State of Misconsin JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Co-Chairs MARY LAZICH Senator

JOAN BALLWEG Representative



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF Terry C. Anderson Director Laura D. Rose Deputy Director

TO: MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON LOCAL SERVICE CONSOLIDATION

FROM: Scott Grosz, Jessica Karls-Ruplinger, and Melissa Schmidt, Staff Attorneys

DATE: February 17, 2011

This letter is to notify you that the mail ballot submitted to your committee has been approved.

- 1. WLC: 0001/1, relating to county and municipal expenditures for emergency services, passed by a roll call vote of Ayes, 13 (Chair Zepnick; and Public Members Amesqua, Bilbao, Chamberlain, Cruse, Czarnezki, Dresang, Hartje, Heim, Hicklin, Mielke, Nicolini, and O'Loughlin); Noes, 3 (Rep. Stone; and Public Members Abelson and Woodzicka); and Not Voting, 1 (Rep. Pocan).
- 2. WLC: 0002/1, relating to different property tax levy rates for parts of cities, villages, towns, counties, and school districts added by attachments to school districts, consolidations, and boundary changes under cooperative agreements (first consideration), passed by a roll call vote of Ayes, 15 (Chair Zepnick and Representative Stone; and Public Members Amesqua, Bilbao, Chamberlain, Cruse, Czarnezki, Dresang, Hartje, Heim, Hicklin, Mielke, Nicolini, O'Loughlin, and Woodzicka); Noes, 1 (Public Member Abelson); and Not Voting, 1 (Rep. Pocan).
- 3. WLC: 0004/2, relating to loans to study or implement the consolidation, or cooperation for the provision, of local governmental unit services or the consolidation of local governmental units, and granting rule-making authority, passed by a roll call vote of Ayes, 14 (Chair Zepnick and Representative Stone; and Public Members Amesqua, Bilbao, Chamberlain, Cruse, Czarnezki, Dresang, Hartje, Heim, Mielke, Nicolini, O'Loughlin, and Woodzicka); Noes, 2 (Public Members Abelson and Hicklin); and Not Voting, 1 (Rep. Pocan).
- 4. WLC: 0075/1, relating to exceptions to county and municipal levy limits and school district revenue limits for expenditures related to the implementation of service consolidation or cooperation, or to the implementation of political subdivision or

school district consolidation, passed by a roll call vote of Ayes, 14 (Chair Zepnick; and Public Members Amesqua, Bilbao, Chamberlain, Cruse, Czarnezki, Dresang, Hartje, Heim, Hicklin, Mielke, Nicolini, O'Loughlin, and Woodzicka); Noes, 2 (Representative Stone and Public Member Abelson); and Not Voting, 1 (Rep. Pocan).

You will be notified when the Joint Legislative Council schedules a meeting to receive the report of your committee.

SG:JKR:MS:ksm