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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (2)

1. Rules adopted revising Ch. ATCP 10, relating to diseases
of fish and farm−raised deer.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including
programs to control diseases of fish and farm−raised deer.

Disease Testing of Fish
(2)  DATCP regulates fish farms, including fish farms

operated by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
(“DNR”).  DATCP also regulates the import, movement and
disease testing of fish.

(3)  Viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) is a serious
disease of fish.  VHS was first reported in Wisconsin on May
11, 2007, after the Wisconsin Veterinary Diagnostic
Laboratory confirmed positive samples from freshwater
drum (sheepshead) in Little Lake Butte des Mortes (part of the
Lake Winnebago system).  VHS was subsequently found in
Lake Winnebago, and in Lake Michigan near Green Bay and
Algoma.  The source of VHS in these wild water bodies is not
known.  VHS has not yet been reported in any Wisconsin fish

farms.  VHS can be fatal to fish, but is not known to affect
human beings.

(4)  Current DATCP rules require health certificates for fish
and fish eggs (including bait) imported into this state, for fish
and fish eggs stocked into waters of the state, and for fish and
fish eggs (including bait species) moved between fish farms
in this state.  Import health certificates must include VHS
testing if the import shipment includes salmonids (salmon,
trout, etc.) or originates from a state or province where VHS
is known to occur.  VHS testing is not currently required for
fish or fish eggs stocked into waters of the state from
Wisconsin sources, for bait fish or eggs originating from
Wisconsin sources, for fish or fish eggs moved between fish
farms in Wisconsin, or for non−salmonids imported from
states where VHS has not yet been found.

(5)  Because VHS has now been found in waters of the
state, it is necessary to expand current VHS testing
requirements.  Because of the urgent need to minimize the
spread of VHS in this state, it is necessary to adopt VHS
testing requirements by emergency rule, pending the adoption
of a “permanent” rule.

Disease−Free Herd Certification of 
Farm−Raised Deer Herds

(6)  DATCP registers farm−raised deer herds in this state.
DATCP also regulates the import, movement and disease
testing of farm−raised deer.  Under current DATCP rules,
DATCP may certify a deer herd as brucellosis−free or
tuberculosis−free, or both, based on herd test results provided
by the deer keeper.  Certification is voluntary, but facilitates
sale and movement of deer.

(7)  Under current rules, a tuberculosis−free herd
certification is good for 3 years, but a brucellosis−free herd
certification is good for only 2 years.  There is no compelling
veterinary medical reason for the difference.  A rule change
(extending the brucellosis−free certification term from 2 to 3
years) is needed to harmonize the certification terms, so that
deer farmers can conduct simultaneous tests for both diseases.
Simultaneous testing will reduce testing costs and limit stress
on tested deer.  An emergency rule is needed to avoid some
unnecessary costs for deer farmers this year, pending the
adoption of permanent rules.

Publication Date: October 31, 2007

Effective Date: October 31, 2007
Expiration Date: March 29, 2008
Hearing Date: January 14, 2008
Extension Through: May 31, 2008

2. EmR0804 − Creating subch. IV of Ch. ATCP 161,
relating to the “buy local” grant program created under s.
93.48, Stats.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
DATCP has general authority under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to

interpret laws under its jurisdiction.  Section 93.48 (1), Stats.,
specifically requires DATCP to adopt rules for the “buy local”
grant program.  Section 9103(3i) of 2007 Wisconsin Act 20
(biennial budget act) authorizes DATCP to adopt temporary
emergency rules without the normal “finding of emergency,”
pending the adoption of “permanent” rules.  This temporary
emergency rule implements the “buy local” grant program on
an interim basis, pending the adoption of “permanent” rules.
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Publication Date: February 22, 2008

Effective Date: February 22, 2008

Expiration Date: May 1, 2009
Hearing Date: May 30, 2008

Commerce
Licenses, Certifications, etc., Ch. Comm 5

Rules adopted revising Ch. Comm 5, relating to licensing
of elevator contractors and installers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under the nonstatutory provisions of 2005 Wis. Act 456,

the Department of Commerce was directed to issue
emergency rules that implement provisions of the Act.  The
Act specifically states:  “Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1)
(a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of commerce is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating rules under
this subsection as emergency rules is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and
is not required to provide a finding of emergency for the rules
promulgated under this subsection.”

The Act mandates the licensing of elevator contractors and
installers.  Under the Act no person may engage in the
business of installing or servicing conveyances or working on
a conveyance unless licensed as of June 1, 2007.  These
emergency rules are being adopted in order to provide the
elevator industry the ability to comply with licensing aspects
of the Act and continue working until permanent rules are
implemented.

Publication Date: June 1, 2007

Effective Date: June 1, 2007

Expiration Date: See section 7 (2), 2005 Wis.
Act 456

Hearing Date: June 27, 2007

Commerce
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104−135

EmR0802 − Creating Ch. Comm 132, relating to
implementing a program for certifying applicants and
allocating dairy manufacturing facility investment tax credits,
and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists and that adoption of the rule included in this order is
necessary for the immediate preservation of public welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows.  Under
sections 71.07 (3p) (b), 71.28 (3p) (b), and 71.47 (3p) (b) of
the Statutes, as created in 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, a taxpayer
may claim a dairy manufacturing facility investment credit
for dairy manufacturing modernization or expansion during
taxable years beginning after December 31, 2006.  Sections
71.07 (3p) (a) 3., 71.28 (3p) (a) 3., and 71.47 (3p) (a) 3. of the
Statutes define dairy manufacturing modernization or
expansion as “constructing, improving, or acquiring
buildings or facilities, or acquiring equipment, for dairy
manufacturing . . . if acquired and placed in service in this state
during taxable years that begin after December 31, 2006, and
before January 1, 2015.”  Section 71.07 (3p) (c) 2m. a. of the

Statutes states that the maximum amount of credits that may
be claimed in fiscal year 2007−08 is $600,000.

Section 560.207 of the Statutes, as likewise created in 2007
Wisconsin Act 20, requires the Department to (1) implement
a program for certifying taxpayers as eligible for the dairy
manufacturing facility investment credit, (2) determine the
amount of credits to allocate to those taxpayers, and (3) in
consultation with the Department of Revenue, promulgate
rules to administer the program.  No other provisions are
established in the Statutes regarding the specific process for
taxpayers to use in applying for the credits, and for the
Department of Commerce to use in certifying eligible
taxpayers and in allocating the credits.

Because of enactment of 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, a number
of entities that may be eligible for the tax credits have
contacted the Department with inquiries concerning the
process for applying for the credits, for expenditures that have
been incurred during taxable years that began after December
31, 2006.

Entities that may be eligible for the tax credits for the
2007−08 fiscal year face near−term time constraints for filing
their tax returns with the Department of Revenue.  Although
the Department of Commerce has begun promulgating the
permanent rule that is required by 2007 Act 20, the time
periods in chapter 227 of the Statutes for promulgating
permanent rules preclude the permanent rule from becoming
effective in time to readily accommodate claiming the tax
credits for the 2007−08 fiscal year.  This emergency rule will
enable the Department of Commerce to establish an
application, certification, and tax credit allocation process for
the entities that need to soon file their tax returns for taxable
years beginning after December 31, 2006. 

Publication Date: February 4, 2008
Effective Date: February 4, 2008
Expiration Date: July 3, 2008
Hearing Date: May 14, 2008

Corrections

EmR0812 − Rules adopted revising s. DOC 332.19,
relating to the establishment of a sex offender registration fee
to partially offset the costs of monitoring persons who are
required to register as sex offenders.

Finding of Emergency
The department of corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that rules included in this order are necessary for the
immediate preservation of public peace, health, safety and
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the emergency
is:  2007 WI Act 20, section 3132, amended s. 301.45 (10),
Stats., in three ways which requires an immediate amendment
of s. DOC 332.19.

First, the newly amended s. 301.45 (10), Stats., expands the
persons whom the department of corrections may require to
pay an annual sex offender registration fee.  Previously, the
department was limited to assessing the fee only against those
persons who were required to register and who were in its
custody or under its supervision as a person on probation,
parole, or extended supervision.  The new law permits the
department to require all persons who are required to register
as a sex offender to pay an annual fee.

Second, the new law limits the use of the collected sex
offender fees to partially offset the costs of monitoring sex
offenders.  Previously, the department was authorized to use
the collected fees to partially offset the costs of monitoring
those persons on probation, parole, or extended supervision,
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regardless of whether they were required to register as sex
offenders.

Third, the legislature increased the maximum annual rate
from $50 to $100.  If the rule is not amended promptly and
immediately, the department will not be able to collect the fees
which are to be used to offset the costs of monitoring persons
who are required to register as sex offenders.  This could result
in a lessening of supervision due to budget limitations.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to amend the current
rule to require all persons who are required to register as sex
offenders under s. 301.45 to pay the annual fee which is used
to partially offset the costs of monitoring registrants.  The
emergency rule also increases the annual rate to $100.  The
permanent rule process has been started.  However, the
permanent rule process will take approximately nine months
to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to respond
promptly to the collection of fees while permanent rules are
being developed.

Publication Date: May 15, 2008

Effective Date: May 15, 2008

Expiration Date: October 12, 2008

Government Accountability Board
 EmR0803 − Repealing s. Eth 3.01, relating to the filing of

all written communications and documents intended for the
former Ethics Board; repealing s. Eth 3.04, relating to
transcripts of proceedings before the former Ethics Board;
and amending s. ElBd 10.01, relating to procedures for
complaints with the former State Elections Board.

Finding of Emergency
The Government Accountability Board adopts this rule to

clarify the complaint procedure applicable to complaints that
will be filed with the Board under ethics, lobbying, contract−
disclosure and campaign finance law and the separate
complaint procedure applicable to complaints filed under
elections law and the Help America Vote Act.

The Government Accountability Board finds that an
emergency exists in the 2007 change in Wisconsin law that
establishes the Wisconsin Government Accountability Board
(effective January 10, 2008).  Under 2007 Wisconsin Act 1,
a statutory procedure or framework for investigation of
complaints related to ethics, lobbying, contract disclosure and
campaign finance, was established.  That framework does not
include the necessity of the filing of a complaint.  Under the
rules of the former Elections Board, Chapter ElBd 10,
however, an investigation will not be commenced without the
filing of a verified complaint.  The Government
Accountability Board finds that an emergency exists in the
possible confusion that potential complainants may find in
attempting to file a complaint with the Government
Accountability Board and, as a result of that confusion, those
complainants may be dissuaded from filing a complaint over
which the Board has jurisdiction, or, because of that
confusion, may fail to file that complaint in a timely fashion.

Publication Date: February 10, 2008

Effective Date: February 10, 2008

Expiration Date: July 9, 2008
Hearing Date: June 2, 2008

Health and Family Services
Management & Technology & Strategic Finance, 

Chs. HFS 1—
EmR0810 − Rule adopted amending ss. HFS 10.55 (1)

and 10.56 (2); and creating ss. HFS 10.55 (1m) and 10.56
(2m), relating to fair hearings and continuation of benefits
pending the outcome of a grievance, Department review, or
fair hearing under the family care program.
Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that
an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

2007 Wisconsin Act 20 eliminates entitlement to
non−Medicaid eligibility for Family Care, which could result
in some Family Care enrollees being determined ineligible
and disenrolled from the program.

In addition, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) has restricted the Family Care benefit for
enrollees at the non−nursing home level of care.

Currently, under ss. HFS 10.55 and 10.56, persons whose
services are terminated may request a hearing and
continuation of benefits during an appeal. Individuals who
appeal the loss of non−Medicaid eligibility or reduction of
services as a result of the restriction of the benefit for people
eligible at the non−nursing home level of care will lose the
appeal because the change in law and federal policy makes it
clear that they are no longer entitled to those benefits.  In
addition, if benefits continued during an appeal, the
individual would be responsible for repayment of the cost of
continued services. Therefore, the right to appeal is of no real
benefit.

HFS 10.56 (2) gives enrollees whose services are reduced
or terminated the option to request continuation of services
during a fair hearing, grievance, or Department review of the
termination or reduction of services.  For individuals
appealing the loss of non−Medicaid eligibility, or termination
or reduction of services as a result of the restriction of the
benefit for people eligible at the non−nursing home level of
care, continuation of services will be counter−productive to
the welfare of the appellant, because the termination and
reduction of benefits will have resulted from a change in law.
The appellant will lose the appeal and as a result of the loss,
be responsible for the cost of the continued services, which
may be significant as costs could be in the thousands of
dollars.

Under this emergency order, the Department is providing
an exception to the right to a fair hearing and continuation of
services during a fair hearing, grievance, or Department
review when Family Care benefits are reduced or terminated
by an act of the federal government or the state legislature and
the individual whose benefits have been terminated or
reduced does not dispute that he or she falls within the
category of persons for whom the benefit was reduced or
terminated.  The Department has determined that appeals and
continuation of benefits under these circumstances would be
detrimental to the welfare of approximately 730 individuals
and should be prevented.

Publication Date: April 7, 2008
Effective Date: April 7, 2008
Expiration Date: September 4, 2008
Hearing Date: May 12, 2008
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Health and Family Services
Health, Chs. HFS 110—

Rules adopted revising s. HFS 115.04, to include the
condition known as Severe Combined Immunodeficiency
(SCID) and related conditions of immunodeficiency to the list
of disorders and disorder types found under s. HFS 115.04.

Finding of Emergency
The early identification of particular congenital and

metabolic disorders that are harmful or fatal to persons with
the disorders is critical to mitigating the negative effects of
such disorders.  Therefore, s. 253.13, Wis. Stats., requires that
every infant born be subjected to blood tests for congenital
and metabolic disorders, as specified in administrative rules
promulgated by the Department; however, parents may refuse
to have their infants screened for religious reasons.  The
Department has issued ch. HFS 115, Screening of Newborns
for Congenital and Metabolic Disorders, to administer this
statutory requirement.  Currently, s. HFS 115.04 lists 13
congenital and metabolic disorders and types of disorders, for
a total of 47 different disorders, for which the state hygiene
laboratory must test newborn blood samples.

