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REQUIRED K-12 STUDENT ASSESSMENTS

Federal and state law require the regular assessment of K-12 students. The Department of Public
Instruction (DPI) oversees the state assessment system and ensures that every school board,
independent charter school, and private school participating in a parental choice program
annually administers required assessments.

This information memorandum describes the federal and state assessment requirements,
explains what accommodations must be made for students with disabilities and English
language learners, and addresses when a student may be excused from assessment.

FEDERAL ASSESSMENT REQUIREMENTS

Federal law requires states to assess public school students in certain subject areas and grade
levels in order to receive federal education funds. Under the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), state
educational agencies (SEAs)* must ensure that all public school students in the state are
regularly assessed in math, reading, and science. Specifically, SEAs must ensure that public
school students are annually administered math and reading assessments in grades 3, 4, 5, 6, 7,
and 8 and at least once during high school. [20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I).]

Additionally, states must ensure annual administration of science assessments in at least one
grade in each of the following grade ranges: grades 3-5, grades 6-9, and grades 10-12. For
example, if a state ensured administration of science assessments in grades 4, 7, and 11, it would
be in compliance with the science assessment requirement of the federal law. [20 U.S.C. s. 6311

(b) (2) (B) (v) (ID). ]

Federal law also requires the annual assessment of English proficiency for all English learners.3
[20 U.S.C.s. 6311 (b) (2) (G); s.115.96 (1), Stats.] Wisconsin fulfills this requirement by annually
assessing English learners through the ACCESS for ELLs assessment.

1 DPI is the SEA for Wisconsin.

2 For adetailed explanation ofhow Wisconsin complieswith ESSA, see Wisconsin’smost recent Consolidated
State Plan,approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education (January 16,2018).

3 “English learner” means an individual: (a)whois aged 3 through 21; (b) whois enrolled or preparingto enroll
in an elementary or secondaryschool; (¢) who wasnot born in the U.S. or whose native language is a language
otherthan English; whois a Native Americanor Alaska Native, ora nativeresident of the outlying areasand
who comes from an environment where a language other than English has had a significantimpactonthe
individual’slevel of English language proficiency; or who is migratory, whose native languageis a language
otherthan Englishand who comesfrom an environment where a language otherthan Englishis dominant;
and (d) whosedifficulties in speaking, reading, writing, or understandingthe Englishlanguage may be
sufficientto deny the individualthe ability to meet the challenging state academic standards; the ability to
successfully achieve in classrooms where thelanguage of instruction is English; or the opportunityto
participate fully in society. [20 U.S.C. s.7801(20).]


https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311#b
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311#b
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311#b
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://dpi.wi.gov/assessment/ell
https://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/esea/pdf/1%2012%2018%20WI%20Final%20ESSA%20Plan%20Submission.pdf
https://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/esea/pdf/1%2012%2018%20WI%20Final%20ESSA%20Plan%20Submission.pdf
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STATE ASSESSMENT REQUIREMENTS

State law also requires school districts to assess students in certain subject areas and grade
levels. Some of the state law assessment requirements align with federal assessment
requirements, while others are different. Wisconsin law requires the following additional
assessments not mandated by federal law: (1) assessments of reading readiness in four-year-old
kindergarten (4K) through second grade; (2) administration of a standardized third grade
reading test; (3) assessment of attainment of knowledge and concepts in grades 4, 8, 9, 10, and
11; and (4) successful completion of a civics test as a condition of high school graduation.

Reading Assessments

All school boards and operators of independent charter schools are required to administer
fundamental skills screening assessments to 4K students, administer universal screening
assessments and diagnostic assessments to five-year-old kindergarten (5K) to third grade
students, and notify parents of assessment results. [s. 118.016 (2), (3), and (4), Stats.]

Fundamental Skills Screening Assessments - All 4K Students

State law requires traditional public schools and independent charter schools to administer a
fundamental skills screening assessment selected and provided by DPI to assess the early
literacy skills of each 4K student. A fundamental skills screening assessment must evaluate
whether a student possesses phonemic awareness and letter sound knowledge. Schools must
assess 4K students at least two times during each school year, with the first assessment
administered within 45 days of the beginning of the school year and the second assessment at
least 45 days before the end of the school year.4 [s. 118.016 (2), Stats.]

