−ivy.

 Soil and potted media.

 Any other material that could reasonably harbor
Phytophthora ramorum.

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
DATCP rules currently limit the import and movement of

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid host materials from infested areas
identified in the current rules.  The current DATCP rule is
based on an outdated Forest Service list.  This rule updates the
current DATCP list to conform to the most recent Forest
Service list.  This rule makes no other changes to current
DATCP rules.

Effects on Businesses
Asset Protection and Loss Prevention
This rule is designed to protect Wisconsin forest and

landscape resources, on which many Wisconsin businesses
rely.  The rule will help prevent or delay pest infestations that
would deprive Wisconsin businesses of key raw materials and
markets, and drive up business costs in a variety of ways.

Pest infestation costs are difficult to predict, and may
depend on the nature, timing, location, scope and spread of the
infestation.  However, the pests regulated by this rule would
likely be at least as destructive as the gypsy moth, which
currently infests large portions of Wisconsin.  The gypsy moth
infestation has cost Wisconsin businesses an estimated
$48,000 in 2005, and the cost will continue to grow over time.
This rule is designed to prevent or delay business costs of this
sort.

Costs to Comply
None of the pests regulated by this rule have been detected

in Wisconsin to date, so the initial impact of this rule will be
limited to businesses that may be importing host materials
from outside this state.  Importers may not import host
materials from infested areas in other states, unless a pest
control official in the state of origin inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of the relevant pest.

This may increase costs or limit supply options for some
materials.  However, there are many alternative supply
options at this time, so this rule is expected to have a very
limited impact on Wisconsin businesses in the short term.  In
any case, this rule merely duplicates and reinforces existing
federal rules related to interstate movement.  It also protects
Wisconsin importers from pest infestations that could destroy
their businesses.

This rule may have a larger impact on in−state business if
any of the regulated pests is ever found in this state.  The rule
could then affect a variety of in−state businesses including
nursery growers and dealers, lumber mills, paper mills,
firewood sellers, landscapers and loggers.  Businesses would
not be able to move host materials from infested areas unless
a state inspector first inspected the materials and certified that
they were pest free.  There is a flat fee of $50 for an inspection
certificate.

Businesses in infested areas would likely incur added costs,
and could lose some markets for their products.  However,
those consequences would result from the infestation itself,
with or without this rule.  This rule might add some
incremental costs, but would provide a mechanism by which
commerce could continue subject to regulation.  The rule
would protect businesses and forest resources in other areas
of the state, and would forestall more general federal
quarantines that could limit exports from the entire state
(including exports from non−infested areas).

Wisconsin importers affected by this rule must make sure
that import shipments from infested areas have been properly
inspected and certified.  This rule does not impose additional
recordkeeping requirements, and does not require affected
businesses to hire additional professional services or pest
experts.  But with or without this rule, businesses would
benefit from increased knowledge of plant pest threats.
DATCP will work with affected industries to provide helpful
information and education.

Small Business Impact
Approximately 50−60% of the businesses affected by this

rule are small businesses.  Because none of the regulated pests
has yet been found in this state, only a small percentage of
these businesses (those importing host materials from outside
this state) will be affected by this rule in the short term.  The
effect, even for those businesses, will be minimal.
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This rule may have a larger impact on small in−state
business if any of the regulated pests is ever found in this state.
Businesses would not be able to move host materials from
infested areas unless a state inspector first inspected the
materials and certified that they were pest free (see inspection
charges above).  Small businesses would need to comply, just
like large businesses.

Small businesses in infested areas would likely incur added
costs, and could lose some markets for their products.
However, those consequences would result from the
infestation itself, with or without this rule.  This rule might add
some incremental costs, but would provide a mechanism by
which commerce could continue subject to regulation.

Steps to Assist Small Business
This rule will help, not harm, small businesses in this state.

This rule will not have a significant adverse economic impact
on small business.  An exemption for small business would
undermine the effectiveness of the rule in preventing the
introduction and spread of harmful pests.  DATCP will
provide information and education to help small businesses
recognize pest threats, and protect their businesses from those
threats.  DATCP will also provide training and assistance
related to compliance with this rule.

Conclusion
This rule will help protect Wisconsin industries, by helping

to protect the resources on which they depend.  This rule may
impose additional costs on some businesses, including small
businesses, but the costs are minimal, and are greatly
outweighed (even for those businesses) by the protection that
this rule affords.  Most costs would result from the pest
infestations themselves, and not from this rule.

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate
This rule will be administered by the Division of

Agricultural Resource Management of the Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.  The following
estimate is based on the cost for administering and enforcing
conditions for the movement of regulated items at risk of
spreading or introducing plant pests under state or federal law.
The financial impact is based on the current status and
distribution of emerald ash borer, Asian longhorned beetle
and Phytophthora ramorum.  Administration and
enforcement of the import controls imposed by this rule will
involve minimal additional costs to DATCP in terms of
notifying affected industries; it may be possible to absorb the
costs within the agency’s budget.  The department will present
information through development of written material, press
releases, and cooperative efforts with affected industries.
Ongoing duties would be to monitor industry compliance
with the rule.  Industry compliance is already monitored for
other sections of ch. ATCP 21 and this new section would be
a small addition.

Long − Range Fiscal Implications
If an infestation is ever found in this state, DATCP may

experience substantial costs and personnel demands for
detection, monitoring and control efforts.  Costs may vary,
depending on the nature and scope of the infestation, and
cannot be accurately predicted at this time.  Increased cost
would be generated with or without this rule.

Environmental Assessment of Proposed Rule
Rule Subject: Import controls and quarantine for

Emerald Ash Borer, Asian Longhorned Beetle, Phytophthora
ramorum and Hemlock Woolly Adelgid.

Administrative Code Reference:  ATCP 21
Rules Clearinghouse #:  Not yet assigned
DATCP Docket #: 04−R−09

Purpose and Content of Proposed Rule
This rule regulates the import and movement of host

materials that may spread infestations of Emerald Ash Borer,
Asian Longhorn Beetle, Phytophthora ramorum or Hemlock
Woolly Adelgid.  Each of these pests has been found in the
United States, and each poses a major threat to Wisconsin’s
forest and urban landscapes.  None of these pests has yet been
found in Wisconsin.   This rule is designed to prevent and limit
the spread of these pests, by regulating imports of host
materials, to Wisconsin, from known infested areas.  If any of
these pests is ever found in Wisconsin, this rule will also affect
the movement of host materials from infested areas in this
state.

This rule will protect the environment by preventing the
infestation and loss of tree species in Wisconsin.  This rule
includes the following key provisions:

Emerald Ash Borer
This rule prohibits the import or intrastate movement of

host materials from infested areas designated by
USDA−APHIS in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
unless a pest control official inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of Emerald Ash Borer.  Host
materials include:

 Ash trees.

 Ash limbs, branches and roots.

 Ash logs, slabs or untreated ash lumber with bark attached.

 Cut firewood of all non−coniferous species.

 Ash chips and ash bark fragments (both composted and
uncomposted) larger than one inch in diameter.

Asian Longhorned Beetle
This rule prohibits the import or intrastate movement of

host materials from infested areas designated by
USDA−APHIS in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
unless a pest control official inspects the materials and
certifies that they are free of Asian Longhorned Beetle.  Host
materials include:

 Cut firewood of all non−coniferous species.

 Nursery stock, logs, green lumber, stumps, roots, branches
or debris from any of the following trees:  maple, horse
chestnut, mimosa, birch, hackberry, ash, sycamore, poplar,
willow, mountain ash and elm.

Phytophthora ramorum
This rule restricts the import or intrastate movement of host

materials from infested areas designated by USDA−APHIS in
the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), unless a pest control
official inspects the materials and certifies that they are free
of Phytophthora ramorum.  Host materials include:

 Nursery stock, unprocessed wood, and unprocessed wood
and plant products (including bark chips, firewood, logs,
lumber, mulch, wreaths, garlands and greenery) from species
designated in this rule.  The designated species include a large
variety of different trees and plants, including for example:
fir, maple, buckeye, heather, camellia, chestnut, hazelnut,
wood fern, beech, ash, witch hazel, Christmas berry,
California holly, laurel, oak, tanoak, honeysuckle, Douglas
fir, rhododendron, sumac, rose, raspberry, blackberry,
blueberry, willow, coast redwood, Lilac, yew, poison ivy and
poison oak.

 Soil and potted media.

 Any other material that could reasonably harbor
Phytophthora ramorum.

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
DATCP rules currently limit the import and movement of

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid host materials from infested areas
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identified in the current rules.  The current DATCP rule is
based on an outdated Forest Service list.  This rule updates the
current DATCP list to conform to the most recent Forest
Service list.  This rule makes no other changes to current
DATCP rules.

Who is Affected, and How?

The rule could affect a variety of in−state businesses,
including nursery growers and dealers, lumber mills, paper
mills, firewood sellers and dealers, landscapers and loggers.
However, because none of the pests regulated by this rule have
been detected in Wisconsin to date, the initial impact of this
rule will be limited to businesses that may be importing host
materials from outside this state.  If any of the regulated pests
is ever found in this state, this rule may have a larger impact
on in−state business.  These businesses would not be
permitted to move host materials from infested areas unless
a state inspector first inspected the materials and certified that
they were pest free.  DATCP estimates that 50−60% of the
businesses affected by this rule are “small businesses.”

Costs to Comply

This rule will add costs for some affected businesses.
Affected businesses may incur costs related to:

 Inspection and certification.  Businesses would not be able
to move host materials from infested areas unless a state
inspector first inspected the materials and certified that they
were pest free.

 The current inspection certificate charge is $50.

Businesses in infested areas would likely incur added costs,
and could lose some markets for their products.  Those
consequences would result from the infestation itself, with or
without this rule.  This rule might add some incremental costs,
but would provide a mechanism by which commerce could
continue subject to regulation.  The rule would protect
businesses and forest resources in other areas of the state, and
would forestall more general federal quarantines that could
limit exports from the entire state (including exports from
uninfested areas).

Small Business Impact

Approximately 50−60% of the businesses affected by this
rule are small businesses.  Only a small fraction, 10% at most,
of these nurseries, landscapers, firewood producers and
dealers, mulch producers and dealers, loggers, lumber mills,
paper mills, wood manufacturers, and wood recycling or
disposal facilities request an inspection certificate to ship or
move host plant materials interstate or internationally.  The
168 nursery growers, representing about 10% of the total
number of nurseries in the state, would be the most affected
by this rule.  The current $50 cost for a plant health certificate
would apply to businesses exporting host materials out of an
infested area.

Small businesses in infested areas, like large businesses,
would likely incur added costs, and could lose some markets
for their products.  However, those consequences would result
from the infestation itself, with or without this rule.  This rule
might add some incremental costs, but would provide a
mechanism by which commerce could continue subject to
regulation.   An exemption for small business would
undermine the effectiveness of the rule in preventing the
introduction and spread of harmful pests.  This rule will not
have a significant adverse economic impact on small
business.  Therefore, it is not subject to the delayed small
business effective date provision in s. 227.22 (2) (e), Stats.

Farmers

Farmers will not be directly affected by this rule.

General Public
This rule will positively impact the general public, by

helping to prevent the introduction and spread of serious plant
pests that threaten key urban and residential tree species in
Wisconsin.  If enacted, this rule would help to minimize the
impact of the plant pests on the public, to lessen damage and
losses that could result in reductions in private property value
when tree removal is mandated.
Environmental Impact

This rule will positively impact the environment by helping
to prevent the introduction and spread of serious plant pests
that threaten key tree species in Wisconsin.  The primary
environmental consequences of no action are increased risk of
pest spread and elevated environmental risks from
uncoordinated application of pesticides to limit damage from
the emerald ash borer.  Also, introductions of these pests
would lead to changes in the composition and age structure of
forests resulting from the no action alternative and could have
long−term effects on the ecological relationships in the
forested areas.
Economic Effects

This rule will prevent the economic effects that would be
caused by an infestation. The cost of tree removal and the
subsequent lowering of property values would be significant.
Social and Cultural Effects

This rule will not have significant social or cultural effects,
except that it will help to prevent the disruption of local
communities that can result from urban tree removal.  Further
it will help to protect black ash which is a sacred material used
by Wisconsin Indian Tribes for making baskets.
Alternatives to this Rule

No Action
Under the no action alternative, DATCP would not

implement measures to prevent the import and movement of
Emerald Ash Borer, Asian Longhorn Beetle, Phytophthora
ramorum or Hemlock Woolly Adelgid. Left unchecked, these
pests would spread throughout Wisconsin and the U.S.,
having severe environmental and economic impacts.  In the
case of Emerald Ash Borer it is certain that all affected ash
trees would die or lose commercial value within just a few
years.