In determining whether to add or delete disorders from the
list under s. HFS 115.04, s. HFS 115.06 directs the
Department to seek the advice of persons with expertise and
experience concerning congenital and metabolic disorders.
For this purpose, the Department has established the
Wisconsin Newborn Screening Umbrella Advisory Group.
Section HFS 115.06 also lists 6 criteria on which the
Department must base its decision to add or delete disorders
from s. HFS 115.04.  These criteria are as follows:

1. Characteristics of the specific disorder, including
disease incidence, morbidity, and mortality.

2. The availability of effective therapy and potential for
successful treatment.

3. Characteristics of the test, including sensitivity,
specificity, feasibility for mass screening and cost.

4. The availability of mechanisms for determining the
effectiveness of test procedures.

5. Characteristics of the screening program, including the
ability to collect and analyze specimens reliably and
promptly, the ability to report test results quickly and
accurately and the existence of adequate follow−up and
management programs.

The Department will immediately promulgate identical
permanent rules to replace these emergency rules.

Publication Date: December 27, 2007

Effective Date: January 1, 2008

Expiration Date: May 30, 2008
Hearing Date: March 6, 2008

Extension Through: June 29, 2008

Insurance

EmR0817 − Rule adopted revising Ch. Ins 3, relating to
long−term care plans including the long−term care
partnership program qualifying policies and affecting small
business.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The State of Wisconsin will be implementing the
Wisconsin Partnership Program effective January 1, 2009, the
date approved by the federal government in accordance with
the Department of Health and Family Services’ application
for participation.  As part of the enabling statute as amended,
the state requires that all insurance intermediaries receive
specific training prior soliciting any long−term care products
on or after January 1, 2009.  In order to minimize the impact
of the additional training, the proposed rule permits the
training, if approved, to qualify for continuing education
therefore, intermediaries can meet two training requirements
simultaneously.  For training to be approved and courses
offered prior to January 1, 2009, the office needs to
promulgate this rule to provide the guidelines necessary for
creation and submission of training programs.  Therefore the
office must promulgate this rule as an emergency rule.

In addition, in order for insurers to offer products intended
to qualify for the Wisconsin partnership program, such
products shall be submitted to the office prior to use.  The
insurers must submit those products sufficiently in advance of
January 1, 2009, so that there is time for review by the office
and implementation time for the insurers. These changes
include modifications to s. Ins 3.455 including repealing and
recreating the applicable definitions and modifying the
conversion requirements; modifications to s. Ins 3.46
including deletion of the blanket exemption for group
long−term care products replaced with narrow exceptions,
modification to the marketing and advertising requirements
with notable new requirements for insurers and
intermediaries to submit to OCI marketing and advertisement
material prior to use, new group insurance requirements,
modifications to the permissive limitations and exclusions,
disclosures, replacement requirements, reporting
requirements for insurers added regarding suitability;
conversion modifications, incontestability and standards for
marketing.  The appendices to s. Ins 3.46 have also been
repealed and recreated and now include several reporting
forms for tracking suitability, rescissions, claims denial,
replacement and lapses by state to be filed by insurers. As
noted above, the major addition to s. Ins 3.46 is the
intermediary training requirement as required by s. 628.348
(1), Stats.  Finally, the changes also include a new section, s.
Ins 3.465 and appendices, related to the Wisconsin
Partnership Program that is to be available beginning January
1, 2009.

A combined rule hearing will be held for both the
emergency and permanent rule on June 16, 2008.

Publication Date: June 2, 2008
Effective Date: June 3, 2008
Expiration Date: October 3, 2008
Hearing Date: June 16, 2008

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection − General, Chs. NR 100—

EmR0809 − Rule adopted to repeal s. NR 198.15 (2), to
renumber s. NR 198.12 (6) to (10), to amend ss. NR 198.11,
198.14 (1) (e) and (f) 2., 198.23 (5) to (7), 198.33 (5), and
198.44 (5) and to create ss. NR 198.12 (6) and (7), 198.33 (6)
and subch. V of ch. NR 198, relating to grants for the control
of aquatic invasive species.
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Finding of Emergency
The substantial increase in grant funding is a strong

message from the Legislature that concern over the welfare of
our public waters is growing, along with the expectation that
these additional funds be put to work as soon as possible.  The
appropriation from which these funds are spent is a biennial
appropriation, meaning that any unspent funds at the end of
the biennium automatically lapse back to the Water Resources
Account of the Conservation Fund.  The timeline for
permanent rule promulgation and the lack of staff to provide
support to eligible sponsors may impede the Department’s
ability to fully and responsibly invest the authorized spending
by the end of the biennium because of the current rule’s
limitations.  An emergency rule will help to minimize or
eliminate the amount of funds that are lapsed.

Publication Date: April 7, 2008

Effective Date: July 1, 2008

Expiration Date: November 28, 2008

Pharmacy Examining Board

EmR0815 − Rule adopted revising Ch. Phar 13, relating
to the regulation of wholesale prescription drug distributors.

Finding of Emergency
The Board has made a finding of emergency.  The Board

finds that failure to have the proposed rules in effect on June
1, 2008, the effective date of the applicable provisions of 2007
Wisconsin Act 20, will create a danger to the public health,
safety and welfare, by disrupting the wholesale distribution of
prescription drugs in the state of Wisconsin.

Publication Date: May 29, 2008

Effective Date: June 1, 2008

Expiration Date: October 29, 2008

Public Instruction (5)

1. A rule is adopted creating Ch. PI 33, relating to grants for
nursing services.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The school nursing grant program under s. 115.28 (47),
Stats., was created under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20.  The Act
became effective October 27, 2007, and appropriated
$250,000 annually beginning in the 2007−08 school year.  In
order for school districts to develop applications and for the
department to review the applications and grant awards in
time for the program to operate in the second semester of the
school year, rules must be in place as soon as possible to
establish application criteria and procedures.

Publication Date: November 24, 2007

Effective Date: November 24, 2007

Expiration Date: April 22, 2008
Hearing Date: February 21, 2008

Extension Through: June 20, 2008

2. EmR0801 − Creating Ch. PI 31, relating to grants for
science, technology, engineering, and mathematics
programs.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The STEM program under s. 115.28 (46), Stats., was
created under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20.  The Act became
effective October 27, 2007, and appropriated $61,500
annually beginning in the 2007−08 school year.  In order for
school districts to develop applications and for the department
to review the applications and grant awards in time for the
program to operate in the second semester of the school year,
rules must be in place as soon as possible to establish
application criteria and procedures.

Publication Date: January 30, 2008
Effective Date: January 30, 2008
Expiration Date: June 28, 2008
Hearing Dates: March 18 and 21, 2008

3. EmR0805 −  Creating Ch. PI 16, relating to
four−year−old kindergarten grants.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The 4−year−old kindergarten grant program under s.
115.445, Stats., was created under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20.
The Act became effective October 27, 2007, and appropriated
$3 million annually beginning in the 2008−09 school year.  In
order for school districts to develop application criteria and
procedures in time for the program to operate in the upcoming
school year, rules must be in place as soon as possible.

Publication Date: February 25, 2008
Effective Date: February 25, 2008
Expiration Date: July 24, 2008
Hearing Date: April 17, 2008

4. EmR0813 − A rule is adopted revising Ch. PI 37, relating
to grants for national teacher certification and master
educator licensure.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The new provisions modifying the grants for the national
teacher certification program under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20,
the biennial budget bill, took effect October 27, 2007. In order
to establish the new application criteria and procedures to
award grants to eligible applicants in the 2007−08 school year,
emergency rules must be in place as soon as possible.

Publication Date: May 17, 2008
Effective Date: May 17, 2008
Expiration Date: October 14, 2008

5. EmR0816 − A rule adopted revising Ch. PI 30, relating to
state special education aid for certain pupil services
personnel.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
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is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The new provisions under 2007 Wisconsin Act 221
modifying the percentage of the salaries of licensed school
nurses, licensed school social workers, licensed school
psychologists, and licensed school counselors that are eligible
for state aid reimbursement first applies to state aid distributed
in the 2008−09 school year.  In order to establish instructions
this spring as to how school districts are to account for these
pupil services staff on special education claim forms, rules
must be in place as soon as possible.

Publication Date: May 30, 2008
Effective Date: May 30, 2008
Expiration Date: October 27, 2008
Hearing Date: July 14, 2008

Regulation and Licensing
EmR0811 − Rule adopted amending s. RL 16.06 (1) (a),

(b) and (d), relating to how to use approved forms for the
practice of real estate.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Regulation and Licensing finds that

preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare
necessitates putting the rule amendments into effect prior to
the time the amendments would take if the agency complied
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements
established for rule−making in ch. 227, Stats.  The facts
warranting adoption of these rule amendments under s.
227.24, Stats., are as follows:

The department reviewed a proposed draft of a modified
form of the residential real estate listing contract, WB−1,
which contained inserted text that appeared to be or could be
construed to be approved by the department.  The modified
form was forwarded to the department as an example of work
product that was purportedly to be the subject of a continuing
education class demonstrating the allowed means to modify
an approved form.  The modified form was shown to industry
stakeholders, the department’s council on forms, and the Real
Estate Board, for review and comment.  All parties agreed that
the modified form was, or could be, construed to be
misleading based upon its formatting that the modified text
was approved by the department, when in actuality, it was not.
This potential for consumer confusion was agreed to be a
cause for immediate rule−making to prevent modification of
forms such as WB−1 in the manner submitted.

Publication Date: April 16, 2008
Effective Date: April 16, 2008
Expiration Date: September 13, 2008
Hearing Date: June 26, 2008

Transportation
Rule adopted creating Ch. Trans 178, relating to the

Unified Carrier Registration System.
Analysis

This chapter establishes in the Wisconsin Administrative
Code the fees to be charged under the Unified Carrier
Registration (UCR) system, and establishes a method for
counting the number of vehicles so that an entity knows
whether it is required to register under UCR and, if so, which
fee bracket applies to the entity.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by Section 2927, as created by 2007 Wis.

Act 20, provides an exemption from a finding of emergency
for the adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: December 19, 2007
Effective Date: December 19, 2007
Expiration Date: See Section 2927, 2007 Wis.

Act 20
Hearing Date: March 5, 2008

Workforce Development (3)
Family Supports, Chs. DWD 12 to 59

1. Rule adopted amending s. DWD 56.06 (1) (a) 1. and
creating s. DWD 56.06 (1) (a) 1. r., relating to child care
rates.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

2007 Wisconsin Act 20 reflects that child care rates will not
be increased for the 2008−2009 biennium.  Chapter DWD 56
currently provides that child care rates shall be set annually in
accordance with a market rate survey and procedures
described in s. DWD 56.06 (1). Historically, the rate
adjustments have been effective January 1 of the new year.
This emergency rule is necessary to provide that child care
rates will not be adjusted for 2008 in accordance with 2007
Wisconsin Act 20.  A corresponding permanent rule will
provide that child care rates will not be adjusted for 2008 and
2009.

Publication Date: December 27, 2007
Effective Date: January 1, 2008
Expiration Date: May 30, 2008
Hearing Date: March 10, 2008
Extension Through: July 29, 2008

2. EmR0806 − Rule adopted amending s. DWD 56.08 (1)
and (2) (a), (e), and (f) and repealing and recreating Table
DWD 56.08, relating to child care copayments and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The federal Department of Health and Human Services is
requiring that Wisconsin eliminate different copayment
amounts for families who receive child care services from a
certified provider and families who receive child care services
from a licensed provider.  The change to the copayment
schedule must be implemented by April 1, 2008, or Wisconsin
risks losing $82 million annually from the Child Care
Development Fund.

Publication Date: February 27, 2008
Effective Date: March 30, 2008
Expiration Date: August 27, 2008
Hearing Date: April 11, 2008

3. EmR0814 − Rule adopted repealing EmR0807 affecting
s. DWD 56.04, relating to child care enrollment
underutilization.
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Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety,
or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The Department implemented the child care enrollment
underutilization emergency rule as a cost−saving measure
effective March 30, 2008.  2007 Wisconsin Act 226 provides
$18.6 million to address the fiscal year 2007−08 Wisconsin
Shares funding shortfall.  The Governor’s veto message

directs the Department of Workforce Development to
“suspend the current attendance−based rule for the remainder
of fiscal year 2007−08.”  The Department is repealing the
enrollment underutilization emergency rule and will be
withdrawing the corresponding proposed permanent rule.

Publication Date: May 25, 2008
Effective Date: May 25, 2008
Expiration Date: October 22, 2008
Hearing Date: June 27, 2008
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Scope Statements

Accounting Examining Board

Subject

Revises Chapter Accy 7, relating to certified public
accountant education requirements and Chapter Accy 8,
relating to endorsement qualifications so as to allow the use
of mutual recognition agreements or evaluation services in
the evaluation of the educational qualifications of applicants.

Objective of the Rule

To allow the use of mutual recognition agreements or
evaluation services in the evaluation of the educational
qualifications of applicants.

Policy Analysis

Existing rules relating to educational requirements that
applicants need to acquire to obtain licensure can be found in
ch. Accy 7.  Existing rules relating to endorsement
qualifications can be found in ch. Accy 8.

Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 15.405 (1), 227.11 (2) and 442.01,
Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Applicants for Certified Public Accountant licensure.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

This is not an area which is regulated by federal law or is
subject to any proposed federal legislation.  The standards for
state licensure are regulated by each state.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

100 hours.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board

Subject

Revises Chapters BC 8 and 9, creating continuing
education requirements for renewal of a credential for
licensees within the jurisdiction of the Barbering and
Cosmetology Examining Board.

Policy Analysis

Existing rules relating to the licensure and professional
requirements for licensees can be found in Chapters BC 1 to
10.

Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 15.405 (17), 227.11 (2) and 454.12,
Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Aesthetician and aesthetics instructors, electrologist and
electrology instructors, manicurist and manicuring
instructors, barbering and cosmetology practitioners,
barbering and cosmetology managers, and barbering and
cosmetology instructors.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
200 hours

Health and Family Services
Community Services, Chs. HFS 30—

Subject
Revises Chapter HFS 92, relating to confidentiality of

treatment records, and Chapter HFS 94, relating to patient
rights and resolution of patient grievances.

