

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

REVIEW OF SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE AWARDS IN DIVORCE PROCEEDINGS

Representative Tony Staskunas, **Chair** 2010 South 103rd Court West Allis, WI 53227

Representative Joel Kleefisch W357 N6189 Spinnaker Drive Oconomowoc, WI 53066

Jeff Plale 1404 18th Avenue South Milwaukee, WI 53172

Judith Budny Poulos, Sengstock, Budny & Ludwig, S.C. 10150 W. National Avenue #390 West Allis, WI 53227-2145

Dr. Malcolm Keith Hatfield 6937 Brook Road Franksville, WI 53126

Marsha Mansfield, Director Economic Justice Institute, UW-Madison 975 Bascom Mall Madison, WI 53706

Robert Mawdsley 515 W. Moreland Boulevard Waukesha, WI 53188-2428

Judge William Pocan Milwaukee County Courthouse 901 North Ninth Street Milwaukee, WI 53233

Kenneth Seubert 1515 W. 4th Street Marshfield, WI 54449 Representative Amy Sue Vruwink, **Vice-Chair** 9425 Flower Lane Milladore, WI 54454

Senator Luther Olsen 1023 Thomas Street Ripon, WI 54971

Michael J. Bruch, Family Court Commissioner Courthouse, Room 707 901 North Ninth Street Milwaukee, WI 53233

Tom Grogan 214 N. Yellowstone Drive Madison, WI 53705-2450

Korey C. Lundin Legal Action of Wisconsin 31 South Mills Street Madison, WI 53715

Andrew Matznick 9533 County Road C Newton, WI 53063

Dan Pence 3311 1st South Street Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

Jared Potter Stafford Rosenbaum, LLP 325 North Corporate Drive, Suite 190 Brookfield, WI 53045

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to study: (a) the purpose and goals of awarding maintenance; (b) making application of the maintenance considerations given in s. 767.56, Stats., more uniform and predictable; (c) whether the statutes should provide guidance to the courts relating to amount and duration of a maintenance award; (d) whether cohabitation should be considered when revising maintenance orders under s. 767.59, Stats.; and (e) whether marital fault should be considered when determining a maintenance award.

17 MEMBERS: 1 Senators; 3 Representatives; and 13 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Don Salm, Senior Staff Attorney; Margit Kelley and Chadwick Brown, Staff Attorneys; and Tracey Young, Support Staff.