The absence of control or containment measures would
lead to an increase in Emerald Ash Borer, Asian Longhorn
Beetle, Phytophthora ramorum or Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
populations, and an increase in long−term, continuing costs
for detection and removal of infested host plants.  Local
business owners and area residents could attempt to control
damage from infestations by removing the infested trees or
plants from their properties.

In addition, the spread of these pests would lead to loss of
valuable ornamental and commercial trees, loss of associated
forest products, and private or uncoordinated use of pesticides
to control the pest with associated adverse impacts to the
environment.  The wide distribution of host plants for these
pests suggests the danger of spread across much of the country
with increases in damage and losses commensurate with the
spread.  The damage and losses to commercial trees would
lower the value and production of timber and tree products
such as lumber used in the production of furniture.

Lastly, control measures would likely be taken by
USDA−APHIS if DATCP does not act;  those actions would
not be under DATCP’s control and would likely results in a
statewide quarantine.
Modify Rule Provisions

Under this alternative, DATCP would enact import control
and quarantine to restrict the movement of firewood, green
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lumber, and other living, dead, cut or fallen material,
including nursery stock, logs, stumps, roots, and branches
from any host trees. These materials may be moved within the
quarantine area but would be restricted from moving outside
the area.

Controversial Public Issues

DATCP does not anticipate major public controversy
related to this rule.  However, some industry members may
express concern about possible increased costs for
inspections or limited markets. The controversial issues
would be certain in the absence of this rule and the associated
necessity of tree removal.

This rule will improve protection for the public at large.

Conclusion

This rule will have a positive effect on the environment,
and will not have any significant negative effects.  This rule
may increase costs for some businesses, including small
businesses, but the costs are minimal, are greatly outweighed
(even for those businesses) by the protection that this rule
affords.  There are no preferable alternatives to this rule.  This
rule is not a “major action significantly affecting the quality
of the environment,” for purposes of s. 1.11, Stats.  No
environmental impact statement is required under s. 1.11,
Stats. or ch. ATCP 3, Wis. Adm. Code.

Notice of Hearing
Labor and Industry Review Commission

[CR 05−092]
(reprinted from 2/15/06, Wis. Adm. Register)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss. 103.04
(2), Stats., and interpreting ss. 40.65 (2), 102.18 (3) and (4),
106.52 (4), 106.56 (4), 108.09 (6), 108.10 (2) and (3), 111.39
(5) (a), 303.07 (7) and 303.21 of the statutes, the Wisconsin
Labor and Industry Review Commission will hold a public
hearing at Room B103 of the GEF I State Office Building, 201
East Washington Avenue, in the City of Madison, Wisconsin,
on the 8th day of March, 2006, at 10:30 a.m., to consider the
repeal, amendment and recreation of rules relating to the
procedures applicable to review of decisions by the
commission.

Analysis Prepared by Labor and Industry Review
Commission

The proposed rules update and reorganize chs. LIRC 1 to
4 to clarify provisions relating to when, where and how
petitions for commission review may be filed, to create a
provision allowing petitions for review to be filed
electronically through the commission’s website in
unemployment insurance and workers compensation cases, to
clarify provisions relating to use of hearing transcripts,
synopses and summaries of evidence, and to make other
minor corrective changes in its rules of procedure.

Text of Rule (corrected)

Section 1.  LIRC 1.01 is amended to read:

LIRC 1.01 General. The labor and industry review
commission has jurisdiction for review of cases arising under
ss. 40.65 (2), 66.191, 1981 Stats., 102.18 (3) and (4), 106.52
(4), 106.56 (4), 108.09 (6), 108.10 (2) and (3), 111.39 (5) (a),
303.07 (7) and 303.21, Stats.

Section 2.  LIRC 1.015  is created to read:

LIRC 1.015 Definitions. (1) In chapters LIRC 1 to 4,
“commission” means the Wisconsin labor and industry
review commission.

(2) In chapters LIRC 1 to 4, “department” means the
Wisconsin department of workforce development.

Section 3.  LIRC 1.02 (intro.) is amended to read:
LIRC 1.02 Petitions for commission review; appeal period.

All petitions for commission review shall be received, or, in
unemployment compensation, received or postmarked, filed
within 21 days from the date of mailing of the administrative
law judge’s findings and decision or order, except as provided
under this section. “Received” means physical receipt. A
mailed petition postmarked on or prior to the last day of an
appeal period, but received on a subsequent day is not a timely
appeal, except in unemployment compensation.  All petitions
shall be in writing. The last day of an appeal period shall be
that the petition may be filed on the next business day if the
last day for filing 21st day falls on any of the following:

Section 4.  LIRC 1.025 is repealed and recreated to read:
LIRC 1.025 Petitions for review; filing. (1) Petitions for

review may be filed by mail or personal delivery.  A petition
for review filed by mail or personal delivery is deemed filed
only when it is actually received by the commission or by the
division of the department to which the petition is mailed,
except that petitions for review in unemployment insurance
cases under s. 108.09 or 108.10, Stats. which are filed by mail
or personal delivery are deemed filed when received or
postmarked as provided for in s. LIRC 2.015.

(2) Except as provided for in subs. (3) and (4), petitions for
review may not be filed by e−mail or by any other method of
electronic data transmission.

(3) Petitions for review may be filed by facsimile
transmission.  A petition for review transmitted by facsimile
is not deemed filed unless and until the petition is received and
printed at the recipient facsimile machine of the commission
or of the division of the department to which the petition is
being transmitted. The party transmitting a petition by
facsimile is solely responsible for ensuring its timely receipt.
The commission is not responsible for errors or failures in
transmission.  A petition for review transmitted by facsimile
is deemed filed on the date of  transmission recorded and
printed by the facsimile machine on the petition.

(4) Except in the case of petitions for review in fair
employment and public accommodations cases under s.
106.52 or 111.39(5), Stats., petitions for review may be filed
electronically through the internet website of the commission,
at the page found at:
http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/lirc/petition.htm.  Successful
filing of a petition for review electronically through the
internet website of the commission will result in a display on
the petitioner’s internet browser of a message confirming that
the petition has been successfully filed.  A petition for review
transmitted electronically through the website of the
commission is not deemed filed unless and until the
confirmation message is displayed.  The commission is not
responsible for errors in transmission that result in failure of
a petition to be successfully filed electronically through the
website of the commission. A petition for review filed
electronically through the internet website of the commission
is deemed filed on the date of filing stated on the
commission’s electronic record of the filing.

(5) Petitions for review may not be filed by telephone.
Section 5.  LIRC 1.04 is repealed and recreated to read:
LIRC 1.04 Record used for review. Review by the

commission shall be based on the record of the case including
the evidence previously submitted at hearing before the
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department.  The record of the hearing may be in the form of
a written synopsis or a transcript, and may include an audio
recording of the hearing.  The form of the record of the hearing
which the commission uses in its review shall be determined
as follows:

(1) Except as provided in subs. (2) through (5) of this
section, the commission shall base its review on a written
synopsis of the testimony taken at the hearing.  The synopsis
shall be prepared by the department, by the commission, or by
an outside contractor, from an audio recording of the hearing
or from notes taken at the hearing by the administrative law
judge.  In those cases any party may obtain a copy of the
synopsis as provided for in s. LIRC 1.045.

(2) The commission shall base its review on a transcript of
the hearing rather than a synopsis if a transcript was prepared
and was used by the administrative law judge in deciding the
case.  In such cases any party may obtain a copy of the
transcript as provided for in s. LIRC 1.045.

(3) Except in unemployment insurance cases, the
commission shall base its review on a transcript of the hearing
rather than a synopsis if a party timely requests the
commission in writing to conduct its review on the basis of a
transcript, the party certifies in such request  that it has ordered
preparation of a transcript at the party’s own expense, and the
party thereafter files a copy of the transcript with the
commission and serves a copy of the transcript on all other
parties.  To be timely under this subsection, a request must be
made no later than 14 days after the  requesting party’s receipt
from the commission of written confirmation that a petition
for commission review has been filed.

(4) The commission shall base its review on a transcript of
the hearing rather than a synopsis if a party shows to the
commission that the synopsis is not sufficiently complete and
accurate to fairly reflect the relevant and material testimony
and other evidence taken. In those cases the commission shall
direct the preparation of a transcript at its own expense and
provide a copy of the transcript to each party without charge.

(5) On its own motion, the commission may base its review
on a transcript of the hearing in addition to a synopsis. In those
cases the commission shall direct the preparation of a
transcript at its own expense and provide a copy of the
transcript to each party without charge.

(6) A transcript used pursuant to subs. (2) to (5) shall be
prepared by an independent court reporter or transcriptionist
and shall include a certification by the court reporter or
transcriptionist that the transcript is an original, verbatim
transcript of the proceedings.

(7) On its own motion, the commission may base its review
on an audio recording of the hearing in addition to a synopsis
or transcript.

Section 6.  LIRC 1.045 is amended to read:
LIRC 1.045 Obtaining copy of record. A party in a case

before the commission may request the commission to
provide a copy of the synopsis or transcript of the testimony,
exhibits received at the hearing, or other documents in the file
materials. The commission shall furnish the materials copies
upon request but may charge a fee for photocopying of 20
cents per page. Upon proper showing of financial inability to
pay for photocopying, the commission may waive the fee.

Section 7.  LIRC 2.01 is repealed and recreated to read:
LIRC 2.01 Petitions for review; where filed.  (1) Except as

provided in subs. (2) and (3), a petition for commission review
of an appeal tribunal decision under s. 108.09 or 108.10,
Stats., shall be filed with any of the following:

(a) The division of unemployment insurance of the
department, at any of the following locations:

1.  The Madison hearing office, at 1801 Aberg Ave., Suite
A, P.O. Box 7975, Madison, Wisconsin  53707−7975 (FAX:
608−242−4813).

2.  The Milwaukee hearing office, at 819 N. 6th St., Rm.
382, Milwaukee, Wisconsin  53203−1606 (FAX:
414−227−4264).

3.  The Eau Claire hearing office, at 715 S. Barstow St.,
Suite 1, Eau Claire, Wisconsin 54701−3880 (FAX:
715−836−1360).

4.  The Fox Valley hearing office, at 926 Westhill Blvd.,
Appleton, Wisconsin 54914 (FAX: 920−832−5434).

5. The central administrative office of the division’s bureau
of legal affairs, at P.O. Box 8942, Madison, Wisconsin 53708
(FAX: 608−266−8221).

(b)  The commission, at its office at  3319 West Beltline
Highway, P.O. Box 8126, Madison, Wisconsin 53708  (FAX:
608−267−4409).

(2) A petition filed by an interstate claimant may be filed
at one of the locations in sub. (1) or with a qualified employee
of the agent state in which the interstate claimant files his or
her claim.

(3) A petition by the department shall be filed only at the
office of the commission.

Section 8.  LIRC 2.015 is amended to read:
LIRC 2.015 Timeliness of petitions. For purposes of s.

108.09 (6) (a), Stats., “received or postmarked” means the
words “received” and “postmarked” have the following
meanings:

(1) If the petition is personally delivered, the petition is
“received” when the division of unemployment insurance of
the department or the commission physically receives the
petition.

(2) If the petition is mailed and bears only a United States
postal service postmark, the petition is “postmarked” on the
date of that postmark.

(3) If the petition is mailed and bears both a United States
postal service postmark and a private meter mark, the petition
is “postmarked” on the date of the United States postal service
postmark.

(4) If the petition is mailed and bears only a private meter
mark, the petition is “postmarked” on the date of that mark.

(5) If the petition is mailed and bears no mark, or bears an
illegible mark, the petition is “postmarked” 2 business days
prior to the date the petition was physically received by the
division of unemployment insurance of the department or the
commission.

