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SUBCHAPTER 1
GENERAL PROVISIONS

424.101 Short title. This chapter shall be
known and may be cited as Wisconsin consum-
er act—insurance.

History: 1971 c¢. 239.

Note: See the note under s. 421,101 as to the effective
date and applicability of the Wisconsin Consumer Act.

424.102 Scope. (1) Except as provided in
sub. (2), this chapter applies to insurance pro-
vided or to be provided in relation to consumer
credit transactions.

(2) The provision on cancellation by a credi-
tor (s. 424.303) applies to loans the primary
purpose of which is the financing of insurance.
No other provision of this chapter applies to
insurance so financed.

History: 1971 ¢ 239

SUBCHAPTER II
CONSUMER CREDIT INSURANCE

424.201 Definition “consumer credit in-
surance”. “Consumer credit insurance” means
insurance, other than insurance on property, by
which the satisfaction of debt in whole or in
part is a benefit provided, but does not include:

(1) Insurance provided in relation to a con-
sumer credit transaction in which a payment is
scheduled more than 10 years after the exten-
sion of credit;

(2) Insurance issued as an isolated transac-
tion on the part of the insurer not related to an
agreement or plan for insuring customers of
the creditor; or

(3) Insurance indemnifying the creditor
against loss due to the customer’s default

History: 1971 ¢. 239

424.202 Charge for insurance. (1) Except
as otherwise provided in this chapter and sub-
ject to the provisions on additional charges (s.
422.202), and maximum charges (s. 422.201) a
creditor may agree to provide insurance, and
may contract for and receive a charge for insur-
ance separate from and in addition to other
charges. A creditor need not make a separate
charge for insurance provided or required by
him.

(2) This chapter does not authorize the issu-
ance of any insurance prohibited under any
statute, or rule thereunder, governing the busi-
ness of insurance.

History: 1971 ¢. 239

424.203 Conditions applying to insur-
ance to be provided by creditor. (1) When
the parties agree that consumer credit insurance
shall be provided, at the time the indebtedness
is incurred there shall be delivered to the cus-
tomer the individual policy, a group certificate
of insurance, a copy of the application for such
insurance or a notice of proposed insurance.

(2) The evidence of insurance provided pur-
suant to sub. (1) shall set forth the name and
home office address of the insurer, the name or
names of the customers, the premium or
amount of payment by the customer, if any,
separately for credit life insurance and credit
accident and health insurance, the amount,
term and a brief description of the coverage
provided, including all exclusions and excep-
tions.

(3) Within 30 days of the date upon which
the indebtedness is incurred, the insurer shall
cause the individual policy or group certificate
of insurance to be delivered to the customer if
it is not delivered at the time the indebtedness
is incurred.
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(4) Within 10 days from the date the indebt-
edness is incurred, the customer shall be per-
mitted to return the policy, certificate of insur-
ance or the notice of proposed insurance and
receive a refund of any premium paid for the
insurance if he is not satisfied with the insur-
ance ‘for any reason. Such insurance shall then
be void and the parties will be in the same po-
sition as. if no certificate, policy or notice of
proposed insurance had been issued.

(5) A violation of this section is subject to s.
425.303.

History: 1971 ¢. 239.

© 424.204 Maximum charge by creditor for
insurance. (1) Except-as provided in sub. (2), if
a creditor contracts for or receives a charge for
insurance, the amount charged for the insur-
ance may not -exceed the premium to be
charged by the insurer, as computed at the time
the chaige to the customer is determined, con-
forming to any rate filings required by law and
made by the insurer with the commissioner of
insurance:

(2) A creditor who provides consumer credit
insurance .in relation to an. open-end credit
plan may calculate the charge to the customer
in each billing cycle by applying the current
premium rate to either:

(a) The average daily unpaid balance of the
obhgatlon in the cycle;

{(b) The unpaid balance of the obhgatlon ora
median amount within a specified range of un-
paid balances of the obligation on approxi-
mately the same day of the cycle. The day of
the cycle need not be the day used:in calculat-
ing the finance charge (s. 422.201), but the
specified. range shall be the range used for that
purpose; or

:(c) The unpaid balances of principal calcu—
lated according to the actuarial method.

