the start has the start	en de altar e compaña de presa presa de la compaña de servici
and country to provide the	 A set of the set of
and the second	(a) A set of the property of the set of the state of the set of
 Benchmark Baseling (1977) (1986) 	
11. Startpool (1997) and the second secon	المناف فالمهري والمناف المعروب والمعافي المعلمات والمعاف المعاف المعاف
 A substance of the second secon	CHAPTER 151.
 Non-approximation in the state of the second se	(a) A set of the state of the state of a state of the
. 17	a series of PHARMACY , a the values of the vertice and a series because of
 The methods are provided as a second state. 	a de presidentes de la construction
151.01 Board.	151.12 Penalties, 151.15 Advertising or display of indecent articles, sale in certain cases pro-
151.03 Permit.	articles, sale in certain cases pro-

	Registration.	151.15	Advertising or display of indecent
	Permit.		articles, sale in certain cases pro-
151.04	Practice.		hibited.
151.05	Penalty.	151.16	hibited. Wisconsin pharmaceutical associa-
151.06	Definition of drug.	1 1 1 1 1	tion.
		151.17	Prepaid prescription plans author-
151.10	Poisons, dispensing regulated.		ized.
151.11	Placing drugs forbidden.		and the second

151.01 Board. (1) The state board of pharmacy consists of 5 resident pharmacists, at the time of appointment actually engaged in practice, appointed by the governor, one each year for a term of 5 years. Each member of the board, except the secretary, shall be paid \$20 per day when actually and necessarily engaged in the performance of his duties. The secretary of the board shall be paid an annual salary to be fixed by the board. If the secretary is a member of the board, such salary shall be in lieu of per diem.

(2) Annual meeting shall be held in April, at which president and secretary-treasurer shall be elected for terms of one year. Meetings for examination shall be held at least semiannually. Time and place of meetings shall be fixed by president and secretary. Thirty days' public notice shall be given of examinations.

(3) The secretary-treasurer need not be a member. He shall keep a record of the proceedings and a register of the names and places of business of persons registered under this chapter, and the books, registers and records of the board as made and kept by the secretary or under his supervision, subject to the direction of the board, shall be prima facie evidence of the matters therein recorded. He shall give such bond and receive such salary as the board determines. Members and officers shall receive their actual and necessary expenses. The board shall have the right to employ inspectors, special investigators, ehemists, agents and elerical help for the purpose of carrying on the work of the board shall have a seal, and the president and secretary may issue subpoenas and administer oaths. The board may pay out of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may be necessary and incidental to the carrying out of its functions.

(4) The board may adopt by-laws, rules and regulations, and shall cause prosecution of violations of this chapter. It shall report annually, to the governor and the Wisconsin pharmaceutical association, its proceedings, registrations, and receipts and disbursements.

151.02 Registration. (1) All candidates for entrance to examination for registration as pharmacists must file application with the secretary of the board and pay the required fee of \$35, at least 15 days before the date of examination. The fee for all subsequent examinations shall be \$20. All candidates must be at least 21 years of age; must be of good moral character and temperate in habits; and if not citizens of the United States must have filed and proven their intentions of becoming citizens; and must be graduates of a standard, recognized high school, or must have acquired the equivalent of a high school education in some other institution of equal rank or standing, or must have passed an examination for the equivalent of high school given by a state university or by a state department or bureau of education, issuing a qualifying certificate for the necessary high school units recognized by the University of Wisconsin, or any other equivalent of a high school education recognized by the University of Wisconsin.

(2) Every such applicant for examination and registration as pharmacist must, in addition, file with the secretary proof satisfactory to the board, of having had at least 48 months of pharmaceutical training consisting of:

(a) Graduation from a school or college of pharmacy or a department of pharmacy of a university, which is recognized by the board and which requires for graduation at least a 4-year course. Credit for actual time of attendance at the school, college or department of pharmacy of a university shall be given on the required 48 months of pharmaceutical training; the remainder of the 48 months must be practice and experience in a retail pharmacy or drug store under the direction and supervision of a registered pharmacist, which practice and experience shall be predominantly work directly related to the selling of drugs, preparing and compounding of pharmaceutical preparations and physicians' prescriptions, and keeping of records and making of reports required under state and federal statutes. The said practice and experience shall include an aggregate of 12 calendar months commencing not earlier than the close of the sophomore college year. Credit for such periods of practice and experience shall be allowed in the discretion of the board in accordance with such regulations as it may from time to time adopt. There shall be a fee of \$1 for registration of apprentices under this subsection. The board may upon satisfactory proof recognize and accept evidence of said practice and experience performed in whole or in part in any other state provided the same is approved and verified by the state board of pharmacy or equivalent agency of such other state.