(6) If the petition is sent using a delivery service other than
the United States postal service, and bears a delivery service
mark which is the equivalent of a United States postal service
postmark, the petition is “postmarked” on the date of that
delivery service mark.

(7) If the petition is sent using a delivery service other than
the United States postal service, and does not bear a delivery
service mark which is the equivalent of a United States postal
service postmark, or bears an illegible delivery service mark,
the petition is “postmarked” 2 business days prior to the date
the petition was physically received by the division of
unemployment insurance of the department or the
commission.

Section 9.  LIRC 2.03 is repealed.
Section 10.  LIRC 2.04 is repealed.
Section 11.  LIRC 3.01 is repealed and recreated to read:
LIRC 3.01 Petitions for review; where filed.  A petition for

commission review of the findings or order of a department
administrative law judge under s. 102.18, Stats., shall be filed
with any of the following:
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(1) The worker’s compensation division of the department,
at any of the following locations:

(a)  201 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 7901, Madison,
Wisconsin 53707 (FAX: 608−267−0394).

(b)  819 North Sixth Street, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203
(FAX: 414−227−4012).

(c)  1500 North Casaloma Drive, Suite 310, Appleton,
Wisconsin 54915  (FAX: 920−832−5355).

(2)  The commission, at its office at  3319 West Beltline
Highway, P.O. Box 8126, Madison, Wisconsin 53708  (FAX:
608−267−4409).

Section 12.  LIRC 3.02 is repealed.
Section 13.  LIRC 3.04 is amended to read:
LIRC 3.04 Compromise settlements. Compromise

settlements of worker’s compensation claims are solely
within the jurisdiction of the worker’s compensation division,
department of workforce development, according to
governed by s. 102.16, Stats., and s. DWD 80.03. Under s.
102.18 (4) (d), Stats., if a compromise is reached while a case
is pending commission review, the compromise shall be
submitted to the commission, and the commission shall
remand the case to the worker’s compensation division of the
department for consideration of the compromise. If the
compromise is not approved, the party who filed the petition
for commission review may reinstate its petition by notifying
the commission. Under s. 102.24 (2), Stats., if a compromise
is reached while a case is pending court review of a
commission order, remand shall be to the commission and the
commission shall then remand the case to the department for
consideration of the compromise.

Section 14.  LIRC 4.01 is amended to read:
LIRC 4.01 Petitions for commission review; where filed.

A petition for commission review of the findings and order of
a department administrative law judge under s. 106.52 or
111.39 (5), Stats., shall be received within 21 days from the
date of mailing of the findings and order to the parties by filed
with the equal rights division of the department at any of the
following locations:

(1) The equal rights division, 819 North Sixth Street,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203 , or (FAX: 414−227−4981).

(2) The central administrative office of the equal rights
division, at 201 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8928,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708 (FAX: 608−267−4592).

Section 15.  LIRC 4.02 is repealed.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:
The commission’s rules of procedure affect small

businesses when they are parties to cases pending before the
commission.  The proposed rule changes primarily serve to
clarify existing procedural rules.  The changes in procedure
made by the proposed rules will create an additional method
by which a petition for review may be filed, and reduce the
charge for obtaining copies of certain documents. These
changes are not anticipated to have any significant effect on
small businesses.

Fiscal Estimate
Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate
Repeal of LIRC 2.04 eliminates fees of $1.00 per page ($25

minimum) for a transcript prepared by or for the Commission
and substitutes a 20 cents per page photocopying fee under
LIRC 1.045.  Based on averaging and estimating fees
collected for transcripts requested in recent years, the loss in
fees would amount to approximately $1100 to $1200 per year.

Estimate:   20 transcripts per year
                  70 pages ($70)

$1400 minus 20 cents per page offset for photocopying
($250) = $1120
Contact Person and Submission of Comments

Agency contacts − James L. Pflasterer, General Counsel,
telephone: (608) 266−7728, E−mail:  james.pflasterer@dwd.
state.wi.us; David B. Nance, Staff Attorney, telephone:  (608)
266−5823, E−mail:  dave.nance@dwd.state.wi.us.

Comments may be submitted in writing by March 15,
2006 to:  Wisconsin Labor and Industry Review Commission,
P. O. Box 8126, Madison WI 53708−8126; by facsimile to
(608) 267−4409; or via E−mail to dwdlirc@dwd.state.wi.us.

More information is provided at the commission’s website
at: http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/lirc/proposedrules.htm.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

[CR 06−013]
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 29.014,
29.063, 29.177 and 227.11, Stats., interpreting ss. 29.063,
29.177 and 29.361, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to ss. NR
10.01 (3), 10.104 (11) and 10.105 (2), Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to deer hunting as the pertains to the control and
eradication of chronic wasting disease (CWD).  Beginning in
2006, the Department proposes the following CWD hunting
rules:

Creates an either−sex hunting regulation for all seasons for
both the Herd Reduction Zone (HRZ) and the Disease
Eradication Zones (DEZ).

HRZ and DEZ early gun deer season for 9 days beginning
the Saturday nearest October 24.

HRZ and DEZ late gun deer season beginning with the
traditional opener and ending 3 Sundays after Thanksgiving.

Preservation of the Earn−a−Buck option for the future, if
needed.  Criteria will be created that will establish when the
Department may use the earn−a−buck harvest regulations and
add 7 days to the early deer gun season if earn−a−buck
regulations are recommended for a unit, units or a herd
reduction or disease eradication zone.

In the state parks in the herd reduction zone (Belmont
Mound, Cadiz Springs, Devil’s Lake, Natural Bridge, New
Glarus Woods, Mirror Lake, Rocky Arbor and Yellowstone)
the late October season would be extended from 4 to 9 days
to mirror the season outside of the park.  Also, for consistency,
rather than beginning on the Thursday, the season would start
on the Saturday nearest October 24.  The hunting hours will
end at noon for all 9 days to reduce conflicts with traditional
park uses.

In state parks in the disease eradication zone (Blue Mound,
Governor Dodge and Tower Hill), the number of early gun
hunting days will be reduced to be consistent with hunting
outside the parks.  In 2006, the early firearm season in these
parks would begin the Saturday nearest October 24 and
extend for 9 days.  The archery seasons in these parks will
open on the same weekend as the early gun hunt, rather than
on the Thursday nearest October 27.  The hunting hours will
end at noon for all 9 days to reduce conflicts with traditional
park uses.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608) 266−1959.
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NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department will hold an open house/informational meeting
immediately preceding each public hearing.  The open
house/informational meeting on the deer herd status and the
proposed CWD rule will be held from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Department staff will be available to answer questions
regarding the proposed rules and deer herd status in the
surrounding deer management units.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

March 13, 2006
Monday at 7:00 p.m.

Waukesha State Office Bldg.
141 NW Barstow
Waukesha

March 14, 2006
Tuesday at 7:00 p.m.

Grand Avenue Elementary
  School Theater
225 Grand Avenue
Prairie du Sac

March 15, 2006
Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.

Jefferson Co. Fairgrounds 
  Activity Center
503 N. Jackson Avenue
Jefferson

March 15, 2006
Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.

Kenosha Center
Kenosha Co. Administration
  Center
1010 56th Street
Kenosha

March 17, 2006
Friday at 7:00 p.m.

DNR Service Center
1500 N. Johns Street
Dodgeville

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Kari Lee−Zimmerman at (608) 267−7861 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Fiscal Estimate

Since 2002, the department has promulgated rules to
manage and control CWD.  In previous years the department
has added significant areas of southern Wisconsin to one of
the designated CWD management zones, which has resulted
in added costs and reduced revenues to the department.
However, this year the department is not modifying either the
DEZ or HRZ, resulting in no significant fiscal impact.

The remaining proposed modifications do not result in an
increase or decrease in appropriations or revenues for the
department.  Additionally, these proposals do not result in
increased or decreased department costs.

Copy of Rule and Submission of Comments
The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and

comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Ms. Kari
Lee−Zimmerman, Bureau of Wildlife Management, P.O. Box
7921, Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted
until March 20, 2006.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Ms. Lee−Zimmerman.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

[CR 06−011]
[CR 06−012]

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 23.09

(2) (b), 29.014, 29.089 (3), 29.091, 29.164 (4) (b), 29.184 (6)
and 29.197 (2), Stats., interpreting ss. 23.09 (2) (b), 29.014,
29.089 (3), 29.091, 29.164 (4) (b), 29.184 (6) and 29.197 (2),
Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold public
hearings on revisions to chs. NR 10, 15, 17 and 19, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to deer and turkey hunting, hunting and
trapping techniques, permit and license issuance, dog training
and learn−to−hunt programs.  The proposed changes:

1.  Extend the closing date of the ruffed grouse season in
Zone A from December 31 to January 31, thereby
consolidating ruffed grouse hunting zones from 3 to 2.

2.  Expand the fall wild turkey hunting season from
October 1 – November 10 to the Saturday nearest September
15 and continuing through the Thursday immediately prior to
the opening of the deer gun season.  This would be the same
as the early archery deer season dates.

3.  Create a 2−day youth turkey hunt on the weekend before
the regular spring turkey season begins.

4.  Extend the ending of the spring wild turkey hunting
hours from 5:00 p.m. to sunset.

5.  Prohibit possession of electronic turkey calling
equipment while turkey hunting, and prohibit possession of
electronic waterfowl calling equipment while waterfowl
hunting.

6.  Create consistent standards for body−gripping type
traps, where traps 75 square inches or larger would be illegal
as dry land sets, traps between 60 and 75 square inches would
be legal only when half the trap in below water at all times, or
when at least 5 feet off the ground, or when properly enclosed,
and creating a maximum allowable height dimension of 7�

inches for dry land body−gripping traps.
7.  Issue turkey carcass tags remaining after the initial

special license drawing over−the−counter at a rate of one
carcass tag per customer per day.

8.  Change the “no dog training” period from April 15−July
31 to April 1−July 31.

9.  Change the minimum age of the Youth Learn to Hunt
Program from age 11 to age 10 to be consistent with current
department policy.

10.  Allow Class A bear licenses to be purchased up to the
day prior to the  ear season, and allow the purchase of a Class
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A bear license during the bear season, provided the license is
not effective until three days after the date of purchase.

11.  Allow the use of rifles in Kewaunee County during the
gun deer season.

12.  Create a limited entry nine−day shotgun deer gun
season, followed by a ten−day muzzleloader season and late
archery season at High Cliff State Park.

13.  Eliminate the Greenwood “No Entry Wildlife Refuge”
in Waushara County.

14.  Require a pheasant stamp statewide for anyone who
wishes to hunt pheasants.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
ss. 29.014 (1), 29.039, 29.041 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.,
interpreting ss. 29.014(1), 29.039, 29.041, 29.161, 29.204,
29.207, 29.219, 29.228, 29.231, 29.235, 29.531, 29.533 and
29.624, Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold
public hearings on revisions to chs. NR 20, 21, 23 and 24, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to fishing on the inland, outlying and
boundary waters of Wisconsin.  The proposed changes:

1.  Consider 50” minimum size limit for muskellunge in
Lake Winnebago, to be consistent with Great Lakes spotted
musky rehabilitation protocol in connected waters.

2.  Consider 50” minimum size limit for muskellunge in
Little Lake Butte des Morts and the Fox River downstream
from the Neenah and Menasha dams to the DePere dam, to be
consistent with Great Lakes spotted musky rehabilitation
protocol in connected waters.

3.  Extend sunset provision of Wisconsin, Lemonwier and
Yellow River experimental regulations for walleye and
sauger, from the Grandfather dam downstream to the Prairie
du Sac dam.  The experimental 15” minimum/20−28” no
harvest slot will be extended until 2014 to enable the
Department to fully evaluate the efficiency of the regulation.

4.  Prohibit recreational harvest of live freshwater mussels
from inland waters of the state, excluding the Great Lakes and
the Mississippi River.

5.  Establish a catch−and−release only fishery for lake
sturgeon in the Menominee River downstream from the Hattie
St. dam, and modify the minimum length limit for lake
sturgeon above the Hattie St. dam to coincide with recently
approved changes to Michigan regulations.

