

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

## SCHOOL SAFETY

Senator John Lehman, **Chair** 708 Orchard Street Racine, WI 53405

Senator Luther Olsen 1023 Thomas Street Ripon, WI 54923

Vincent Flores Milwaukee Public Schools 5225 Vliet Street Milwaukee, WI 53208

Tom Grogan UW-Oshkosh 214 N. Yellowstone Drive Madison, WI 53705-2450

Gary Myrah Port Washington-Saukville School District 100 W. Monroe Street Port Washington, WI 53074-1267

Luke Valitchka Green Bay West High School 966 Shawano Avenue Green Bay, WI 54303-2999

Luis Yudice Madison Public Schools 23 Sturbridge Circle Madison, WI 53717 Representative Don Pridemore, **Vice Chair** 2277 Highway K Hartford, WI 53027

Representative Sondy Pope-Roberts 4793 Delmara Road Middleton, WI 53562

Betsy Georg Racine Unified School District 3237 Nicholson Road Franklin, WI 53126

Terry Milfred Weston School District 118 E. Miller Street Rio, WI 53960

Robert Rosch Arrowhead School Board W301N6737 Miranda Way Hartland, WI 53029

Laura Vernon Milwaukee Public Schools 3133 West Wisconsin Avenue, Apt C Milwaukee, WI 53208

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to review means by which school safety can be improved by examining the relationship between maintaining a safe and secure physical environment and fostering a safe and secure learning environment. The committee is directed to focus on best practices relating to school discipline, including suspension and expulsion, programs for disciplined students, creation and implementation of bullying prevention and other school conduct enforcement measures, and interagency coordination with mental health, law enforcement, and other relevant agencies. The committee may also review means by which information can be disseminated and assistance can be provided.

13 MEMBERS: 2 Senators, 2 Representatives, and 11 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Melissa Schmidt, Staff Attorney, and Russ Whitesel, Senior Staff Attorney; and Tracey Young, Support Staff.