

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Special Committee on Supervised Release and Discharge of Sexually Violent Persons

Chair Pat Strachota, Representative

639 Ridge Rd.

West Bend, WI 53095

Mark Bensen, District Attorney

Washington County 432 East Washington St. West Bend, WI 53095

Michael Bohren, Judge

Waukesha County Juvenile Center

521 Riverview

Waukesha, WI 53188-3636

Ron Cramer, Sheriff Eau Claire County 728 Second Ave. Eau Claire, WI 54703

**Tim Cullen**, Senator 3711 North Spring Hill Dr. Janesville, WI 53545

Rebecca Dallat, Judge Milwaukee County 821 West State St. Milwaukee, WI 53233

**Shari Hanneman**, Co-Founder Citizens for a Safe Wisconsin 3926 Maplecrest Dr. Franklin, WI 53132

Vice-Chair Alberta Darling, Senator

1325 West Dean Rd. River Hills, WI 53217

**Ian Henderson**, Director of Legal and Systems Services Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Inc. 614 Hintze Rd.

Madison, WI 53704

Mary Lazich, Senator 4405 South 129th St. New Berlin, WI 53151

**Frank Liska**, Retired Milwaukee Court Commissioner 11821 West Edgerton Ave.

Hales Corners, WI 53130-1076

Louis Molepske, Jr., Representative

1800 Main St.

Stevens Point, WI 54481

**Rick Oliva**, Chief of Police Franklin Police Department 9455 West Loomis Rd. Franklin, WI 53132

**Anthony Rios**, Assistant State Public Defender State Public Defender -- Madison Trial Office

4318 Nakoma Rd. Madison, WI 53711

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to review the current process for granting supervised release and discharging persons who have been committed as sexually violent persons under ch. 980, Stats. The committee shall: determine what level of judicial input regarding the determination whether to grant a sexually violent person supervised release or discharge from a civil commitment under ch. 980 is appropriate; review the criteria for determining whether a person is fit for supervised release and determine whether this criteria should be modified; and review the criteria for determining whether a person should be discharged from his or her civil commitment to determine whether the criteria are appropriate.

14 MEMBERS: 2 Representatives; 3 Senator; and 9 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Katie Bender-Olson and Michael Queensland, Staff Attorneys; and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.