CH51: Emergency Detention and Commitment WLC: 0073/1

RNS:wu;... 3/21/2011

AN ACT to repeal51.20 (13) (g) 2. and 51.20 (13) (g) 2m.; amcdmend51.15 (1) (a)
(intro.), 51.15 (1) (a) 3., 51.15 (1) (a) 4., 51.15 (2), 51.15 (4) (a), 51.15 (4) (b), 51.15
(5), 51.20 (1) (a) 1., 51.20 (1) (@) 2. c., 51.20 (2) (b), 51.20 (2) (d), 51.20 (7) (a),
51.20 (8) (b), 51.20 (8) (bm) and (br) and 905.04 (4) (a) of the statelkatng to:
emergency detention, involuntary commitment, and privileged communications and

information.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as
follows:

JoINT LEGIsLATIVE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE: This bill was prepared
for the Joint Legislative Council’s Special Committee on Review of
Emergency Detention and Admission of Minors Under Chapter 51.

The bill makes the following changes to Wisconsin laws dealing with
emergency detention, involuntary commitment, and privilege
communications and information:

1. Current law allows a law enforcement officer or other specified
persons to take a person into custody on an emergency detention basis if
certain criteria are met. In addition, current law provides that this may
occur if the county department of community programs approves the
need for detention. The bill modifies both of those statutes to include a
determination “...that detention is the least restrictive alternative because
the individual is resistant to professional help or too high risk to be
safely assisted on a voluntary basis...”.

2. Current law provides standards for emergency detention and
involuntary commitment. The 3rd standard of dangerousness allows for
commitment if there is a substantial probability of physical impairment
or injury to himself or herself due to impaired judgment. The bill
modifies this language to also include a substantial probability of
physical impairment or injury to others.

3. The bill modifies the 4th standard of dangerousness for emergency
detention to delete references to “drug dependency” to be consistent with
the current 4th standard of dangerousness for purposes of involuntary
commitment.
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4. Under current law, emergency detention may occur in a hospital
approved by the department of health services as a detention facility or
under contract with the county department, an approved public treatment
facility, a center for the developmentally disabled, a state treatment
facility, or an approved private treatment facility if the facility agrees to
detain the individual. The bill modifies this to include only an approved
treatment facility, if the facility agrees to detain the individual, or a state
treatment facility.

5. Current law provides somewhat different procedures for emergency
detention in counties with a population of 500,000 or more and those
with a population of less than 500,000. The bill increases the population
threshold to 750,000.

6. Current law in counties with a population of 500,000 or more requires

that the treatment director of the facility in which the person is detained,

or his or her designee, must determine within 24 hours whether the
person is to be detained. If the individual is detained, the treatment
director or designee may supplement in writing the statement filed by the
law enforcement officer or other person undertaking the emergency

detention. The bill modifies this statute to provide an exception to the

requirement to make a determination within 24 hours if the treatment

director or designee finds that he or she is unable to make this
determination because the detained individual is comatose or otherwise
physically or mentally incapable of being evaluated.

7. For a person who is detained, current law requires that a hearing be
held within 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays.
Current law allows this to be extended at the request of the detained
individual or his or her counsel, but in no case may postponement exceed
7 days from the date of detention. The bill provides 2 additional
circumstances in which a postponement may be granted. Under the first
circumstance, if the individual is in a facility and the director of the
facility or designee determines that the individual cannot be safely
moved, and if the individual or his or her attorney objects to holding the
hearing at that facility (which is permitted under current law), the court
may postpone the hearing. In the 2nd circumstance, if the individual is
comatose or, in the opinion of the director of the facility or designee,
otherwise physically or mentally incapable of being evaluated or
participating in the hearing, the court may postpone the hearing. In
either of these circumstances, the postponement may not exceed 7 days
from the date of detention.

8. Current law provides that involuntary commitment under the 4th and
5th standards of dangerousness apply only to persons who are mentally
ill. However, while the introductory language to the standards states that
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the 5th standard applies only to the mentally ill, it fails to state that the
4th standard applies only to the mentally ill. The bill corrects that
provision.