6.  Simplify walleye regulations in the Menominee River
below the Hattie St. dam and in waters of Green Bay, to
provide consistent regulations for anglers fishing either
Wisconsin or Michigan waters.

7.  Revise opening date for game fish season on the St.
Croix River to provide anglers with an opening date
consistent between Wisconsin and Minnesota waters.

8.  Revise the minimum length limit for sauger on the St.
Louis River to provide anglers with a regulation consistent in
Wisconsin and Minnesota waters.]

9.  Prohibit possession or use of a sinker release device
while fishing in waters of the state.

10.  Revise code to allow individuals younger than 16 years
old to take, possess and control turtles without the
requirement to hold a valid fishing or small game license.

11.  Modify removal dates for ice shanties from March 1
(south of Hwy. 64) and March 15 (north of Hwy. 64) to “the
first Saturday following March 1 and the first Saturday
following March 12, respectively”.

12.  Expand the list of waters where bowfishing is
permitted between sunset and sunrise.

13.  Replace the 14” minimum size limits for largemouth
and smallmouth bass in Pigeon Lake, Bayfield County, with

a 14−18” no−harvest slot regulation and reduce the daily bag
limit from 5 fish to 3 fish.

14.  Extend sunset provision for 18” minimum/3 fish daily
bag limit for walleye in Beaver Dam Lake, Dodge County, to
enable the Department to fully evaluate the impacts of the
regulation.  This proposal will also encompass all Beaver
Dam Lake tributary streams, which were inadvertently
excluded from the original rule.

15.  Increase the minimum length limit for walleye in
Kangaroo Lake, Door County, from 15” to 18” and reduce the
daily bag limit from 5 fish to 3 fish.

16.  Increase the minimum size limits for largemouth and
smallmouth bass in Muskellunge Lake, Lincoln County, from
14” to 18” and reduce the daily bag limit from 5 fish to one
fish.

17.  Replace the 18” minimum size limits for largemouth
and smallmouth bass in Pigeon Lake, Bayfield County, with
a 14−18” no−harvest slot  regulation and increase the daily
bag limit from one fish to 3 fish.

18.  Increase the minimum size limit for muskellunge in
Pelican Lake, Oneida County, from 34” to 50”.

19.  Replace the current 14” minimum size limits for
largemouth and smallmouth bass with no minimum size limit
in Big Butternut Lake, Polk County.

20.  Replace the 14” minimum size limits for largemouth
and smallmouth bass with no minimum size limit in Nelson
Lake, Sawyer County.

21.  Increase the minimum length limit for northern pike in
Nelson Lake, Sawyer County, from “no minimum” to 32”,
and reduce the daily bag limit from 5 fish to one fish.

22.  Reduce the daily bag limit for panfish in Smith lake,
Sawyer County, from 25 fish to 10 fish.

23.  Increase the minimum size limits for largemouth and
smallmouth bass in Kentuck Lake, Vilas County, from 14” to
18” and reduce the daily bag limit from 5 fish to one fish.

24.  Increase the minimum size limits for smallmouth bass
in Pallette Lake, Vilas County, from 16” to 22” and reduce the
daily bag limit from 2 fish to one fish.

25.  Extend open trout season in Gilbert, Pine and Pearl
Lakes, Waushara County, to coincide with regular gamefish
season.

26.  Remove special regulations for northern pike and
muskellunge in Long Lake, Waushara County, and revert to
statewide standard regulations.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
ss. 29.014, 29.164 (4) (b) and 227.24, Stats., interpreting ss.
29.014 and 29.164 (4) (b), Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on Natural Resources
Board Emergency Order No. WM−10−06(E) relating to the
issuance of turkey hunting permits.  This emergency order has
an effective date of March 1, 2006.  The emergency rule
allows the department to issue turkey tags remaining after the
initial permit drawing in accordance with state statute, which
is first−come, first−served.  Additionally, code language is
updated to accurately describe how permits are currently
issued and establishes that no person may obtain more than
one turkey carcass tag per day.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rules
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
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effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that at 7:00
p.m. on Monday, April 10, 2006, the County Conservation
Congress for each county will hold its election of delegates.
Upon completion of the delegate election, the joint Spring
Hearing/Conservation Congress meeting will convene to take
comments on the foregoing rule modifications.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on Monday, April 10, 2006 at 7:00 p.m.
at the following locations:

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that at 7:00
p.m. on Monday, April 10, 2006, the County Conservation
Congress for each county will hold its election of delegates.
Upon completion of the delegate election, the joint Spring
Hearing/Conservation Congress meeting will convene to take
comments on the foregoing rule modifications.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on Monday, April 10, 2006 at 7:00 p.m.
at the following locations:

Adams Adams−Friendship Middle School,. . . . . 
Gymnasium, 420 North Main Street, Friendship

Ashland Ashland Senior High School, Auditorium,. . . . 
1900 Beaser Avenue, Ashland

Barron Barron County Courthouse, Auditorium, 330. . . . . 
E. Lasalle Ave., Barron

Bayfield Bayfield County Courthouse, 117 E. 5th,. . . . 
Washburn

Brown West High School, Auditorium, 966 Shawano. . . . . . 
Avenue, Green Bay

Buffalo Alma High School, Auditorium, S1618 STH. . . . . 
35, Alma

Burnett Siren High School, Auditorium, 24022. . . . . 
Fourth Avenue N, Siren

Calumet Chilton Public High School, Auditorium, 530. . . . 
West Main Street, Chilton

Chippewa Chippewa Falls Middle School, Auditorium. . . 
A, 750 Tropicana Blvd., Chippewa Falls

Clark Greenwood High School, West Gym, 306 W.. . . . . . . 
Central Ave., Greenwood

Columbia Portage Junior High School, 2505 New. . . 
Pinery Road, Portage

Crawford Prairie du Chien High School, Auditorium,. . . 
800 East Crawford Street, Prairie du Chien

Dane Alliant Energy Center, 1919 Alliant Energy. . . . . . . 
Way, Madison

Dodge Horicon High School, Auditorium, 841 Gray. . . . . . 
Street, Horicon

Door Sturgeon Bay High School, Auditorium, 1230. . . . . . . 
Michigan Street, Sturgeon Bay

Douglas Northwestern Elementary School, U.S. Hwy.. . . . 
2, Poplar

Dunn Dunn County Fish & Game Club, 1900 Pine. . . . . . . 
Ave., Menomonie

Eau Claire South Middle School, Auditorium, 2115. . . 
Mitscher Ave., Eau Claire

Florence Florence High School, Auditorium, 400 Olive. . . . 
Avenue, Florence

Fond du Lac Theisen Jr. High School, Auditorium, 525 E.. 
Pioneer Rd., Fond du Lac

Forest Crandon High School, Auditorium, 970 USH. . . . . . 
8 W, Crandon

Grant Lancaster High School, Hilary Auditorium,. . . . . . 
806 E. Elm St., Lancaster

Green  Monroe Middle School, Auditorium, 1510. . . . . . 
13th Street, Monroe

Green Lake Green Lake High School, Multi−purpose. . 
room, 612 Mill Street, Green Lake

Iowa Dodgeville High School, Gymnasium, 912. . . . . . . 
West Chapel Street, Dodgeville

Iron Mercer Community Center, 2448 West. . . . . . . . 
Margaret, Mercer

Jackson Black River Falls Middle School, LGI Room,. . . . . 
1202 Pierce Street, Black River Falls

Jefferson Jefferson County Fair Park, Activity Center,. . . . 
503 N. Jackson, Jefferson

Juneau  Mauston High School, Gymnasium, 800. . . . . 
Grayside Ave., Mauston

Kenosha Bristol Grade School, Gym, 20121 83rd. . . . 
Street, Bristol

Kewaunee Kewaunee High School, Theatre, 911 3rd. . . 
Street, Kewaunee

La Crosse Onalaska High School, Auditorium, 700. . . 
Wilson Street, Onalaska

Lafayette Darlington High School, Auditorium, 11838. . . 
Center Hill Road, Darlington

Langlade Antigo High School, Volm Theater, 900 10th. . . . 
Avenue, Antigo

Lincoln Tomahawk Elementary School, Auditorium,. . . . . 
1048 E. Kings Road, Tomahawk

Manitowoc UW−Manitowoc, Theater, 705 Viebahn. . 
Street, Manitowoc

Marathon Wausau West High School, 1200 West. . . 
Wausau Ave., Wausau

Marinette Crivitz High School, Auditorium, 718 Hall. . . 
Hay Street, Crivitz

Marquette Montello High School, Varsity Gym, 222. . . 
Forest Lane, Montello

Menominee Menominee County Courthouse, Basement,. 
Courthouse Lane, Keshena

Milwaukee Bayfield High School, Auditorium, 2751. . 
South Lenox Street, Milwaukee

Monroe Tomah High School, Gym, 901 Lincoln. . . . . 
Avenue, Tomah

Oconto Suring High School, Cafeteria, 411 E.. . . . . 
Algoma Street, Suring

Oneida James Williams Junior High, Auditorium,. . . . . 
915 Aracia, Rhinelander

Outagamie Riverview Middle School, Auditorium, 101. . 
Oak Street, Kaukauna

Ozaukee Webster Middle School, Commons, W75. . . . 
N624 Wauwatosa Rd., Cedarburg

Pepin Pepin County Government Center−Co.,. . . . . . 
Board Room, 740 7th Avenue, W. Durand

Pierce Ellsworth Senior High School, Auditorium,. . . . . . 
323 Hillcrest, Ellsworth
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Polk Unity High School, Gymnasium, 1908 150th. . . . . . . 
Street/Hwy 46, Balsam Lake

Portage Ben Franklin Jr. High School, Auditorium,. . . . . 
2000 Polk Street, Stevens Point

Price Phillips High School, Auditorium, 990. . . . . . . 
Flambeau Avenue, Phillips

Racine Union Grove High School, Auditorium, 3433. . . . . 
S. Colony Avenue, Union Grove

Richland Richland Center High School, Auditorium,. . . . 
23200 Hornet High Drive, Richland Center

Rock Loyal Order of Moose Lodge, 2701 Rockport. . . . . . . 
Road, Janesville

Rusk Ladysmith High School, Cafeteria, 1700. . . . . . . 
Edgewood Avenue East, Ladysmith

Saint Croix Indianhead Technical College, Cashman. . 
Auditorium, 1019 S. Knowles Ave., New Richmond

Sauk UW−Baraboo/Sauk County, 1006 Connie. . . . . . . 
Road, Room A4, Baraboo

Sawyer Hayward High School, Auditorium, 10320. . . . . 
Greenwood Lane, Hayward

Shawano Shawano Community Middle School, LG 1,. . . . 
1050 S. Union Street, Shawano

Sheboygan Sheboygan Falls High School, Auditorium,. . 
220 Amherst Ave., Sheboygan Falls

Taylor Taylor County Multi−Purpose Building,. . . . . . 
Intersection of Hwy 64&13, Medford

Trempealeau Whitehall City Center, Gymnasium, 36245. 
Park Street, Whitehall

Vernon Viroqua High School, Auditorium, Viroqua. . . . . 
Vilas Sayner Community Center, Golf Course. . . . . . . 

Road, Sayner
Walworth Delavan/Darien High School, 150. . . 

Cummings, Delavan
Washburn WI Ag Research Station, Conference Room,. . . 

W6646 Hwy 70, Spooner
Washington Washington County Fair Park, Exhibit Hall,. . 

3000 Hwy PV, West Bend
Waukesha Waukesha South High School, Auditorium,. . . 

401 E. Roberta Ave., Waukesha
Waupaca Waupaca High School, Auditorium, E2325. . . . 

King Road, Waupaca
Waushara Waushara County Courthouse, County Board. . . 

Room, 2nd Floor, Room 265, 209 S. St. Marie St.,
Wautoma

Winnebago Webster Stanley Middle School, Auditorium,. . 
915 Hazel St., Oshkosh

Wood Pittsville High School, Auditorium, 5459. . . . . . 
Elementary Avenue, Pittsville

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call AnnMarie Kutzke at (608) 266−2952 with specific
information on your request by April 3, 2006.

