KEVIN PETERSEN

STATE REPRESENTATIVE

Chairman Kuglitsch and honorable members of the Assembly Committee on Energy
and Utilities;

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this very important legislation.

Specifically, Assembly Bill 665 provides the following:

1.

Allows Wisconsin Propane Education and Research Council to levy an initial
assessment on odorized propane of no more than two-tenths of one cent per
gallon of odorized propane sold for use in this state following a referendum
among members.

After the initial assessment, the council is required to set annual assessments in
an amount sufficient to cover the costs of programs developed by the council.
Assessment may not be raised by more than one-twentieth of one cent per gallon
of odorized propane annually unless approved in referendum among retail
members of the Wisconsin Propane Gas Association and approved by the
council’s board of directors.

Distributors of odorized propane are required to collect the assessment from
retailers and then forward to the council on a monthly basis or be subject to an
interest penalty.

Bill provides that a propane retailer who pays an assessment may secure a
refund under time guidelines specified in the bill.

No funds collected as an assessment under this bill may be used for purposes of
lobbying, lobbyist pay, or political messaging.

The notice must be provided by council to each retailer annually on manner of
requesting a refund.

Specifically, 2019 Assembly Bill 665 vs 2017 Assembly Bill 531:

1.

Page 2 lines 12, 13, and 14: Adds the definition of Distributor to the bill and sets
relationship between distributor and retailer. Important when reading page 3
lines 17 to 25 and page 4 lines 1 to 6. Previous version of the bill used the term
owner vs distributor.

Page 3 line 10: Adds “for use” in referring to propane being assessed in
Wisconsin.
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3. Page 4 line 7: Adds retailer as entity allowed to receive assessment refund.

4. Page 4 lines 9 to 12: Specifies retailer must within 30 days after the end of the
month in which assessed, request a refund. Provides council shall provide
approved refund within 60 days following an assessment refund request.

5. Page 4 lines 18 to 19: No funds collected as an assessment under this section may
be used for the purposes of lobbying, lobbyist pay, or political messaging.

6. Page 4 lines 20 to 22: Council shall annually notify each retailer of any
assessment authorized under this section and the manner of requesting a refund.

AB 665 ensures funds collected will be used for proper education in the field to enhance
the propane business statewide. I am happy to answer any questions.