9. Generally, current law provides that the first order of involuntary
commitment is for up to 6 months, and all subsequent consecutive orders
of commitment are for up to one year. However, current law provides
that commitments that are based on the 4th standard of dangerousness
may not continue longer than 45 days in any 365—day period. The bill
eliminates that provision with respect to persons committed under the
4th standard of dangerousness.

10. Current law provides that an involuntary commitment of an inmate
in a state prison or county jail or house of correction ends on the
inmate’s date of release on parole or extended supervision. The bill
repeals this provision.

11. Current law provides that a patient has a privilege to refuse to
disclose and to prevent any other person from disclosing confidential
communications made or information obtained or disseminated for
purposes of diagnosis or treatment of the patient’s physical, mental, or
emotional condition, among the patient and various specified health care
providers, including physicians, psychologists, social workers, marriage
and family therapists, and professional counselors. Current law also
provides that there is no privilege for communications and information
relevant to an issue in proceedings to hospitalize the patient for mental
illness or various other types of proceedings. The bill modifies this
exception to the privilege statute to substitute “commitment” for
“hospitalization” and to refer to “probable cause or final proceedings” to
commit the patient for mental illness under s. 51.20.

SectionN 1. 51.15 (1) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(1) (a) (intro.) A law enforcement officer or other person authorized to take a child
into custody under ch. 48 or to take a juvenile into custody under ch. 938 may take an
individual into custody if the officer or person has cause to believe that the individual is

mentally ill, is drug dependent, or is developmentally disabled, that detention is the least

restrictive alternative because the individual is resistant to professional help or too high risk

to be safely assisted on a voluntary basisl that the individual evidences any of the

following:
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SecTioN 2. 51.15 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(1) (a) 3. A substantial probability of physical impairment or injury to himself
or herself or otherdue to impaired judgment, as manifested by evidence of a recent act or
omission. The probability of physical impairment or injury is not substantial under this
subdivision if reasonable provision for the individual’s protection is available in the
community and there is a reasonable probability that the individual will avail himself or
herself of these services or, in the case of a minor, if the individual is appropriate for services
or placement under s. 48.13 (4) or (11) or 938.13 (4). Food, shelter or other care provided to
an individual who is substantially incapable of obtaining the care for himself or herself, by any
person other than a treatment facility, does not constitute reasonable provision for the
individual’s protection available in the community under this subdivision.

SecTioN 3. 51.15 (1) (a) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(1) (a) 4. Behavior manifested by a recent act or omission that, due to mental
iliness-ordrug-dependencye or she is unable to satisfy basic needs for nourishment, medical
care, shelter, or safety without prompt and adequate treatment so that a substantial probability
exists that death, serious physical injury, serious physical debilitation, or serious physical
disease will imminently ensue unless the individual receives prompt and adequate treatment
for this mental illness or drug dependency. No substantial probability of harm under this
subdivision exists if reasonable provision for the individual's treatment and protection is
available in the community and there is a reasonable probability that the individual will avalil
himself or herself of these services, if the individual may be provided protective placement
or protective services under ch. 55, or, in the case of a minor, if the individual is appropriate
for services or placement under s. 48.13 (4) or (11) or 938.13 (4). The individual’s status as

a minor does not automatically establish a substantial probability of death, serious physical
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injury, serious physical debilitation or serious disease under this subdivision. Food, shelter
or other care provided to an individual who is substantially incapable of providing the care for
himself orherself, by any person other than a treatment facility, does not constitute reasonable
provision for the individual’s treatment or protection available in the community under this
subdivision.

SecTioN 4. 51.15 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(2) FaciLITIES FOR DETENTION. The law enforcement officer or other person
authorized to take a child into custody under ch. 48 or to take a juvenile into custody under
ch. 938 shall transport the individual, or cause him or her to be transported, for detention, if
the county department of community programs in the county in which the individual was taken

into custody approves the need for detention and determines that detention is the least

restrictive alternative because the individual is resistant to professional help or too high risk

to be safely assisted on a voluntary haared for evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment if

permitted under sub. (8)-to-any-of the following-facilities:

(b)-A-center-for the developmentally disabled;