Fiscal Estimate
The 2005 − 07 state budget (2005 Wisconsin Act 25)

created a provision to allow the department to issue turkey
permits, remaining after the initial permit drawing, over the
counter on a first−come, first−served basis at the cost of $10

for residents and $15 for non−residents. The department’s
intent is to prevent any one individual from hoarding permits,
and at the same time make sure that there are a limited number
of left over permits that go unused. The intent of the budget
proposal was to make sure permits are issued to those who have the
ability and desire to use the permits. Therefore, the department
recommends that turkey permits remaining after the initial drawing,
be made available to customers at a rate of 1 permit per day, with no
limit on the number of permits that an individual hunter may obtain
in a given license year. By limiting the permits to one per day per
hunter it will avoid hoarding and allow hunters equal opportunities
at available permits.

The fiscal impacts associated with this provision were
generated by the budget bill, and not the rule itself, but are
described here for informational purposes.

Cost of implementing this change will be an estimated
$10,000 to change the functionality and logic in the
Department’s Automated License Issuance System (ALIS)
and to update and print new applications.

Additionally, by issuing turkey permits over the counter,
the department will see an increase in revenue. Based on 2005
applicant information this could potentially generate on the
order of over $347,000 in revenue:

2005 Fall Turkey:
98.6% of the applicants are residents
1.4% of the applicants are nonresidents
At $9 and $14 per tag this equals $31,617 for resident tags

and $700 for nonresident tags for a total of $32,317.
2005 Spring Turkey:
96.2% of the applicants are residents
3.8% of the applicants are nonresidents
We had 34,250 second permits issued in 2005.
Using those percentages, 32,948 applicants would be

residents and 1,302 would be nonresidents.
At $9 and $14 per tag this equals $296,532 for resident tags

and $18,228 for nonresident tags for a total of $314,760.
The reason that $9 and $14 was used as the revenue

multiplier is because there is a $.15 issuance fee for each tag.
ALIS charges us about $.89 per transaction. Some will be
issued at DNR locations so the issuance fee would not apply.
Some will be sold along with other approvals in the same
transaction so the entire transaction fee wouldn’t be for just
the turkey tag. So it was estimated that the cost would be about
$1 per turkey tag.

The costs and revenue described here are not included in
the worksheet because they are attributable to the enabling
legislation, and not the rule.  However, there are two rule
change proposals that could  have a fiscal impact independent
of enabling legislation. The first is a proposed change to
require a pheasant stamp of any hunter in the state who hunts
pheasants.

The pheasant stamp was created in 1991 to fund pheasant
restoration and management. Specifically the department was
directed by state statute to use the revenues generated by the
sale of the stamp for “developing, managing, preserving,
restoring and maintaining the wild pheasant population in the
state.” To define areas where these funds were primarily
utilized, the department created the Pheasant Management
Zone (PMZ). The PMZ included counties or portions of
counties with a healthy wild pheasant population. Therefore,
a pheasant stamp was only required by those hunters who
hunted pheasants within the PMZ.

However, as a result of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 (The 2005
State Budget), a portion of pheasant stamp revenue is now
allocated toward pheasant rearing and stocking. This now
benefits pheasant hunters even outside the PMZ. As a result,
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the department recommends that all pheasant hunters in the
state be required to purchase the pheasant stamp in addition
to their small game license to hunt pheasants in Wisconsin.

In 2005, 29,978 pheasant stamps were sold (does not
include the 70,401 Conservation Patron License holders,
where a pheasant stamp was included with their Patron
License). At a cost of $10 each, this resulted in approximately
$300,000 in revenue resulting form the sale of pheasant
stamps (excluding the allotment from the Patron License
sales) in 2005. From small game hunter surveys, the
department estimates that there are approximately 75,000
hunters who annually hunt pheasants in Wisconsin. Based on
this information, and that most hunters who hunt pheasants do
so within the pheasant management zone where a stamp is
required, we assume that 95% of pheasant hunters (71,250)
either purchase a pheasant stamp or hunt pheasants under the
authority of a Conservation Patron license (which includes
the pheasant stamp). Based on these assumptions, if this rule
proposal goes forward and the pheasant stamp is required
statewide, then the department could anticipate the sale of an
additional 3,750 pheasant stamps, which would result in an
additional $37,500 in revenue for pheasant habitat restoration
and pheasant stocking.

Secondly, establishing a deer hunting season at High Cliff
State Park would increase department costs. Costs include
signage at the property (one time cost ~$500). Patrolling of
the property by Park staff during the season will result in
additional costs to the local Park staff in terms of staff time.

One additional conservation warden will be needed to be
on staff during this hunt (LTE).  Additional hours would be at
a minimum 188 hours if the LTE worked 23.5 days of the
season with permanent staff working the other 23.5 days.
Hours will also be needed to work on dual boundary posting
adjacent to private property.  The park facility repair worker
and other staff can accomplish this in a minimum of 50 hours.

LTE officer  =$1,786.00 (wage)

FTE officer  =$3,478.00 (wage)

FTE staff    =$846.00 (wage) − time spent on boundary
work – One time cost.

Materials  =$500.00 (signs/posts for boundaries) –
One time cost.

Estimated annual expenditures (staff time) − $5,264

One time staff cost − $846

Mileage and equipment (including sign maintenance) −
$500

The proposed rules and fiscal estimates may be reviewed
and comments electronically submitted at the following
Internet site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments
on the proposed hunting and trapping regulations may be
submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Kurt Thiede, Bureau of
Wildlife Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.
Written comments on the proposed fishing regulations may be
submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Joe Hennessy, Bureau of
Fisheries Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.
Written comments shall be postmarked not later than April 11,
2006.  Written comments whether submitted electronically or
by U.S. mail will NOT, however, be counted as spring hearing
votes.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection, Chs. NR 100 —)
[CR 06−005]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss.
299.11(3) to (5) and (7) to (9), Stats., interpreting s. 299.11,
Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold public
hearings on the repeal and recreation of ch. NR 149, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to laboratory certification and
registration.  Chapter NR 149 sets requirements for the
certification and registration of laboratories that submit data
to the department for covered programs.  Since the last
revision of ch. NR 149 in 1998, the Department realized the
need for updating the rule to reflect current analytical
practices, give specificity to vague language, provide needed
flexibility, and promote efficient means of administering the
certification and registration program.  Highlights of the
proposed changes include:

� Provisions for issuing laboratory certificates that
clearly reflect the analytical capabilities of participating
laboratories
� Clarifications and improvements of the application
process for participating laboratories
� Equitable fee schedules for laboratories based on the
complexity of the analyses they perform
� Allowances for incorporating national acceptance
criteria for proficiency testing samples
� Procedures the Department will follow to evaluate
laboratories on site
� Comprehensive requirements that incorporate a
systematic approach to ensure the quality of the data
submitted to the Department by laboratories
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to

s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rules may have an impact on
small businesses.  The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is
as follows:

a.  Types of small businesses affected:  Small commercial
laboratories

b.  Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required:  The proposed rule requires laboratories to submit
applications for obtaining, renewing and transferring
certifications and registrations; analyze PT samples to obtain,
maintain and renew certifications and registrations; allow the
Department to perform an on−site evaluation to obtain
certification or registration and every 3 years to maintain
certification or registration; respond to and resolve
deficiencies identified during on−site evaluations; submit
fees to obtain and renew certifications and registrations;
operate under a quality system to ensure data reported to the
department is of known and documented quality; use
approved methods of analyses; and report analytical data to
the Department and clients in specified formats.  The
proposed rule does not impose specific bookkeeping
requirements on participating laboratories

c.  Description of professional skills required:  The rule
requires levels of professional skills commensurate with the
complexity of the tests performed by a laboratory, the breadth
of operations and the degree of sophistication of the analytical
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instrumentation used.  Analyses covered by the rule are
performed by personnel with a wide spectrum of credentials,
from technicians with a basic high school science education
to degreed chemists, biologists and other scientists.  The rule
allows analysts with lesser experience to work under the
direct supervision of qualified analysts.  The rule does not
specifically require academic degrees or a minimum number
of years of experience for those involved in its
implementation.

The Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
may be contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

March 23, 2006
Thursday at 1:00 p.m.

DNR Service Center
1300 W. Clairemont Avenue
Eau Claire

March 28, 2006
Tuesday at 1:00 p.m.

Downstairs Room
State Patrol Office
2805 Martin Avenue
Wausau

March 29, 2006
Wednesday at 1:00
p.m.

Room 213 Lindholm School
  Administration Bldg.
222 Maple Avenue
Waukesha

March 30, 2006
Thursday at 1:00 p.m.

Ag Extension Service Center
1150 Bellevue Street
Green Bay

April 6, 2006
Thursday at 1:00 p.m.

Prairie Room
DNR Service Center
1500 N. Johns Street
Dodgeville

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Diane Drinkman at (608) 264−8950 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Fiscal Estimate
There is a potential fiscal impact on local governments.
The overall costs for maintaining a laboratory’s quality

system will be driven by the selection of the options offered
in this proposed rule.  Local government laboratories are most
likely to experience a reduction in these costs if they choose
to modify current practices.

Copy of Rule and Submission of Comments
The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and

comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Ms. Diane

Drinkman, Bureau of Integrated Science Services, P.O. Box
7921, Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted
until April 14, 2006.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Ms. Drinkman.

Notice of Hearing
Nursing Home Administrator Examining

Board
[CR 06−010]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Nursing Home Administrator Examining Board
in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting s.
456.07 (2), Stats., the Nursing Home Administrator
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to renumber and
amend NHA 1.02 (5); to amend the Note following NHA 3.01
(1), NHA 3.02 (1), (1m) and the Note following NHA 3.02
(1m), NHA 3.03 (1) (intro.), the Note following NHA 3.03 (1)
(c), and (2); and to create NHA 3.02 (6) and (7), and 3.03 (5),
relating to continuing education.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: March 16, 2006
Time: 9:45 A.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 121A
(Enter at 55 Dickinson Street)
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI
53708, or by e−mail to pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.
Written comments must be received by March 27, 2006 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statute interpreted: Section 456.07 (2), Stats.
Statutory authority: Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),

Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Nursing Home Administrator Examining Board is

authorized under ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., to
promulgate rules establishing the continuing education
requirements for the renewal of a nursing home
administrator’s license.

Related statute or rule
There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed

above.

Plain language analysis
Under the current rules, in order for a licensee to obtain

credit for continuing education course work completed at an
accredited college or university, the course work must be
approved by the National Association of Boards of Examiners
of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB).  The board
proposes to revise the rules to state that certain programs
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offered by accredited colleges and universities will be
acceptable for continuing education hours without having to
be approved by NAB.

The board also proposes to limit the number of continuing
education hours that may be claimed for course work
completed at accredited colleges and universities to 18
contact hours within the 2−year renewal period immediately
preceding the date of renewal.  In addition, the subject matter
of the programs will be limited to specific areas that are
relevant to the practice of nursing home administration.

SECTION 1.  The board proposes to revise the definition
of “one credit hour” to clarify that the current definition
relates only to qualifying education.  For purposes of
continuing education, a semester credit hour means 4 contact
hours and a quarter credit hour means 2 contact hours.

SECTION 2.  Section NHA 3.01 (1) is amended to state
that the list of approved regular courses of study, programs of
study and specialized courses are also available on the
department’s website.

SECTION 3.  Currently, s. NHA 3.02 (1) states that every
nursing home administrator shall complete at least 24 contact
hours in approved continuing education programs in each
biennial renewal period.  Section 456.07 (2), Stats., contains
a provision that exempts new licensees from having to comply
with the continuing education requirements during the time
between initial licensure and commencement of a full 2−year
licensure period.  The proposed rules are being revised to
include this exemption.

In addition, s. NHA 3.02 (1m) currently states that except
as provided in s. NHA 3.03 (4), continuing education
programs must be approved by NAB.  The rule is being
amended to add sub. (5) which states that a course offered by
an accredited college or university shall be accepted by the
board, without NAB approval and without receipt of an
application for approval from the accredited college or
university.

