

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

### **AGENDA**

# SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON NUCLEAR POWER (Rep. Phil Montgomery, Chair)

#### **September 14, 2006**

#### **Room 411 South, State Capitol**

9:00 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

9:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Senator Alan Lasee and Representative Steve Wieckert, Co-Chairs, Joint Legislative Council.
- Laura Rose, Deputy Director, Wisconsin Legislative Council.

#### 9:15 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

#### 10:15 a.m. STAFF REMARKS:

- Description of Materials Distributed:
  - o *Nuclear Energy Policy*, CRS Report for Congress by Mark Holt (July 20, 2006), Congressional Research Service Order Code RL 33558.
  - Nuclear Power: Outlook for New U.S. Reactors, CRS Report for Congress, by Larry Parker and Mark Holt (May 31, 2006), Congressional Research Service Order Code RL 33442.
- Committee work plan.
- Committee tour logistics.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="leg.council@legis.state.wi.us">leg.council@legis.state.wi.us</a> <a href="http://www.legis.state.wi.us/legis.wi.us/legis.state.wi.us/legis.state.wi.us/legis.state.wi.us/leg

\*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

- 10:30 a.m. INVITED PRESENTATION: ELECTRIC POWER SUPPLY AS A DRIVER OF THE CURRENT CONSIDERATION OF NUCLEAR POWER.
  - Eric Callisto, Executive Assistant to the Chairperson, Public Service Commission
- 11:15 a.m. INVITED PRESENTATION: GLOBAL CLIMATE CHANGE AS A DRIVER OF THE CURRENT CONSIDERATION OF NUCLEAR POWER:
  - Jonathon Foley, Professor, Atmospheric and Oceanic Science and the Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, University of Wisconsin (UW)-Madison.
- 12:00 p.m. LUNCH.
- 1:30 p.m. INTERACTIVE PRESENTATION: SIMULATION OF WISCONSIN'S ELECTRIC POWER SUPPLY SYSTEM:
  - Paul Meier, Director, UW Energy Institute, UW-Madison.
- 3:30 p.m. INVITED PRESENTATION: ELECTRIC POWER INDUSTRY VIEWS ON NUCLEAR POWER:
  - John Rowe, Chairman, President, and CEO, Exelon Corporation, Chicago.
- 4:30 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS AND PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 4:45 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Cowles and Hansen; Reps. Benedict, Honadel, and Vos; and Public Members Ceel, Corradini, Higley, Nekola, Orth, Pickens, Rude, Schillinger, Shaten, Stratton, Ward, and Weissgerber.