

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## **AGENDA**

## SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON REPORTING OF CHILD ABUSE AND CHILD NEGLECT

Senator Alberta Darling, Chair Senator Jennifer Shilling, Vice-Chair

September 6, 2012

Room 411 South State Capitol Madison, WI

10:00 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE JULY 12, 2012 MEETING.

10:10 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED.

10:15 a.m. INFORMATIONAL FOLLOW-UP FROM THE JULY 12, 2012 MEETING BY THE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES:

- Fredi-Ellen Bove, Administrator of the Division of Safety and Permanence.
- 10:45 a.m. PRESENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES ON THE BUREAU OF MILWAUKEE CHILD WELFARE:
  - Fredi-Ellen Bove, Administrator of the Division of Safety and Permanence.
- 11:15 a.m. PRESENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION:
  - Nic Dibble, LSSW, CISW, Education Consultant, School Social Work Services.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="mailto:leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lc">leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lc</a> http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

- 11:45 a.m. PRESENTATION ON 2011 WISCONSIN ACT 81, MANDATORY REPORTERS, AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS:
  - Wendy Volz Daniels, MSW, LCSW, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Social Work Field Program, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

12:15 p.m. BREAK.

1:00 p.m. PANEL OF COUNTY STAFF:

- Nancy Pohlman, M.S.S.W., Manager, Family and Children's Services, La Crosse County Human Services.
- Hazel Coppernoll, Child Protective Services Supervisor, Sauk County Human Services.
- Lee Salzmann, Human Services Supervisor Access/Initial Assessment, Waukesha County, Department of Health and Human Services.
- Sarah Vargas, Lead Social Worker, Waukesha County Department of Health and Human Services.
- 2:00 p.m. DISCUSSION OF MEMO NO. 2, OPTIONS FOR COMMITTEE DISCUSSION, AND THE COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 3:00 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.
- 3:15 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Berceau and Thiesfeldt; and Public Members Dreyfus, Iniguez, Kucharski, Orth, Plum, Schmidtknecht, Sheets, and Triggiano.