

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

### **AGENDA**

# SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON REVIEW OF EMERGENCY DETENTION AND ADMISSION OF MINORS UNDER CHAPTER 51

(Representative Sandy Pasch, Chair and Senator Dave Hansen, Vice-Chair)

October 4, 2010

Medical College of Wisconsin Alumni Center Room 8701 Watertown Plank Road Milwaukee, WI

- 10:00 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL; APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE AUGUST 31, 2010 MEETING.
- 10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS BY REPRESENTATIVE SANDY PASCH AND DR. JOHN RAYMOND, PRESIDENT, MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN; AND INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.
- 10:15 a.m. MILWAUKEE MENTAL HEALTH REDESIGN PROJECT:
  - Rob Henken, President, Public Policy Forum.
- 10:45 a.m. EMERGENCY DETENTION PROCEDURES—PROVIDER PERSPECTIVE:
  - Dr. Roderick Brodhead, emergency room physician, Ministry Health.
  - Dr. Tony Marchlewski, psychiatrist, Bellin Health.

#### 11:15 a.m. CONSUMERS/ADVOCATES:

- Denise Johnson, Project Coordinator, AODA services for the deaf/hard of hearing, Independence First.
- Lisa Clay Foley, Disability Rights Wisconsin.
- Cathy Kunze, mental health advocate.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="mailto:leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/legis.sta

\*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

# 11:45 a.m. CHAPTER 51 ISSUES IN MILWAUKEE COUNTY AND FINDINGS OF THE ALZHEIMERS ASSOCIATION'S CHALLENGING BEHAVIORS TASKFORCE:

- Dennis G. Purtell, Attorney Manager, Mental Health Unit, State Public Defender.
- Tom Hlavacek, Executive Director, Alzheimers Association of Southeastern Wisconsin.
- Kathleen Pritchard, Ph.D., Executive Director, Planning Council for Health and Human Services, Inc.

#### 12:15 p.m. IMPACT OF *DELORES M*. DECISION/TREATMENT DIRECTOR STATEMENTS:

- Jim Kubicek, Director of Crisis Services, Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division.
- Lee Jones, Milwaukee Corporation Counsel.
- 12:45 p.m. BREAK FOR LUNCH.
- 1:30 p.m. PUBLIC TESTIMONY.
- 4:30 p.m. CLOSING REMARKS AND PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 4:45 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Hraychuck and Parisi; and Public Members Bachhuber, Berlin, Kerschensteiner, Kerwin, Kiefer, Koeppl, Moses, Shoup, Strebe, Wesley, and Yerkes.