

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON CHARTER SCHOOLS (Representative Leah Vukmir, Chair)

December 19, 2006

Room 225 Northwest State Capitol

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE COMMITTEE'S NOVEMBER 28, 2006 MEETING.

10:10 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:

- Memo No. 4, *Draft Legislation to Authorize Additional Entities to Establish Charter Schools* (December 11, 2006). (WLC: 0030/1, relating to permitting additional entities to establish charter schools, enclosed with Memo No. 4.)
- WLC: 0031/1, relating to creating a process to request that consideration be given to establishing a charter school and a process to appeal a decision not to establish a charter school or not to renew a charter.
- Members of Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.
- List of colleges and schools accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

10:15 a.m. COMMITTEE DISCUSSION OF PARTICIPATION OF CHARTER SCHOOL EMPLOYEES IN THE WISCONSIN RETIREMENT SYSTEM.

11:00 a.m. COMMITTEE DISCUSSION OF MEMO NO. 4, Draft Legislation to Authorize Additional Entities to Establish Charter Schools AND ENCLOSURE, WLC: 0030/1, relating to permitting additional entities to establish charter schools.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lc http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

12:30 p.m. LUNCH.

1:15 p.m. COMMITTEE DISCUSSION OF WLC: 0031/1, relating to creating a process to request that consideration be given to establishing a charter school and a process to appeal a decision not to establish a charter school or not to renew a charter.

2:45 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT AND PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.

3:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Darling and Kanavas; Reps. Newcomer and Sinicki; and Public Members Barkmeier, Baumgart, Ertl, Fuller, Horton, Jefson, Mills, Mudrak, Schultz, Vogel, and Zautcke.