Universal Screening Assessments - All 5K to Third Grade Students

Under current law, traditional public schools and independent charter schools must administer
a universal screening assessment selected and provided by DPI to assess the early literacy skills
of 5K to third grade students. A universal screening assessment must evaluate the following for
each student: (1) phonemic awareness; (2) decoding skills; (3) alphabet knowledge; (4) letter
sound knowledge; and (5) oral vocabulary. Schools must assess 5K to third grade students at
least three times each year, with the initial assessments administered within the first 45 days of
the school year, the second administered in the middle of the school year, and the third
administered at least 45 days before the end of the school year.s If a student scores below the
25th percentile on a universal screening assessment, the school must administer a diagnostic
assessment to that student. [s. 118.016 (3), Stats.]

Standardized Third Grade Reading Test

State law requires that every school board annually administer a standardized reading test
developed by DPI to all third grade students enrolled in the district, including those students
enrolled in charter schools located within the district. [s. 121.02 (1) (1), Stats.] Each independent
charter school operator is also required to administer the third grade standardized reading test
to all students enrolled in the school. [s. 118.40 (2r) (d) 2. and (2x) (d) 2., Stats.] Additionally,

4Inthe 2024-25school year, schools are required to administer the 4K fundamental skillsreading assessment
only once, between January1,2025 and 45 daysbefore the end ofthe school year.

5 Inthe 2024-25 school year, schools arerequired to administer universal screenings for 5Kto third grade
students only twice: oncein the middleofthe school termand again at least 45 days beforetheend ofthe
school year.


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/016/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/016/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/016/4
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/016/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/016/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/121/ii/02/1/r
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/40/2r/d/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/40/2x/d/2
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private schools participating in a parental choice program ¢ under the Milwaukee Parental
Choice Program (MPCP), Racine Parental Choice Program (RPCP), or Wisconsin Parental
Choice Program (WPCP), must ensure that the third grade standardized reading test is
administered to all students attending the private school under the parental choice program. [ss.
118.60 (7) (b) 1. and 119.23 (7) (b) 1., Stats.] Children with disabilities must be included in this
assessment “with appropriate accommodations and alternate assessments where necessary and
asindicated in their individualized education programs.” [s. 115.77 (1m) (bg), Stats.]

Assessment of Pupil Attainment of Knowledge and Concepts

The State Superintendent of Public Instruction is required to adopt or approve assessments
designed to measure pupil attainment of knowledge and concepts in grades 4, 8, 9, 10, and 11.
The state superintendent is prohibited from adopting or approving assessments developed by
the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium. [s. 118.30 (1), Stats.] Knowledge and concepts
assessments must, to the extent possible, be free of bias. [s. 118.30 (2) (a), Stats.] Generally, all
required assessors must administer the assessments adopted and approved by the state
superintendent. However, public schools and independent charter schools may develop and
administer their own assessments for students in grades 4 and 8. [s. 118.30 (1g) (c), Stats.]

School boards, independent charter school operators, and the governing bodies of private
schools participating in a parental choice program under MPCP, RPCP, or WPCP where 20 or
more students in grades 3-12 are enrolled in the school through the choice program (collectively
“required assessors”) are required to annually administer an assessment to all students in
grades 4, 8, 9, 10, and 11 that measures student attainment of knowledge and concepts. [s.
118.30 (1m) to (1t), Stats.] In addition to ensuring administration of these assessments, state law
requires the governing bodies of private schools to ensure administration of the assessments in
mathematics, reading, and science required under ESSA to students attending the private school
through a parental choice program. [s. 118.30 (1t) (d), Stats.]

Each required assessor must annually publish information about assessments on its website, if it
maintains one. [s. 118.30 (1m) (d), (1r) (d), and (1s) (e), Stats.]

Civics Test

State law prohibits a school board, operator of an independent charter school, or governing body
of a private school participating in a parental choice program under MPCP, RPCP, or WPCP
from granting a high school diploma to a student unless that student has taken and passed a
civics test. The civics test must consist of 100 questions that are identical to the 100 questions
that may be asked of an individual during the process of applying for U.S. citizenship. To pass
the civics test, a student must answer at least 65 of the questions correctly. [s. 118.33 (1m) (a),
Stats.]

If a student has an individualized education program (IEP), graduation may not be conditioned
on successful passage of the civics test. The student is still required to complete the test,
however, unless the student’s IEP includes a statement that it is not appropriate to administer
the civics test to the student. [s. 118.33 (1m) (a) 2., Stats.] Additionally, for students with limited
English proficiency, the civics test may be administered in the student’s language of choice. [s.
118.33 (1m) (a) 3., Stats.]