Policy Analysis
Chapter HFS 92 implements s. 51.30, Stats., and provides

to treatment providers and consumers of mental illness,
alcohol or other drug abuse, or developmental disability
services, guidance on the confidentiality and release of
treatment records.  The department created ch. HFS 92 in
1984, and has not revised the rule since its creation.

Since ch. HFS 92 was created, laws and practice relating to
the storage and handling of health care records, including
mental health treatment records have undergone numerous
changes. These changes include the following:
� The eHealth Care Quality and Patient Safety Board was

created by Governor Doyle to help develop an ehealth
information infrastructure that would support the
statewide adoption and exchange of electronic health
records.

� The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
of 1996 (HIPAA) was enacted by Congress.

� The health care industry, nationwide, expanded the use of
technology to maintain, share and access health care
information among peers and with consumers for
treatment purposes.

� The Wisconsin legislature revised ss. 51.30 relating to the
confidentiality of treatment records and 146.81 to 146.84,
Stats., relating to the confidentiality of  patient health care
records, with the most recent changes taking place under
2007 Wisconsin Act 108. Act 108 removes several
barriers to electronic health information exchange under
chs. 51 and 146, Stats., particularly relating to informed
consent for release and disclosure and re−disclosure of
health care information.

The department intends to revise ch. HFS 92 to align the
rules with the changes that have occurred in regulatory,
technological and business environments since the
department created the rules in 1984. These changes may
include the expansion of chs. HFS 92 and 94 to include rules
for patient health care records as that phrase is defined under
s. 146.81 (4), Stats. The department also intends to revise ch.
HFS 94 to ensure that its provisions, including those
concerning notification to clients of rights; informed consent,
confidentiality of records, provider system requirements; and
rights to files grievances, are in agreement with the changes
made to ch. HFS 92.
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Statutory Authority

Sections 51.30 (12), 51.61 (5) (b) and (9), and 227.11 (2)
Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Providers and consumers of mental illness, alcohol or other
drug abuse, or developmental disability services; and other
health care providers, patient advocates, and privacy
advocates.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Federal standards for the privacy and security of health
information are codified under 45 CFR Parts 160, 162, and
164. These regulations implement the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA).  45 CFR
Part 164, subpart C includes security standards for protection
of electronic protected health information. 42 CFR Part 2 are
federal regulations relating to the confidentiality of alcohol
and substance abuse patient records.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The department estimates that it will take a
cross−functional team approximately 1000 hours to develop
the proposed rules through discussion, research, and feedback
from stakeholders.

Contact Person

Katie Plona
Office of the Secretary
(608) 266−3262

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

Subject

Revises Chapter NR 27, relating to the removal of
trumpeter swans from the list of Endangered Species and the
removal of osprey from the list of Threatened Species.

Policy Analysis
The Department proposes to delist the trumpeter swan and

osprey from the state’s list of endangered and threatened
species. Numerous private, corporate, and agency partners
have cooperated in the swan recovery program.  Additionally,
various power and transmission line companies have
contributed to osprey recovery in Wisconsin.  They will be
very interested to see that their efforts have resulted in the full
recovery of this species in the state.

Statutory Authority

Sections 227.11 and 29.604, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

The trumpeter swan restoration program in Wisconsin was
a collaboration of effort and support from 80 different
partners.  The Natural Resources Foundation collected
funding for the project from 555 donors.  All of these
organizations and individuals will be pleased to see trumpeter
swans removed from the Endangered Species List.

Several different power companies and transmission line
companies have helped to recover osprey in Wisconsin. They
too will be pleased with the results of their efforts.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The Department will need approximately 32 hours of staff

time to develop the rule amendment.

Contact Information
Randle Jurewicz, Bureau of Endangered Resources (ER/6)

GEF 2, Madison WI 53707, (608) 267−7507 or email:
Randle.Jurewicz@wi.gov

Natural Resources
Air Pollution Control, Chs. NR 400—

Subject
Revises Chapters NR 419 and 421 to 423, relating to

volatile organic compounds RACT rules.

Objective of the Rule
Section 182(b)(2) of Clean Air Act requires

implementation of reasonably available control technology
(RACT) for sources of volatile organic compounds (VOC) in
moderate and worse ozone nonattainment  areas, for which
EPA has published a Control Technology Guideline (CTG).
DNR’s rules set VOC RACT emission limits in Wisconsin’s
moderate ozone nonattainment areas. However, on March 17,
2008, EPA notified DNR that Wisconsin’s state
implementation plan was deficient because DNR’s rules did
not set VOC RACT emission limits consistent with recently
published CTGs in Wisconsin’s ozone nonattainment areas.
The rule revisions are necessary to avoid potential federal
sanctions, including withholding of federal highway funds,
and implementation of a federal plan instead of State rules.

Policy Analysis
EPA has identified certain source categories for which EPA

has published a CTG and Wisconsin does not have VOC
RACT rules.  These categories include:

1. Synthetic Organic Compound Manufacturing −
Reactor/Distillation Operations

2. Synthetic Organic Compound Manufacturing – Air
Oxidation Processes

3.  Industrial Wastewater
EPA has also identified several VOC RACT emission

limits in Wisconsin’s rules that need to be updated to reflect
new CTGs from EPA. These categories include:

1. RACT Industrial Solvent Cleaning.
2. Lithographic and Letter Press Printing
3. Flexible Package Printing
4. Flat  Wood Panel Coating
5. Paper, Film and Foil Coating
6. Large Appliance Coating
7. Metal Furniture Coating
Since EPA has developed guideline documents for the

source categories on the two lists, the Bureau of Air
Management does not expect to deal with major policy
decisions related to rule drafting.  However, some minor
changes to EPA’s guidelines may be necessary to improve
implementation in Wisconsin.

Statutory Authority
Section 285.11 (6), Wis. Stats., requires DNR to develop a

plan for the prevention, abatement and control of air pollution.
With limited exceptions, the rules or control strategies for
ozone control must conform to the federal Clean Air Act.
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Entities Affected by the Rule

Affected parties include industrial sources in the various
identified categories.  There are several other organizations
that may not be directly affected by the rule, but are likely to
have an interest in rule development including Wisconsin
Manufacturers and Commerce, environmental organizations
such as Clean Wisconsin and Sierra Club, and public health
organizations.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

To guide the states’ VOC RACT rule development, EPA
has developed CTG documents that the states must follow in
establishing applicability criteria and emission limits for
RACT rules.  DNR’s rule development will be based on and
consistent with EPA guidance documents, but some minor
changes from EPA’s guidelines may be necessary to improve
implementation in Wisconsin.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

Since the proposed rules involve a number of source
categories, the Bureau of Air Management expects to use
multiple rule drafters for the various VOC RACT categories.
A total of about 2600 hours is need for drafting and internal
review.

Contact Information

Larry Bruss
608−267−7543
Larry.bruss@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources
Air Pollution Control, Chs. NR 400—

Subject

Revises Chapter NR 428, relating to the control of nitrogen
compound emissions applicable to stationary sources.

Objective of the Rule

In April and May 2007 the NRB adopted rules to establish
Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) emission
limits for large sources of nitrogen oxide in southeastern
Wisconsin in order to meet Clean Air Act requirements
applicable to 8−hour ozone non−attainment areas.

When the Department submitted the NOx RACT rules for
federal approval the USEPA identified several potential
concerns and deficiencies.  As a result, we are proposing
minor amendment to revise the NOx RACT rules to allow for
federal approval of the rules as part of Wisconsin’s State
Implementation Plan (SIP).

The Department will also be proposing other clean−up
amendments to revise the NOx RACT and associated NR 428
NOx rules to:

� Incorporate miscellaneous corrections
� Simplify rule requirements
� Address consistency and duplication of requirements

between the adopted RACT program and previously
existing requirements of ch. NR 428.

These proposed revisions will not change the emission
limits or the sources which are subject to NOx RACT
emission limits.

Policy Analysis
Wisconsin’s NOx RACT program, comprised of rules

under ch. NR 428 subch. IV, was adopted and became
effective in July 2007.  These rules are intended to fulfill
certain requirements of section 182(f) of the Clean Air Act
requirements for addressing the 8−hour ozone standard and
must be federally approved as part of Wisconsin’s State
Implementation Plan (SIP).  The ch. NR 428 NOX RACT
rules implement a control program for major sources of NOx
emissions in Wisconsin’s moderate 8−hour ozone
non−attainment counties of Kenosha, Racine, Milwaukee,
Waukesha, Washington, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.

The Department submitted the NOx RACT rules to US
EPA for approval into the State Implementation Plan.  The
term ”potential to emit” (PTE) used in the applicability
statement under s. NR 428.20 for determining which sources
are subject to NOx RACT requirements.  As a result of their
review, the US EPA has requested that the term be defined
specifically for this purpose in the rule.  According to EPA, a
source’s PTE for NOx RACT purposes must be calculated as
the theoretical maximum emissions of all emissions units at
a facility.  This EPA definitional basis was used in developing
the emission limit requirements and is therefore consistent
with the adopted NOx RACT program rules.  In addition, the
required EPA definition of PTE is consistent with the state’s
current definition under s. NR 400.02(95) which is used for
determining sources subject to VOC RACT emission limits.

The US EPA also identified additional revisions to the
RACT rules for consistency with SIP approval criteria.  These
include the description of exemptions and the emissions
averaging provisions.

In addition to revisions necessary for EPA SIP approval,
the Department has identified several clarifications and
simplifications that would be helpful in ch. NR 428.  The
proposed revisions pertain to monitoring and reporting
requirements, administrative procedures, submittal dates,
emissions averaging, and inconsistent or duplicative
requirements between the recently adopted NOx RACT rules
and previously existing rules in ch. NR 428.  These potential
revisions will not change emission limits or the emission units
which are subject to NOx RACT emission limitations.

Statutory Authority
Statutory authority is provided in s. 285.11 (6) and 285.14,

Wis. Stats., in order to implement requirements of sections
172(c)(1) and (6) and 182(a)(2)(A) and (b)(2) and (f) of the
Clean Air Act [42 USC 7502(c)(1) and (6) and
7511a(a)(2)(A) and (b)(2) and (f)].

Entities Affected by the Rule
The proposed revisions are not intended to change the

specific emission units subject to an emission requirement
under the current rules.  These rules apply to stationary
sources, including electric utility generators and industrial
combustion sources, in the ozone non−attainment counties of
southeastern Wisconsin.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
The Clean Air Act requires RACT emission limitations to

apply to emission units at a facility considered a major source.
A source is a major source if the total of all potential emissions
of the same pollutant (VOC or NOx) from the source exceeds
a specific threshold.  Potential emissions are based on the
theoretical potential to emit over 8760 hours per year before
add−on controls1.  A physical limitation on operation or
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affecting hours of operation may be considered in calculating
theoretical emissions.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The department estimates approximately 360 hours will be

required to develop and adopt the proposed revisions.

Contact Information
Tom Karman
WDNR, Bureau of Air Management
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, Wig 53707−7921
(608) 264−8856
Thomas.Karman@wisconsin.gov

Regulation and Licensing

Subject
Revises Chapters RL 180 to 183 relating to applications,

renewal, temporary permits, standards of practice and
discipline of licensed midwives.

Objective of the Rule
2007 Wisconsin Act 104 will amend several sections of

Subchapter XII of Chapter 440, Stats., relating to the practice
of midwifery.  The amendments to the statute will require the
Department of Regulation and Licensing to amend
administrative rules of application for licensure, application
for a temporary permit, renewal of licensure, standards of
practice and grounds for discipline.  As per provisions of 2007
Wisconsin Act 104, the proposed rules shall include the
requirement for applicants and licensees to be proficient in the
use of automatic external defibrillators (AED’s) through the
completion of an approved instruction program prior to initial
licensure, issuance of a temporary permit and renewal of
licensure.

Policy Analysis
The licensed midwives statutes and rules do not currently

include a requirement for proficiency in the use of an AED.
The implementation of the rules may initially be done through
emergency rule making without finding of emergency (as per
non−statutory provisions of 2007 Wisconsin Act 104).

The implementation of these rules will require licensed
midwives to complete approved training in the use of AED’s
as a requirement for receiving a license.  Michigan, Illinois
and Iowa do not regulate midwives.  Minnesota does not
require licensed midwives to obtain AED proficiency as a
prerequisite for licensure or renewal.

Finally, the implementation of these rules, as directed by
2007 Wisconsin Act 104, will require all Wisconsin Licensed
Midwives to complete an approved training program in the
usage of AED’s prior to renewal in the current biennium.  The
current biennium ends on June 30, 2008.

Statutory Authority
Section 227.11 (2), Stats., and Subch. XII of Ch. 440, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Midwives license applicants, applicants for a temporary

permit, and active midwife license holders.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is

intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
Total hours:  200.

Transportation

Subject
Creates Chapter Trans 145, clarifying that neighborhood

electric vehicle (NEV) registration is valid only on approved
roads.

Objective of the Rule
2005 Wis. Act 329 and 2007 Wis. Act 33 created s. 349.26,

Stats., which allows a city, town, or village by ordinance to
authorize operation of Neighborhood Electric Vehicles
(NEVs) on its roadways that have speed limits of 35 mph or
less.  The law specifies that the ordinance may apply to State
Trunk Highways (STH) in only two circumstances:
(1) crossing an STH at a location approved by DOT; or
(2) traveling longitudinally upon a connecting highway
segment approved by DOT.

While s. 349.26, Stats., language implies that NEVs cannot
operate on local roads not specified in the ordinance or at any
unapproved location on State Trunk Highways, statutes do not
have language that specifically prohibits NEV operation on
those roads.  2007 Wis. Act 33 requires DOT to register NEVs
under Chapter 341, Stats.  Because NEVs bear DMV−issued
registration plates, NEVs traveling on unapproved roads may
appear to violate no laws, despite the Legislature’s intent to
restrict NEV use to approved roads.  DMV believes that a rule
clarifying that NEV registration is valid only on approved
roads will give law enforcement a provision to cite NEV
operators who travel on unapproved roads.

Policy Analysis
Registration of vehicles under Chapter 341 has historically

been available for federally approved vehicles and authorizes
their operation on all roadways of the state – State Trunk
Highways as well as local streets.  The NEV law, however,
restricts NEV operation to approved roads.