(b) Any candidate who was registered as an assistant pharmacist prior to the date of his application for examination, and for 4 years prior thereto was employed in a licensed drugstore, or personally operated a drugstore, shall be eligible to take the examination for registered pharmacist. In computing such 4-year period, service of the candidate in the armed forces of the United States shall not be deemed to have interrupted the required drugstore employment or operation.

(3) Applicants filing proofs, satisfactory to the board, of qualifications and training as outlined in sub. (2) shall, after having passed examination by the board and upon payment of a \$5 certificate fee, be granted certificates as registered pharmacists. Proof satisfactory to the board covering experience, preliminary education, college of pharmacy graduation and character herein required shall be filed with the secretary of the board. Every registered pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at such time as the board determines, renewing his certificate upon paying the fee of \$10. Applications for renewal of registration as a pharmacist and payment of the required fee submitted after May 31 shall be accompanied by a penalty fee of \$10. Failure to obtain such renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board has given a second notice of the expiration of his registration shall terminate the right of any person to be a registered pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such right can only be acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again applying for and passing an examination satisfactory to the board.

(5) Every registered assistant pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at such time as the board of pharmacy may determine, making application thereto for the renewal of his certificate and paying the prescribed fee of \$4. Failure to obtain such renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board shall have given a second notice of the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to be a registered assistant pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such right can only be acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again applying for and passing an examination satisfactory to the board. The issuance of either of the certificates provided for in this section shall entitle the person to whom it is issued to be registered in the proper class.

(6) The board may in its discretion register as a pharmacist without examination, any person who is duly registered in some other state; provided, that the said person shall produce satisfactory evidence of having had the required secondary and professional education and training and is possessed of good character and habits demanded of applicants for registration as pharmacists under the laws of this state, and upon payment of \$50 excepting that persons of good character and habits who have become registered as pharmacists in some other state prior to July 31, 1927, shall be required to meet only the requirements which existed in this state at the time when they became registered in such other state, and provided also that the state from which the applicant applies shall, under like conditions, grant reciprocal registration as a pharmacist without examination to pharmacists duly registered in this state.

(7) The board, upon notice and hearing, may suspend or revoke the registration of one guilty of felony or gross immorality, or who is addicted to alcoholic liquors or narcotic drugs, or addicted to the use of barbiturates to an extent affecting his fitness as a pharmacist, or who is otherwise unfit to practice as a pharmacist, or whose registration was secured by fraud or mistake or the giving of misinformation in any of the applications submitted to the board of pharmacy or who has been guilty of a violation of this chapter or ch. 161 or of violations of any of the rules or regulations of the board, or who has been guilty of acts of unprofessional conduct as herein defined. No such revocation shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the board has been served upon the person accused. Decisions of the board under this section shall be subject to review as provided in ch. 227 and in case the provisions thereof are invoked by the accused within such 20-day period, such order of revocation shall become effective only at such time as may be ordered by the court. Unprofessional conduct means:

(a) Sale of adulterated drugs as defined in s. 97.25.

(b) Compounding, dispensing or selling, or causing or permitting the compounding, dispensing or sale of any drug which contains more or less than the proportionate quan-

tity of ingredient or ingredients specified by the person ordering or prescribing such drug, or which contains an ingredient or ingredients other than those specified by the person ordering or prescribing such drug, or which is of a brand or which contains an ingredient or ingredients of a brand other than that specified by the person ordering or prescribing such drug, unless, in the case of a drug dispensed pursuant to a prescription the consent of the prescriber is first obtained and recorded on the prescription. Nothing herein contained shall be construed to prohibit the addition of such inert ingredients such as emulsifiers, wetting agents, solvents, or like items as may be required in the art of compounding, preparing, mixing or otherwise producing drugs unless otherwise directed by the prescriber.

(c) Violation of such standards as may from time to time be established or approved by the board.

(8) No person shall use the title "pharmacist" or "assistant pharmacist" unless duly registered as such under the provisions of this chapter, nor shall any person, firm or corporation use or display the title "drug store," "pharmacy," "apothecary," or any other title, symbol, insignia (including without limitation because of enumeration, mortar and pestle, colored show globes, the sign Rx and the like) having the same or similar meaning for such place of business unless such place of business be one where drugs are sold in accordance with the provisions of section 151.04.

