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STATE AND FEDERAL GAS TAXATION AND REGULATION 

Gas prices paid by a consumer are influenced, both directly and indirectly, by state and federal 
law. State and federal law each impose taxes on gasoline, but for differing purposes and at 
differing points in the distribution chain. Wisconsin’s Unfair Sales Act—or minimum markup 
law—requires a markup on gasoline to prevent undercutting in the market by those who would 
otherwise sell below cost. On the other hand, Wisconsin law also prevents excessive gasoline 
pricing during certain emergency situations. In the name of protecting a consumer’s purchase of 
gasoline, both state and federal law prohibit certain deceptive practices in advertising and sale of 
gasoline. Finally, federal law requires that certain types of gasoline be used for environmental 
reasons, further influencing its price.  

This information memorandum provides an overview of gasoline taxation, and also of select 
regulation that influences gasoline prices, at each the state and federal levels. 

GASOLINE TAXATION 
The gasoline supply chain has many stops, which account for much of the final price a consumer 
pays at the pump. Gas stations get gasoline from a fuel distributor, or “wholesaler,” that 
contracts with different oil companies to buy gasoline, branded and unbranded, usually at a 
central distribution hub. The central distribution hub, or licensed supplier, receives the gasoline 
from a refinery via pipeline. The wholesaler receives gasoline from the licensed supplier and 
sells to gas stations, or “retailers.” According to the U.S. Department of Energy, 85 percent of 
the national average of $3.48 for a gallon of gasoline in July, 2024, was attributable to costs 
incurred in this supply chain, namely: the price of crude oil (56 percent); the cost of refining (13 
percent); and expenses related to distribution and marketing (16 percent). The remaining 15 
percent was attributable to state and federal taxes.1   

State Law  

Generally, the price of gasoline paid by a consumer includes the price charged by the retailer, 
the state excise tax, and the state petroleum inspection fee.2 An excise tax is a tax on the sale of 
specific products. The excise tax for gasoline is paid by licensed suppliers and is collected 
monthly when gasoline leaves terminal storage. The tax is levied on a per gallon basis. Gasoline 
excise tax receipts are collected by the Department of Revenue (DOR) before being deposited 
into Wisconsin’s Transportation Fund.3 

                                                 
1  See https://www.eia.gov/petroleum/gasdiesel/.  
2 Wisconsin does not levy state sales or business taxes or local taxes on gasoline. For more information see 

Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Transportation Issues. 
3 For more information, see Legislative Fiscal Bureau, Motor Vehicle Fuel and Alternative Fuel Tax, 

Informational Paper 40 (Jan. 2023). 

https://www.eia.gov/petroleum/gasdiesel/
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/about-wisdot/who-we-are/dept-overview/comparison.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/misc/lfb/informational_papers/january_2023/0040_motor_vehicle_fuel_and_alternative_fuel_tax_informational_paper_40.pdf
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With exceptions, the excise tax is imposed on all gasoline received by a supplier for sale in this 
state, for sale for export4 to this state, or exported to this state. [s. 78.01 (1), Stats.] No tax may 
be imposed on any of the following: 

 Gasoline exported by a person licensed to export.  

 Gasoline sold to and used by the United States or its agencies (requires proper 
documentation).  

 Gasoline sold to a common motor carrier that certifies to DOR that the gasoline is for the 
urban mass transportation of passengers.  

 Gasoline sold for non-highway use in mobile machinery and equipment, delivered directly 
into the consumer’s tank in an amount of not less than 100 gallons. Certain machinery does 
not qualify for this exception: a snowmobile; an off-highway motorcycle not registered for 
private use; an all-terrain vehicle not registered for private use; or a recreational motorboat.  

 Gasoline sold to an aviation fuel dealer and delivered directly into the dealer’s storage tank 
in an amount of not less than 100 gallons. 

[s. 78.01 (2), Stats.] 

