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Driving on the highways of this state is a privilege, not a right. The state may reasonably regulate that 
privilege, including by requiring a driver to obtain motor vehicle liability insurance coverage.1 In 2010, 
Wisconsin parted ways with New Hampshire by joining 48 other states and the District of Columbia in 
requiring auto liability insurance coverage. This issue brief highlights the principles of that coverage, 
exceptions to coverage requirements, penalties, and enforcement mechanisms.2 

MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY COVERAGE 
No person may operate a motor vehicle3 on a highway in this state unless the owner or operator has in 
effect a liability policy for the vehicle being operated.4 A “highway” includes all public ways and 
thoroughfares that are open to the use of the public for vehicular traffic, but does not include private 
roads or driveways.5  

The minimum requirements for coverage under a motor vehicle liability policy for a single accident are: 
$25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person; $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more 
persons; $10,000 for property damage; $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured 
motorists; and, unless rejected by the policy holder, $1,000 for medical payments per person. 

Underinsured motorist coverage is not required, but an insurer must notify a policy holder that it is 
available. If purchased, minimum underinsured motorist coverage of $50,000 per person and $100,000 
per incident is required.6 

PROOF OF LIABILITY COVERAGE  
Each person operating a motor vehicle on a highway in this state must have proof in the person’s 
immediate possession of compliance with the liability insurance requirements. The person must display 
the proof, in either printed or electronic format, on demand from any traffic officer. 

A person cannot be convicted for a failure to have proof of insurance in the person’s immediate 
possession if the person produces proof to the office of the traffic officer, or to the court, that the person 
had liability coverage that was in effect at the time the citation was issued.7 

EXCEPTIONS 
A person is not required to comply with the above requirements in certain situations, such as the 
following: 

 The owner or operator of the motor vehicle has in effect a bond with respect to the vehicle that is 
filed with the Department of Transportation (DOT). 

 The motor vehicle is owned by a self-insurer holding a valid certificate of self-insurance, and the self-
insurer has made an agreement that, with respect to accidents occurring while the certificate is in 
force, the self-insurer will pay the same amounts that an insurer would have been obligated to pay 
under a motor vehicle liability policy. 

 The owner or operator of the motor vehicle has deposited with DOT cash or securities in an amount 
of $60,000 per vehicle. 

 The motor vehicle is subject to financial responsibility requirements applicable to certain rented or 
leased vehicles and human service vehicles.  8 
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PENALTIES 
Monetary 

Unless a person is exempt, the penalty for not having motor vehicle liability insurance c overage is a 
forfeiture up to $500, and the penalty for not providing proof of insurance is a forfeiture of $10.9 

Licensure and Registration 

The penalties for operating, or allowing another person to operate, a vehicle without motor vehicle 
liability insurance coverage can include suspension of an operator’s license and a vehicle’s registration 
under Wisconsin’s Safety Responsibility Law, if the operator is involved in a certain type of crash. 

The Safety Responsibility Law applies when a vehicle accident results in bodily injury or death, or 
property damage of at least $1,000. If an operator involved in such an accident is uninsured, DOT  must 
determine an amount of money sufficient to satisfy any judgment that may be rendered against the 
operator for damages resulting from the accident. The operator then must deposit security in that 
amount with DOT. With certain exceptions, if the operator fails to deposit security in that amount, DOT 
must suspend the operator’s license and, if the operator was also the  owner of the vehicle, all of the 
operator’s vehicle registrations.10 

Impoundment 

Under the Safety Responsibility Law, described above, DOT may order the impoundment of any vehicle 
registered in the name of the owner or operator of the vehicle involved in the accident when security is 
not deposited as required by the Safety Responsibility Law. A court, however, may prohibit DOT from 
impounding a vehicle upon a showing that impoundment would result in undue hardship. 11 

ENFORCEMENT 
Stop or Search Solely For Lack of Liability Coverage 

A traffic officer may not stop or inspect a vehicle solely to determine whether a person has liability 
coverage or is carrying proof of liability coverage.12 

Fraudulent, False, or Invalid Proof of Insurance 

No person may create the appearance of satisfying the requirement to have motor vehicle liability 
coverage by forging, falsifying, counterfeiting, or fraudulently altering any proof of insurance . In 
addition, no person may represent that any proof of insurance or the policy itself is valid and in effect 
while knowing or having reason to believe that the proof of insurance or the policy is not valid or not in 
effect. A person committing these violations may be required to forfeit not more than $5,000.13 

1 See Steeno v. State, 85 Wis. 2d 663, 671 (1978); State v. Seraphine , 266 Wis. 118, 123 (1954); Sprout v. City of South Bend, 277 
U.S.  163, 171-7 2, (1928). 

2 For  a dditional information, see Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of In surance, Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance , PI-
057  (Apr. 2024). 

3 A  “ motor vehicle” is any “ self-propelled vehicle,” a nd a  “vehicle” is ev ery device in, upon, or by  which any person or  property is 
or  m ay be transported or  drawn u pon a h ighway, with certain exceptions. [s. 344.01 (2) (b) a nd (e), Stats.]  

4 s.  3 44.62 (1), Stats. 
5 s.  3 40.01 (22), Stats. 
6 ss.  3 44.33 (2) and 632.32 (4) and (4m), Stats. 
7 ss.  3 44.62 (2) and 344.65 (1) (c), Stats. 
8 s.  3 44.63 (1), Stats. 
9 s.  3 44.65 (1) (a) and (b), Stats. In  2024, the for feiture for operating without insurance is set at $50, but totals $200.50 with 

a dded costs a nd surcharges. 
10 ss.  3 44.12, 344.13, and 344.14, Stats. To reinstate a license or  registration, the Safety Responsibility Law r equires a  person to 

file a  certification of in surance with DOT. This is commonly referred to as an “ SR-22” filing. [s. 344.29, Stats.]  
11 ss.  3 44.04, 344.12, 344.13, and 344.14, Stats. 
12 s.  3 44.65 (3),  Stats. 
13 ss.  3 44.64 and 344.65 (2), Stats. In  2024, this forfeiture is set at $500, but totals $7 67.50 with a dded costs a nd surcharges. 
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