Under 2005 Wis. Act 329, the policy alternative was that
individual municipalities registered vehicles for operation in
that municipality only.  However, the Legislature found that
policy alternative to be unsuitable for NEV operation in
multiple communities.  The Legislature, in 2007 Wis. Act 33,
requires registration under Chapter 341.

In order that a license plate issued by the state not be
misconstrued as allowing unrestricted NEV operation, the
Department proposes this rule making.  It is appropriate to
limit the scope of registration as a means of enforcing the
operating restrictions.

Statutory Authority
Sections 341.25 (1) (b) and 349.26, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
State and local law enforcement, local governmental units,

and NEV owners, operators, and sellers will benefit from
clarity of administrative rule language that helps limit NEV
use to approved roads.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
No federal regulations address registration and operation

of NEVs.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
100 hours
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Workforce Development
Family Supports, Chs. DWD 12−59

Subject

Revises Chapter DWD 40, relating to the establishment of
birth cost orders based on child support guidelines.

Policy Analysis

Under s. 767.89 (3) (e), Stats., the content of a paternity
judgment shall include an order establishing the amount of the
father’s obligation to pay or contribute to the reasonable
expenses of the mother’s pregnancy and the child’s birth.  The
amount established may not exceed one−half of the total
actual and reasonable pregnancy and birth expenses. The
order shall specify the court’s findings as to whether the
father’s income is at or below the federal poverty line and
specify whether periodic payments are due on the obligation,
based on the father’s ability to pay or contribute to those
expenses.  If the father has no present ability to pay, the court
may modify the judgment or order at a later date to require the
periodic payments if the father has the ability to pay at that
time.

If the birth costs were paid by the Medicaid program, the
order for payment of birth costs under s. 767.89 (3) (e), Stats.,
will be to the State of Wisconsin. An unmarried mother who
applies for or receives Medicaid is required to cooperate with
the local child support agency in establishing paternity (if
necessary), obtaining medical support, and assigning the
rights to payment of medical support to the state.  There are
exceptions to the child support cooperation requirement for
good cause and for women during pregnancy and 60 days
post−partum.

The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE)
has advised states that all medical support orders, including
coverage of the children’s health care expenses and birth cost
judgment amounts and periodic payments on birth costs must
be set under the state’s child support guidelines.   The
proposed rules will create a new medical support section in
Chapter DWD 40 that will refer to s. 767.513, Stats., which
requires the court to order responsibility and payment for a
child’s health care expenses in addition to ordering child
support.  The new section will also refer to s. 767.89 (3) (e),
Stats., and establish new limits for determining birth cost
judgment amount based on the payer’s ability to pay.

Federal and state income tax refund offset is one of the
primary tool for collection of birth cost orders owed to the
state.  OCSE recently notified Wisconsin that they will not
certify the state’s request for federal income tax refund offset
for birth cost orders that have been determined using the
methodology in s. 767.89 (3) (e), Stats.  This provision
requires the court to make a finding based on the father’s
ability to pay before setting a periodic payment on birth costs.
OSCE’s interpretation of federal regulations as issued in
Policy Interpretation Question PIQ−07−01 provides that the
judgment amount must be set according to guidelines that take
into consideration the obligated parent’s ability to pay.

The parent’s income available for medical support will be
determined according to the existing s. DWD 40.03, which
allows courts to impute income based on earning capacity or
from assets. The rule will provide that the birth cost judgment
amount may be the lesser of the following:

� An amount that does not exceed one−half of the actual and
reasonable cost of the pregnancy and child’s birth as
provided under s. 767.89 (3) (e), Stats.

� An amount that does not exceed 5% of the payer’s income
over a 3−year period.
� For payers with an income at or above 125% of the

federal poverty level, this amount will be 5% of the
payer’s income over a 3−year period.

� For payers with an income that is between 75% of the
federal poverty level and 125% of the federal poverty
level, the rule will provide a graduated scale of
amounts that are from 3.28% to 5% of the payer’s
income over a 3−year period.

� For payers with an income below 75% of the federal
poverty level, the court may order an amount
appropriate for the payer’s total economic
circumstances.

Although the primary impetus for this rule is to comply
with federal child support regulations to ensure that OCSE
will certify birth cost orders owed to the State of Wisconsin
in cases under Section IV−D of the Social Security Act, the
rule will also apply to other parties, such as a private insurance
company seeking recovery of birth costs under s. 767.89 (3)
(e), Stats.

The proposed rule will also amend the section on imputing
income based on the minimum wage when information on the
parent’s income is unavailable.  The current rules require that
income be imputed based on the federal minimum wage.  The
proposed rules will require that income be imputed based on
the higher of the federal or state minimum wage.

Statutory Authority

Sections 49.22 (9) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
County child support agencies, insurance companies, and

fathers as determined by paternity judgment or court order
under s. 767.89, Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
In PIQ−07−01, OCSE states that medical support is a

subset of child support, and child support orders must be set
under state guidelines that comply with 45 CFR 302.56.  State
guidelines must:

� Take into consideration all earnings and income of the
noncustodial parent.

� Be based on specific descriptive and numeric criteria and
result in a computation of the support obligation.

� Provide for the child’s health care needs through health
insurance coverage or other means.

� Provide a rebuttable presumption that the amount
determined using the guidelines is the correct child
support to be awarded.

The circumstances in which past−due support qualifies for
federal income tax refund offset are listed in 45 CFR
303.72(a).  The list includes cases where the child support
agency is providing services to a Medicaid recipient.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
200 hours

Workforce Development
Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279

Subject
Revises Chapter DWD 272, relating to minimum wages.
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Policy Analysis

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the federal
minimum wage will be $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009.
The Department proposes to increase the state minimum wage
to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009, to match the federal
rate. The minimum wage rate and various special rates would
be increased as follows:

Category
Current

Rate

Pro-
posed
Rate

7/24/09

Federal
Rate

7/24/09
Non−Agricultural
work

Adult $6.50 $7.25 $7.25
Minor $5.90 $7.25 $7.25*
Opportunity $5.90 no

change
$4.25

Agricultural work
Adult $5.15 $7.25 $7.25*
Minor $4.25 $7.25 $7.25*

Tipped Employees
All, except oppor-

tunity
$2.33 no

change
$2.13

Opportunity $2.13 no
change

$2.13*

Caddies
9 Holes $5.90 no

change
not 

covered
18 Holes $10.50 no

change
not 

covered

Camp Counselors
Salary per

week
Salary

per week

Adults, no board or
lodging

$315 $350 exempt

Adults, with board
only

$240 $265 exempt

Adults, with board
and lodging

$189 $210 exempt

Category
Current

Rate

Pro-
posed
Rate

7/24/09

Federal
Rate

7/24/09
Minors, no board or

lodging
$275 $350 exempt

Minors, with board
only

$209 $265 exempt

Minors, with board
and lodging

$165 $210 exempt

*The federal minimum wage law does not have special rates for
minors, agricultural workers, or tipped opportunity employees.

Statutory Authority
Sections 104.04 and 227.11, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
The rule will affect employees not covered by or exempt

from the federal minimum wage law.  The federal minimum
wage law applies to employees of businesses that have annual
gross sales or business done of at least $500,000.  It also
applies to employees of smaller businesses if the employees
are engaged in interstate commerce or in the production of
goods for commerce, such as employees who work in
transportation or communications or who regularly use the
mails or telephones for interstate communications.

In addition, the FLSA covers employees who perform
duties that are closely related and directly essential to
interstate activities, including guards, janitors, and
maintenance workers. It also applies to employees of
government agencies, hospitals, and schools, and it generally
applies to domestic workers.

The proposed rule will increase the minimum weekly
salary for camp counselors. These workers are exempt from
federal minimum wage law.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The current federal minimum wage rate is $5.85 per hour.
It will increase to $6.55 per hour on July 24, 2008, and to $7.25
per hour on July 24, 2009.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

100 hours
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
Amusement Rides, Ch. Comm 34

CR 08−054

On May 29, 2008, the Department of Commerce submitted
a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter Comm 34, relating to
amusement rides.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for
promulgation of the rules. A public hearing is required and is
scheduled for June 30, 2008.

Contact Information
Jim Quast, Program Manager
(608) 266−9292
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov

Commerce
Wis. Commercial Building Code, Chs. Comm 60−66

Plumbing, Chs. Comm 81−87
CR 08−055

On May 29, 2008, the Department of Commerce submitted
a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapters Comm 62 and 81 to
84, relating to the design, installation or construction,
inspection and maintenance of plumbing.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for July 8,
2008.

Contact Information
Lynita Docken, Program Manager
(608) 785−9349
lynita.docken@wisconsin.gov

Commerce
Public Swimming Pools and Water Attractions, 

Ch. Comm 90
CR 08−056

On May 29, 2008, the Department of Commerce submitted
a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter Comm 90, relating to
the design and construction of public swimming pools and
water attractions.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for July 8,
2008.

Contact Information
Lynita Docken, Program Manager
(608) 785−9349
lynita.docken@wisconsin.gov

Insurance
CR 08−053

On May 29, 2008, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

 The proposed order revises Chapter Ins 50, relating to
audit, control and financial reporting requirements.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held on July 8, 2008.

Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the
website at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting
Inger Williams, Public Information and Communications,
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608) 264−8110.
For additional information, please contact James W. Harris at
(608) 267−2833 or e−mail at james.harris@wisconsin.gov in
the OCI Legal Unit.

Occupational Therapists Affiliated
Credentialing Board

CR 08−050

On May 22, 2008, the Occupational Therapists Affiliated
Credentialing Board submitted a proposed rule−making order
to the Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises section OT 4.04 (4), relating to
occupational therapist supervision of occupational therapy
assistants.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on July 15,
2008 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 121A at 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.
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Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Pharmacy Examining Board
CR 08−051

On May 22, 2008, the Pharmacy Examining Board
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

 The proposed order revises Chapter Phar 13, relating to the
regulation of wholesale prescription drug distributors.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on July 23,
2008 at 9:45 a.m. in Room 121A at 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Physical Therapists Affiliated 
Credentialing Board

CR 08−049

On May 22, 2008, the Physical Therapists Affiliated
Credentialing Board submitted a proposed rule−making order
to the Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapters PT 2, 3, and 9,
relating to examination waivers, temporary licenses and
continuing education.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on July 10,
2008 at 9:15 a.m. in Room 121A at 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Public Instruction
CR 08−052

On May 27, 2008, the Department of Public Instruction
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
 The proposed order revises Chapter PI 30, relating to state

special education aid for certain pupil services personnel.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Division of Learning Support: Equity and Advocacy
is primarily responsible for promulgation of the rule.  A public
hearing is required and is scheduled for July 14, 2008.

Contact Information
David Carlson, Director
School Financial Services
(608) 266−6968

Transportation
CR 08−048

On May 20, 2008, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed order revises section Trans 250.04, relating

to internet and telephone call−in fees.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Vehicle
Services is responsible for promulgation of the rule.  A public
hearing is required and is scheduled for July 9, 2008.

Contact Information
Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 267−3703
julie.johnson@dot.state.wi.us
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

Amusement Rides, Ch. Comm 34
CR 08−054

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02
(1) and 101.17, Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold
a public hearing on proposed rules under Chapter Comm 34
relating to amusement rides.

Hearing Information

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
June 30, 2008
Monday
1:00 p.m.

Conference Room 3B
Thompson Commerce Building
201 W. Washington Avenue
Madison

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Submission of Written Comments

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until July 9, 2008, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Jim Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 2689,
Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at jim.quast@
wisconsin.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rules

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Agency Contact Person

James Quast, Program Manager, jim.quast@wisconsin.
gov, (608) 266−9292

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be

contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce
Statutes interpreted

Section 101.17, Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 101.02 (1) and 101.17, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Under the authority of s. 101.17, Stats., the Department of
Commerce has oversight of various mechanical devices and
equipment, which includes amusement rides, in order to
protect public safety.  The Department fulfills this
responsibility by promulgating the Amusement Ride Code,
under chapter Comm 34.
Related statute or rule

Sections 101.19 and 101.12 (1), Stats.
Summary of proposed rules

Chapter Comm 34 establishes minimum standards for the
design, construction, operation, maintenance and assembly of
amusement rides.  The amusement ride code has not been
subject to an overall review and update since 2003.  The
proposed revisions primarily clarify existing rules. In some
instances the proposed changes keep the rules consistent with
each other and with other Commerce codes.  The few
significant changes include:
� A department inspection prior to a permanent ride

opening to the public for a ride which required plan review
and approval.  The owner of the ride is to notify the
department at least 5 days prior to ride opening to the
public to facilitate the department’s inspection. [Comm
34.08 (1) and (2)]

� The preparation of operating fact sheets by ride owners for
operators and attendants and training for operators and
attendants. [Comm 34.18 (1) (b) and Comm 34.31 (6)]

� Passengers are to abide by posted height limitations for
amusement ride carrying devices. [Comm 34.22 (6) (b)]

� The elimination of the allowance for one operator to
simultaneously operate two amusement rides.

Comparison with federal regulations
The US Consumer Product Safety Commission under the

Consumer Product Safety Act has jurisdiction over portable
amusement rides.  The commission has not developed any
specific standard for portable amusement rides.  At times the
commission has issued various safety bulletins regarding
operation, repair, maintenance or set−up for specific rides.