(9) No drugstore, pharmacy, apothecary shop, or any similar place of business, shall be opened or kept open for the transaction of business until it has been registered with and a permit therefor has been issued by the state board of pharmacy. This section shall not be construed to apply to any stores opened for the sale of proprietary or so-called patent medicines which conform to state and federal laws. Every pharmacy and store conducted under the supervision of a registered pharmacist shall be annually registered on June 1 with the state board of pharmacy, on application forms provided for that purpose by the board, on request, and the board shall thereupon issue a suitable certificate of registration to such persons which permit shall be conspicuously displayed in a front window or door of such place of business. Applications for registration as a pharmacy or drugstore shall include information regarding the names of all pharmacists, assistant pharmacists and registered apprentices who are employed therein. Only places in charge of a registered pharmacist and holding a permit as a pharmacy may use the title "pharmacy," "pharmacists," "apothecary" or "drugstore," or use customary titles, symbols or insignia and each much be under the separate management of a registered pharmacist, who shall not engage to manage or supervise more than one such place, but nothing contained in this section shall prevent a person from owning and conducting more than one pharmacy; provided, each is under the separate supervision of a registered pharmacist. For the registration of every new drugstore or any drugstore upon a change of ownership herein required to be registered, there shall be paid an inspection fee of \$15 together with a registration fee of \$20. For the reinspection of premises considered to be unsatisfactory at the time of the original inspection for the registration of a new drugstore or any drugstore upon a change of ownership herein required to be registered, there shall be paid a reinspection fee of \$15. Upon annual renewal of registration all places shall pay a fee of \$20, payable on June 1 of each year. Duplicate permits for the operation of a drugstore, pharmacy or any similar place of business shall be issued by the board on receipt of a fee of \$5. Any person failing to register his place of business as herein required, failing to have in charge of each pharmacy a registered pharmacist, who does not manage or supervise more than one pharmacy, or who otherwise fails to comply with this section, may be fined not less than \$25 nor more than \$50 for each separate offense. Each day's violation is deemed a separate offense. Issuance or continuation of the permit for the conduct of a drugstore, pharmacy or any similar place of business may be refused when the applicant for the registration thereof has been found to be in violation of ch. 151 or 161. No refusal to continue the permit shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the board to refuse the continuation has been served upon the applicant.

(10) Every pharmacy shall be equipped with proper pharmaceutical utensils so that compounding of prescriptions and dispensing of medicaments can be properly performed. The Wisconsin board of pharmacy, with the advice and consent of the faculty of the University of Wisconsin school of pharmacy, shall prescribe the minimum standards of such professional and technical equipment, which shall include copies of the latest revisions of the United States Pharmacopoeia and the National Formulary and any supplement to either of them. No permit shall be issued or continued for the conduct of a pharmacy unless the provisions of this subsection have been complied with. Failure to maintain a pharmacy equipped with proper sanitary appliances or in a clean and orderly manner constitute grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a pharmacy permit. There 2398

shall be kept in every pharmacy a suitable book or file, in which every prescription compounded or dispensed shall be preserved for a period of not less than 5 years. History: 1961 c. 603, 612, 638; 1963 c. 441.

151.03 Permit. In rural districts with no registered pharmacist or assistant pharmacist within 3 miles, the board may issue a permit to sell on certain premises for one year, drugs and medicines specified therein, upon payment of the fee fixed by the board, not exceeding \$10. The premises for which the permit is issued must be an establishment where merchandise is sold and shall be specified in the permit. An applicant for a permit for a new rural store or for a permit upon change of ownership of an existing rural store shall pay an inspection fee of \$15 in addition to the annual permit fee of \$10. History: 1961 c. 229.

151.04 Practice. (1) Certificates of registration, renewals, and permits shall be conspicuously exposed to public view in the place of business.

(2) No person shall sell, give away, barter, compound or dispense drugs, medicines or poisons, nor permit it, in a town, village or city having a population of 500 or more unless he be a registered pharmacist, nor institute nor conduct a place therefor without a registered pharmacist in charge, except that a registered assistant pharmacist may do so under the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist, and may have charge during the pharmacist's necessary absence, not to exceed 10 days. If the population is less than 500, only a registered assistant pharmacist is required and in such case a registered assistant pharmacist, if otherwise qualified, may continue to operate his drug store, until death or retirement, even though the population increase beyond 500.