The tax rate for gasoline is determined by DOR annually before April 1. [s. 78.015 (1), Stats.] 
DOR calculates the new rate by dividing the annual average Consumer Price Index (CPI) for all 
urban consumers for the previous year, as determined by the U.S. Department of Labor, by the 
CPI for the year before the previous year. [s. 
78.015 (2), Stats.] That value is then multiplied 
by the tax rate in effect at the time of 
calculation. The rate calculated is effective on 
the April 1 after calculation. [s. 78.015 (5), 
Stats.] The current state excise tax on gasoline 
is 30.9 cents per gallon.5 This tax has not 
changed since April 1, 2006.6 

The petroleum inspection fee adds two cents 
per gallon to the total tax.7  One cent per gallon 
of this fee is deposited in the transportation 
fund, while the other one cent per gallon is 
deposited in the petroleum inspection fund, 
which is available for petroleum products cleanup, among other purposes. [ss. 168.12 (1) and 
168.128, Stats.] The addition of the petroleum inspection fee puts the current total state gasoline 
taxes and fees at 32.9 cents per gallon.8  

Federal Law  

Like its state counterpart, the federal excise tax on gasoline is imposed during the 
manufacturing process rather than on the retail consumer at the pump. With some exceptions, 

                                                 
4 “Export” means “deliver across the boundaries of this state by or for the seller or purchaser from a place of 

origin in this state.” [s. 78.005 (6), Stats.] 
5 For more information, see Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (Dec. 4, 2023). 
6 In 1997, the gasoline tax was increased statutorily by one cent. [s. 78.017, Stats.] 
7  The petroleum inspection fee was reduced from three cents to two cents per gallon by 2005 Wisconsin Act 25. 
8 Wisconsin’s rate is almost equal to the national state tax average of 32.6 cents per gallon. [See Federal and 

State Motor Fuels Taxes, U.S. Department of Energy, U.S. Energy Information Administration.] 

Gasoline taxes and fees per gallon in 
neighboring states as of July , 2024: 

● Illinois: 67 .1 cents. 

● Iowa: 30 cents. 

● Michigan: 49.8 cents. 

● Minnesota: 28.8 cents. 

● Wisconsin: 32.9 cents. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/01/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/01/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/015/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/015/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/015/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/015/5
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/015/5
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/168/i/12/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/168/i/128
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/005/6
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-mofuel.aspx#:~:text=Effective%20April%201%2C%202006%2C%20the,scheduled%20to%20increase%20in%202021.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/78/i/017
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2005/related/acts/25.pdf
https://www.eia.gov/petroleum/marketing/monthly/xls/fueltaxes.xlsx
https://www.eia.gov/petroleum/marketing/monthly/xls/fueltaxes.xlsx
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the tax is levied upon removal of taxable fuel from a refinery or terminal or upon entry of the 
fuel into the country for consumption, use, or warehousing. The rate of tax is currently 18.3 
cents per gallon (with higher rates for aviation gasoline, diesel fuel, and kerosene).9 There is also 
a 0.1 cent per gallon increase in that rate, which is deposited into the Leaking Underground 
Storage Tank Trust Fund, which is available for certain petroleum release response and 
prevention activities. [26 U.S.C. s. 4081 (a) (1) (A) and (2) (A) and (B); 42 U.S.C. ss. 6991b to 
6991d, 6991i, and 6991j.] Therefore, the effective federal gasoline tax rate is 18.4 cents per 
gallon. 

Amounts equivalent to the federal gasoline tax (along with other amounts) are appropriated to 
the Highway Trust Fund. That trust fund is available for various federal-aid highway program 
expenditures, among other purposes. [26 U.S.C. s. 9503 (b) (1) (D) and (c).]  

GAS REGULATION 

State Law  

Two main regulatory statutes affect gasoline prices in Wisconsin: s. 100.30, Stats. (the Unfair 
Sales Act), which prevents sellers from selling below cost to attract patrons away from 
competitors; and s. 100.305, Stats., which prevents sellers from charging excessive prices during 
a state of emergency.1 0  

Unfair Sales Act  

The Unfair Sales Act, also known as the minimum markup law, requires wholesalers to include a 
minimum markup in their sales to retailers and, in turn, retailers to include a minimum markup 
in their sales to consumers. According to the act, the practice of selling items below cost is 
“generally a form of deceptive advertising and an unfair method of competition in commerce.” 
[s. 100.30 (1), Stats.] Enacted in 1939, the act prohibits the selling of certain products, including 
gasoline, below the “cost to retailer.” It was described by one Wisconsin court as intended “to 
protect small businesses from being run out of business by the predatory pricing practices of 
large competitors.” [Orion Flight Servs. v. Basler Flight Serv., 2004 WI App 222, ¶1.] 

The act imposes specific markups for gasoline. The markup depends on the type of seller and the 
location of the sale. Because the act prohibits sales below cost, the calculation of “cost” is a key 
threshold determination. The act defines “cost” to include both the variable costs of each unit of 
fuel (generally, the invoice or replacement cost) and a proportionate share of the other costs of 
doing business attributable to each unit of fuel (such as taxes and transportation costs, less trade 
discounts). The latter component of that definition constitutes what is commonly referred to as 
the “minimum markup.”     