SECTION 4.  Section NHA 3.02 (6) is being created to
state that, if certain requirements are satisfied, a licensee may
claim continuing education for courses successfully
completed at an accredited college or university.  Currently,
s. NHA 3.02 (1),  states that every nursing home administrator
shall complete at least 24 contact hours in approved
continuing education programs in each biennial renewal
period.  Section 456.07 (2), Stats., contains a provision that
exempts new licensees from having to comply with the
continuing education requirements during the time between
initial licensure and commencement of a full 2−year licensure
period.  Section NHA 3.02 (7) is being created to state that
new licensees are exempt from having to comply with the
continuing education requirements during the time between
initial licensure and commencement of a full 2−year licensure
period.

SECTION 5.  Section NHA 3.03 (1) (intro.) is being
amended to state that, if certain requirements are satisfied, a
program approved by NAB shall be accepted.

SECTION 6.  Section NHA 3.03 (5) is being created to
state that, if certain requirements are satisfied, a course
offered by an accredited college or university shall be
accepted by the board, without NAB approval and without
receipt of an application for approval from the accredited
college or university.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation

There are no federal requirements that relate to the
approval of continuing education programs for nursing home
administrators.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Illinois:  Accepts course work completed at a college or

university, provided the college or university submits a
sponsor application.

Iowa:  Accepts relevant academic courses that meet the
criteria set forth in the agency’s administrative rules.  One
academic semester hour is equivalent to 15 continuing
education hours.

Michigan:  Accepts course work completed at a college or
university for continuing education credit if the subject matter
relates to specific topics identified in the agency’s
administrative rules.

Minnesota: Approves academic courses taken at an
accredited post−secondary institution.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
No study resulting in the collection of factual data was used

relating to this rule.  The primary methodology for revising
the rule is the board’s analysis and determination that a rule
change is necessary.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic
impact report

The proposed rule would change the specific subject matter
area requirements for continuing education for nursing home
administrators licensed in Wisconsin.  There are 3,124
nursing home administrators licensed in Wisconsin.  Of the
3,124 nursing home administrators licensed in Wisconsin, a
significant percentage of them probably work in small
businesses.

In order for nursing home administrators to renew their
license, continuing education courses would have to be
completed.  Currently, to obtain credit for course work taken
at a college or university, the course work must be approved
by the National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long
Term Care Administrators (NAB).  The rule would allow
certain course work offered at a college or university to be
accepted for continuing education without obtaining approval
from NAB.  The rule would also limit the course work taken
at colleges or universities to 18 of the 24 hours required.
There will be no additional reporting requirements,
bookkeeping requirements, or compliance costs.  This rule
would merely allow certain courses to be taken without
obtaining approval from NAB.  The same 24 hour
requirement would be in place.  This rule change will not have
an effect on small business.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Fiscal Estimate
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.  The proposed rule will have no
impact on the department’s funds.

Effect on Small Business
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
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53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Submission of Comments

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at pamela.haack@drl.
state.wi.us.  Comments must be received on or before March
27, 2006 to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Text Of Rule

SECTION 1.  NHA 1.02 (5) is renumbered NHA 1.02 (1m)
and is amended to read:

NHA 1.02 (1m)  “One credit hour” “Credit hour” means,
for purposes of qualifying education, a period of at least 50
minutes of instruction for a term of not less than 16 sessions.
For purposes of continuing education, one earned semester
credit hour shall be granted 4 contact hours of continuing
education credit, and one earned quarter credit hour shall be
granted 2 contact hours of continuing education credit.

SECTION 2.  The Note following NHA 3.01 (1) is
amended to read:

Note:  A list of approved regular courses of study, programs
of study and specialized courses is available upon request to
the board office at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708 or from the Department of
Regulation and Licensing’s website at: http://drl.wi.gov

SECTION 3.  NHA 3.02 (1), (1m) and the Note following
NHA 3.02 (1m) are amended to read:

NHA 3.02 Continuing education. (1)  Every Except as
provided in sub. (7), every nursing home administrator shall
complete at least 24 contact hours in approved continuing
education programs in each biennial renewal period..

(1m)  Except as provided in s. NHA 3.03 (4) and (5),
continuing education programs must be approved by NAB.

Note:  A list of approved programs is available upon
request to the board office at 1400 East Washington Avenue,
P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708 or from the
Department of Regulation and Licensing’s website at:
http://drl.wi.gov.

SECTION 4.  NHA 3.02 (6) and (7) are created to read:

NHA 3.02 (6)  A licensee may claim continuing education
hours for courses successfully completed at an accredited
college or university if all of the following requirements are
satisfied:

(a)  The courses are relevant to the practice of nursing home
administration and cover one or more of the subject matter
topics listed under s. NHA 3.03 (5).

(b)  The courses are completed, with a passing grade,
within the 2−year renewal period immediately preceding the
date of application for renewal.

(c)  The licensee claims no more than 18 contact hours
during the 2−year renewal period.

(d)  One semester credit hour earned from an accredited
college or university shall equal 4 contact hours and one
quarter credit hour earned shall equal 2 contact hours.

(7)  During the time between initial licensure and
commencement of a full 2−year licensure period, new
licensees shall not be required to meet continuing education
requirements.

SECTION 5.  NHA 3.03 (1) (intro.), the Note following
NHA 3.03 (1) (c), and (2) are amended to read:

NHA 3.03 Approval of continuing education programs.
(1) (intro.)  An application for a continuing education
program shall be approved by submitted to NAB according to
the following criteria established for approval.  Any
continuing education program approved by NAB shall be
accepted by the board if all of the following are satisfied:

Note:  To obtain an application for approval of a continuing
education program, contact NAB at 1444 I Street, N.W. #700,
Washington, D.C., 20006−2210 20005−6542; http://www.
nabweb.org.

(2)  A Except as provided in sub. (5), a separate application
must be submitted for each continuing education program.

SECTION 6.  NHA 3.03 (5) is created to read:
NHA 3.03 (5)  A course offered by an accredited college

or university shall be accepted by the board, without NAB
approval and without receipt of an application for approval
from the accredited college or university, if the course is
relevant to the practice of nursing home administration and
covers at least one of the following subject areas:

(a)  Behavioral science including, but not limited to,
psychology, sociology and social work.

(b)  Business including, but not limited to, economics,
marketing, accounting, finance, labor relations, human
resources and management of information systems.

(c)  Management.
(d)  Communications.
(e)  Mathematics.
(f)  Pharmacology.
(g)  Toxicology.
(h)  Biology.
(i)  Environmental and public health.
(j)  Medical ethics.

Notice of Hearing
Revenue

[CR 06−001]
Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to ss. 73.029 and

227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting ss. 71.63 (3m), 71.738
(2), and 73.029, Stats., the Department of Revenue will hold
a public hearing at the time and place indicated below, to
consider the amending and creation of rules relating to
electronic funds transfer, information returns, and wage
statements.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held at 9:00 A.M. on Wednesday,

March 15, 2006, in the Events Room (1st floor) of the State
Revenue Building, located at 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison,
Wisconsin.

Handicap access is available at the hearing location.

Comments on the Rule
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

may make an oral presentation.  It is requested that written
comments reflecting the oral presentation be given to the
department at the hearing.  Written comments may also be
submitted to the contact person shown below no later than
March 22, 2006, and will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Analysis by the Department of Revenue
Statute interpreted: ss. 71.63 (3m), 71.738 (2), and 73.029,

Stats.
Statutory authority: ss. 73.029 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
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Explanation of agency authority: Section 73.029, Stats.,
provides that the department may require electronic funds
transfer only by promulgating rules. Section 227.11 (2) (a),
Stats., provides that each agency may promulgate rules
interpreting the provisions of any statute enforced or
administered by it, if the agency considers it necessary to
effectuate the purpose of the statute.

Related statute or rule: ss. 71.63 (3m), 71.738 (2), and
73.029, Stats.

Plain language analysis: This proposed rule order does the
following:

•  Creates a provision specifying that income and franchise
tax withholding payments of pass−through entities are
required to be made by electronic funds transfer (EFT).

•  Changes a provision to specify that EFT payments made
by automated clearing house (ACH) debit transfer may be
initiated up until 4:00 p.m. on the due date of the payment.

•  Creates a provision specifying that the department may
require pass−through entities to file returns for nonresident
withholding taxes by electronic means. An exception is
provided for situations where the Secretary of Revenue
determines that the requirement to file by electronic means
causes an undue hardship.

•  Creates a provision specifying that the department may
require Form WT−7, Employers Annual Reconciliation of
Wisconsin Income Tax Withheld from Wages, to be filed by
electronic means. An exception is provided for situations
where the Secretary of Revenue determines that the
requirement to file by electronic means causes an undue
hardship.

•  Updates notes to list current street and mailing addresses.
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed

federal regulation: There is no existing or proposed federal
regulation that is intended to address the activities to be
regulated by the rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois – No similar rule exists.
Iowa – No similar rule exists.
Michigan – No similar rule exists with regard to filing an

annual withholding tax reconciliation (the equivalent of
Wisconsin Form WT−7) or a return for nonresident
withholding taxes by electronic means. EFT payment of
pass−through entity withholding is required if total
pass−through entity withholding plus employee withholding
averages at least $40,000 per month.

Minnesota – No similar rule exists with regard to filing an
annual withholding tax reconciliation (the equivalent of
Wisconsin Form WT−7) or a return for nonresident
withholding taxes by electronic means. If a pass−through
entity is required to pay any Minnesota tax by EFT, it is
required to pay all Minnesota taxes by EFT. The threshold for
withholding tax is $20,000 per year.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
2005 Wisconsin Act 25 created s. 71.775, Stats., which
requires pass−through entities to file and pay withholding tax
on the income allocable to their nonresident members. The
department has determined that in order to administer this tax
in a cost effective manner, it is necessary to require
pass−through entities to file and pay the tax by electronic
means. The department has also determined that, in the
interest of cost effectiveness, a requirement to file Form
WT−7, Employers Annual Reconciliation of Wisconsin
Income Tax Withheld from Wages, should also be put in place.
In light of this, a rule is being promulgated which allows the
department to prescribe the method by which Form WT−7 is
to be filed and by which pass−through entities are to file and

pay withholding tax on the income allocable to their
nonresident members.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business: The department provides methods to
pay taxes using EFT and file returns electronically that occur
at no or minimal cost to the payer or filer. In addition, an
exception to the requirement to pay or file electronically for
situations where an undue hardship is caused is provided in
the rule. Based on this, the department has concluded that this
proposed rule order does not have a significant effect on small
business.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: This proposed
rule order does not have a significant fiscal effect on the
private sector.

Effect on small business: This proposed rule order does not
have a significant effect on small business.

Agency contact person: Please contact Dale Kleven at
(608) 266−8253 or dkleven@dor.state.wi.us, if you have any
questions regarding this proposed rule order.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission: Comments may be submitted to the contact
person shown below no later than one week after the public
hearing on this proposed rule order is conducted. Information
as to the place, date, and time of the public hearing will be
published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.

Dale Kleven
Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 6−40
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI 53708−8933
SECTION 1.  Tax 1.12 (3) (fm) is created to read:
Tax 1.12 (3) (fm) “Pass−through entity”  has the meaning

given in s. 71.775 (1) (b), Stats.
SECTION 2.  Tax 1.12 (4) (a) (intro.) is amended to read:
Tax 1.12 (4) (a) (intro.). Except as provided in sub. (11), the

department requires a person who owes taxes and fees as
described in subds. 1. to 12. 13. to pay or deposit the taxes and
fees using the EFT payment method. The following taxes and
fees are included in the EFT payment requirement:

SECTION 3.  Tax 1.12 (4) (a) 13. is created to read:
Tax 1.12(4)(a)13. Income and franchise tax withholding

payments of pass−through entities under s. 71.775, Stats.
SECTION 4.  Tax 1.12 (7) (a) 2. is amended to read:
Tax 1.12 (7) (a) 2. The payer shall initiate ACH debit

transfers before 4:00 p.m. central standard time or central
daylight savings time, as applicable, at least one business day
before on the prescribed due date of the payment in order for
the payment to have a settlement date on or before the
prescribed due date.

Note to Revisor: Replace the example at the end of Tax
1.12 (10) (c) with the following:

Example: If the prescribed due date falls on a Monday
which is also memorial day, an ACH debit transfer must be
initiated on or before the following Tuesday, when the
payment is due. A payer using an ACH credit transfer must
work with the financial institution to initiate the transfer in
time to settle on or before the revised payment due date.