(c)-A state treatment facility; or
(d)-An Detention may be only in aapproved-privatéreatment facility, if the facility

agrees to detain the individual, or in a state treatment facility

SecTioN 5. 51.15 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(4) (a) In counties having a population-of-500,0(D,0000r more, the law

enforcement officer or other person authorized to take a child into custody under ch. 48 or to
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take guvenile into custody under ch. 938 shall sign a statement of emergency detention which
shall provide detailed specific information concerning the recent overt act, attempt, or threat
to act or omission on which the belief under sub. (1) is based and the names of the persons
observing or reporting the recent overt act, attempt, or threat to act or omission. The law
enforcement officer or other person is not required to designate in the statement whether the
subject individual is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or drug dependent, but shall
allege that he or she has cause to believe that the individual evidences one or more of these
conditions. The law enforcement officer or other person shall deliver, or cause to be delivered,
the statement to the detention facility upon the delivery of the individual to it.

SecTioN 6. 51.15 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(4) (b) Upon delivery of the individual, the treatment director of the facility, or
his or her designee, shall determine within 24 hours whether the individual shall be detained,
or shall be detained, evaluated, diagnosed and treated, if evaluation, diagnosis and treatment

are permitted under sub. (8);-amuess the treatment director or designee finds that he or she

is unable to make this determination because the individual is comatose or otherwise

physically or mentally incapable of being evaluated. The faaligll either release the

individual or detain him or her for a period not to exceed 72 hours after delivery of the
individual, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays, except as provideH20s.

(7) (a) If the treatment director, or his or her designee, determines that the individual is not
eligible for commitment under s. 51.20 (1) (a), the treatment director shall release the
individual immediately, unless otherwise authorized by law. If the individual is detained, the
treatment director or his or her designee may supplement in writing the statement filed by the
law enforcement officer or other person, and shall designate whether the subject individual

is believed to be mentally ill, developmentally disabled or drug dependent, if no designation
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was made by the law enforcement officer or other person. The director or designee may also
include other specific information concerning his or her belief that the individual meets the
standard for commitment. The treatment director or designee shall then promptly file the
original statement together with any supplemental statement and notification of detention with
the court having probate jurisdiction in the county in which the individual was taken into
custody. The filing of the statement and notification has the same effect as a petition for
commitment under s. 51.20.

SecTioN 7. 51.15 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.15(5) DETENTION PROCEDUREOTHER COUNTIES. In counties having a population of

less than-500,00050,000 the law enforcement officer or other person authorized to take a

child into custody under ch. 48 or to take a juvenile into custody under ch. 938 shall sign a
statement oémergency detention that shall provide detailed specific information concerning
the recent overt act, attempt, or threat to act or omission on which the belief under sub. (1) is
based and the names of persons observing or reporting the recent overt act, attempt, or threat
to act or omission. The law enforcement officer or other person is not required to designate
in the statement whether the subject individual is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or
drugdependent, but shall allege that he or she has cause to believe that the individual evidences
one or more of these conditions. The statement of emergency detention shall be filed by the
officer or other person with the detention facility at the time of admission, and with the court
immediately thereafter. The filing of the statement has the same effect as a petition for
commitment under s. 51.20. When, upon the advice of the treatment staff, the director of a
facility specified in sub. (2) determines that the grounds for detention no longer exist, he or
she shall discharge the individual detained under this section. Unless a hearing is held under

s. 51.20 (7) or 55.135, the subject individual may not be detained by the law enforcement
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officer orother person and the facility for more than a total of 72 hours, exclusive of Saturdays,

Sundays, and legal holidays, except as provided in s. 51.20.(7) (a)