                                                 
9 Unless extended, the rate for gasoline is scheduled to drop to 4.3 cents per gallon on October 1, 2028. [26 

U.S.C. s. 4081 (d) (1).] 
1 0 The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) website contains additional 

information on the Unfair Sales Act and price gouging, and includes complaint questionnaires. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/1
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/UnfairSalesAct.aspx#:~:text=Commonly%20referred%20to%20as%20the,items%20of%20merchandise%20below%20cost.&text=Cost%20for%20wholesalers%20who%20operate,%25%20plus%206%25%20compounded
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/PriceGouging.aspx#:~:text=%E2%80%8BTo%20file%20a%20price,(800)%20422%2D7128.
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In addition to a three percent markup imposed on wholesale sales, the retail gasoline markup, 
simplified, is determined as follows: 

 Retail sale of gasoline by a refiner at a retail station: 9.18 percent on cost to retailer 
or average posted terminal price,1 1  whichever is greater.  

 Retail sale of gasoline by a wholesaler, who is not a refiner, at a retail station: 
9.18 percent on cost to retailer or average posted terminal price, whichever is greater.  

 Retail sale of gasoline by a person other than a refiner or wholesaler, at a retail 
station: six percent on cost to retailer or 9.18 percent of average posted terminal price, 
whichever is greater. 

[s. 100.30 (2) (am) 1m. and (c) 1g. and 1r., Stats.] 

The act excepts gasoline sales where: (1) the price of gasoline is made in good faith to meet the 
existing price of a competitor, based on evidence in the form of an advertisement, receipt, or 
other business record; or (2) the gasoline is sold by a person to a wholesaler who may sell the 
gasoline at either retail or wholesale. [s. 100.30 (6) (a), Stats.] A seller of gasoline who lowers its 
price in a good faith exercise of the first exception (sometimes referred to as the “meeting 
competition” exception), must notify DATCP of that fact before the close of business on the day 
on which the price was lowered.1 2 [s. 100.30 (7) (a), Stats.] 

Under the Unfair Sales Act, any sale of an item by a seller of motor vehicle fuel at less than the 
cost to a retailer impairs and prevents fair competition, injures public welfare, and is unfair 
competition contrary to public policy. Evidence of a sale below cost is prima facie evidence of 
intent.1 3 [s. 100.30 (3), Stats.] DATCP or a district attorney may commence an action on behalf 
of the state to recover a civil forfeiture of not less than $50 nor more than $500 for the first 
violation, and not less than $200 nor more than $2,500 for each subsequent violation of the act. 
[s. 100.30 (4), Stats.] The act may also be enforced by a private cause of action. Any person 
injured as a result of a sale of gasoline in violation of the act may bring an action, within 180 
days of the violation, against the violator for temporary or permanent injunctive relief, or three 
times the amount of any monetary loss sustained or $2,000, whichever is greater. The forfeiture 
will multiply by each day of continued violation, and may include other costs like accounting 
and attorney fees. [s. 100.305 (5m), Stats.] 

Numerous measures to repeal the Unfair Sales Act  have been introduced in the past decade. For 
example, 2023 Assembly Bill 988/Senate Bill 888, 2019 Assembly Bill 155/Senate Bill 51 and 
2015 Assembly Bill 452/Senate Bill 371 each proposed to repeal the act in its entirety, but failed 
to pass either house. In addition, the Governor’s executive budget proposal for the 2023-24 
biennial budget, 2023 Assembly Bill 43/2023 Senate Bill 70, proposed removing the specified 
markups for gasoline. The Legislature removed those provisions before enactment of the budget 
act. 

                                                 
1 1  The “average posted terminal price” is defined as the average posted rack price for gasoline, as published by a 

petroleum price reporting service. [s. 100.30 (2) (a), Stats.] 
1 2 In the past, DATCP has opined that the “meeting competition” exception often results in widespread retail 

pricing below the minimum markup, particularly where the competitor is located in a neighboring state with a 
lower gasoline tax and hence less expensive gasoline. [See letter from DATCP to Senator Dave Zien (May 3, 
2006), at pp. 5-7; see also Go America, LLC. v. Kwik Trip, Inc., 2006 WI App 94 (affirming that a competitor 
for purposes of the “meeting competition” exception need not be located in Wisconsin).]  