(3) This shall not interfere with the dispensing of drugs, medicines or other articles by physicians, nor with the sale of proprietary medicines in sealed packages; labeled to comply with the federal and state pure food and drug law, with directions for using, and the name and location of the manufacturer, nor with the sale of economic poisons for use in industrial arts, nor with the sale of economic poisons which comply with sections 94.67 to 94.71, nor with the sale of alum, ammonia, borax, bay rum, bicarbonate of soda, cream of tartar, concentrated lye, olive oil, sal ammoniac, sal soda, sulphur, copperas, epsom salts, glauber salts, castor oil, glycerine, senna leaves, indigo, blue vitriol, turpentine, wood alcohol and denatured alcohol.

(4) No person shall manufacture, package or prepare within this state any drugs or medicines except under the personal and immediate supervision of a registered pharmacist or such other person as is approved by the board after an investigation and a determination that such other person is qualified by scientific training and education to perform such supervision in a manner adequate to protect the public health and safety. No person shall manufacture, package or prepare any drugs or medicines within this state without first obtaining a permit from the board. For the issuance of such permit there shall be paid an inspection fee of \$15 together with a registration fee of \$30, Upon annual renewal of registration all permit holders shall pay a fee of \$30, payable on May 31 of each year. The issuance of such permit shall be subject to such rules as the board may from time to time adopt for the protection of the public health and safety.

(5) No person shall engage in the sale or distribution at wholesale of any of the drugs defined in s. 151.07 (1) (a) to any of the classes of persons enumerated in s. 151.07 (8) without first obtaining a license for such purpose from the board. The annual fee is \$10. Licenses expire on May 31. Such license or renewals thereof shall be issued in the discretion of the board to responsible applicants of good reputation.

(6) No person shall wilfully make a false statement in any prescription, order, report or record, required by this chapter, nor make or utter any false or forged prescription or written order.

fie History: 1961-c. 612. How many of the new organ. The endeding we as we brand here in an

151.05 Penalty. (1) Anyone who violates s. 151.04 (1) shall forfeit \$10 for each failure, and anyone who wilfully makes a false representation to procure registration or permit for himself or another, or who violates this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than \$50 nor more than \$100, or imprisoned in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days, or both.

(2) Each member and officer of the board shall investigate and institute actions for violations of this chapter and ch. 161 and the district attorney shall promptly prosecute upon notice from any source.

151.06 Definition of drug. The term "drug", as used in this chapter, means: (1) Articles recognized in the official United States Pharmacopoeia, official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States, or official National Formulary, or any supplement to any of them, intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of disease in man or other animals; and

(2) All other articles intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of disease in man or other animals; and

(3) Articles (other than food) intended to affect the structure or any function of the body of man or other animals; and

(4) Articles intended for use as a component of any articles specified in subsections (1); (2) or (3); but does not include surgical, dental or laboratory instruments, gases, oxygen therapy equipment, X-ray apparatus, or therapeutic lamps, their components, parts or accessories; or equipment, instruments, apparatus, or contrivances used to render such articles effective in medical, surgical or dental treatment; or articles intended for use or consumption in or for mechanical, industrial, manufacturing, or scientific applications or purposes.

Oatmeal cookie containing methyl-cellulose is probably not a drug within the meaning of 151.06. 50 Atty. Gen. 200.

151.07 Dangerous drugs. (1) As used in this chapter unless the context requires otherwise:

(a) "Dangerous drug" means any drug or drug-containing preparation, the original container of which bears the statement "Caution—federal law prohibits dispensing without prescription" and includes, without limitation because of enumeration, any preparation intended for internal administration which contains barbiturates, sulfonamides, thyroid, einchophen, neocinchophen, aminopyrine, amphetamine, desoxyephedrine, diethylstilbestrol, ergot or any salts, derivatives, compounds or mixtures thereof. No compound, mixture or preparation is deemed a dangerous drug if it is designed for the purpose of treating animals or poultry and is so labeled.

(b) "Delivery" means selling, dispensing, giving away or supplying in any other manner.

(c) "Patient" means the individual for whom dangerous drugs are prescribed or to whom dangerous drugs are administered.

(d) "Person" includes an individual, corporation, partnership or association.

(e) "Practitioner" means a person licensed by law to prescribe and administer dangerous drugs.

(f) "Pharmacist" means a person duly registered with the state board of pharmacy as a compounder, dispenser and supplier of drugs.