SecTioN 8. 51.20 (1) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
51.20(1) (a) 1. The individual is mentally ill or, except as provided under subd. 2. d.
ande., drug dependent or developmentally disabled and is a proper subject for treatment.
SecTioN 9. 51.20 (1) (a) 2. c. of the statutes is amended to read:
51.20(1) (a) 2. c. Evidences such impaired judgment, manifested by evidence of a

pattern of recent acts or omissions, that there is a substantial probability of physical

impairment or injury to himself or herself or otherBhe probability of physical impairment

or injury is not substantial under this subd. 2. c. if reasonable provision for the subject
individual’s protection is available in the community and there is a reasonable probability that
the individual will avail himself or herself of these services, if the individual may be provided
protective placement or protective services under ch. 55, or, in the case of a minor, if the
individual is appropriate for services or placement under s. 48.13 (4) or (11) or 938.13 (4).
The subject individual’s status as a minor does not automatically establish a substantial
probability of physical impairment or injury under this subd. 2. c. Food, shelter or other care
provided to an individual who is substantially incapable of obtaining the care for himself or
herself, by a person other than a treatment facility, does not constitute reasonable provision
for the subject individual’s protection available in the community under this subd. 2. c.

SecTioN 10. 51.20 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.20(2) (b) If the subject individual is to be detained, a law enforcement officer shall
present the subject individual with a notice of hearing, a copy of the petition and detention
order and a written statement of the individual’s right to an attorney, a jury trial if requested

more than 48 hours prior to the final hearing, the standard upon which he or she may be
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committed under this section and the right to a hearing to determine probable cause for
commitment within 72 hours after the individual arrives at the facility, excluding Saturdays,

Sundaysnd legal holidays, except as provided in sub. (7)Tag oficer shall orally inform

the individual that he or she is being taken into custody as the result of a petition and detention
order issued under this chapter. If the individual is not to be detained, the law enforcement
officer shall serve these documents on the subject individual and shall also orally inform the
individual of these rights. The individual who is the subject of the petition, his or her counsel
and, if the individual is a minor, his or her parent or guardian, if known, shall receive notice
of all proceedings under this section. The court may also designate other persons to receive
notices othearings and rights under this chapter. Any such notice may be given by telephone.
The person giving telephone notice shall place in the case file a signed statement of the time
notice was given and the person to whom he or she spoke. The notice of time and place of a
hearingshall be served personally on the subject of the petition, and his or her attorney, within

a reasonable time prior to the hearing to determine probable cause for commitment.

SecTioN 11. 51.20 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

51.20(2) (d) Placement shall be made-in-a-hospital-thatis-approved-by the department

private treatment facilityjf the facility agrees to detain the subject individual, or in a state

treatment facility Upon arrival at the facility, the individual is considered to be in the custody

of the facility.

SecTioN 12. 51.20 (7) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
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51.20(7) (a) After the filing of the petition under sub. (1), if the subject individual is
detainedunder s. 51.15 or this section the court shall hold a hearing to determine whether there
is probable cause to believe the allegations made under sub. (1) (a) within 72 hours after the
individual arrives at the facility, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. At the
request of the subject individual or his or her counsel the hearing may be postponed, but in

no case may the postponement exceed 7 days from the date of detention. If the individual is

in a facility and the director of the facility or his or her designee determines that the individual

cannot be safely moved, and if the individual or his or her attorney objects under sub. (5) to

holding ahearing under this subsection at that facility, the court may postpone the hearing, but

in No case may the postponement exceed 7 days from the date of detention. If the individual

is comatose or, in the opinion of the director of the facility or his or her designee, otherwise

physically or mentally incapable of being evaluated or participating in the hearing under this

subsection, the court may postpone the hearing, but in no case may the postponement exceed

7 days from the date of detention.

NoTe: The reference to sub. (5) is to s. 51.20 (5), which states as
follows:

“51.20 (5) HEARING REQUIREMENTS. The hearings which are required to

be held under this chapter shall conform to the essentials of due process
and fair treatment including the right to an open hearing, the right to
request a closed hearing, the right to counsel, the right to present and
cross—examine witnesses, the right to remain silent and the right to a jury
trial if requested under sub. (11). The parent or guardian of a minor who
is the subject of a hearing shall have the right to participate in the
hearing and to be represented by counsel. All proceedings under this
chapter shall be reported as provided in SCR 71.08e court may
determine to hold a hearing under this section at the institution at
which the individual is detained, whether or not located in the same
county as the court with which the petition was filed, unless the
individual or his or her attorney objects”. [Emphasis added.]

