

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON STATE-TRIBAL RELATIONS (Rep. Terry Musser, Chair)

November 14, 2006 Room 411 South, State Capitol

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Senator Alan Lasee and Representative Steve Wieckert, Co-Chairs, Joint Legislative Council.
- Terry C. Anderson, Director, Wisconsin Legislative Council.

10:20 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

10:40 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIAL DISTRIBUTED:

- Memo No. 1, Legislation Recommended by the 2004-06 Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations (November 3, 2006).
- Memo No. 2, *Retirement Plan Coverage for Tribal Police Officers* (November 6, 2006).
- Memo No. 3, Authority of Tribal Law Enforcement Officers to Enforce Criminal Laws (November 13, 2006).

10:45 a.m. BRIEFINGS:

- Recommendations of the 2004-06 Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations (Committee staff).
- Project relating to concurrent criminal jurisdiction on Public Law 280 reservations (Committee staff).
- Department of Health and Family Services/tribal initiatives regarding the Indian Child Welfare Act and funding for tribal child welfare services (Mark Mitchell,

Manager, Legislative and Policy Consultation Section, Division of Children and Families, Department of Health and Family Services).

- 11:15 a.m. INVITED PRESENTATION--Executive Branch Activities to Improve Communications with Tribal Governments:
 - Laura Arbuckle, Administrator, and Dawn Vick, Team Leader, Division of Inter-Governmental Relations, Department of Administration.
- 11:45 a.m. INVITED PRESENTATION--State Budget Process and Allocation of Tribal Gaming Revenues Paid to the State:
 - Art Zimmerman, Fiscal Analyst, and Jere Bauer, Program Supervisor, Legislative Fiscal Bureau.
- 12:15 p.m BREAK.
- 12:30 p.m. RETIREMENT PLAN COVERAGE FOR TRIBAL POLICE OFFICERS.
- 1:00 p.m. DISCUSSION OF RECOMMENDATIONS OF TOPICS FOR STUDY BY THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE.
- 1:55 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 2:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Brown, Coggs, Wirch, and Zien; and Reps. Boyle, Pettis, and Sherman; and Public Members Alloway, Bichler, Dela Rosa, Fish, Greendeer, Huck, Lynk, Mayo, Montano, and Taylor.