I E)W:N v1olatlon of thls sectlon is subject to s.

425.304.
Hxstoty ‘1971 ¢ 239

424.205 Refund or credlt requlred )
Upon prepayment in full. of a consumer-credit
transaction by the proceeds of consumer credit
insurance; the customer or his estate is entitled
to a refund of-any portion-of a separate charge
for insurance which by reason of prepayment is
retained by the original creditor or any assignee
or returned to either of them by the insurer.
(2)- This chapter does not require the credi-
tor to-grant a refund or credit if all the refunds
and credits due to the customer under this act
amount to less than $1 and, except as provided
in sub. (1), does not require the creditor to ac-

INSURANCE 424.206

count to the debtor for any portion of a sepa-
rate charge for insurance because:

(a) The insurance is terminated by perform-
ance of the insurer’s obligation;

(b) The creditor pays or accounts for premi-
ums to the insurer in amounts and at times de-
termined by the agreement between them; or

(c) The creditor receives directly or indirect-
ly under any policy of insurance a gain or ad-
vantage not prohibited by law.

(3) Except as provided in sub. (2), the credi-
tor shall promptly make or cause to be made
an appropriate refund or credit to the custom-
er with respect to any separate charge made to
him for insurance if:

(a) The insurance is not provided or is pro-
vided for a shorter term than that for which
the charge to the debtor for insurance was
computed; or

(b) The insurance terminates prior to the
end of the term for which it was written be-
cause of prepayment in full or otherwise.

(4) A refund or credit requ1red by sub. (3) is
appropnate as to amount if it is computed ac-
cording to either s. 422.209 or a method pre-
scribed or appxoved by the commissioner of in-

surance. -
History: 1971 ¢. 239.

424.206 Deferral, refinancing and con-
solidation agreements. (1) The creditor may
not receive a separate charge for insurance in
connection with a deferral (s. 422.204), a refi-
nancing (s. 422.205) or a consolidation (s.
422.206) unless:

(a) The customer agrees in writing at the
time of deferral, refinancing or consolldatlon
that a specific charge may be made;

(b) The customer is to be prov1ded with in-
surance for an amount or a term, or insurance
of a kind, in addition to that to which he
wotild have been entitled-had there been no de-
ferral; refinancing or consolidation;

(c) The customer receives a refund or credit
on account of any unexpired term of existing
insurance ‘in- the amount that would be re-
quired if the insurance were terminated (s.
424.205); and

(d) The charge does not exceed the amount
permitted by this chapter (s. 424.204).

(2) A’ creditor may not contract for or re-
Ceive a separate charge for insurance ‘which
duplicates insurance with respect to which the
creditor has previously contracted for or re-
ceived a separate charge.

(3) ‘A violation of this section is subject to
the provisions of s. 425.303.

History: 1971 c. 239. :
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424,207 Term of insurance. (1) Consumer
credit insurance provided by a creditor may be
subject to the furnishing of evidence of insura-
bility satisfactory to the insurer. Whether or not
such evidence is required, the term of the insur-
ance shall commence no later than when the
customer becomes obligated to the creditor or
when the customer applies for the insurance,
whichever is later except as follows:

(a) If any required evidence of insurability is
not furnished until more than 30 days after the
term would otherwise commence, the term
may commence on the date when the insurer
determines the evidence to be satisfactory; or

(b) If the creditor provides insurance not
previously provided covering debts previously
created, the term may commence on the effec-
tive date of the policy.

(2) In the case where the commencement of
the insurance is delayed, the customer to the
extent he has paid a premium charge for any
period of time before the insurance became ef-
fective, shall be éntitled to a rebate or credit of
such premium according to s. 424.205.

(3) The originally scheduled term of the in-
surange shall extend at least until the due date
of the last scheduled payment of the obliga-
tion, except as follows:

(a) If the insurance relates to an open-end
credit plan, the term need extend only until the
payment of the account and may be sooner ter-
minated after at least 30 days’ notice to the
customer; or

(b) If the customer is advised in writing in a
clear and conspicuous manner that the insur-
ance will be written for a specified shorter
time, the term need extend only until the end
of the specnfled time.