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations that
regulate design, construction, maintenance or operation of
amusement rides.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois, Iowa and Michigan regulate amusement rides on
a state−wide basis.  Similar to Wisconsin, the administrative
codes of these states regulate the design, construction,
assembly, maintenance, operation, permitting and inspection
of amusement rides.  The state codes are:
� Illinois; Administrative Code Title 56, Chapter XII, Part

6000
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� Iowa; Chapter 61 Administration of Iowa Chapter 88A,
Chapter 62Safety Rules for Amusement Rides,
Amusement Devices, and Concession Booths, Chapter
88A Safety Inspection of Amusement Rides

� Michigan; Carnival and Amusement Safety General
Rules, R408.801 – 408.898

Minnesota’s regulation of amusement rides focuses on
liability insurance and inspections to be conducted by the
insurance company or an independent inspection service
provider.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

In developing the proposed rules the department reviewed
the current requirements of the chapter Comm 34.  The
department also reviewed the latest editions of various ASTM
standards relating to the design and manufacture, testing,
operation, maintenance, inspection, quality assurance, and
terminology of amusement rides and devices.  The ASTM
standards reviewed were:
� F 698−94 Standard Specification for Physical Information

to be Provided for Amusement Rides and Devices
� F 747−06 Standard Terminology Relating to Amusement

Rides and Devices
� F 770−06a Standard Practice for Ownership and

Operation of Amusement Rides and Devices
� F 846−92 Standard Guide for Testing Performance of

Amusement Rides and Devices
� F 853−05 Standard Practice for Maintenance Procedures

for Amusement Rides and Devices
� F 893−05a Standard Guide for Inspection of Amusement

Rides and Devices
� F 1193−06 Standard Practice for Quality Manufacture,

and Construction of Amusement Rides and Devices
� F 1305−94 Standard Guide for Classification of

Amusement Ride and Device Related Injuries and
Illnesses

� F 1957−99 Standard Test Method for Composite Foam
Hardness−Durometer Hardness

� F 2007−07 Standard Practice for the Classification,
Design, Manufacture and Operation of Concession
Go−Karts and Facilities

� F 2137−04 Standard Practice for Measuring the Dynamic
Characteristics of Amusement Rides and Devices

� F 2291−06a Standard Practice for Design of Amusement
Rides and Devices

� F 2374−07a Standard Practice for Design, Manufacture,
Operation, and Maintenance of Inflatable Amusement
Devices

� F2460 −06 Standard Practice for Special Requirements
for Bumper Boats

The review of the code and the ASTM standards included
input from the Amusement Ride Code Council.  A
responsibility of council members is to bring forth concerns
their respective organizations may have with the proposed
rules, including concerns regarding economic impacts.
(Copies of the council meetings summaries are on file in
Safety and Building Division.)
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The Amusement ride council’s composition reflects a
variety of organizations whose memberships include small
businesses.  The department utilizes advisory councils to

gather information on potential impacts, including economic,
in complying with both the technical and administrative
requirements of its code.

In that most of the proposed revisions are for clarification,
the department does not consider the rules to have an
economic impact on small businesses.  In addition the code
council did not identify or convey any impacts to the
department.

An economic impact report has not been required to be
prepared.

Environmental Analysis
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department has

considered the environmental impact of the proposed rules.
In accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are
a Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have
the potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.
The rules will affect amusement ride owners and operators.

Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

Proposed revisions will require amusement ride owners to
prepare operating fact sheets for ride operators and attendants.
Owners are also to provide and document training for ride
operators and attendants.
Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with
the rules.

There are no new types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.
Will rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses?

No.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The proposed revisions for ch. Comm 34 primarily clarify

existing requirements.  The rules will not impact the current
department workload or resources.  In that the proposed
revisions are for clarification, the department does not believe
rules create an economic impact for compliance by
amusement ride owners or operators.
State fiscal effect

None.
Local fiscal effect

None.
Long−range fiscal implications

None are anticipated.

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

Wis. Commercial Building Code, Chs. Comm 60−66
Plumbing, Chs. Comm 81−87

CR 08−055
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02

and 145.02, Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a
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public hearing on proposed rules under Chapters Comm 62
and 81 to 84, relating to the design, installation or
construction, inspection and maintenance of plumbing.

Hearing Information
The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
July 8, 2008
Tuesday
10:00 a.m.

Thompson Commerce Building
Human Resources Conference
   Room (First Floor)
201 W. Washington Avenue
Madison

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Submission of Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until July 18, 2008, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Lynita Docken, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
lynita.docken@wisconsin.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rules
The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules

are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Agent Contact Person
Lynita Docken, Program Manager, lynita.docken@

wisconsin.gov, (608) 785−9349.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce

Statutes interpreted
Sections 101.02 and 145.02, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 101.02 and 145.02, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Sections 101.02 and 145.02 Stats., grant the Department of

Commerce general authority for protecting the health, safety
and welfare of the public by establishing reasonable and

effective safety standards for the design, installation or
construction, inspection and maintenance of plumbing.  In
accordance with s.145.13, Stats., the Department is also
responsible for safeguarding the waters of the state.
Related statute or rule

Section 145.13, Stats.
Chapters Comm 60 to 66, Commercial Building Code.
Chapters 20 to 25, Uniform Dwelling Code.
Chapters 81 to 87, Uniform Plumbing Code.

Summary of proposed rules
The proposed revisions to Chapters Comm 81 to 84 clarify

existing rules and bring the state Uniform Plumbing Code up
to date with current technology and nationally recognized
standards.  The proposed rules contain a number of
modifications to the technical requirements within these
standards, reorganization of current requirements and
editorial changes.

The proposed change in Chapter Comm 62 would limit the
use of waterless antiseptic cleansing provisions to facilities
where waterless toilets or urinals are used.

The following is a summary of the major proposed changes
to Chapters Comm 81 to 84:

a. Allow the recycling of wastewater discharged from
water closets and urinals. [Comm 82.34 (3) (a) 1.]

b. Create code language to recognize alternate standards
that have been used by the department.  (e.g. Pressurized
sewer systems and water treatment device sizing).
[Comm 82.30 (11) (f) 2. and Comm 82.40, Table
82.40−3e]

c. Expand the requirement for demand regeneration
controls for water treatment devices to devices that
discharge to municipal sewers. [Comm 82.40 (8) (j)]

d. Use the term “manufactured home” in place of the term
“mobile home” in numerous places as referenced in
s.101.91 (2), Stats. [Comm 81.01 (152), (153), and (154)
and Comm 82.51]

e. Change the calculation of the load factor on drain piping
so it reflects national model plumbing code
requirements. [Comm 82.30 (3)]

f. Modify the triggers for the installation of stack vents
serving drain stacks from two to five or more branch
intervals. [Comm 82.31 (4)(a) and 82.31 (5)]

g. Expand and describe more fully the grease and oil
treatment requirements for restaurants. [Comm 82.34
(5)]

h. Modify the requirements for secondary roof drains so
they more closely follow national standards. [Comm
82.36 (11)]

i. Upgrade the requirements for water conserving fixtures
to more closely correspond to national standards.
[Comm 84.20 (3)(b)2.]

Comparison with federal regulations
There are several existing federal regulations that relate to

the design, installation or construction, inspection and
maintenance and repair of plumbing.  Some of these
regulations require compliance with the 2006 editions of the
International Plumbing Code (IPC), a national model code
developed by the International Code Council (ICC), and the
Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC), a national model code
developed by the International Association of Plumbing and
Mechanical Officials.

An Internet−based search of the United States Code (USC)
found the following existing federal rules that impact
plumbing.  The Wisconsin Uniform Plumbing Code reflects
the requirements currently contained in these federal laws.
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� Assembly Bill No. 1953, Chapter 853 – The Lead Solder,
Pipe and Flux Law expands Section 116875 of the Health
and Safety Code as contained in USC Title 42, Chapter
6A, Subchapter XII, Part B, Section 300g−6 relating to
lead plumbing to include any pipe or plumbing fitting, or
fixture intended to convey or dispense water for human
consumption. The law, which becomes effective January
1, 2010, passed both the Assembly and the Senate in 2006
and also revises the term “lead free.”

� USC Title 42, Chapter 6A, Subchapter XII, Part F, Section
300j−24 – Lead contamination in school drinking water
outlines the testing protocol for lead contamination in
drinking water from coolers and other sources at
educational agencies, private nonprofit elementary or
secondary schools and day care centers. The law became
effective in 1999. Currently, legislation is being proposed
that would amend this section of the Safe Drinking Water
Act.

� USC Title 33, Chapter 26, Subchapter IV, Section 1342 –
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
(NPDES) established Phase I of the storm water program
in 1990. Nine years later, Phase II of the program was
signed into law and requires smaller communities to
develop and implement a comprehensive storm water
management program.

An Internet−based search of the 2005 through 2008 issues
of the Federal Register found a proposed rule about plumbing
connections to manufactured homes published April 26, 2005
in Vol. 70, No. 79.  Comments and an analysis have been
received and the final rule will become effective October. 20,
2008.  Several of the proposed requirements exceed the
standards of the Wisconsin Uniform Plumbing Code.  These
include the requirement for a shutoff valve to be located
beneath or adjacent to the home, a condition that the water
heater be removed for air testing water systems and a
requirement for the installation of a drain cleanout when pipe
pitch is 1/8� per foot.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

An Internet−based search of the four adjacent states found
the following:
� The Illinois Department of Public Health administers a

state−written uniform plumbing code with exceptions for
cities that existed prior to Illinois statehood.

� The Iowa Department of Public Health administers the
Iowa Uniform Plumbing Code that adopts the 2000
edition of the national UPC with amendments.

� The Michigan Department of Consumer and Industry
Services, Bureau of Construction Codes developed the
2003 Michigan Plumbing Code that became effective
December 31, 2003. Based on the IPC, the code includes
state amendments.

� The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry,
Building Codes and Standards Division, administers the
Minnesota Plumbing Code, a state written uniform code
that was revised August 25, 2003.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The primary methodology for updating the Wisconsin

Uniform Plumbing Code, chapters Comm 81 to 84 has been
a review and assessment of the latest editions of the national
technical standards that serve as the basis for Wisconsin code.
Staff prepared a comprehensive comparison of the changes in
the 2006 editions of the IPC and the national UPC to what
currently is adopted in chapters Comm 81 to 84.  The
department’s review and assessment process involved the

participation of the Plumbing Advisory Code Council. The
members of that Council represent the many stakeholders
involved in the plumbing industry including designers,
inspectors, labor and building contractors. (A listing of the
Plumbing Advisory Code Council is provided at the end of
this analysis.)

The department believes the national model codes reflect
current societal values with respect to safeguarding people
and property from hazards arising from the use of plumbing.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The department used the Plumbing Advisory Code
Council to gather and analyze information on potential
impacts in complying with both the technical and
administrative requirements of the codes. Many small
businesses belong to the industry associations that sit on the
advisory council. A responsibility of council members is to
bring forth concerns that their respective organizations may
have with the requirements including economic impact.

In addition to posting rule development and council
activities on the department’s web site, the department offers
an Email subscription service that is available to all small
businesses. This service provides Email notification of
council meetings, meeting, agendas and council meeting
progress reports so small businesses can follow proposed
code changes.

Environmental Analysis
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department has

prepared a preliminary Environmental Assessment (EA) on
the proposed rules.  The preliminary recommendation is a
finding of no significant impact.  Copies of the preliminary
EA are available from the Department on request and will be
available at the public hearings.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Summary

The department believes the rules will not increase the
effect on small businesses from what the current rules impose
on them. An economic impact report is not required pursuant
to s. 227.137, Stats.
Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.

The proposed rules will affect any business involved with
the ownership, design, construction and installation,
inspection, repair and maintenance of plumbing.
Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

There are no additional reporting, bookkeeping or other
procedures required for compliance with the rules.
Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with
the rules.

There are no additional professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.
Will rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses?

No.

Fiscal Estimate
Summary

The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for
administering and enforcing rules relating to the design,
installation or construction, inspection and maintenance of
plumbing.  The proposed rules consist of updates of chapters
Comm 81 to 84, Wisconsin Uniform Plumbing Code, and
chapter Comm 62, Wisconsin Commercial Building Code,
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including the incorporation by reference of the latest editions
of many national standards related to plumbing products and
methodologies.  There are no new regulatory schemes
contained in the proposed rule revisions that would
significantly affect revenues, expenditures or the division’s
workloads.

The proposed rules will not have a fiscal effect on other
state agencies or local governments.

The proposed rules will not increase the effect from what
the current rules impose on small businesses that own or are
involved in the design, installation or construction, inspection
and maintenance of plumbing.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
None are anticipated.

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

Public Swimming Pools and Water Attractions, 
Ch. Comm 90
CR 08−056

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02
and 145.26, Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a
public hearing on proposed rules under Chapter Comm 90
relating to the design and construction of public swimming
pools and water attractions.

Hearing Information

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
July 8, 2008
Tuesday
1:00 p.m.

Thompson Commerce Building
Human Resources Conference
   Room (First Floor)
201 W. Washington Avenue
Madison

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Submission of Written Comments

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until July 18, 2008, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Lynita Docken, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
lynita.docken@wisconsin.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rules
The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules

are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Agency Contact Person
Lynita Docken, Program Manager, lynita.docken@

wisconsin.gov, (608) 785−9349.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce
Statutes interpreted

Sections 101.02 and 145.26, Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 101.02 and 145.26, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Under the authority of ss. 101.02 and 145.26, Stats., the
Department of Commerce has the authority to promulgate
rules to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public by
establishing reasonable and effective safety standards for the
design, construction, alteration or reconstruction of public
swimming pools, water attractions and associated equipment.
Related statute or rule

Chapter HFS 172, Safety, Maintenance and Operation of
Public Pools and Water Attractions.

Chapters Comm 60 to 66, Wisconsin Commercial Building
Code.

Chapters Comm 81 to 87, Wisconsin Uniform Plumbing
Code.
Summary of proposed rules

The primary revisions to chapter Comm 90 reflect the most
current edition of the American National Standards
Institute/International Aquatics Foundation (ANSI/IAF)
requirements for public swimming pools and aquatic
recreation facilities. The proposed rules contain a number of
modifications to the technical requirements within these
standards, reorganization of current requirements and
editorial changes. The public swimming pool portion of
chapter Comm 90 has not been significantly revised since
1994 when the public swimming pool program was
transferred to the Department of Commerce from the
Department of Health and Family Services. The proposed
code requirements include updates that reflect current
technology and options for the design and installation of
public swimming pools and water attractions. The proposed
revision of chapter Comm 90 also combines the public
swimming pools and water attractions sections of the present
code.

The following is a summary of the major rule changes to
this chapter:

a. Creates uniformity between the regulations for public
swimming pools and water attractions.

b. Provides more consistency between Wisconsin’s code
and the national standards (ANSI/IAF–1, 2 and 9).
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c. Provides clearer code language to eliminate the need for
web interpretations on various issues (for example,
vanishing edge pools).

d. Delineates requirements for entries and exits serving
public swimming pools and water attractions.

e. Creates requirements and allowances for swimouts and
underwater seats and benches.

f. Expands the requirement for automatic chemical
controllers to public swimming pools.  Current code
requires controllers for water attractions.

g. Defines the enclosing building to be an acceptable
barrier for indoor public swimming pools or water
attractions.