SECTION 5.  Tax 2.04 (1) is amended to read:
Tax 2.04 (1). DEFINITION DEFINITIONS. In this

section, “person” means an individual, trust, estate,
partnership, limited liability company, association or
corporation :

SECTION 6.  Tax 2.04 (1) (a) and (b) are created to read:
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Tax 2.04 (1) (a). “Pass−through entity” has the meaning
given in s. 71.775 (1) (b), Stats.

Tax 2.04 (1) (b). “Person” means an individual, trust,
estate, partnership, limited liability company, association or
corporation.

SECTION 7.  Tax 2.04 (2) (d) is amended to read:
Tax 2.04 (2) (d). All statements required shall be filed by

January 31, by delivering or mailing them to the department.
Form WT−7, “Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of
Wisconsin Income Tax Withheld From Wages,” shall
accompany the statements submitted, either on paper or, on
magnetic media or in other machine−readable form, or by
electronic means prescribed by the department, if the
employer is required to be registered to withhold Wisconsin
income taxes from employees’ wages.

Note to Revisor: Replace the note at the end of Tax 2.04
(2) (d) with the following:

Note: Forms may be delivered in person to the department
of revenue at 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, Wisconsin.
Forms filed on magnetic media may be mailed to Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, Magnetic Media Coordinator, Room
232B, 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53708−8906.
Forms W−2 or 1099−R filed on paper may be mailed to
Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 8920, Madison,
WI 53708−8920. Forms 9b or substitute forms filed on paper
may be mailed to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box
8932, Madison, WI 53708−8932.

SECTION 8.  Tax 2.04 (2) (de), (dm), and (ds) are created
to read:

Tax 2.04 (2) (de). The department may require an employer
registered or required to be registered to withhold Wisconsin
income taxes from employees’ wages to file its Form WT−7
by electronic means. The department shall notify the
employer at least 90 days prior to the due date of the first Form
WT−7 required to be filed by electronic means of the
requirement to file by electronic means.

Tax 2.04 (2) (dm). The secretary of revenue may waive the
requirement for an employer to file by electronic means when
the secretary determines that the requirement causes an undue
hardship, if the employer does all of the following:

1. Requests the waiver in writing.
Note:  Written requests should be addressed to Wisconsin

Department of Revenue, Secretary’s Office, Mail Stop 3−258,
PO Box 8903, Madison  WI  53708−8903

2. Clearly indicates why the requirement causes an undue
hardship.

Tax 2.04 (2) (ds).  In determining whether the electronic
means requirement causes an undue hardship, the secretary of
revenue may consider the following factors:

1.  Unusual circumstances that may prevent the employer
from filing by electronic means.

Example:  The employer does not have access to a
computer that is connected to the internet.

2. Any other factor that the secretary determines is
pertinent.

Note to Revisor: 1) Replace the note at the end of Tax 2.04
(2) (e) with the following:

Note: Written requests for extensions may be mailed to
Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Mail Stop 5−77, PO Box
8902, Madison, WI 53708−8902.

2) Replace the note at the end of Tax 2.04 (3) (b) with the
following:

Note: Forms may be delivered in person to the department
of revenue at 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, Wisconsin.
Forms filed on magnetic media may be mailed to Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, Magnetic Media Coordinator, Room
232B, 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53708−8906.
Forms filed on paper may be mailed to Wisconsin Department
of Revenue, PO Box 8932, Madison, WI 53708−8932.

3) Replace the note at the end of Tax 2.04(4)(d) with the
following:

Note: Forms W−2G or substitute forms may be delivered
in person to the department of revenue at 2135 Rimrock Road,
Madison, Wisconsin. Forms filed on magnetic media may be
mailed to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Magnetic
Media Coordinator, Room 232B, 2135 Rimrock Road,
Madison, WI 53708−8906. Forms filed on paper may be
mailed to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, PO Box 8920,
Madison, WI 53708−8920.

SECTION 9.  Tax 2.04 (8) is created to read:
Tax 2.04 (8). ELECTRONIC FILING REQUIREMENT

FOR TAXES WITHHELD BY PASS−THROUGH
ENTITIES. (a)  Except as provided in par. (b), the department
may require a pass−through entity to file its return for
nonresident withholding taxes under s. 71.775, Stats., by
electronic means.

(b)  The secretary of revenue may waive the requirement
to file by electronic means when the secretary determines that
the requirement causes an undue hardship, if the pass−through
entity does all of the following:

1. Requests the waiver in writing.
Note:  Written waiver requests should be addressed to

Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Secretary’s Office, Mail
Stop 3−258, PO Box 8903, Madison  WI  53708−8903.

2. Clearly indicates why the requirement causes an undue
hardship.

(c)  In determining whether the electronic means
requirement causes an undue hardship, the secretary of
revenue may consider the following factors:

1.  Unusual circumstances that may prevent the
pass−through entity from filing by electronic means.

Example:  The pass−through entity does not have access
to a computer that is connected to the internet.

2.  Any other factor that the secretary determines is
pertinent.

Note to Revisor: 1) Move the last three notes at the end of
Tax 2.04 (7) to the end of Tax 2.04 (8).

2) Replace the last note at the end of Tax 2.04(8) with the
following:

Note:  Section Tax 2.04 interprets ss. 71.26 (3) (e), 71.63
(3m), 71.65 (2), 71.67 (4) and (5), 71.70, 71.71 (2), 71.72,
71.738 (2), 71.74 (4) and 71.80 (20), Stats.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This proposed rule order does not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Fiscal Impact
These proposed changes will not have a significant fiscal

effect.
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Contact Person

Small Businesses: Others:

Tom Ourada Dale Kleven
Dept. of Revenue Dept. of Revenue
Mail Stop 624−A Mail Stop 6−40
2135 Rimrock Road 2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933 P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI  53708−8933 Madison, WI  53708−8933
Telephone (608) 266−8875 Telephone (608) 266−8253
E−mail tourada@dor.state.wi.us E−mail dkleven@dor.state.wi.us
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Administration
(CR 05−069)

Chs. Adm 20 and 21, relating to architecture, engineering
and construction solicitation, bidding and contracting.

Nursing
(CR 05−121)

Chs. N 2 and 3, relating to qualifications for examination
and application procedures, temporary permits and
refresher course.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
(CR 05−051)

An order affecting chs. MPSW 16 and 17, relating to
supervised clinical practice and temporary licenses
issued by the Marriage and Family Therapist Section.

Effective 4−1−06.
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Rules published with this register and final regulatory
flexibility analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the February 28, 2006, Wisconsin
Administrative Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to
the subscribers of the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Commerce
(CR 04−058)

An order affecting chs. Comm 5 and 47, relating to
Petroleum Environmental Cleanup Fund awards and
associated credentials.  Effective 5−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules will update chapter Comm 47 to

make it consistent with several statutory requirements.  Those
requirements generally include limiting reimbursements
under the PECFA program to usual and customary costs, or to
least costly levels that are determined through competitive
public bidding.  Those statutory requirements do not exempt
small businesses from these reimbursement limits.

Numerous substantive changes were made to the
proposed rules in response to concerns that may have arisen
from small businesses during the Public Hearing process.
These changes included deleting some proposed credential
requirements; deleting some proposed penalties; newly
allowing reimbursement for certain capital improvements;
newly allowing consultants to provide commodity services
wherever reimbursement amounts are determined by either
public bidding or the usual and customary cost schedule;
extending some time periods for adjustments to public
bidding; newly allowing subcontractor markups on work that
is included in a public bidding contract; clarifying the impacts
of the proposed rules for cleanup sites with reimbursements
caps determined through public bidding that precedes the
effective date of the new rules; increasing the reimbursement
maximums for mobilization and demobilization for field
activities, particularly where multiple sites are visited on a
single travel circuit, or where multiple activities are
conducted at the same site on the same day; and clarifying
many of the descriptions and quantifications for the
reimbursement categories in the proposed schedule of usual
and customary costs.  Some rule changes that were requested
during the Hearing process were rejected because they would
have been inconsistent with statutory requirements, such as
the Department’s duty to set reimbursement maximums at the
least−costly level of remediation.  Overall, the included
changes appear to have resolved the concerns that arose
during the Public Hearing process.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received, although a hearing was held
on November 16, 2005, by the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources.

Commerce
(CR 04−135)

An order affecting chs. Comm 2, 26, and 95, and ch. PSC
186, relating to manufactured home communities. Effective
3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Sections 101.935 and 101.937, Stats., direct the

Department to license and regulate manufactured home
communities and to regulate the provision of water and sewer
service to manufactured home community occupants through
the promulgation of administrative rules.  The proposed rules
of Clearinghouse Rule No. 04−135 are minimum
requirements to meet the directive of the Statutes, and any
exceptions from compliance for small businesses would be
contrary to the Statutory objectives which are the basis for the
rules.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Commerce
(CR 05−064)

An order affecting ch. Comm 72, relating to cleaning
methods for historic buildings.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
In accordance with section 101.1215, Stats., the

Department of Commerce is required to develop
requirements for prohibiting the use of abrasive cleaners on
the exterior of qualified historic buildings, including both
commercial buildings and one−and two−family dwellings.
The proposed rules of Clearinghouse Rule No. 05−064 are
minimum requirements to meet the directives of the Statutes,
and any exceptions from compliance for small businesses
would be contrary to the statutory objectives, which are the
basis of the rules.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Insurance
(CR 05−059)

An order affecting chs. Ins 3, 9 and 18, relating to revising
requirements for insurers offering defined network plans,
preferred provider plans and limited service health
organization plans. Effective 3−1−06.
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Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has

determined that this rule will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses and
therefore a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−039)

An order affecting chs. NR 460 and 463, relating to the
incorporation of federal amendments in national emission
standards for hazardous air pollutants.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule revisions will not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.
This is because this proposal will revise existing state rules
which have been in effect for several years.  Most, if not all,
affected sources are already in compliance with these rules.
The proposed revisions will make the rules more flexible and
will reduce compliance requirements.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Energy, Utilities and Information Technology
and the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  On
November 16, 2005, the Assembly Committee on Natural
Resources held a public hearing.  The Department did not
receive any comments as a result of this hearing.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−040)

An order affecting chs. NR 400, 460, 465 and 484,
relating to national emission standards for hazardous air
pollutants for the surface coating of plastic parts and products
and of miscellaneous metal parts and products.  Effective
3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules will not have a significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses.  This is
primarily because the proposed rules are identical to the
existing federal regulations, with which all affected sources
are already required to comply.  Costs to the affected sources
are being incurred in response to the federal regulations,
which have been in effect for over a year.  No additional costs
will be incurred in response to the proposed state rules.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Energy, Utilities and Information Technology
and the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  On
November 16, 2005, the Assembly Committee on Natural
Resources held a public hearing.  The Department did not
receive any comments as a result of this hearing.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−053)

An order affecting ch. NR 64, relating to an all−terrain
vehicle registration exemption.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules are applicable to individual ATV

operators and impose no compliance or reporting
requirements for small business.  Therefore, a final regulatory
flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−054)

An order affecting ch. NR 64, relating to all−terrain
vehicle noise testing procedures.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules are applicable to individual ATV

operators, owners and manufacturers and impose no
compliance or reporting requirements for small business.
Therefore, a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−071)

An order affecting ch. NR 58, relating to the
implementation and administration of grants for endangered
resources.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule pertains to providing grants to private

landowners and are applicable to owners of non−government
property. Therefore, a final regulatory flexibility analysis is
not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−074)

An order affecting ch. NR 24, relating to open seasons for
commercial clamming on the Wisconsin−Iowa boundary
waters and the Mississippi River portion of the
Wisconsin−Minnesota boundary waters.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule does not have a significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses.  No
commercial clam shelling licenses have been sold in
Wisconsin since 2001.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 05−082)

An order affecting ch. Trans 200, relating to specific
information signs.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule provides additional participation

opportunities for small businesses.  Since businesses request
that they be identified on state−installed signs, the sign
application process will enforce the rule.
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Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 05−095)

An order affecting ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing the
operation of double bottoms and certain other vehicles on
certain specified highways.  Effective 3−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The provisions of this rule adding a highway segment to

the designated system have no direct adverse effect on small
businesses, and will have a favorable effect on those small
businesses which are shippers or carriers using the STH 29
bypass around Chippewa Falls.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Sections affected by rule revisions and corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in February 2006, and will be effective as
indicated in the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at
(608) 266−7275.

