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Criminal justice is generally under the jurisdiction of the state.  Therefore, the state 
determines what constitutes a crime in the state and assigns a penalty for each crime.  A 
discussion of Wisconsin criminal penalties follows.  Because the study committee is directed to 
review misdemeanor penalties, included with this Memo is Brief 13-5, Statutory Misdemeanors in 
Wisconsin, published by the Legislative Reference Bureau.  Also included are the following: 

• Felony Procedure Flowchart (published by the Wisconsin Department of Justice). 

• Misdemeanor Procedure Flowchart (published by the Wisconsin Department of 
Justice). 

CRIMES IN WISCONSIN 
Crime is “conduct which is prohibited by state law and punishable by fine or 

imprisonment or both.  Conduct punishable only by a forfeiture is not a crime.”  [s. 939.12, Stats.]  
Each criminal offense is either a felony or a misdemeanor.  A crime punishable by imprisonment 
for more than one year is a felony.  A crime that is punishable by imprisonment for less than one 
year is a misdemeanor.  If a statute specifies a maximum term of imprisonment of one year, the 
crime is a misdemeanor if the statute specifies that a one-year sentence should be served in a 
county jail; otherwise, the crime is a felony. 
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Felonies 

According to the Office of the Director of State Courts, the most frequently charged 
felonies in Wisconsin in 2013 were: 

• Felony bail-jumping. 

• Burglary of a building or dwelling. 

• Possession of narcotic drugs. 

• Possession of tetrahydrocannabinols (THC), second or subsequent offense. 

• Forgery (uttering). 

• Unauthorized use of an individual’s personal identifying information or documents. 

• Strangulation and suffocation. 

• Failure to provide child support for 120 or more days. 

• Substantial battery. 

Misdemeanors 

According to the Office of the Director of State Courts, the most frequently charged 
misdemeanors in Wisconsin in 2013 were: 

• Disorderly conduct. 

• Misdemeanor bail-jumping. 

• Operating while revoked when the revocation was for an offense related to operating 
while intoxicated (OWI). 

• Battery. 

• Possession of drug paraphernalia. 

• Resisting or obstructing an officer. 

• Theft of moveable property (value of property less than $2,500). 

• Criminal damage to property. 

• Possession of THC. 

• OWI, second offense. 

• Operating with a prohibited alcohol concentration, second offense. 

• Retail theft (value of the merchandise less than $500). 

• Issue of worthless check (payment of not more than $2,500). 
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CRIMINAL PENALTIES 
Nearly all of the misdemeanors located within the Criminal Code -- chs. 939 to 951, Stats. 

-- and all felonies in the statutes (with the exception of three offenses) are “classified.”  That is, 
each offense is assigned to a class that corresponds to a penalty range.  Misdemeanors that are 
codified in the portions of the Wisconsin statutes outside the Criminal Code are not classified.  
For unclassified offenses, penalties are established separately for each offense.  With the 
exception of crimes for which the statutes specify a minimum penalty, criminal penalties are 
expressed, in the Wisconsin statutes, as a fine not to exceed a specified amount, imprisonment 
not to exceed a specified amount of time, or both.   

Felony Penalties 

Wisconsin currently has nine classes of felonies.  The classes of felonies and their penalties 
are shown below: 

Felony Class Fine 
(not to exceed) 

Term of Imprisonment 
(not to exceed) 

Class A n/a Life 
Class B n/a 60 years 
Class C $100,000 40 years 
Class D $100,000 25 years 
Class E $50,000 15 years 
Class F $25,000 12 years and 6 months 
Class G $25,000 10 years 
Class H $10,000 6 years 
Class I $10,000 3 years and 6 months 

Misdemeanor Penalties 

There are three classes of misdemeanors in Wisconsin.  These classes and their penalties 
are as follows: 

Misdemeanor Class Fine 
(not to exceed) 

Term of Imprisonment 
(not to exceed) 

Class A $10,000 9 months 
Class B $1,000 90 days 
Class C $500 30 days 

If a person is convicted of a misdemeanor under state law for which no penalty is 
expressed, the person may be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or 
both.   