(4) The term of the insurance shall not ex-
tend more than 15 days after the originally
scheduled due date of the last scheduled pay-
ment of the debt unless it is extended without
additional cost to the customer or as an inci-
dent to a deferral, refinancing or consohdatlon
agreement.

History: 1971 c. 239

424.208 Amount of insurance. (1) The
amount of credit life insurance shall not exceed
the initial indebtedness however the indebted-
ness may, be repayable, but:

(a) In cases where an indebtedness is repaya-
ble in substantially equal instalments, the
amount of insurance shall at no time exceed
the scheduled or actual amount of unpaid in-
debtedness, whichever is greater; and
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(b) In cases where credit life insurance is
provided on consumer credit transactions for
an agricultural purpose, such insurance may be
written up to the amount of the loan commit-
ment on a nondecreasing or level-term plan.

(2) The total amount of indemnity payable
by-credit accident and health insurance in the
event of a disability, shall not exceed the ag-
gregate of the periodic scheduled unpaid instal-
ments of the indebtedness, and the amount of
each periodic indemnity payable shall not ex-
ceed the original indebtedness divided by the
number of periodic instalments.

History: 1971 ¢. 239.

424.209 = Filing and approval of rates and
forms. (1) A creditor may not use a form or a
schedule of premium rates or charges, the filing
of which is required by this section, if the com-
missioner . of insurance has disapproved the
form or schedule and has notified the insurer of
this disapproval. A creditor may not use a form
or schedule unless:-

(a) The form or schedule has been on file
with the commissioner of insurance for 30
days; or has-earlier been approved by him; and

(b) The insurer. has complied with this sec-
tion with respect to the insurance.

(2) Except as provided in sub. (3), all poli-
cies, certificates of insurance, notices of pro-
posed insurance, applications for insurance, en-
dorsements and riders relating to credit acci-
dent and health insurance delivered or issued
for delivery in this state, and the schedules of
premium- rates or charges pertaining thereto,
shall be filed by the insurer with the commis-
sioner of insurance. Within 30 days.after the
filing of -any. form or schedule, he shall disap-
prove it if the premium rates or charges are
unreasonable in relation to the benefits provid-
ed under the form, or if the form contains pro-
visions which are unjust, unfair, inequitable or
deceptive, or encourage misrepresentation of
the coverage, or are contrary to any provisions
of the insurance laws of this state, or of any
rule - or regulation :'promulgated thereunder.
The benefits provided by any such policy shall
be presumed ‘reasonable- in relation to the pre-
mium charged or to be charged if the ratio of
losses incurred to premiums earned is- 50% or
may reasonably be expected to be 50% . If the
ratio of losses incurred to premiums earned is
less .or-can ‘reasonably be expected-to be less
than:50%; the benefits provided shall be pre-
sumed unreasonable in relation-to the premium
charged.- Determination of areasonable rela-
tion .of benefits to premiums.shall be made by
the commissioner-for each policy form filed for
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approval. The commissioner may limit the use
of any such form to those creditors or custom-
ers whose experience was the basis for approv-
al and such other creditors or customers likely
to experience similar mortality or morbidity.

(3) Not later than 6 months following
March 1, 1973, the commissioner of insurance
shall, by rule, promulgate premium rates for
credit life and credit accident and health insur-
ance -‘based upon- the 50% loss ratio standard
as set forth in sub. (2) which rates shall, be ac-
ceptable without further justification. No
charge may be made. for credit life or credit ac-
cident and health insurance which exceeds
such-rates except as provided in this subsec-
tion. The commissioner of insurance shall from
time to time raise or lower the acceptable pre-
mium charges permitted for such insurance for
any particular creditor, class of creditor or
classes of transactions whenever the commis-
sioner of insurance determines that the actual
loss experience for the particular creditors,
class of creditors or class of transactions pro-
duces a 1atio of losses to premiums which dif-
fers substantially based on credible data in the
most recent 2-year period from the 50% loss
ratio established by sub. (2).