SectioN 13. 51.20 (8) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
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51.20(8) (b) If the court finds the services provided under par. (a) are not available,
suitable, or desirable based on the condition of the individual, it may issue a detention order
and the subject individual may be detained pending the hearing as provided in sub. (7) (c).

Detention may be in-a

detention-facility or

requirements-of s.- 51.06 (3),-state-treatment facility,- anirapproved-privateeatment

facility if the facility agrees to detain the subject individual, or in a state treatment facility

SecTioN 14. 51.20 (8) (bm) and (br) of the statutes are amended to read:

51.20(8) (bm) If, within 90 days from the date of the waiver under par. (bg), the subject
individual fails to comply with the settlement agreement approved by the court under par. (bg),
the counsel designated under sub. (4) may file with the court a statement of the facts which
constitute the basis for the belief that the subject individual is not in compliance. The
statement shall be sworn to be true and may be based on the information and belief of the
person filing the statement. Upon receipt of the statement of noncompliance, the court may
issue an order to detain the subject individual pending the final disposition. If the subject
individual is detained under this paragraph, the court shall hold a probable cause hearing
within 72hours from the time of detention, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays,

except as provided in sub. (7) (@) if the probable cause hearing was held prior to the

approval otthe settlement agreement under par. (bg), the court shall hold a final hearing within
14 days from the time of detention. If a jury trial is requested later than 5 days after the time
of detention under this paragraph, but not less than 48 hours before the time of the final
hearing, the final hearing shall be held within 21 days from the time of detention. The facts

alleged as the basis for commitment prior to the waiver of the time periods for hearings under
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par. (bg) may be the basis for a finding of probable cause or a final disposition at a hearing
under this paragraph.

(br) Upon the motion of the subject individual, the court shall hold a hearing on the issue
of noncompliance with the settlement agreement within 72 hours from the time the motion for
a hearing under this paragraph is filed with the court, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal

holidays, except as provided in sub. (7) (&he hearing under this paragraph may be held as

part of the probable cause or final hearing if the probable cause or final hearing is held within
72 hours from the time the motion is filed with the court, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and

legal holidays, except as provided in sub. (7) @f)a hearing on the issue of noncompliance

with the agreement, the written statement of noncompliance submitted under par. (bm) shall

be prima facie evidence that a violation of the conditions of the agreement has occurred. If

the subject individual denies any of the facts as stated in the statement, he or she has the burden

of proving that the facts are false by a preponderance of the evidence.
SecTioN 15. 51.20 (13) (g) 2. of the statutes is repealed.

NoTe: Section 51.20 (13) (g) 2. applies to persons involuntarily
committed based on the 4th standard of dangerousness and states as
follows:

“51.20 (13) (g) 2. Any commitment ordered under par. (a) 3. to 5.,
following proof of the allegations under sub. (1) (a) 2. d., may not
continue longer than 45 days in any 365—-day period.”.

SecTioN 16. 51.20 (13) (g) 2m. of the statutes is repealed.

NoTe: Section 51.20 (13) (g) 2m. states as follows:

“51.20 (13) (g) 2m. In addition to the provisions under subds. 1. and 2.,
no commitment ordered under par. (a) 4. or 4m. may continue beyond
the inmate’s date of release on parole or extended supervision, as
determined under s. 302.11 or 302.113, whichever is applicable.”.

SecTioN 17. 905.04 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:



10
11

12

3/21/2011 13- WLC: 0073/1

905.04(4) (a) Proceedings for-hospitalizatiocommitmentguardianship, protective
services, or mtective placement or for control, care, or treatment of a sexually violent person.
There is n@orivilege under this rule as to communications and information relevant to an issue

in probable cause or fingroceedings to-hospitaliz’nmmit the patient for mental illness

under s. 51.20to appoint a guardian in this state, for court—ordered protective services or
protective placement, for review of guardianship, protective services, or protective placement
orders, or for control, care, or treatment of a sexually violent person under ch. 980, if the
physician, registered nurse, chiropractor, psychologist, social worker, marriage and family
therapist, oprofessional counselor in the course of diagnosis or treatment has determined that
the patient is in need of hospitalization, guardianship, protective services, or protective
placement or control, care, and treatment as a sexually violent person.

(END)



