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As an increasing number of businesses reopen and call their employees back to work, questions have 
arisen as to whether, and to what extent, an employer may be held financially responsible if an employee 
becomes ill. This issue brief addresses what an employer’s liability may be if an employee is diagnosed 
with COVID-19 after returning to work. This issue brief also addresses whether the doctrine of third-
party liability may be used by an employee to obtain payment from his or her employer if the employee is 
diagnosed with COVID-19 after returning to work.    

Under current law, an employee who is injured or becomes ill in the course of his or her employment 
may receive worker’s compensation but cannot otherwise sue or hold liable his or her employer for the 
injury. An employee could bring an action against a third party 1 if the third party is at least partially 
responsible for the employee’s injury or illness,2 but the employer would not be responsible for any 
payments for which the third party was found liable.    

WORKER’S COMPENSATION  
Exclusive Remedy for Employees   

The Wisconsin Worker’s Compensation Act functions as a no-fault insurance program and is the 
exclusive remedy for employees who sustain injuries related to their employment. 3 Under current law, a 
worker who is injured in the workplace may be compensated for his or her lost wages, medical expenses, 
and other losses associated with the injury. With limited exceptions, employers are required to carry 
insurance intended to cover employees who sustain work-related injuries or to self-insure. However, if 
an employee is injured at work and his or her employer has not maintained the proper insurance, the 
employee may still receive worker’s compensation benefits paid from the state’s uninsured employers 
fund.    

Physical harm caused by an illness or infection sustained at work is considered an “injury” for the 
purposes of worker’s compensation.4 In order to receive compensation under the Worker’s 
Compensation Act, an employee who becomes ill must prove that the illness is employment-related: that 
is, the employee became ill in the course of, or due to, his or her employment.    

In response to the public health emergency caused by COVID-19, 2019 Wisconsin Act 185 created a 
presumption that a first responder’s5 injury was caused by his or her employment if the first responder 
was diagnosed with COVID-19, the injury was found to be caused by COVID−19 during the public health 
emergency or within 30 days after termination of the emergency , and the first responder had been 
exposed to persons with confirmed cases of COVID−19 in the course of employment. An employer may 
overcome this presumption by demonstrating that the first responder’s illness was caused by exposure to 
COVID-19 outside of his or her work for the employer. The public health emergency expired on May 11, 
2020; the period of presumption that the injury to a first responder was caused by employment ended on 
June 10, 2020, 30 days after the expiration of the public health emergency.  No other employees are 
covered by the presumption established in 2019 Wisconsin Act 185.  

Therefore, in order to receive worker’s compensation, an employee who receives a COVID-19 diagnosis 
after returning to work would have to prove that his or her illness was caused by exposure to the disease 
in the course of his or her employment. Absent this proof of a connection between the workplace and the 
illness, an employee is not covered by the Worker’s Compensation Act. Because the Worker’s 
Compensation Act is meant to provide an exclusive remedy for employees with respect to their 
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employers, an employee whose worker’s compensation claim is rejected may appeal that decision but 
may not make any additional or alternative claims against the employer.    

THIRD-PARTY LIABILITY  
While the Worker’s Compensation Act provides that an employee may not bring any additional or 
separate action against his or her employer for an employment-related injury, an employee may bring an 
action against a party that is not the employer (third party) if the third party is at least partially 
responsible for the employee’s injury. Additionally, an employer or insurer who has compensated an 
employee through the Worker’s Compensation Act may bring an action against a third party if the third 
party contributed to the employee’s injury.6    

Third-party liability cases differ in some significant ways from worker’s compensation claims. First, an 
employee who files a worker’s compensation claim need not prove that his or her employer was negligent 
or otherwise at fault for the injury; worker’s compensation is a no-fault system where, so long as the 
injury is related to the employee’s employment, it is covered by worker’s compensation. In contrast, an 
employee or employer who brings an action against a third party must prove that the third party was 
negligent, and that the negligence caused the employee’s injury.  

Second, the Worker’s Compensation Act provides coverage for lost wages, medical expenses, and certain 
other losses associated with the employee’s injury, such as the cost of rehabilitative training, but it does 
not cover damages related to pain and suffering, loss of companionship, mental anguish, or similar 
losses. If a third party is found liable for an employee’s injury, the third party may be responsible for 
compensating the employee for damages of these types.  

However, even if a third party is found liable for an employee’s injury and is required to compensate the 
employee beyond what the employee may receive under the Worker’s Compensation Act, the employer 
would not be responsible for any additional payments to the employee. To the contrary, an employer or 
insurer who has compensated an employee through the Worker’s Compensation Act is generally entitled 
to receive, as reimbursement, a portion of any award the third party must pay. 7  

CONCLUSION 
In sum, an employee who returns to work and who is diagnosed with COVID-19 may be eligible to 
receive worker’s compensation if the employee can demonstrate that his or her illness is employment-
related. An employee who receives worker’s compensation, or whose worker’s compensation claim is 
rejected, may not seek any additional payment from his or her employer. An employee may seek 
additional compensation from a third party who negligently caused the employee’s illness, but the 
employer is not liable for the acts or omissions of a third party and would not be required to pay any 
compensation related to the third party’s negligence.    

1 With very limited exceptions, injuries caused by  a coworker are cov ered by  worker’s compensation a nd are not subject to a  third-
pa r ty liability claim. [s. 102.03 (2), Stats.] 

2 A  th ird party could be any individual or  entity that causes or exacerbates the worker’s injury. In the case of a n injury rela ted to 
COV ID-19, a third party could be an individual who spread the disease to the worker or  any v endor whose equipment or  services 
m ay have contributed to the spread of the disease to the worker.   

3 See ch . 102, Stats., g enerally, and s. 102.03 (2), Stats. 
4 Sect ion 102.01 (2) (c), Stats.    
5 Th e act defines “ first responders” a s an employee of or  v olunteer for an employ er that provides firefighting, law enforcement, or 

m edical treatment of COVID-19, and who has r egular, direct contact with, or  is regularly in close proximity to, patients or other 
m embers of the public requiring emergency services, within the scope of the individual’s work for  the employ er. 

6 Sect ion 102.29, Stats.  
7 Sect ion 102.29 (1) (b) 2., Stats.   
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