(g) "Prescription" means a written order (or an oral order later reduced to writing) by a practitioner for a dangerous drug for a particular patient, which specifies the date of its issue, the name and address of such practitioner, the name and address of the patient, the name and quantity of the dangerous drug prescribed, directions for use of such drug and in case of a written order the signature of such practitioner.

(h) "Manufacturer" means persons other than pharmacists who manufacture dangerous drugs, and includes persons who prepare such drugs in dosage forms by mixing, compounding, encapsulating, entableting, or other process.

(i) "Wholesaler" means persons engaged in the business of distributing dangerous drugs to persons included in any of the classes named in subsection (8).

(j) "Warehouseman" means persons who store dangerous drugs for others and who have no control over the disposition of such dangerous drugs except for the purpose of such storage.

(2) No person except a practitioner shall deliver any dangerous drug except upon the prescription of a practitioner. An oral prescription, by telephone or otherwise, shall be promptly reduced to writing and filed by the pharmacist.

(3) No person, except a registered pharmacist or a practitioner shall prepare, compound, dispense or prepare for delivery for a patient any dangerous drug.

(4) No dangerous drug shall be delivered unless there is affixed to the immediate container a label disclosing:

(a) The name and address of the owner of the establishment from which such drug was delivered.

(b) The date on which the prescription for such drug was filled.

(c) The number of such prescription as filed in the prescription file of the pharmacist who filled such prescription.

(d) The name of the practitioner who prescribed such drug.

(e) The name and address of the patient.

(f) Directions for use of the drug as contained in the prescription.

(5) No prescription for a dangerous drug shall be refilled except as designated on such prescription, and unless accurate record of such refilling is entered on such prescription showing the date and amount thereof. No oral or written prescription shall be refilled unless the provisions of 151.07 (2) have been first complied with and unless either written or oral authority has been given by the prescriber.

(6) In the event of any sale in bankruptcy, at public auction or any other sale except in the normal course of business, the seller shall give written notice of such sale to the board at least one week prior to the date of sale and a complete and accurate report must be made in writing to the board by the seller within 10 days after such sale, showing the name and address of the parties to whom any narcotics, exempt narcotics or dangerous drugs have been sold together with an itemized inventory thereof. This does not apply to the bona fide sale of a pharmacy as a business, if the parties first notify the board of such impending sale.

(7) It shall be unlawful for any person to have any dangerous drug in his possession unless such drug was obtained in compliance with the provisions hereof.

(8) The provisions of subsections (2), (3), (4) and (7) shall not be applicable to the wholesale delivery of dangerous drugs to persons included in any of the classes hereinafter named; nor to the agents or employes of such persons for use in the usual course of their business or practice or in the performance of their official duties, as the case may be; nor to the possession of dangerous drugs by such persons or their agents or employes for such use:

(a) Pharmacists.

(b) Practitioners.

(c) Persons who procure dangerous drugs for the purpose of lawful research, teaching or testing and not for resale.

(d) Hospitals and other institutions which procure dangerous drugs for lawful administration by practitioners.

(e) Officers or employes of the federal government.

(f) Manufacturers and wholesalers.

(9) The state board of pharmacy is hereby authorized to promulgate necessary regulations for administration and enforcement of this section.

(10) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than \$500, or both; but if a further violation is committed after a conviction of such person under this section has become final, such person shall be imprisoned not more than 2 years or fined not more than \$1,000, or both. History: 1961 c. 601, 612; 1963 c. 146.

151.10 Poisons, dispensing regulated. (1) No person shall sell or deliver any of the poisonous salts or compounds of antimony, arsenic, chromium, lead, mercury, silver, tin or zinc, the concentrated mineral acids; oxalic, carbolic or hydrocyanic acids or their salts, formaldehyde, yellow phosphorus, the essential oils of almonds, pennyroyal, rne, savin or tansy; croton oil, creosote, chloroform, cantharides, aconite, belladonna, bitter almonds, colchicum, cotton root, Cannabis indica, digitalis, ergot, hyoscyamus, lobelia, nux vomica, physostigma, strophanthus, stramonium, veratrum viride, or any of the poisonous alkaloids or glucosides derived from the foregoing or in any other virulent poison, unless it be upon the prescription of authorized practitioners of medicine, dentistry or veterinary medicine, except as follows:

(a) The dispenser shall ascertain that the applicant is aware of the poisonous character and desires it for a lawful purpose.

(b) He shall plainly label the container with the name of the substance, the word "Poison," and the name and address of the dispenser.