Revisions

Commerce
Ch. Comm 2
S. Comm 2.33 (3), (4) and (5)
Ch. Comm 5
S. Comm 5.003 (32m)
S. Comm 5.10 (1) (a)
S. Comm 5.80 (1) (b), (2) (c), (d), (4), and (5)
S. Comm 5.81 (2) (c) and (4)
Ch. Comm 26 (entire chapter)

Ch. Comm 47
S. Comm 47.015 (24) and (32)
S. Comm 47.02 (4)
S. Comm 47.025 (1) (b), (2) to (6
S. Comm 47.10 (1) (a) and (b)
S. Comm 47.115 (3)
S. Comm 47.12 (1) (intro.), (j), (2) (c) and (4)
S. Comm 47.20
S. Comm 47.30 (1) (intro.), (a) and (b), (2) (a), (b), (h)

to (x), (3) to (5)
S. Comm 47.305 (1) (b) and (c)
S. Comm 47.31 (2)
S. Comm 47.32
S. Comm 47.325
S. Comm 47.33
S. Comm 47.335 (3) (c)
S. Comm 47.336
S. Comm 47.337 (2) (a) to (c), (4) and (5)
S. Comm 47.339 (1) (intro.), (2) and (4)
S. Comm 47.34
S. Comm 47.35
S. Comm 47.355 (2) (c), (d), (3) (b)
S. Comm 47.36 (1)
SS. Comm 47.37 to 47.415
S. Comm 47.42 (2) (g) and (3)
Ss. Comm 47.50 to 47.54
Ss. Comm 47.60 to 47.71
Ch. Comm 72 (entire chapter)

Ch. Comm 95 (entire chapter)

Insurance
Ch. Ins 3
S. Ins 3.67 (1) (a), (am), (b) and (e), (4)
Ch. Ins 9
S. Ins 9.01 (3), (3m), (5), (9m), (10m), (12), (13),

(14m), and (17) (a) and (c)

S. Ins 9.07 (1)
S. Ins 9.20
S. Ins 9.21 (1), (2) (a) and (d)
SS. Ins 9.25 to 9.37
S. Ins 9.38 (4) (intro.) and (c)
S. Ins 9.39 (4)
S. Ins 9.40 (1) (c), (2), (3), (4), (6), (7) and (8)
S. Ins 9.41
S. Ins 9.42 (1) to (3), (4) (a) and (e), (5) (a), (6) (a) and

(9)
Ch. Ins 18
S. Ins 18.03 (2) (c)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 24
S. NR 24.09 (1) (a) and (b)
Ch. NR 58 (title)
S. NR 58.01
S. NR 58.02
S. NR 58.03 (8)
S. NR 58.04
S. NR 58.05 (1) (g)
S. NR 58.06 (1), (4) to (7)
S. NR 58.07
S. NR 58.08 (3) to (6)
S. NR 58.09 (1) to (5)
S. NR 58.10 (1) to (5)
S. NR 58.11 (1), (2) (c) to (e)
S. NR 58.14 (2)
S. NR 58.15 (1)
SS. NR 58.20 to 58.38
Ch. NR 64
S. NR 64.03 (10)
S. NR 64.07 (3) and (4)
Ch. NR 400
S. NR 400.03 (4) (js)
Ch. NR 460
S. NR 460.02 (1), (6), (8), (10), (15) (b), (18), (24c),

(24w), (24y), (25), (31g), (32) (intro.), (34) (a), (b),
(36), (37g), (37r), (38g), and (40)

S. NR 460.03 (2) (n) to (p), (3) (e) and (f)
S. NR 460.04 (1) (a)
S. NR 460.05 (2) (a), (c), (d), (f), (3) (b), (c), (3m), (4),

(5), (6) (a), (7) (c), (e), (j), and (L)
S. NR 460.06 (1) (b), (c), (4) (b), (5) (a), (b), and (c)
S. NR 460.07 (2) (a), (b), (3) (a), (b), (f), (6) (c), (d),

and (7) (a)
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S. NR 460.08 (2) (b) to (e), and (8) (b)
S. NR 460.09 (2) (b), (c), (4) (a), (e), and (5) (c)
S. NR 460.11
Ch. NR 463
S. NR 463.02 (intro.), (8), (8m), (12m), (22m), (27),

and (30)
S. NR 463.04 (3), (4) (b), (5) (a) and (c)
S. NR 463.05 (1) (d), (2) (a) and (c)
S. NR 463.06 (1) (c), (e) and (3) (b)
S. NR 463.07 (1), (5) (a), (b) and (7) (b)
S. NR 463.09 (5) (e) and (6)
S. NR 463.103
S. NR 463.106
S. NR 463.11
S. NR 463.12
Ch. NR 465
S. NR 465.26 (2) (a)
Subchapters IV and V (ss. NR 465.31 to 465.48)

Ch. NR 466
S. NR 466.09 (1) (b)
Ch. NR 484
S. NR 484.03 (intro.)
S. NR 484.04 (intro.), (9), (24), (24g) and (24r)
S. NR 484.10 (intro.), (22), (39e), (55c), (55i), (55L,

(55m) and (56m)
S. NR 484.11 (intro.) and (1)

Public Service Commission
Ch. PSC 186 (entire chapter)

Transportation
Ch. Trans 200
S. Trans 200.06 (7) (b) and (c)
Ch. Trans 276
S. Trans 276.07 (6)

Editorial corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Commerce
Ch. Comm 5
S. Comm 5.32 (1) (a)
Ch. Comm 47
S. Comm 47.02 (1) (e) and (3) (h)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 503
S. NR 503.09 (2) (i)

Ch. NR 512
S. NR 512.09 (6) (c)
Ch. NR 543
S. NR 543.02
S. NR 543.04 (3) (b)
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Sections affected by revisor’s corrections not published

Revisor’s corrections under s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., identified in this Wis. Adm. Register.

Subscriber’s note: Please make corrections (manually) in your printed code. The affected sections are shown as corrected on
the Revisor of Statutes Internet site, Http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/, and on the WisLaw  CD−ROM.  Printed code will be
shown as corrected in its next printing.

Location of invalid cross−reference Invalid cross−reference Correction

HFS 119.01 149.143 (2) (a) 2., 3., 4., (3) (a) and
(4)

149.143
(effective 7−1−06)

HFS 119.15 (1) 149.143 (2) (a) 3. and 4. 149.143
(effective 7−1−06)

HFS 119.15 (3) 149.142 (1) (a) 149.142 (1)
(effective 7−1−06)

NR 8.04 (2) (a) 29.191 (4)
29.191 (5)

29.2285 (1)
29.2285 (2)

NR 20.03 (28m) 29.191 (4) 29.2285 (1)
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Executive  orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 137. Relating to the use of evaluation committees in state procurement processes.

Executive Order 138. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff in remembrance of Coretta Scott King.

Executive Order 139. Relating to a special session of the Legislature.

Executive Order 140. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for former United States Senator William Proxmire.
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Public notices

Workforce Development
2006 Child Care Copay Schedule − Effective February 26, 2006

Child Care Co−Payment Schedule for Licensed and Certified Care

Look down the column of the appropriate family size until you find the gross family monthly income level at or just less than the family income.  Look to the
right to find the appropriate co−payment  by family and type of care.

[Gross Monthly Family Income]
FAMILY SIZE

Weekly Licensed Care 
Co−Pay Amount

Children In Subsidized Care

Weekly Certified Care 
Co−Pay Amount

Children In Subsidized Care

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 or
more

1 2 3 4 5 or
more

1 2 3 4 5 or
more

70% FPL $770 $968 $1167 $1365 $1563 $1762 $1960 $2158 $2357 5 8 13 17 22 2 6 10 12 16

75% FPL 825 1038 1250 1463 1675 1888 2100 2313 2525 5 11 16 20 25 4 7 11 15 17

80% FPL 880 1107 1333 1560 1787 2013 2240 2467 2693 7 12 17 23 28 6 8 12 17 20

85% FPL 935 1176 1417 1658 1898 2139 2380 2621 2862 11 16 20 25 33 7 11 14 18 22

90% FPL 990 1245 1500 1755 2010 2265 2520 2775 3030 12 19 25 31 37 9 13 17 22 27

95% FPL 1045 1314 1583 1853 2122 2391 2660 2929 3198 16 23 30 37 43 11 16 20 25 32

100% FPL 1100 1383 1667 1950 2233 2517 2800 3083 3367 17 25 33 41 48 12 17 22 28 34

105% FPL 1155 1453 1750 2048 2345 2643 2940 3238 3535 20 28 36 43 51 15 19 24 30 37

110% FPL 1210 1522 1833 2145 2457 2768 3080 3392 3703 23 31 38 46 53 16 22 26 31 38

115% FPL 1265 1591 1917 2243 2568 2894 3220 3546 3872 25 33 41 49 56 18 23 29 34 40

120% FPL 1320 1660 2000 2340 2680 3020 3360 3700 4040 28 36 43 51 59 19 25 30 36 41

125% FPL 1375 1729 2083 2438 2792 3146 3500 3854 4208 31 39 46 54 63 22 27 33 37 44

130% FPL 1430 1798 2167 2535 2903 3272 3640 4008 4377 33 42 51 60 69 23 29 36 41 48

135% FPL 1485 1868 2250 2633 3015 3398 3780 4163 4545 36 46 55 66 75 25 31 39 46 52

140% FPL 1540 1937 2333 2730 3127 3523 3920 4317 4713 38 48 59 69 80 27 34 41 48 55

145% FPL 1595 2006 2417 2828 3238 3649 4060 4471 4882 41 51 60 71 81 29 36 42 51 56

150% FPL 1650 2075 2500 2925 3350 3775 4200 4625 5050 43 53 64 73 85 30 37 45 52 59

155% FPL 1705 2144 2583 3023 3462 3901 4340 4779 5218 46 55 66 76 87 31 40 46 53 60

160% FPL 1760 2213 2667 3120 3573 4027 4480 4933 5387 48 59 69 80 90 34 41 48 56 63

165% FPL 1815 2283 2750 3218 3685 4153 4620 5088 5555 49 61 71 81 92 35 42 51 57 64

170% FPL 1870 2352 2833 3315 3797 4278 4760 5242 5723 50 64 74 85 94 36 45 52 59 65

175% FPL 1925 2421 2917 3413 3908 4404 4900 5396 5892 52 65 76 87 96 37 46 53 60 67

180% FPL 1980 2490 3000 3510 4020 4530 5040 5550 6060 54 68 80 90 99 38 48 56 63 70

185% FPL 2035 2559 3083 3608 4132 4656 5180 5704 6228 55 70 82 91 102 39 51 57 64 71

<<<−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−  185% of the Federal Poverty Level   −−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−>>>

190% FPL 2090 2628 3167 3705 4243 4782 5320 5858 6397 56 71 85 94 104 40 52 59 65 74

195% FPL 2145 2698 3250 3803 4355 4908 5460 6013 6565 59 73 87 96 107 41 53 60 68 75

200% FPL 2200 2767 3333 3900 4467 5033 5600 6167 6733 60 75 89 99 109 42 55 63 70 76

<<<−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−  +200% of the Federal Poverty Level   −−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−>>>

Note:  The copayment rate for teen parents who are not Learnfare participants is minimum copay and is found by selecting the lowest income line (70%) FPL and then finding the
copayment listed, under either licensed care or certified care, for the appropriate number of children.  Parents who have left a W−2 employment position for unsubsidized work also
qualify for the minimum copay for one month.  Families with children who are authorized for 20 hours or less are subject to one half of their share of the family copay listed above
for those children.  No copay is required for parents who participate in Learnfare or Food Stamp Employment and Training.  Foster parents do not have a copayment responsibility for
the foster children in their care.  Kinship care relatives caring for a child under a court order do not have a copayment responsibility.  Kinship care relatives caring for a child without
a court order pay the minimum copay, unless they are receiving a child care subsidy for another child who is subject to a copayment greater than the minimum copay.
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