Comparison with federal regulations
In December 2007, the United States Congress and

President George Bush signed the Virginia Graeme Baker
Pool and Spa Safety Act into law. This new federal law
requires safety improvements in public pools and spas
including the inspection and replacement of all drain covers
with anti−entrapment devices or systems. Such devices or
systems are expected to reduce injury due to the suction
effects around drain outlets. The proposed revisions to
Chapter Comm 90 are intended to reflect the public pool and
water attractions requirements of the Pool and Spa Safety Act
Section 1404.

An Internet search was conducted to review and compare
any federal rules or proposed federal rules for “water
attractions,” “water parks,” “water recreation facilities” and
“public swimming pools.” No federal rule or proposed rule
was found that addresses public swimming pools, water
parks, in−pool water attractions or play devices.

An Internet search to review and compare any federal rules
or proposed federal rules for “pool slides” resulted in the
finding of 16CFR, Part 1207, Consumer Product Safety
Commission Standards for swimming pool slides (revised
January 2008). It was found that 75 percent of pool slides are
installed in residential pools and not within the scope of this
proposal. No federal rule or proposed rule was found that
addresses the manufacture, construction or installation of
waterslides as they exist in today’s water parks.

An Internet search to review and compare any federal rules
or proposed federal rules for accessibility guidelines for
persons with disabilities resulted in the finding of 36CFR,
Part 1191, Architectural and Transportation Barriers
Compliance Board’s final rule on accessibility guidelines for
recreational facilities for persons with disabilities (Federal
Register, Vol. 67, No. 170, February 3, 2002). The guidelines
ensure that newly constructed and altered recreation facilities
including public swimming pools and spas meet the
requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
In addition, the Architectural and Transportation Barriers
Compliance Board provided significant input to the
ANSI/IAF–1 Public Pool Standard Committee and worked to
ensure consistency between the ANSI/IAF–1 standard and
the ADA accessibility guidelines. The proposed changes to
Chapter Comm 90 references Vol. 67, No. 170, of the Federal
Register, plus they are based on the ANSI/IAF–1 standard.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

A comparison of the four adjacent states found that all had
regulations for public swimming pools and require pool plan
approval before construction.  This proposal also relates to
water attractions (waterslides, splash pads, activity pools,
etc.) and Wisconsin’s neighboring states have various
mechanisms for addressing new technology and imaginative
designs.

The following information was ascertained during an
Internet−based search of adjacent states:

a. The Illinois Department of Public Health provides for
the inspection and licensing of all public swimming
pools, spas, waterslides, wading pools, and bathing
beaches. Effective February 2003, the Department
reviews all plans and specifications before construction
can begin.

b. The Iowa Department of Public Health, Division of
Environmental Health oversees the design, construction
and reconstruction of public swimming pools. It issues
permits and certifies that the plans for swimming pools,
spas, wading pools, waterslides, wave pools, and spray
pads comply with rules and statutes that were revised
May 2005.

c. The Minnesota Department of Health provides plan
review and construction inspection for all public pools
within the state. The requirements include the design,
construction, installation and alteration of a public pool
including individual approval where the designer must
prove a design’s compliance with the intent of the code.
The Department also is responsible for issuing permits.

d. The Water Bureau, Drinking Water and Environmental
Health Section of the Michigan Department of
Environmental Quality is responsible for issuing
construction permits for public swimming pools
(including spas, leisure pools, activity pools, water slide
pools, and lazy rivers). The Department also requires a
permit for the modification of any existing public
swimming pool.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The primary methodology for updating the Wisconsin

Administrative Code, chapter Comm 90 has been a review
and assessment of the latest edition of the national technical
standards for the design and construction of public swimming
pools and water attractions. Staff prepared a comprehensive
comparison of what is currently adopted under Comm 90 to
the latest edition of the ANSI/IAF–1 Public Swimming Pools
standard.

The Department’s review and assessment process involved
the participation of the Pool Advisory Code Council. The
members of that Council represent many stakeholders
involved in the pool and water attractions industry, including
designers, manufacturers, inspectors, contractors and
operators of public swimming pools. (A listing of the Pool
Advisory Code Council is provided at the end of this
analysis.)

The Department believes that the national model codes
reflect current societal values with respect to protecting
public health, safety and welfare in the design, construction,
use, operation and maintenance of public swimming pools,
water attractions and associated equipment. The ANSI/IAF
use a process open to all parties in the development of its
standards. More information on the development of these
standards may be obtained from the ANSI web site at:
www.ansi.org.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The Department used the Pool Advisory Code Council to
gather and analyze information on potential impacts in
complying with both the technical and administrative
requirements of the codes. Many small businesses belong to
the industry associations that sit on the advisory council. A
responsibility of council members is to bring forth concerns
that their respective organizations may have with the
requirements including economic impact.



Page 26 Mid−June 2008WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 630

In addition to posting rule development and council
activities on the Department’s web site, the Department offers
an Email subscription service that is available to small
businesses. This service provides Email notification of
council meetings, meeting, agendas and council meeting
progress reports so small businesses can follow proposed
code changes.

It is anticipated this requirement will not have a significant
impact on small businesses owning, designing, building,
altering, or remodeling public swimming pools, water
attractions and associated equipment.

Environmental Analysis

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department has
considered the environmental impact of the proposed rules.
In accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are
a Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have
the potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Summary
The Department believes the rules will not increase the

effect on small businesses from what the current rules impose
on them. An economic impact report has not been required
pursuant to s. 227.137, Stats.

Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.
The proposed rules will affect any business that owns or is

involved with the design, construction, installation, repair,
alteration, and reconstruction of public swimming pools,
water attractions, and associated equipment.

Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

There are no additional reporting, bookkeeping or other
procedures required for compliance with the rules.

Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with
the rules.

There are no additional professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.

Will rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses?

No.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for

administering and enforcing rules relating to the design,
construction, alteration or reconstruction of public swimming
pools, water attractions and associated equipment.  The
proposed rules are based upon the latest edition of the
American National Standards Institute/International
Aquatics Foundation (ANSI/IAF) requirements for aquatic
recreation facilities (swimming pools and water attractions)
and clarify existing technical requirements.  The division does
not anticipate that the proposed rules will increase its
workload and the workload can be accommodated with
current resources.

The proposed rules will not have a fiscal effect on other
state agencies or local governments.

The proposed rules will not increase the effect from what
the current rules impose on small businesses that own or are
involved in the design, construction, alteration or
reconstruction of public swimming pools and water
attractions.
State fiscal effect

None.
Local fiscal effect

None.
Long−range fiscal implications

None are anticipated.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance
CR 08−053

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under s. 227.18, Stats., the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance will hold a public hearing to
consider the adoption of a rulemaking order affecting sections
Ins 50.01, 50.05, 50.08, 50.10, 50.11, 50.12, 50.13, 50.14,
50.15, 50.16, 50.17, 50.18, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to audit,
control and financial reporting requirements.

Hearing Information
Date: July 8, 2008
Time: 10:00 a.m.,

or as soon thereafter as the matter may be reached
Place: Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

Room 227, 125 South Webster St 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
James W. Harris
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 5000
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
James W. Harris
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 5000
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
James W. Harris
james.harris@wisconsin.gov
Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Admin. Rule

Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed
rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
7th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Agency Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Public Information and
Communications, OCI, at: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov,
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(608) 264−8110, 125 South Webster Street – 2nd Floor,
Madison WI or PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance

Statutes interpreted
Sections 600.01, 601.41 (3), 601.42 and 623.02, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42 and ch. 623, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
OCI has set standards for accounting practices related to

the preparation and submission of annual audited financial
reports, annual financial statements and examinations
required of insurers doing business in Wisconsin.
Related statutes or rules

Sections 600.01, 601.41 (3), 601.42 and 623.02, Stats.
Plain language summary

The provisions of subch. I of ch. 50, Wis. Adm. Code
establish the requirement to file an annual audited financial
report (CPA audit) and the related standards including
applicability, auditor qualification requirements and the
auditor duty to report adverse financial conditions. The
proposed rule updates and adds certain general requirements
including those related to auditor independence, the scope of
the audit and report, communication of internal control
matters noted in the audit, an audit committee, and
management’s report of internal control over financial
reporting. With respect to auditor independence the proposed
rule provides that the lead auditor may not serve in that
capacity for a period more than five years. The rule specifies
various non−audit services that, if performed by the auditor,
would impair the auditor’s independence in relation to the
insurer. Insurers with less than $100 million in direct and
assumed premium may request a waiver from the requirement
based upon financial or organizational hardship. Partners and
senior managers of the audit engagement may not serve as a
member of the board of directors, or officer, or controller, or
similar position of the insurer if employed by the independent
accounting firm that audited the insurer during the one−year
period which preceded the most current statutory opinion.
With respect to corporate responsibility the proposed rule
provides that every insurer required to file an annual audited
financial report shall also be required to have an audit
committee that is directly responsible for the appointment,
oversight and compensation of the auditor. Insurers with less
than $ 500 million in direct and assumed premium may apply
for a waiver from this requirement based on hardship. With
respect to internal control by an insurer over financial
reporting the proposed rule requires that management of
insurers with more than $ 500 million in direct and assumed
premium  file a report with the Commissioner regarding its
assessment of internal control over financial reporting,
including a statement whether the controls are effective to
provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability of the
statutory financial statements and disclosure of any
unremediated material weaknesses in internal control over
financial reporting.
Comparison with federal regulations

There are no federal regulations which address annual
financial reports, annual financial statements and

examinations to be prepared by insurers doing business in
Wisconsin. Certain insurers, however are SEC registrants,
and are subject to audit committee independence and
preapproval requirements of the Securities and Exchange Act
of 1934,  management reports on internal control over
financial reporting  requirements of Section 404 of the
Sarbanes−Oxley Act of 2002, and SEC regulations
promulgated thereunder.
Comparison of rules in adjacent states

Illinois:  Il. Adm. Code Title 50, Part 925, Section 925.70,
requires annual audited financial reports from insurers doing
business in the state that are prepared by a qualified
independent certified public accountant.  The state has
indicated to the NAIC that consideration of the Model audit
regulation will be considered in the fall of 2008.

Iowa: Iowa Adm. Code 191−5.25, requires annual audited
financial reports from insurers doing business in the state that
are prepared by a qualified independent certified public
accountant. The state has indicated to the NAIC that it has
initiated the process for consideration of the Model audit
regulation through prehearing exposure to be followed by
submission to its rules committee in late 2008.

Michigan: Mich. Comp. Laws, Ch. 500, requires annual
audited financial reports from insurers authorized to do
business in the state that are prepared by an independent
certified public accountant. The state has indicated to the
NAIC that there is legislation pending to modify its s. 10
concerning audit reports.

Minnesota: Minn. Stat. Ch. 60A.129, Subd. 3, requires
annual audited financial reports from insurers doing business
in the state that are prepared by an independent certified
public accountant. The state has indicated to the NAIC that
consideration of the Model audit regulation is contemplated
in 2009.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The proposed rule is based upon a model regulation
adopted by the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC) at the June, 2006, national meeting.
The proposed rule is under consideration as it has been
recommended by the NAIC, will increase the ability of
management and regulators to monitor financial status, and
will provide control documentation contemplated in the
enhanced financial surveillance procedures adopted by the
NAIC and required as an accreditation standard for statutory
examinations conducted after January 1, 2010.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

The proposed rule establishes direct and assumed premium
thresholds and waiver provisions  that minimize the effect
upon smaller insurers.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule does not impose any additional requirements on

small businesses and will have little or no effect on small
businesses.

Fiscal Estimate
Effect on private sector

This rule change may have a significant financial effect on
a small number of companies in the private sector regulated
by OCI. Costs associated with implementing the provisions of
the proposed rule, other than those related to enhanced
documentation of internal controls over financial reporting
will not be significant. Provisions related to enhanced
documentation of internal controls over financial reporting
apply only to insurers with more than $ 500 million in direct
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and assumed premium, and a majority of these insurers have
developed the systems and procedures necessary to achieve
compliance voluntarily or as a result of their status as SEC
registrants.

State fiscal effect
None.

Local fiscal effect
None.

Long−range fiscal implications
None.

Notice of Hearing

Physical Therapists Affiliated 
Credentialing Board

CR 08−049

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Physical Therapists Affiliated Credentialing
Board in ss. 15.085 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 448.53 (2) and 448.55
(3), Stats., and interpreting ss. 448.535 (2) and 448.55 (3),
Stats, the Physical Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated
below to consider an order revising sections PT 2.04, 3.01 and
9.02 to 9.04, relating to examination waivers, temporary
licenses and continuing education.

Hearing Information
Date: July 10, 2008
Time: 9:15 A.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Submission of Written Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, email at pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.
Comments must be received on or before July 14, 2008, to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Agency Contact Person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708; telephone 608−266−0495; email at pamela.haack@
drl.state.wi.us.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted
Sections 448.535 (2) and 448.55 (3), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.085 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 448.53 (2) and 448.55

(3), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Physical Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board

has the authority to promulgate rules under ss. 448.53 (2) and
448.55 (3), Stats.
Related statute or rule

Sections 448.53 (2) and 448.55 (3), Stats.
Plain language analysis

The proposed changes to the physical therapy rules are
intended to address three separate items.  To begin with, the
board is repealing s. PT 2.04.  That section contained a waiver
provision for applicants, provided they applied prior to April
1, 2004.  Because the deadline to apply for an examination
waiver under that provision has expired and is therefore not
applicable, the board is eliminating it.  In addition, the board
is extending the potential duration of a temporary license.
Currently, a temporary license is only valid for three months.
This proposal would allow the board to extend a temporary
license twice, each for three month intervals, provided the
licensee could demonstrate hardship.  However, licensees
would only be permitted to practice under a temporary license
for nine months.  The board had encountered several
applicants who, for various reasons, were unable to take the
examination during the required three month timeframe and
thus believed that offering these extensions would
accommodate those difficulties.  Finally, the board has
streamlined its continuing education provisions in an effort to
eliminate any confusion surrounding how to calculate the
required number of hours and how to determine what
programs are acceptable.  A new table better defines the
various categories as well as the number of contact hours each
may receive.