(c) Before delivery he shall record in a book kept for that purpose the name of the article, the quantity, the purpose, the date, the name and address of the person for whom procured, and the name of the individual personally dispensing the same, such record to be signed by the person to whom the poison is delivered; and said book shall be preserved by the owner thereof for at least 3 years after the date of the last entry therein, and shall be open to inspection by authorized officers.

(d) If the applicant is under 18 years of age, he must have the written order of an adult person.

(2) This section does not apply to manufacturers and wholesalers selling at wholesale, nor to economic poisons which comply with ss. 94.67 to 94.71, but containers other than for economic poisons shall be labeled with the name of the substance, the word "Poison," and the name and address of the manufacturer or wholesaler.

(3) A "Poison" label is not required when a single container or when one-half ounce fluid or avoirdupois does not contain more than an adult medicinal dose nor in the case of liniments, ointments or other external preparations sold in good faith as such, and plainly labeled "for external use only," nor in the case of pills, tablets or lozenges, when the dose recommended does not contain more than one-quarter of an adult medicinal dose. History: 1961 c. 612.

151.11 Placing drugs forbidden. Except as authorized by law, no person shall put any drug, medicine or chemical, or any compound or combination thereof in any public place, or, without the consent of the owner or occupant upon any private premises, nor cause it to be done.

151.12 Penalties. Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of s. 151.10 or 151.11 shall be fined not less than \$100 nor more than \$1,000, or imprisoned not less than one year nor more than \hat{s} years.

151.15 Advertising or display of indecent articles, sale in certain cases prohibited. (1) As used in this chapter, the term "indecent articles" means any drug, medicine, mixture, preparation, instrument, article or device of whatsoever nature used or intended or represented to be used to procure a miscarriage or prevent pregnancy.

(2) No person, firm or corporation shall publish, distribute or circulate any circular, card, advertisement or notice of any kind offering or advertising any indecent article for sale, nor shall exhibit or display any indecent article to the public.

(3) No person, firm or corporation shall manufacture, purchase, or rent, or have in his or its possession or under his or its control, any slot machine, or other mechanism or means so designed and constructed as to contain and hold indecent articles and to release the same upon the deposit therein of a coin or other thing of value.

(4) No person, firm or corporation shall sell or dispose of or attempt or offer to sell or dispose of any indecent articles to or for any unmarried person; and no sale in any case of any indecent articles shall be made except by a pharmacist registered under the provisions of ch. 151 or a physician or surgeon duly licensed under the laws of this state.

(5) Any person, firm or corporation violating any provision of this section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not to exceed 6 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

151.16 Wisconsin pharmaceutical association. The Wisconsin pharmaceutical association is continued with the general powers of a domestic nonstock corporation. It may take by purchase or gift and hold real and personal property. It may adopt, alter and enforce bylaws and rules for the admission and expulsion of members, the election of officers and the management of its affairs.

History: 1963 c. 314.

151.17 Prepaid prescription plans authorized. (1) The Wisconsin pharmaceutical association may establish in the state a nonprofit plan on a prepayment or other basis for the pharmaceutical services of the general population, or any segment of it, through contracts with pharmacists, members of the public, any branch of government, and others; provided only that free choice of the public in the selection of a pharmacist shall be retained in such contracts, and that the responsibility of the pharmacist to the individual patient together with all other contract and tort relationships between pharmacist and patient, shall remain the same as if contractual arrangements between them were direct. Any person covered by or insured under such plan, or someone acting for him, shall be free to choose for pharmaceutical services any pharmacist licensed to practice in this state who has agreed to abide by the terms of such plan. No such pharmacist shall be required to participate exclusively in any such plan.

(2) Any such plan shall be subject to all applicable provisions of ss. 200.26 and 209.04 (11).

(3) This section shall apply exclusively to a corporation or other organization organized, recognized or operated under s. 151.16 or this section.

(4) The Wisconsin pharmaceutical association may:

(a) Establish a nonprofit pharmaceutical service plan within its corporate structure;

(b) Approve for itself and its members a pharmaceutical service plan established by a nonpharmaceutical organization, when the association finds a plan of the latter type to be in the public health interest; or

(c) Organize a corporation with authority to establish a nonprofit pharmaceutical service plan, which corporation shall be subject to subs. (1) and (2).

(5) So as to encourage experimentation in the health and economic interests of the general public, any plan organized or approved under this section may operate on a service, indemnity or a combined service and indemnity basis.

History: 1963 c. 314.