

Training Standards for Public Safety Telecommunicators

A State Overview Presented to: Wisconsin Special Committee on 911 Communications August 16, 2012

Bob Currier, ENP
North Central Region Director
NENA Executive Board

Overview

- What Drives Standards
 - Citizen's Expectations
 - Professionalism
 - Media Scrutiny
- Professional Trade Associations
- Challenges In Implementation
 - Mandated Training
 - No Funding
 - What is Gained?
- A Look Across the Country



Training Requirements



States with Standards

- Alaska
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Indiana
- lowa
- Kentucky
- Maine
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Mississippi

- Missouri
- Montana
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- South Carolina
- Tennessee
- Texas
- West Virginia
- Wyoming



Emergency Medical DispatchTraining Required

- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Indiana
- Maine
- Massachusetts

- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- Pennsylvania
- Tennessee



Voluntary Training

- Arkansas
 - Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy
- California
 - Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
- Ohio
 - Recommendations,
 - 8-hours continuing education every 2 years



Selected State Requirements



Indiana

- Emergency Medical Dispatch Training
- Meet or exceed NHSTA Guidelines
- Required for any T/C that handles medical calls



Iowa

- 40-hour basic training course
- Eight hours annual in-service training
- Iowa Law Enforcement Academy



Michigan

- Administered by State 9-1-1 Committee
 - State 9-1-1 Administrator's Office
- Employed for 12 months prior to rules, exempt
- New Hires
 - 40-hour Basic Telecommunicator Training (module 1)
 - 8-hours in each of these subjects (module 2)
 - ✓ Domestic Violence
 - ✓ Suicide intervention
 - ✓ 9-1-1 Liability
 - √ Stress management
 - ✓ Homeland security elective
- Continuing Education
 - 24-hours every 2 years



Kentucky

- Dept. of Criminal Justice and Training
- 160 hours of training
- Telecommunications Academy
 - Basic 175 hour course to meet requirements



Massachusetts

- New Telecommunicators
 - Required two-day training
 - 40-hours of approved basic training
 - 16-hours of approved annual continuing education
- Existing Telecommunicators
 - 16-hours of approved annual continuing education
- Administered by State 9-1-1 Department



New Jersey

- Office of Emergency Telecommunications
- 40-hour basic communications course
- 32-hour Emergency Medical Dispatch training
- 8-hour CPR certification



Tennessee

- Tennessee Emergency Communications Board
- 40-hours course work
- 40-hours supervised on-the-job training
- 8-hours continuing educations every 2 years
- Emergency Medical Dispatch Training required



Texas

- Statute sets hiring requirements
- 40-hours Telecommunicator Course
 - Within one (1) year of hire
- 24-hour Crisis Communications Course
 - Within one (1) year of hire
- TX Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Education (TCLOSE)



Observations



Coordination v. Control

- State Wide 9-1-1 Program Office
 - State control of all aspects
- State 9-1-1 Administrator
 - State "coordination & guidance"
 - Local 9-1-1 Authority (county, etc.)
- Local Program and Control



Benefits of Coordination

- Central Point, Single Point of Contact
- Certification of
 - Training Programs
 - Training Delivery Providers
- Coordination and Tracking of Funding
- Technology Guidance



Contact Information

Bob Currier, ENP
North Central Region Director
NENA Executive Board
(810) 388-1911
bob.currier@intrado.com