1 3 Prima facie evidence is evidence that, on its face, would be sufficient to prove a particular proposition or fact.  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/2/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/6/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/7/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/4
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/5m
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/proposals/ab988
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/proposals/reg/asm/bill/ab155
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2015/proposals/ab452
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/proposals/ab43
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/30/2/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2005/related/public_hearing_records/sc_judiciary_corrections_and_privacy/bills_resolutions/05hr_sc_jcp_sb0215_pt03.pdf
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Excessive Pricing During a Period of Abnormal Economic Disruption 

Under state law enacted in 2005, no seller1 4 may charge “unreasonably excessive” retail or 
wholesale prices if the Governor has certified a “period of abnormal economic disruption” 
caused by an emergency.1 5 [s. 100.305 (2), Stats.] An “emergency” is defined as any of the 
following: 

 A tornado, flood, fire, storm, or other destructive act of nature. 

 A disruption of energy supplies to the degree that a serious risk is posed to the economic 
well-being, health, or welfare of the public. 

 Hostile action.1 6 

 A strike or civil disorder. 

[s. 100.305 (1) (b), Stats.] 

DATCP promulgates rules to establish the standards used to determine whether a price is 
“unreasonably excessive.” [s. 100.305 (3), Stats.] DATCP’s administrative rules state that no 
seller may sell a consumer good or service in an emergency area during an emergency period 
that is more than 15 percent above the highest price the seller sold like goods or services during 
the 60-day period immediately preceding the emergency declaration. [s. ATCP 106.02 (1), Wis. 
Adm. Code.] This limit does not apply to a sale where the seller “possesses and relies upon 
accurate information” that shows any of the following: 

 The selling price does not exceed the seller’s cost, plus normal markup.1 7  

 The selling price is required by law. 

 The emergency declaration directly or impliedly exempted the sale from coverage. 

[s. ATCP 106.02 (2), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

If a seller charges unreasonably excessive prices during a period of abnormal economic 
disruption, DATCP may, upon consultation with the Department of Justice, either: (1) issue a 
warning to the seller; or (2) commence an action against the seller either to recover a civil 
forfeiture of not more than $10,000, or to enjoin the seller from violating the statute. [s. 
100.305 (4m), Stats.] 

Gasoline Price Deceptive Advertising 

As mentioned, it is an unfair method of competition and deceptive advertising to advertise or 
otherwise represent the price of gasoline to be less than the seller’s cost plus the respective 
markup. [s. 100.305 (1), Stats.] In addition, state law prohibits the publication, dissemination, 

                                                 
1 4 “Seller” means a manufacturer, producer, supplier, wholesaler, distributor, or retailer. [s. 100.305 (1) (e), 

Stats.] 
1 5 Under this statute, Governor Evers issued an emergency executive order relating to gasoline prices on June 

21, 2022. [Executive Order #170.] 
1 6 “Hostile action” is defined as an act of v iolence against a person or property in the United States by a foreign 

power. [s. ATCP 106.01 (9), Wis. Adm. Code.] 
1 7  “Normal markup" means a percentage markup over the seller’s cost that the seller has regularly used in the 

sale of like consumer goods or services to like customers in the relevant trade area during the 60-day period 
immediately preceding the emergency declaration. [s. ATCP 106.01 (12), Wis. Adm. Code.] 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/106/02/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/106/02/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/106/02/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305/4m
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305/4m
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305/1/e
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/305/1/e
https://content.govdelivery.com/attachments/WIGOV/2022/06/21/file_attachments/2189707/Evers_EO170-Gas%20EO.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/106/01/9
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/106/01/12
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or circulation of an advertisement that contains any assertion, representation, or statement of 
fact which is untrue, deceptive, or misleading. [s. 100.18 (1), Stats.] 

Gas stations must conspicuously and accessibly post their price per gallon. Any seller (including 
wholesalers) of gasoline in Wisconsin must keep posted in a “conspicuous place”1 8 and on every 
pump the net selling price per gallon and the amount of taxes per gallon of all grades of motor 
fuel. All posted prices must remain in effect for at least 24 hours. [s. 100.18 (8), Stats.] 

The prohibitions in s. 100.18, Stats., described above, are enforced by DATCP, which may bring 
an action, in the name of the state, to enjoin violations of this statute. Also, any person suffering 
pecuniary loss because of a violation of this statute may bring suit. No action, however, may be 
commenced more than three years after the occurrence of the unlawful act or practice that is the 
subject of the action. [s. 100.18 (11), Stats.] 

