

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON PERMANENCY FOR YOUNG CHILDREN IN THE CHILD WELFARE SYSTEM

Representative Samantha Kerkman, Chair Senator Mary Lazich, Vice-Chair

June 27, 2012

Room 412 East, State Capitol

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Senator Mary Lazich and Representative Joan Ballweg, Co-Chairs, Joint Legislative Council.
- Terry C. Anderson, Director, Legislative Council Staff.
- Representative Samantha Kerkman, Chair.

10:30 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

10:40 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIAL DISTRIBUTED:

- Staff Brief 2012-01, Permanency for Children in the Child Welfare System (June 20, 2012).
- Memo No. 1, Wisconsin Department of Children and Families (DCF) Annual Report for Children in Out-of-Home Care (June 19, 2012).

11:00 a.m. PRESENTATION ON OVERVIEW OF OUT-OF-HOME CARE BY DCF:

• MaryAnn Lippert, Executive Assistant.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="mailto:leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lcgis.sta

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

Fredi-Ellen Bove, Division Administrator, Division of Safety and Permanence.

12:30 p.m. LUNCH.

1:15 p.m. PRESENTATION ON CURRENT DCF INITIATIVES FOR IMPROVING PERMANENCE BY DCF:

• Fredi-Ellen Bove, Division Administrator, Division of Safety and Permanence.

1:30 p.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED COUNTY CASEWORKERS AND SUPERVISORS:

- Vicki Tylka, Marathon County Social Services Director; President, Wisconsin County Human Services Association (WCHSA).
- Ray Przybelski, Portage County Human Services Director; Co-Chair, WCHSA Children, Youth and Families Policy Advisory Committee.
- Mark Mertens, Outagamie County Youth and Family Services Division Manager; Co-Chair, WCHSA Children, Youth and Families Policy Advisory Committee.

2:30 p.m. PRESENTATION ON CHILD WELFARE SERVICE DELIVERY THROUGH THE BUREAU OF MILWAUKEE CHILD WELFARE BY DCF:

- Fredi-Ellen Bove, Division Administrator, Division of Safety and Permanence.
- Arlene Hapach, Bureau Director, Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare.

2:45 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.

3:55 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.

4:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Billings and Grigsby; and Public Members Ellingson, Foley, Gumz, Herbst, Jasmer, Leoso-Corbine, Maki, Murphy, Neeson, Othrow, Rogers, Snead, and Sowinski.