

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

DOMESTIC BIOFUELS

Senator Pat Kreitlow, **Chair** 15854 93rd Avenue Chippewa Falls, WI 54729

Senator Robert Cowles 300 W. St. Joseph St. #23 Green Bay, WI 54301

Senator Robert Jauch 5271 South Maple Drive Poplar, WI 54864

Mary Blanchard Virent Energy Systems, Inc. 3571 Anderson Street Madison, WI 53704

Steve Christensen Western Wisconsin Energy N10185 370th Street Boyceville, WI 54725

Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters 133 S. Butler Street, #320 Madison, WI 53703

Steve Graham Schneider National, Inc. P.O. Box 2545 Green Bay, WI 54306-2545

Bill Johnson Johnson Timber Corp. 9676 N. Kruger Road Hayward, WI 54843

John Salden DJ's Mart & Fuel Services, LLC 15380 93rd Avenue Chippewa Falls, WI 54729-5164

Peter Tomasi Quarles & Brady 5277 N. Hollywood Avenue Whitefish Bay, WI 53217 Representative Scott Suder, Vice Chair 102 South 4th Avenue Abbotsford, WI 54405

Representative Donald Friske N2998 County Highway K Merrill, WI 54452

Representative Mike Sheridan 1032 Nantucket Drive Janesville, WI 53546

Howard Bohl United Coop Board of Directors N6566 County Road G Beaver Dam, WI 53916

T. Randall Fortenbery Dept. of Agricultural & Applied Economics University of Wisconsin-Madison 427 Lorch Street Madison, WI 53706

Jeremy Goodfellow Sanimax 605 Bassett Street De Forest, WI 53532

Don Guay Dept. of Paper Science & Engineering University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point 2001 Fourth Avenue Stevens Point, WI 54481

Steve Loehr Kwik Trip, Inc. P.O. Box 2107 La Crosse, WI 54602-2107

Peter Taglia Clean Wisconsin 122 State Street, Suite 200 Madison, WI 53703-4333

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to: (1) evaluate the economic and environmental costs and benefits of domestically produced fuels derived from biomass; (2) review state and federal policies to promote the development of the industry and infrastructure for the production and distribution of such fuels; (3) recommend state policies to address any deficiencies in existing policies; and (4) recommend state policies to encourage minimum targets for ethanol-blended transportation fuel sales.

19 MEMBERS: 3 Senator, 3 Representatives, and 13 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: John Stolzenberg, Chief of Research Services and Larry Konopacki, Staff Attorney; and Tracey Young, Support Staff.