

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON STRENGTHENING WISCONSIN FAMILIES (Rep. Steve Kestell, Chair)

February 7, 2007

Legislative Council Conference Room 1 East Main St., Ste 401

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE JANUARY 9, 2007 MEETING.

10:10 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:

- WLC: 0075/1, relating to collaborative systems of care for families.
- Materials submitted by Ken Ramminger.
- Memo No. 7, School District Funding Responsibilities (January 31, 2007).
- Final Report to the Joint Legislative Audit Committee: *Evaluation of Milwaukee County Child Welfare* (Reports 06-1 and 06-2) (February 1, 2007).
- Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare: *Qualitative Service Review Conducted October 16-27*, 2006; *December 15*, 2006. (Submitted at the request of Senator Lena Taylor.)

10:20 a.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Mark Perlman, Center for Growth and Development, Sarasota, Florida.
- Clifford Solomon, Graduate, Nurturing Fathers Program.
- Dianne Jenkins, DHFS, Liaison to the committee.
- Glenn Olsen, High Risk Population Specialist, and Jane Penner-Hoppe, KidsFirst Policy Advisor, Department of Workforce Development (DWD).

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lc http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

- Hughes George, Director of Parent and Student Services, Milwaukee Public Schools.
- JoAnna Richard, DWD, Liaison to the committee.
- Tony Streveler, Policy Initiatives Advisor, Department of Corrections.
- Honorable James A. Gramling, Jr., City of Milwaukee Municipal Court.

2:30 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT:

- WLC: 0075/1, relating to collaborative systems of care for families.
- Memo No. 6., Options for Legislation on Strengthening Wisconsin Families (January 3, 2007).
- 4:00 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.
- 4:10 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 4:15 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Pridemore and Seidel; Sens. Schultz and Taylor; and Public Members Angeli, Boyd-Gonzalez, Burgess, Eleson, Kelso, Minkus, Munson, J. Roberts, P. Roberts, Westman, and Wright.