

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

WISCONSIN'S TRANSPORTATION NETWORK INFRASTRUCTURE

411 South, State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin

<u>January 18, 2005</u> 1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

[The following is a summary of the January 18, 2005 meeting of the Special Committee on Wisconsin's Transportation Network Infrastructure. The file copy of this summary has appended to it a copy of each document prepared for or submitted to the committee during the meeting. A digital recording of the meeting is available on our Web site at http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc/2004studies.htm.]

Call to Order and Roll Call

Senator Kanavas, Chair, called the meeting to order. The roll was taken and it was determined that a quorum was present.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Ted Kanavas, Chair; Sen. Joseph Leibham; Reps. Dan LeMahieu,

John Townsend, Karl Van Roy, and Josh Zepnick; and Public Members Bob Cook, Geoff Crowley, John Kreilkamp, Paul Olsen, Jerome Thiele,

Peter Thillman, and Tom Walker.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT: Sen. Fred Risser; Rep. Jeff Stone; and Public Member George

Grossardt.

COUNCIL STAFF PRESENT: Dan Schmidt, Senior Analyst.

Approval of the Minutes of the December 14, 2004 Meeting of the Special Committee

The minutes from the December 14, 2004 meeting of the committee were approved by unanimous consent of the members, as moved by Representative Townsend and seconded by Mr. Olsen.

*ATTENTION: This was the final meeting of the Special Committee on Wisconsin's Transportation Network Infrastructure.

Committee members are requested to send any corrections regarding these Minutes to the Legislative Council

staff. After the incorporation of any corrections, these Minutes will be considered approved by the committee.

Discussion of Materials Distributed

LRB-1149/P1, relating to creating a council on transportation infrastructure in the Department of Transportation.

Dan Schmidt summarized the Legislative Council staff memorandum on LRB-1149/P1 and described the substantive changes to LRB-1149/P2.

Chair Kanavas asked the committee for recommendations or comments regarding the proposed drafts.

Mr. Walker requested a clarification of the term "state officer," to which Chair Kanavas replied that this was a state employee appointed by the Governor.

Mr. Cook expressed concern that the membership of the council was "administration-centric." He added that he would prefer more diversity in the committee membership.

Representative LeMahieu indicated that he would like to see a sunset date for the committee after which the Legislature would be required to re-establish the council through legislation. Representative Zepnick opposed such a sunset provision, indicating that the value of the committee extends beyond 10 years.

Mr. Thillman indicated that he would also like to ensure diversity was reflected in the council's membership and that new ideas were observed in the council's actions.

Mr. Walker and Chair Kanavas suggested that the council consist of 16 members including the following:

- 1. Eight general members with knowledge or experience in matters related to transportation infrastructure four appointed by the Governor; one appointed by the Senate Minority Leader; one appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly; and one appointed by the Assembly Minority Leader.
- 2. Three state officers two appointed by the Governor and the Secretary of the Department of Transportation or his designee as chairperson.
- 3. Five legislators (three Representatives and two Senators) appointed as are members of legislative standing committees.

The committee agreed that this reflected the diversity they were seeking and requested that these changes be reflected in future drafts.

Representative LeMahieu requested that the committee add a sunset date to the proposed council bill. Chair Kanavas offered a sunset provision of 12 years after enactment of the bill. The committee agreed to the changes.

Chair Kanavas indicated that the changes recommended by the committee would be made and the committee would then vote on the final product by mail ballot. He stated there would be no more meetings in the future and thanked the committee members for their work.

Plans for Future Meetings

Chair Kanavas stated that this was the last meeting of the Special Committee.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

DWS:tlu:ksm