(4) In order to implement this section, insur-
ers shall, under regulation of the commissioner
of insurance, file an annual report setting forth
data pertaining to actual losses in relation to
premiums and such other information as may
be required by the commissioner of insurance
in order to further the purposes of this act.

(5). No individual policy of credit accident
and health insurance or group policy of credit
accident and health insurance shall be deliv-
ered or issued for delivery in this state if the

benefits are payable after a waiting period of

less than 14 days, regardless of whether the
payment of benefits are retroactive to the first
day of disability.

(6) If a group policy has been delivered in
ariother state, the forms to be filed by the in-
surer with the commissioner of insurance are
the group certificates and notices of proposed
insurance He shall approve them if:

(a) They provide the information that would
be required if the group policy were delivered
in this state;

(b) The applicable premium rates or charges
do not exceed those established by his rules or
by this act; and

(c) They do not contain provisions which
are unjust, unfair, inequitable or deceptive, or
encourage misrepresentation of the coverages,
or are contrary to any provisions of the insur-

INSURANCE 424.303

ance laws of this state, or of any rule promul-

gated thereunder.
History: 1971 ¢ 239

SUBCHAPTER 111
PROPERTY INSURANCE

424.301 Restrictions on property insur-
ance. (1) A creditor may not contract for or
receive a separate charge for insurance against
loss of or damage to property unless:

(a) The insurance covers a substantial risk of
loss or damage to property, other than house-
hold furnishings, which is collateral for the
credit transaction;

(b). The amount, terms, and condmons of
the insurance are reasonable in relation to the
character and value of the property insured or
to be insured; and

(c) The term of the insurance is reasonable
in relation to the terms of credit.

(2) The term of the insurance is reasonable if
it is customary and does not extend substan-
tially beyond a scheduled maturity.

(3) A creditor may not contract for or re-
ceive a separate charge for insurance against
loss of or damage to property unless the
amount financed exclusive of charges for the
insurance is $800 or more, and the value of the
property is $800 or more.

History: 1971 ¢. 239

424.302 Insurance on creditor’s interest
only. If a creditor contracts for or receives a
separate charge for insurance against loss of or
damage to property, the risk of loss or damage
not wilfully caused by the customer is on the
debtor only to the extent of any deficiency in
the effective coverage of the insurance, even
though the insurance covers only the interest of
the creditor.
History: 1971 ¢ 239.

424.303 Cancellation by creditor. (1) A
creditor shall not request cancellation of a poli-
cy of property or liability insurance except after
the customer’s default (s. 425.103), or in ac-
cordance with a written agreement by the cus-
tomer at any time other than when the original
transaction is entered into. In either case the
cancellation does not take effect until written
notice is delivered to the customer or mailed to
him at his address as stated by him. The notice
shall state that the policy may be canceled on a
date not less than 30 days after the notice is
delivered, or, if the notice is mailed, not less
than 33 days after it is mailed.
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(2) Following cancellation, the customer
shall be entitled to a rebate or credit for any
prepaid charges which represent the premium
for a period following cancellation.
© History: 1971 c. 239.

SUBCHAPTER 1V
ADMINISTRATION

424.401 Cooperation between adminis-
trator and commissioner of insurance. The
administrator and the commissioner of insur-
ance are authorized and directed to consult and
assist one another in maintaining compliance
with this chapter. They may jointly pursue in-
vestigations, prosecute suits and take other offi-

cial action, as may seem to them appropriate, if

either of them is otherwise empowered to take
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the action. If the administrator is informed of a
violation or suspected violation by an insurer of
this chapter, or of the insurance laws, rules and
regulations of this state, he shall advise the
commissioner of insurance of the circum-
stances

History: 1971 ¢ 239.

424,402 Administrative action of com-:
missioner of insurance. To the extent that his
responsibility under this chapter requires, the
commissioner of insurance shall issue rules with
respect to-insurers and with respect to refunds
(s: 424.205), forms, schedules of premium rates
and charges (s. 424.209), and his approval or
disapproval thereof and, in case of violation,
may make an order for compliance
History: 1971 ¢ 239.
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