6 Parental choice programs allow eligible studentsto attend private schools using state-funded tuition vouchers.
For moreinformation on parental choice programs, see Legislative Council, Parental Choice Programsin
Private Schools,Issue Brief (February 2021).



https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/60/7/b/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/119/i/23/7/b/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/115/v/77/1m/bg
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/2/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1g/c
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1m
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1t/d
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1m/d
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1r/d
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1s/e
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/33/1m/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/33/1m/a/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/33/1m/a/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/misc/lc/issue_briefs/2021/education/ib_parental_choice_kbo_2021_02_15
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/misc/lc/issue_briefs/2021/education/ib_parental_choice_kbo_2021_02_15

_4_

The civics test is not part of the statewide assessment system and is instead independently
administered by each school district, independent charter school, and private school
participating in a parental choice program.

ACCOMMODATIONS AND EXCUSAL

Federal law and state law require that accommodations be made to include children with
disabilities and English learners in all required assessments. [20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (vii)
ands. 118.30 (2) (b) 1. and 2., Stats.] Assessment accommodations for children with disabilities
are dictated and detailed by the child’s IEP.

What constitutes appropriate assessment accommodations for an individual English learner is
decided by the required assessor pursuant to criteria set forth in s. PI 13.09, Wis. Adm. Code.
Appropriate accommodations for English learners include, but are not limited to, the assistance
of a translator, the use of dictionaries, and extended time to complete assessments. [s. 118.30 (2)

(b) 2., Stats.]

If a student’s parent requests that the student be excused from a state-required knowledge and

concepts assessment, the assessor must excuse that student. [s. 118.30 (2) (b) 3. to 6., Stats., and
20 U.S.C.s. 6311 (b) (2) (K).]

WISCONSIN’S STUDENT ASSESSMENT SYSTEM

The State Superintendent of Public Instruction has adopted the Wisconsin Forward Exam, the
ACT Aspire®, and the ACT with Writing® to comply with federal and state assessment
requirements. Collectively, these assessments make up the Wisconsin Student Assessment
System. The Wisconsin Student Assessment System satisfies all the federal assessment
requirements, as well as the state third grade reading assessment requirement and the
knowledge and concept assessment requirements.

Grade Test Topic Complies With
. Federal Law and State Law
Bingl sl L(i‘}:rﬁiu)age ATtS | 60 US.C.s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I); s.
121.02 (1) (1), Stats.
3 Forward Exam
Federal Law
bzl 20 U.S.C. 5. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I)
ELA Federal Law and State law
20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I); s.
Math 118.30, Stats.
Forward Exam Federal Law and State Law
4 Science 20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (IL); s.
118.30, Stats.
. . State Law
Social Studies s.118.30, Stats.
ELA Federal Law
5 Forward Exam E— 20 U.S.C. 5. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I)
ELA Federal Law
6 Forward Exam T 20 U.S.C. 5. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I)



https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/2/b/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/2/b/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/pi/13/ii/09
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1g/a/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/1g/a/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30/2/b/3
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/121/ii/02/1/r
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/118/30
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/6311
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Grade Test Topic Complies With
ELA Federal Law
7 Forward Exam — 20 U.S.C. 5. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (I)
ELA Federal Law
Math 20 U.S.C.s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (1)
Federal Law and State Law
8 oA 1B oo 20 U.S.C. 5. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (IL); s.
118.30, Stats.
. . State Law
Social Studies s.118.30, Stats.
English, reading, writing Federal Law and State Law
20 U.S.C.s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (D); s.
Math 118.30, Stats.
9 ACT Aspire ®
Federal Law and State Law
Science 20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (IT); s.
118.30, Stats.
English, reading, writing Federal Law and State Law
20 U.S.C. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (D); s.
Math 118.30, Stats.
ACT Aspire ®
0 Federal Law and State Law
Science 20U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (II); s.
118.30, Stats.
Forward Exam Social Studies sitite Lens
s.118.30, Stats.
English, reading, writing Federal Law and State Law
T 20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (ID; s.
at 118.30, Stats.
11 ACT with Writing ®
Federal Law and State Law
Science 20 U.S.C. s. 6311 (b) (2) (B) (v) (IT); s.
118.30, Stats.

This information memorandum was prepared by Emily Hicks, Staff Attorney, on May 7, 2024.
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