SECTION 1 repeals s. PT 2.04 since the deadline to apply
for an examination waiver under that provision has expired.
Section PT 2.04 applied to applicants who were eligible for an
examination waiver prior to April 1, 2004.

SECTION 2 amends s. PT 3.01 (5) to allow the board the
ability to extend a temporary license for reasons of hardship.
Two, three−month extensions would be permitted.  Licensees
would only be permitted to practice under a temporary license
for nine months.

SECTION 3 repeals the definition of continuing education
unit (“CEU”) found in s. PT 9.02 (1) and replaces it with the
term “contact hour.”  Contact hour is defined as not less than
50 minutes that a licensee actually spends attending an
acceptable continuing education program.  This term is used
throughout the section that addresses continuing education
requirements.

SECTION 4 repeals the definition of “hour of continuing
education” found in s. PT 9.02 (3).  That term is replaced with
“contact hour” as found in SECTION 3.

SECTION 5 amends s. PT 9.02 (1) and (2) by adding the
requirement for both physical therapists and physical
therapist assistants that four hours of their required continuing
education be in the area of ethics and jurisprudence.
Previously, this requirement had been included in s. PT 9.04
(2) (c).

SECTION 6 renumbers s. PT 9.04 (2) (intro.) and further
amends it by referring readers of the rule to a newly numbered
table that identifies various categories of continuing
education.

SECTION 7 repeals s. PT 9.04 (2) (a) to (c) which
referenced the old continuing education table.  The table has
been modified and is renumbered under this proposal.  This
section also identified the number of required continuing
education hours for both physical therapists and physical
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therapist assistants.  That information is now included under
s. PT 9.02 (1) and (2) and found in SECTION 5.

SECTION 8 repeals Table PT 9.04 – 1 and Table PT 9.04
– 2.  A new table has instead been created.  It identifies various
categories of continuing education and the number of contact
hours each one is eligible to receive for each category.

SECTION 9 creates Table PT 9.04.  The new table modifies
a few of the continuing education categories and identifies the
number of contact hour limits each category is entitled to
receive.
Comparison with federal regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Minnesota: Twenty hours of continuing education are
required every two years.  No ethics or jurisprudence credits
are required.  Minnesota grants temporary permits to physical
therapists (different for new graduates, physical therapists
licensed in another state, and foreign educated physical
therapists), but does not allow for extensions.  Contact hour
is defined as an instructional session of 60 minutes, excluding
coffee breaks, registration, meals with or without speaker, and
other social activities.  Three categories of activity are defined
and are based upon specified credit standards.

Illinois:  Temporary practice is allowed for six months by
a person in Illinois to assist in the case of medical emergency
or to engage in a special physical therapy project, and who
meets the qualifications for a physical therapy project and is
licensed as a physical therapist in another state.

Following notification of eligibility for examination, an
applicant who fails to take the examination for a license
within sixty days of the notification shall forfeit his or her fee
and his or her right to practice as a physical therapist or
physical therapist assistant until such time as the applicant has
passed the appropriate examination.  Any applicant failing the
examination three times in any jurisdiction will not be
allowed to sit for another examination until the applicant has
presented satisfactory evidence to the board of appropriate
remedial work as set forth in the rules and regulations.  If an
applicant neglects, fails or refuses to take an examination or
fails to pass an examination for a license or otherwise fails to
complete the application process within three years after
filing the application, the application shall be denied.
However, such applicant may make a new application for
examination accompanied by the required fee, and must
furnish proof of meeting qualifications for examination in
effect at the time of new application.  One continuing
education hour equals 50 minutes.  Credit conversions are
spelled out in the rule.

Iowa:  Forty hours of continuing education are required per
biennium.  One hour of continuing education equals fifty
minutes.  Six months of supervised practice is allowed after
the receipt of an application by examination.  Three months
of supervised practice is allowed after the receipt of an
application by endorsement.  Continuing education
conversions are spelled out in the rule.

Michigan: Michigan does not have continuing education
requirements or temporary permits.  The practice of physical
therapy may only be conducted by prescription of a licensed
physical therapist.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The board conducted an extensive review of its rules with
its legal counsel after identifying the need to clarify portions
of the rule.  Continuing education providers were consulted.

Most of the discussion centered on the conversion of credits
for Class I and Class II Activities.  The rule was revised as
deemed necessary.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The effect on small business is no different from the
original rule.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Professional Credentialing and Office
of Legal Counsel.  The one−time salary and fringe costs in the
Division of Professional Credentialing and Office of Legal
Counsel are estimated at $1,200.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Text of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1.  PT 2.04 is repealed.

SECTION 2.  PT 3.01 (5) is amended to read:
PT 3.01 (5)  The duration of a temporary license to practice

physical therapy under supervision granted under this section
shall be for a period of 3 months or until the holder receives
failing examination results, whichever is shorter, unless the
board grants an extension of the temporary license.  A
temporary license may be renewed for a period of 3 months,
and may be renewed a second time for a period of 3 months
for reasons of hardship.  Practice under a temporary license
may not exceed 9 months total duration.
SECTION 3.  PT 9.02 (1) is repealed and recreated to read:

PT 9.02 (1)  “Contact hour” means not less than 50 minutes
a licensee spends in actual attendance at or completion of
acceptable continuing education.
SECTION 4.  PT 9.02 (3) is repealed.

SECTION 5.  PT 9.03 (1) and (2) are amended to read:
PT 9.03 Continuing education requirements. (1)  Unless

granted a postponement or waiver under sub. (8), every
physical therapist shall complete at least 30 hours of
board−approved continuing education in each biennial
registration period, as specified in s. 448.55 (3), Stats.  Four
of the required 30 hours shall be in the area of ethics and
jurisprudence.

(2)  Unless granted a postponement or waiver under sub.
(8), every physical therapist assistant shall complete at least
20 hours of board−approved continuing education in each
biennial registration period, as specified in s. 448.55 (3),
Stats.  Four of the required 20 hours shall be in the area of
ethics and jurisprudence.
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SECTION 6.  PT 9.04 (2) (intro.) is renumbered PT 9.04 (2)
and is amended to read:

PT 9.04 (2)  Both class I and class II The continuing
education activities described in tables PT 9.04 – 1 and PT
9.04 – 2 table PT 9.04 qualify for continuing education hours,
except as follows:.

SECTION 7.  PT 9.04 (2) (a) to (c) are repealed.

SECTION 8.  Table PT 9.04 – 1 and Table PT 9.04 – 2 are
repealed.

SECTION 9.  Table PT 9.04 is created to read:

Table PT 9.04
ACTIVITY CONTACT HOUR LIMITS

(a)  Successful completion of relevant academic coursework. No limit.  [10 contact hours = one semes-
ter credit; 6.6 contact hours = quarter
credit]

(b)  Attendance at seminars, workshops, lectures, symposia, and professional conferences
which are sponsored or approved by acceptable health−related or other organizations
including, but not limited to, the American Physical Therapy Association or the Wisconsin
Physical Therapy Association.

No limit.

(c)  Successful completion of a self−study course or courses offered via electronic or other
means which are sponsored or approved by acceptable health−related or other organizations
including, but not limited to, the American Physical Therapy Association or the Wisconsin
Physical Therapy Association.

No limit.

(d)  Earning a clinical specialization from the American Board of Physical Therapy Spe-
cialties or other recognized clinical specialization certifying organizations.

Up to 12 contact hours  for initial certifi-
cation or for recertification.

(e)  Authorship of a book about physical therapy or a related professional area. Up to 12 contact hours for each book.

(f)  Authorship of one or more chapters of a book about physical therapy or a related pro-
fessional area.

Up to 6 contact hours for each chapter.

(g)  Authorship of a presented scientific poster, scientific platform presentation, or pub-
lished article.

Up to 6 contact hours for each poster,
platform presentation or refereed article.

(h)  Presenting seminars, continuing education courses, workshops, lectures or symposia
which have been approved by recognized health−related organizations including, but not
limited to, the American Physical Therapy Association or the Wisconsin Physical Therapy
Association.
Note:  No additional hours are given for subsequent presentations of the same content.
Substantive course revisions may be counted but are limited to the extent of the revision.

No limit.

(i)  Teaching in an academic course in physical therapy as a guest lecturer.
Note:  No additional hours are given for subsequent presentations of the same content.
Substantive course revisions may be counted but are limited to the extent of the revision.

No limit.  [10 contact hours = one semes-
ter credit; 6.6 contact hours = one quarter
credit]

(j)  Teaching in an academic course in physical therapy.
Note:  No additional hours are given for subsequent presentations of the same content.
Substantive course revisions may be counted but are not limited to the extent of the revi-
sion.

No limit.  [10 contact hours = one semes-
ter credit; 6.6. contact hours = one quarter
credit]

(k)  Successful completion in a clinical residency program credentialed by the American
Physical Therapy Association or other recognized credentialing organization.

No limit.

(l)  Attending employer provided continuing education, including video and non−interac-
tive on−line courses.

Up to 15 contact hours for physical thera-
pists.  Up to 10 contact hours for physical
therapist assistants.

(m)  Authoring an article in a non−refereed publication. Up to 5 contact hours.

(n)  Developing alternative media materials, including computer software, programs, and
video instructional material.

1 contact hour per product.  Up to 5 con-
tact hours.

(o)  Serving as a clinical instructor for internships with an accredited physical therapist or
physical therapist assistant educational program.

Up to 15 contact hours for physical thera-
pists.  Up to 10 contact hours for physical
therapist assistants.

(p)  Serving as a supervisor for students fulfilling clinical observation requirements. 1 contact hour per contact hour with stu-
dents, up to 5 contact hours.

(q)  Participating in a physical therapy study group of 2 or more physical therapist or physi-
cal therapist assistants or in an interdisciplinary study group of members of at least 2 disci-
plines meeting on a topic relevant to the participants’ work.

Up to 2 contact hours per study group.

(r)  Participating as a resident or as a mentor in a formal nonacademic mentorship. 1 contact hour per each 8 contact hours
for both the resident and mentor, up to 5
contact hours.

(s)  Attending a scientific poster session, lecture panel, or a symposium. Up to 2 contact hours.

(t)  Serving as a delegate to the American Physical Therapy Association House of Dele-
gates, on a professional committee, board, or task force.

Up to 5 contact hours.
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Notice of Hearing
Public Instruction

CR 08−052

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss. 115.88
(1m) (b) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting s. 115.88
(1m) (b), Stats., the Department of Public Instruction will
hold a public hearing to consider emergency and proposed
permanent rules, revising Chapter PI 30, relating to state
special education aid for certain pupil services personnel.

Hearing Information

July 14, 2008 Madison
3:00 − 4:30 p.m. GEF 3 Building

125 South Webster St.
Room 041

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you require reasonable accommodation to
access any meeting, please call Stephanie Petska, Director,
Special Education at (608) 266−1781 or leave a message with
the Teletypewriter (TTY) at (608) 267−2427 at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Reasonable accommodation
includes materials prepared in an alternative format, as
provided under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Copies of Proposed Rule

The administrative rule and fiscal note are available on the
internet at http://dpi.wi.gov/pb/rulespg.html.  A copy of the
proposed rule and the fiscal estimate also may be obtained by
sending an email request to lori.slauson@dpi.state.wi.us or
by writing to:

Lori  Slauson, Administrative Rules and Federal Grants
Coordinator

Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI  53707

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments on the proposed rules received by Ms.
Slauson at the above mail or email address no later than July
17, 2008, will be given the same consideration as testimony
presented at the hearing.

Agency Contact Person

Stephanie Petska, Director, Special Education,
stephanie.petska@dpi.wi.gov, (608) 266−1781.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of Public Instruction

Statute interpreted
Section 115.88 (1m) (b), Stats.

Statutory authority
Section 115.88 (1m) (b), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 115.88 (1m) (b), Stats., directs the department to

promulgate rules establishing the percentage of the salaries of
licensed school nurses, licensed school social workers,
licensed school psychologists, and licensed school counselors
that are eligible for state aid reimbursement.

The proposed rules specify these determinations.

Related statute or rule
Section 115.88 (1m), Stats.

Plain language analysis
Currently, the salaries and benefits of school nurses, social

workers, psychologists, and counselors who work with
special education are among the costs eligible for
reimbursement through special education aid.  Districts have
been required to report full−time equivalency for the
identified positions to determine reimbursement.

2007 Wisconsin Act 221 gives the department the authority
to determine the percentage of work time that each of the
personnel categories spends providing services to children
with disabilities and promulgate rules establishing the
percentage of the salaries that these personnel categories may
be certified as costs eligible for reimbursement.  As required
by the Act, the department has established the average
percentage of work time that each category spends providing
services to children with disabilities by reviewing past data
collected from eligible entities.  In doing so, the department
has determined that the percentage of the salaries that may be
certified as costs eligible for reimbursement are as follows:

School nurses; 29 percent.
School social workers; 59 percent.
School psychologists; 84 percent.
School counselors; 10 percent.
If funds are insufficient, the reimbursement shall be

prorated.
The rules specify these salary reimbursement percentages

for pupil services personnel and should reduce the workload
involved by eligible entities by no longer requiring detailed
full−time equivalency information to be reported for
reimbursement.

The rule first applies to state aid distributed in the 2008−09
school year.  Emergency rules were promulgated by the
department effective May 30, 2008, in order to establish
instructions this spring as to how school districts are to
account for these pupil services staff on special education
claim forms.
Comparison with federal regulations

None
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota do not have
administrative rules relating to the payment of salaries of
licensed school nurses, social workers, psychologists, and
counselors.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

In the 2005−07 biennial budget, DPI requested and the
Legislature and Governor approved adding licensed school
nurses and licensed school guidance counselors as eligible
categories for cost reimbursement under special education
categorical aid.  At that time it had come to DPI’s attention that
several school districts had hired a school psychologist rather
than a school counselor simply because the psychologist was
eligible for partial reimbursement by special education
categorical aid whereas the counselor was not.  Further,
students with disabilities were receiving services from school
nurses, contributing to the high cost of special education, but
such services were not reimbursable with categorical aid.
Adding the school nurses and school guidance counselors was
proposed to help ensure special education categorical aid was
not being abused.