Federal Law  

Prohibition on Energy Market Manipulation 

Federal law does not specifically prohibit price gouging in the retail sale of gasoline, but it does 
prohibit the use of any manipulative or deceptive device or contrivance in connection with the 
sale at wholesale of crude oil, gasoline, or petroleum distillates (collectively “fuel”). [42 U.S.C. s. 
17301.] 

As enforced by Federal Trade Commission (FTC) regulations, this prohibition makes it unlawful 
to do either of the following in connection with the purchase or sale of fuel: 

 Knowingly engage in any act, practice, or course of business—including the making of any 
untrue statement of material fact—that operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit upon 
any person. 

 Intentionally fail to state a material fact that under the circumstances renders a statement 
made by such person misleading, if such omission distorts or is likely to distort market 
conditions for the fuel. 

A state law that provides equal or greater protection to the FTC regulation is not preempted. [16 
C.F.R. ss. 317.1 to 317.5.] 

Reformulated Gasoline Requirement 

Under the federal Clean Air Act, certain areas of the country with high smog levels must use 
reformulated gasoline. This type of gasoline burns more cleanly than conventional gasoline, but 
can be more expensive. In Wisconsin, reformulated gasoline must be used in the following 
counties: Kenosha; Milwaukee; Ozaukee; Racine; Washington; and Waukesha. [42 U.S.C. s.7545 
(k) (10) (D).] 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has the authority to waive certain 
requirements of the Clean Air Act, including the reformulated gasoline requirement. A waiver 
may be granted if EPA determines, and the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy concurs, 
that all of the following apply: 

 Extreme and unusual fuel or fuel additive supply circumstances exist which prevent the 
distribution of an adequate supply of the fuel or fuel additive to consumers. 

                                                 
1 8 A “conspicuous place” is one “most accessible to the public at his or her place of business.” [s. 100.18 (8), 

Stats.] 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/18/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/18/8
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/18/11
https://www.epa.gov/gasoline-standards/reformulated-gasoline#42%20U.S.C.%207545(k)(10)(D)
https://www.epa.gov/gasoline-standards/reformulated-gasoline#42%20U.S.C.%207545(k)(10)(D)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/18/8
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/18/8
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 Those circumstances are the result of a natural disaster, an act of God, a pipeline or refinery 
equipment failure, or another event that could not reasonably have been foreseen or 
prevented and not the lack of prudent planning on the part of the suppliers of the fuel or fuel 
additive. 

 It is in the public interest to grant the waiver (for example, when a waiver is necessary to 
meet projected temporary shortfalls in the supply of the fuel or fuel additive in a State or 
region of the Nation which cannot otherwise be compensated for). 

[42 U.S.C. s. 7454 (c) (4) (ii) (I).] 

EPA recently honored a request for a waiver of the reformulated gasoline requirement for 
Wisconsin and three other midwestern states based on a fuel supply emergency caused by a 
weather-related power outage at an Illinois refinery.1 9 EPA has also issued nationwide waivers 
recently for other Clean Air Act requirements, such as the limitation on selling E15 gasoline-
ethanol blends during the summer, based on armed conflict in Ukraine and the Middle East.20 
EPA has not granted, however, a waiver for the reformulated gasoline requirement due to higher 
prices. According to EPA, it does not issue a fuels waiver solely to address concerns regarding 
the price of fuel.21  

This information memorandum was prepared by Ethan Lauer, Senior Staff Attorney, on 
September 17, 2024.22 

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • Madison, WI 53703 • (608) 266-1304 • leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov • http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc 

                                                 
1 9 See letter from EPA, Re: Fuel Waiver for gasoline volatility requirements in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and 

Wisconsin, dated August 1, 2024.  
20 See letter from EPA, Re: August 30, 2024, E15 Reid Vapor Pressure Fuel Waiver, dated August 27 , 2024.  
21  See EPA, When can a fuels waiver be issued? 
22 A previous version of this information memorandum was prepared jointly with Raine Black, Staff Attorney, 

on July 28, 2022. 

https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2024-08/fuelwaiverjoliet_0.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2024-08/fuelwaiverjoliet_0.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2024-08/e15nationwideextensionfuelwaiver082724.pdf
https://usepa.servicenowservices.com/ecss?id=kb_article_view&sysparm_article=KB0013159

