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Expedited Permanency and Termination of Parental Rights and Other Related Issues
July 2012
Minnesota

Minnesota law was originally revised in 1998 to conform to the Adoption and Safe Families Act of
1997, a final report of the Minnesota Supreme Court Foster Care and Adoption Task Force and a
program evaluation of CPS conducted by the Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor, January
1998. Related provisions:

e For a child under 8 years of age at the time a petition is filed, a hearing to determine the
permanent status of the child must now be conducted no later than 6 months after the child
was placed out of home.

e In addition, for the child under 8, the court is now authorized to enter a disposition order on the
same day it makes a CHIPS finding, but no more than 10 days thereafter unless it is in the
best interests of the child.

e For a child under age 8, the court can order the local social service agency to show cause why
it should not file a termination of parent rights petition.

e For children over age 8, a hearing to determine the permanency status of the child must still
be held within 12 months; the time is calculated as an accumulated total of months in out-of-
home placement. Other timeframes were shortened.

As of 2012, Minnesota Statutes, Sec. 260C.201, subd 11a

Section 15: Requires the court to conduct a permanency progress review after the child has been in
foster care for six months. A review would be required for all children, not just children less than eight
years old. Factors to be considered by the court are expanded and notice provisions are included.
The time for holding a trial in certain petitions is modified.

2012 provisions enacted to cover all children to make rules consistent.

Also strengthened permanency work, such as relative search and reasonable efforts to reunify
children. Work was done due to large number of older children in care for long periods of time and
due to the disproportionate representation of African-American children in the child welfare system.
Moving practices forward; still comply with ASFA 12 month reviews.

Counties: Some counties focus on younger children with more frequent, sometimes monthly reviews.

Done in conjunction with Children’s Justice Initiative.
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Pennsylvania Children’s Fast Track (CFT)

In an effort to expedite appeals involving dependent children, effective March 16, 2009, the
Pennsylvania Superior Court implemented new appellate rules governing custody, adoption,
termination of parental rights, paternity and dependency cases.

Pennsylvania 3-5-7 Model — The Pennsylvania Office of Children and Families in the Courts
combines Family Group Decision-Making and Family Finding.

Pennsylvania Three Month Court Reviews: Regulations require only six month reviews. The
reviews serve as an important reminder to parents seeking reunification that their case will be before
the judge within three months, and that the judge will hold the parents accountable in reaching the
goals set-forth in their family service plan. Additionally, the court holds the Agency accountable to
provide services in a prompt and efficient manner, and to monitor the parent's compliance with those
services.

Some counties converted all dependency out of home cases to three month court reviews
immediately. Some review cases even more often. Others identified a sub-section of children currently
out of home placements with which to begin implementation.

Pennsylvania Local Roundtables — Partnership between the Executive and Judicial Branches -
Each county that participates in the PPl is obligated to have a local children's roundtable to oversee
the initiative. The LCR is convened by the county dependency judge, and is comprised of relevant
stakeholders in the dependency system including but not limited to children and youth administrators;
county commissioners; hearing masters; Guardians ad Litem; parent attorneys; agency solicitors;
Court Appointed Special Advocates; school districts; drug and alcohol and mental health
professionals; families; county children and youth staff; juvenile probation staff; police departments;
service providers and other relevant stakeholders. The LCRs meet on a regular basis, usually
monthly, to share best or promising practices, address areas of concern within the county's
dependency system and make plans to overcome barriers to timely permanency for children in their
judicial district.

Colorado Expedited Permanency Planning Program

Arapahoe County:The Home Base/Expedited Permanency Planning Unit is intensive, in-home
treatment focused on serving families where the primary issue is children under six being in out-of-
home placement or at risk for placement.

HB1178 was passed in 1994 with the expectation that children under six years of age who had to be
removed from their homes due to abuse or neglect issues could be in a permanent home within 12
months if certain key factors were addressed.

Resources provided will include:

» Core Services e Concurrent Planning/Permanency

o Shared Family Care Planning with families

¢ Parent Education e Kinship Care

e Family Group Decision Making o Staff Training

« Mediation « Psychological Services
 Wraparound Services

Mesa County: Designed for children ages 0-6 years who have been placed in foster or kinship care
due to abuse or neglect. The initial permanency goal for children in out of home placement is
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reunification with birth parents. Concurrent planning is the case management approach that is
utilized in these cases and is intended to provide an alternative permanent plan for the child in the
event the child is unable to return home.

» Families who want to adopt through MCDHS are called permanency planning families. They
are expected to support efforts toward reunification while at the same time are willing to make
a lifelong commitment to the child should reunification not occur.

e Permanency families are willing to adopt the child if and when termination of parental rights
occurs. They are prepared to transport a child to visits with birth family, medical or therapeutic
appointments and are active participants in various staffing that could potentially involve
contact with birth parents. Without permanency families many children might wait indefinitely
for a family willing to provide a permanent, loving home.

Court Hearings for the Permanent Placement of Children:

ASFA requires that the status of each child in out-of-home care be reviewed at least once every 6
months by either a court or an administrative review.1 All States, the District of Columbia, American
Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands require case
reviews in either statute or regulation for children placed in out-of-home care.

In addition, under ASFA, a permanency planning hearing must be held within 12 months of the date
the child entered care, and then every 12 months thereafter, to review and approve the permanency
plan for the child.zIf a determination is made by the court that “reasonable efforts” to reunite the child
with a parent are not required, a permanency planning hearing must be held within 30 days.: This
generally occurs because grounds exist for the filing of a petition to terminate parental rights.s
Permanency hearings are required in the statutes of all States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto
Rico.

Arizona

Schedule of Hearings Citation: Rev. Stat. §§ 8-847; 8-862

After the disposition hearing, the court shall hold periodic review hearings at least once every 6

months as required by Federal law.

The court shall hold a permanency hearing to determine the future permanent legal status of the child:
Within 30 days after the disposition hearing if the court does not order reunification services
Within 6 months after a child who is under age 3 is removed from the child’s home
In all other cases, within 12 months after the child is removed from the child's home

If the court determines that the child should remain in out-of-home placement longer than 18 months
from the date of the permanency order, the court shall conduct a review of the order at least once
each year. After reviewing the order, the court may reaffirm the order or direct other disposition of the
child.

Utah
Schedule of Hearings Citation: Ann. Code §§ 78A-6-312; 78A-6-313; 78A-6-314
If reunification efforts have been ordered by the court, a hearing shall be held no more than 6 months
after initial removal of a child from his or her home. A permanency hearing shall be held:
No later than 12 months after the original removal of the minor when reunification services

have been ordered
Within 30 days from the date of the dispositional hearing if reunification services were not

ordered at the dispositional hearing

20



With regard to a child who is 36 months old or younger at the time he or she is initially removed from
the home, the court shall:
Hold a permanency hearing 8 months after the date of the initial removal
Order discontinuance of reunification services after 8 months from the initial removal of the
child from the home if the parents have not made substantial efforts to comply with the child
and family plan
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