

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Special Committee on Review of Emergency Detention and Admission of Minors Under Chapter 51

Chair Mary Lazich, Senator (Chair 1/11 to completion) 4405 South 129th Street New Berlin, WI 53151

Michael J. Bachhuber Executive Director Independent Living Council of Wisconsin, Inc. 201 West Washington Avenue, Suite 110 Madison, WI 53703

Joan Ballweg, Representative 170 West Summit Street Markesan, WI 53946

Dr. Jon S. Berlin, Medical Director – Crisis Service Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division 9455 Watertown Plank Road Milwaukee, WI 53226-3559

David Hansen, Senator 3489 Blackwolf Run Green Bay, WI 54311

Ann Hraychuck (resigned, effective 6/4/12) P.O. Box 334 Balsam Lake, WI 54810

Kristin M. Kerschensteiner, Managing Attorney Disability Rights Wisconsin 131 West Wilson Street, #700 Madison, WI 53703

George Kerwin, President/CEO Bellin Health 744 South Webster Avenue, P.O. Box 23400 Green Bay, WI 54305-3400 Vice-Chair Sandy Pasch, Representative (Chair 5/10 to 1/11) 6301 North Berkeley Blvd. Whitefish Bay, WI 53217

Michael Kiefer 710 East Briarwood Place Whitefish Bay, WI 53217

Dr. Gina Koeppl, Regional Director Ministry Behavioral Health 1020 Kabel Avenue Rhinelander, WI 54501

Tally Moses, Assistant Professor of Social Work University of Wisconsin-Madison 308 School of Social Work Building 1350 University Avenue Madison, WI 53706

Brian A. Shoup, Executive Director Brown County Human Services 111 North Jefferson Street Green Bay, WI 54305

Galen Strebe, Dane County Corporation Counsel City County Building, Room 419 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Madison, WI 53703-3345

Brenda E. Wesley, Education and Outreach Coordinator NAMI Greater Milwaukee 3732 West Wisconsin Avenue Milwaukee, WI 53208

Carianne Yerkes, Crisis Intervention Team Coordinator Milwaukee Police Department 749 West State Street Milwaukee, WI 53233

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to review the following provisions in ch. 51, Stats.: (a) the appropriateness of, and inconsistencies in, the utilization of emergency detention procedures under s. 51.15, Stats., across this state, and the availability and cost of emergency detention facilities; (b) the inconsistent statutory approaches to emergency detention between Milwaukee County and other counties in the state; and (c) the inconsistent application of procedures relating to admission of minors under s. 51.13, Stats., as modified by 2005 Wisconsin Act 444.

15 MEMBERS: 2 Senators; 2 Representatives; and 11 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Laura Rose, Deputy Director, Brian T. Larson, Staff Attorney, and Julie Learned, Support Staff.