

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON IMPROVING EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES IN HIGH SCHOOL

(Senator Luther Olsen, Chair, and Representative Paul Farrow, Vice-Chair)

October 24, 2012

Room 411 South State Capitol Madison, WI

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE'S SEPTEMBER 13, 2012 MEETING.

10:10 a.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS ON CORE ABILITIES:

- Mary Diez, Professor of Education and Dean of the School of Education, Alverno College.
- Patricia Hoben, Principal, Carmen High School of Science and Technology.

10:50 a.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS ON EXPLORE PLAN ACT:

- Len Mormino, School Counselor, James Madison Memorial High School.
- Miles Tokheim, Career and Technical Education Coordinator, Madison Metropolitan School District.
- Erica Kruger, Program Support Counselor, Madison Metropolitan School District.
- Paul Brost, Principal, Monona Grove High School.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="mailto:leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/legis.sta

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

- Andrew Briddell, Director of Instruction, Monona Grove School District.
- Nicole North Hester, Science Teacher/Instructional Coach, Monona Grove High School.
- 11:50 a.m. LUNCH BREAK.
- 12:15 p.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS ON NEW REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS:
 - Joe Garza, Superintendent, New Berlin School District.
 - Dr. Eileen Depka, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, New Berlin School District.
 - Mary Washbush, Director of Teaching and Learning, New Berlin School District.
 - Michelle Schwab, Director of Educator Effectiveness, New Berlin School District.
 - Larry Lueck, Director of Learning Technology, New Berlin School District.
 - Joan Paque, Chief Academic Officer, New Berlin School District.
- 1:15 p.m. COMMITTEE DISCUSSION ON MEMO NO. 1, ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION BY THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE, AND OTHER OPTIONS FOR FURTHER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE.
- 2:55 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.
- 3:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Cullen and Grothman; Rep. Pope-Roberts; and Public Members Burgin, Fitzpatrick, Garza, Hein, Hoben, Hughes, Kaiser, Kelley, Leef, Monday, Muir, Neudecker, Ruhland, and Tyler.