Prior to 1999, the state statute regarding special education
categorical aid provided that school psychologists’ and
school social workers’ eligible costs would be reimbursed at
51%, and special education teachers and other staff at 63%.
This difference reflected the fact that teachers were spending
their entire FTE instructing students with disabilities.  Pupil
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services staff were generally serving all students, including
students with disabilities.  In 1999, the Governor removed the
percentages because the state had not reimbursed at these
rates since 1985.  Since the percentages were removed, DPI
staff considered whether to:  (1) use the same rate of
reimbursement for all positions, (2) require districts to report
FTE for the identified positions to determine reimbursement,
or (3) determine a standardized reimbursement rate for each
profession.  The second alternative, requiring districts to
report FTE, was selected.  Since that time, however, districts’
reports of eligible special education costs have been quite
varied.  In fact, there is significant concern that some districts
are submitting inaccurate claims.  Due to this concern, DPI
staff and some school districts are far from satisfied regarding
the current practices of reporting eligible costs.

Under 2007 Wisconsin Act 221, DPI would establish an
“eligible costs” rate that is standard for each profession (the
third alternative that was considered in 1999) (x% of nurses’
salary and fringe are eligible, y% of counselors’ salary and
fringe are eligible, z% of social workers’ salary and fringe are
eligible, etc.) instead of having districts report actual FTE for
each professional.  Reviews of the Fall Staffing Report and
Special Education Aid claims indicate that the rates vary
significantly among professions.  For some professions, rates
may vary significantly within professions.  DPI would,
therefore, use average percentage of work times.

The Wisconsin Council of Administrators of Special
Services (WCASS), and the other members of the School
Administrators Alliance (SAA) supported the Act via 2007
Assembly Bill 906.  Those include WASDA, AWSA and
WASBO.

Under the new law and proposed rule, implementing this
reimbursement will become easier for school districts and
other eligible entities.  Eligible entities will simply report the
number of eligible pupil services personnel to receive
reimbursement (based on the percentage determined by the
department by rule) rather than report the full−time
equivalency of each eligible pupil services personnel
position.

Note:  Current claims are prorated at 28%, and without a
substantial increase in the special education categorical aid
appropriation, such prorating will continue.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

N/A

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules are not anticipated to have a fiscal
effect on small businesses as defined under s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary

Currently, the salaries of school nurses, school social
workers, school psychologists, and school counselors
employed for a special education program are among the costs
that are eligible to be reimbursed by the state through special
education aid.  If the amount appropriated for such aid is
insufficient to fully reimburse the costs, the amount paid is
prorated.

This rule specifies the average percentage of work time that
each of the personnel categories specified above spends
providing services to children with disabilities, and provides

that the percentage of the salaries of personnel in that category
is the cost eligible for reimbursement from the state.
State fiscal effect

There will be no overall fiscal effect for the department.
The rules will not change the amount of special education
categorical aid.  It could simply change the distribution of the
aid to school districts.
Local fiscal effect

The rules could have an effect on school districts.  Since
districts are currently reporting the percentage of time that
each professional is working with students with disabilities,
once specific percentages of each profession are in
administrative rules, districts could gain or lose special
education categorical aid.  For example, a district that has
been reporting their school psychologist as working 100%
time with students with disabilities could lose aid as the rule
only allows for 84% reimbursement.  On the other hand, a
district that has been reporting their school psychologist as
working 25% time with students with disabilities could gain
aid.
Private sector fiscal effect

The proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

CR 08−048
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 85.16

(1), 227.11 (2) (a) and 348.25 (3) and (8) (e), Stats.,
interpreting s. 348.25 (8) (e), Stats., the Department of
Transportation will hold a public hearing to consider the
amendment of Chapter Trans 250, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to internet and telephone call−in fees.

Hearing Information

Date and Time: Location:
July 9, 2008
11:00 a.m.

Hill Farms State Transportation
   Bldg., Room 144−B
4802 Sheboygan Avenue
Madison

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available.

Submission of Written Comments and Agency Contact
Person

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit
the submission of comments in lieu of public hearing
testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at
the hearing.  Any such comments should be submitted to
Carson Frazier, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
Vehicle Services, Room 255, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WI
53707−7911.  You may also contact Ms. Frazier by phone at
(608) 266−7857 or e−mail:  carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the
current rule, and submit written comments via
e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.
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Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted
Section 348.25 (8) (e), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 85.16 (1), 227.11 (2) (a) and 348.25 (3) and (8) (e),

Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Department is authorized by s. 348.25 (8) (e), Stats.,

to administer issuance of permits for overweight and
over−sized transport, including charging a fee for issuance by
internet and telephone call−in.

Related statute or rule
Sections 348.25, 348.26 and 348.27, Stats., and ch. Trans

250.

Plain language analysis
Section Trans 250.04 establishes the fee for obtaining an

oversize and/or overweight routing permit or permit
amendment that is applied for or issued by Internet or
telephone call−in procedures.  2003 Wis. Act 33, Section
2604, amended s. 348.25(8)(e), Stats., to provide that the
amount of the fee is to be established by the Department by
rule, and shall approximate the cost to the Department for
providing this service.  The current $5 fee was based on the
Department’s cost to provide telephone and internet service in
2003.  Recently, the Department has determined that the
current actual cost per transaction is about $1.49, but that is
subject to change in the future as the Department’s annual cost
assessment indicates.

This rule making amends s. Trans 250.04 to establish that
the Department shall determine the fee annually to
approximate the cost to the Department for providing the
transaction, not to exceed $5 per transaction.  In determining
the fee per transaction for the current year, the Department
shall review, from the previous year, the total cost of the
service, the number of transactions, and other material
factors.  The current fee shall be published on the
Department’s internet web site and in communication
materials distributed to eligible motor carriers.  This approach
is modeled on ch. Trans 196 language that was promulgated
in 2005 for Internet and phone registration renewal
transactions.

Comparison with federal regulations
  No federal regulations relate to this fee.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Michigan:  Michigan currently accepts credit cards for

some transactions, and does not charge a convenience fee.
Michigan anticipates expanding credit card acceptance
without imposing a convenience fee.

Minnesota:  Minnesota accepts credit cards, and does not
charge a convenience fee.  If customer uses a VitalChek
product or interface, the customer pays that company’s
processing fee directly.

Illinois:   Illinois accepts credit cards and does not charge
a convenience fee for credit card usage per se, but does charge
$1 fee for transmission of permit via fax, regardless of method
of payment.

Iowa: Iowa does not accept credit cards directly, as Iowa by
law cannot use tax revenue to pay merchant fee nor create a
related service fee.  In Iowa, a private third−party vendor has
a terminal in the Iowa main office, for use by customers who
wish to pay oversize/overweight permit fees using credit

cards.  The vendor charges a fee based on cost of the
transaction; the minimum fee is $6.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The Department has successfully implemented fee
calculation and publication under ch. Trans 196.  Under the
proposed rule amendment, the convenience fee for
oversize/overweight permit applications by internet and
telephone call−in procedures will be treated similarly.

The Department has the capability to determine the fee
annually to approximate the cost to the Department for
providing the transaction, not to exceed $5 per transaction.  In
determining the fee per transaction for the current year, the
Department shall review, from the previous year, the total cost
of the service, the number of transactions, and other material
factors.

The Department recognizes that if the cost were to exceed
the amount that the Legislature has previously approved ($5
per transaction), the Department must seek Legislative
oversight through the rule making process.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

Small businesses represent most motor carriers that apply
for oversize/overweight permits, using the Internet or
telephone call−in procedure.  In 2007, almost 28,000
oversize/overweight charge−card transactions occurred.  The
average permit transaction amount was just under $60, and
the average transaction cost to DOT was $1.49.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Department concludes that reduction of the

convenience fee will reduce the cost to small businesses.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by e−mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by
calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The Department estimates that because it is prohibited

from charging fees to any department of a county, town, or
municipality or any branch of the United States government,
or any foreign government for oversize/overweight permits
by s. Trans 250.08, there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, town, municipality, nor
any branch of the United States government, nor any foreign
government.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The Department estimates that since oversize/overweight
permit application by Internet or telephone call−in is a minor
portion of state or private sector activity, there will be no fiscal
impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.

Text of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1.  Trans 250.04 is amended to read:
Trans 250.04  Internet fee and telephone call−in fee.  In

addition to any other applicable fee under this chapter, the
department shall charge a $5 fee for each permit or
amendment which is applied for or issued by the internet
procedure or the telephone call−in procedure.  The fee shall
be determined by the department annually to approximate the
cost to the department for providing the transaction, not to
exceed $5.00.  In determining the fee per transaction for the
current year, the department shall review, from the previous
year, the total cost of the service, the number of transactions,
and other material factors.  The current fee shall be published
on the department’s internet web site and in communication
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materials distributed to eligible motor carriers. Only one
internet fee or telephone call−in fee shall be charged when a
permit or amendment is applied for and issued by the internet
procedure or the telephone call−in procedure.

Notice of Hearing

Workforce Development
Family Supports, Chs. DWD 12−59

EmR0814

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 49.155
and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Department of Workforce
Development proposes to hold a public hearing to consider an
emergency rule relating to the repeal of EmR0807, the
emergency rule affecting section DWD 56.04 that was
effective March 30, 2008, relating to child care enrollment
underutilization.

Hearing Information

June 27, 2008 MADISON
Friday
10:00 a.m.

G.E.F. 1 Building
Room H405
201 E. Washington Avenue

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in an alternative format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Copies of Proposed Rule

A copy of the proposed rules is available at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov. This site allows you to view
documents associated with this rule’s promulgation, register
to receive email notification whenever the Department posts
new information about this rulemaking order, and submit
comments and view comments by others during the public
comment period. You may receive a paper copy of the rule or
fiscal estimate by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel
Dept. of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707−7946
(608) 267−9403
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the
above address, email, or through the http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov web site no later than June 27, 2008, will be
given the same consideration as testimony presented at the
hearing.

Agency Contact Person
Laura Saterfield, Child Care Section Chief,

laura.saterfield@dwd.state.wi.us, (608) 266−3443.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development
Explanation of agency authority

The Department administers the child care subsidy
program under s. 49.155, Stats., and reimburses child care
providers for services provided pursuant to s. 49.155 (3m),
Stats.
Summary of the emergency rule

This rule repeals the emergency rule on child care
enrollment underutilization that was effective March 30,
2008.

The child care enrollment underutilization rule attempted
to control costs by reducing payments to licensed child care
providers for authorized child care services that were
significantly underused. The rule provided that for any week
in which a child whose authorized payments were on an
enrollment basis attended less than 50% of the authorized
hours of care, payment was made on the basis of actual hours
of attendance used, unless the agency determined that the
absence was for a reason approved by the Department, such
as short−term illness of the child or death in the family. The
rule also increased the penalties for a provider who submitted
false or inaccurate attendance reports.

2007 Wisconsin Act 226 provides $18.6 million to address
the fiscal year 2007−08 Wisconsin Shares funding shortfall.
The enrolled budget repair bill contains language that would
have prohibited the use of a child care underutilization
methodology in virtually any situation.  The Governor vetoed
this language. The Governor’s veto message directs the
Department of Workforce Development to suspend the
current attendance−based rule for the remainder of fiscal year
2007−08 since Act 226 provides funding to address the
shortfall.  The Department is repealing the enrollment
underutilization emergency rule and will be withdrawing the
corresponding proposed permanent rule.

When the Wisconsin Shares program is transferred to the
new Department of Children and Families effective July 1, the
new department will retain the authority to implement a child
care enrollment underutilization rule, given the possibility of
a future funding shortfall.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The Department is repealing the child care enrollment
underutilization rule in response to funding provided in 2007
Wisconsin Act 226 and the Governor’s veto message.
Summary of related federal regulations

There are no applicable federal regulations.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Michigan. A provider may only receive payment for a
child’s hours of attendance, except for absences due to the
child’s illness, not to exceed 2 consecutive weeks, and state
holidays.

Illinois. Payment to licensed and license−exempt child care
centers are based on authorized days if the total of days
attended for all publicly−funded children at a center location
are 80% of the authorized days for the month.

Payment to licensed home providers are based on
authorized days if the total of days attended for all children in
a family are 80% of the family’s authorized days for the
month.

Payment to license−exempt home providers are based only
on attendance.
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Iowa. Payment is based on authorized days with payment
allowed for a child not in attendance not to exceed 4 days per
calendar month.

Minnesota. Payment is based on authorized days except
child care providers may not be reimbursed for more than 25
full−day absent days per child, excluding holidays, in a fiscal
year, or for more than 10 consecutive full−day absent days,
unless the child has a documented medical condition that
causes more frequent absences.

Analysis used to determine effect on small businesses
This rule repeals the child care enrollment underutilization

rule based on funding provided in 2007 Wisconsin Act 226
and direction in the Governor’s veto message.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rule will affect small businesses but will not have a

significant economic impact on a substantial number of small
businesses as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Insurance
CR 07−108

A rule−making order revising section Ins 2.19, relating to
sales of life insurance and annuities to the military and
affecting small business.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 08−011
A rule−making order revising Chapters NR 10, 11, 17 and

45, relating to hunting and trapping regulations and the use of
department managed lands.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 08−014
A rule−making order revising Chapter NR 58, relating to

the implementation and administration of grants for
endangered resources.

Transportation
CR 08−029

A rule−making order revising Chapters Trans 137 to 139,
relating to motor vehicle dealer franchise operations,
recordkeeping, and trade practices.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Insurance
CR 08−006

A rule−making order revising sections Ins 17.01 and 17.28,
relating to fiscal year 2009 fund fees and mediation panel fees.
Effective 7−1−08.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 07−013
A rule−making order creating section NR 45.075, relating

to declaring natural emergencies on forested lands owned by
the state and under the jurisdiction of the department.
Effective 8−1−08.

Natural Resources
Air Pollution Control, Chs. NR 400—

CR 07−076
A rule−making order revising Chapter NR 445, relating to

hazardous air pollutant emissions associated with agricultural
waste and affecting small business.
Effective 8−1−08.

Public Instruction
CR 08−001

A rule−making order creating Chapter PI 33, relating to
grants for nursing services.
Effective 8−1−08.
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