



WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

EXPUNCTION OF CRIMINAL RECORDS

Representative Robin Vos, **Chair** 4710 Eastwood Ridge Racine, WI 53406

Senator Alan Lasee 2259 Lasee Road De Pere, WI 54115

Judge Gary Carlson Taylor County 224 South Second Street Medford, WI 54451

Richard Dufour, District Attorney Marquette County 77 Park Street, P.O. Box 396 Montello, WI 54939

Michelle Litjens Land Pride Properties 426 Broad Street Oshkosh, WI 54901

Lyn Opelt, Assistant District Attorney Dane County District Attorney's Office 215 South Hamilton, Room 3000 Madison, WI 53703

Professor Dennis Rome UW-Parkside Department of Criminal Justice 900 Wood Road, P.O. Box 2000 Kenosha, WI 53141 Representative Tamara D. Grigsby 2354 N. 41st Street Milwaukee, WI 53210

Senator Fred A. Risser 100 Wisconsin Avenue, Unit 501 Madison, WI 53703

Tim Costello, Attorney Krukowski & Costello 7111 West Edgerton Avenue Milwaukee, WI 53220

Judge Bill Dyke Iowa County 222 North Iowa Street Dodgeville, WI 53533

Bill Lueders Wisconsin Freedom of Information Council 101 King Street Madison, WI 53703

Sheila Reiff, Clerk of Circuit Court Walworth County 1800 County Trk. NN Elkhorn, WI 53121

Kelli Thompson Deputy State Public Defender P.O. Box 7923 Madison, WI 53707

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to study the circumstances under which records related to civil forfeiture and criminal proceedings may be expunged by Wisconsin courts and other record custodians. The circumstances to be considered include whether a record subject is a first offender, the age of the record subject, the time that has elapsed since the proceeding was commenced or the record subject was convicted, and the nature or seriousness of the crime or violation.

14 MEMBERS: 2 Senators, 2 Representatives, and 10 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Don Dyke, Chief of Legal Services; William Ford, Senior Staff Attorney; and Julie Learned, Support Staff.