Penalty Enhancers 

Certain criminal penalties may also be affected by a penalty enhancer.  A penalty 
enhancer permits the judge to increase the penalty for a crime if the crime was committed under 
certain circumstances.  Penalty enhancers under current law include:   use or possession of a 
dangerous weapon when committing a crime; distribution of controlled substances within 1,000 
feet of a school, park, correctional institution, or other specified facility; committing a violent 
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crime in a school zone; distribution of a controlled substance to a person under 17 years of age; 
habitual criminality; and the commission of subsequent drug offenses. 

IMPOSITION OF PENALTY 
With limited exceptions, a judge is not required to impose a minimum penalty when 

sentencing a defendant, but may impose any penalty within the authorized range.  The sentence 
imposed, therefore, will depend on the facts and circumstances of each case.  Generally, when 
making a sentencing decision, a court is required to consider: 

• The protection of the public. 

• The gravity of the offense. 

• The rehabilitative needs of the defendant. 

For felonies committed on or after February 1, 2003, a court must also consider any 
applicable mitigating factors and any applicable aggravating factors, including aggravating 
factors specified by statute.  

Imprisonment and Community Supervision 

Unless probation is prohibited for a particular offense by statute, a court may place a 
person convicted of a crime on probation.  A court may do this in conjunction with either 
withholding sentence or imposing sentence and staying its execution.  A person on probation is 
under the supervision of the Department of Corrections (DOC) in the community, and is subject 
to conditions imposed by the court or DOC. 

Under Wisconsin case law, probation is to be favored over imprisonment unless the 
sentencing court finds that:  (a) confinement is necessary to protect the public from further 
criminal activity by the offender; or (b) the offender is in need of correctional treatment which 
can most effectively be provided if he or she is confined; or (c) it would unduly depreciate the 
seriousness of the offense if a sentence of probation were imposed.  [State v. Gallion, 2004 WI 42, 
¶ 25.] 

If a person’s sentence includes a period of imprisonment in jail, the sentence is served in 
the county jail.  County jails are maintained and managed by county sheriff departments.   

If a person is sentenced to a period of imprisonment in state prison, the sentence is served 
in one of 36 state correctional facilities operated by DOC.  A person is sentenced to a Wisconsin 
state prison if the term of confinement is for one year or more.  Whenever a court sentences a 
person to imprisonment in a state prison for a felony committed on or after December 31, 1999, 
or a misdemeanor committed on or after February 1, 2003, the court is required to impose a 
sentence that is bifurcated into a term of initial confinement and a term of extended supervision.  
The term of extended supervision may not be less than 25% of the length of the term of 
confinement. 

Just as there is a maximum term of imprisonment for every class of crime, there is also a 
maximum term of initial confinement for each class of crime.  For example, the maximum term 
of imprisonment for a Class I felony is three years and six months; however, the maximum initial 
term of confinement is one year and six months. 
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When a person is released from prison and enters the extended supervision component 
of the sentence, the person is monitored by DOC and subject to conditions set by the sentencing 
court and DOC.  If a person’s extended supervision is revoked, a judge may sentence the person 
to prison for any amount of time up to the full length of the original term of extended 
supervision set by the court. 

Financial Obligations 

The fine that corresponds with the penalty for a crime is one component of the financial 
obligations that conviction of a crime entails, but it is not the only one.  In addition to a fine, 
there are a variety of costs, fees, and surcharges a defendant may be required to pay.  Commonly 
imposed financial obligations are: 

• Court fees. 

• A penalty surcharge equal to 26% of the total amount of the fine. 

• The crime lab and drug law enforcement surcharge. 

• The crime victim and witness surcharge. 

• The jail surcharge. 

• Restitution 

In addition to the above fees and surcharges, the statutes also require persons convicted 
of certain crimes to pay surcharges that generate additional revenue for state programs.  
Examples of these surcharges include:  the DNA surcharge; the drug abuse program surcharge; 
the driver improvement surcharge; and the domestic abuse surcharge.1   

The following example illustrates the difference between the fine that may be imposed 
upon conviction of a crime and the total financial obligations conviction may entail.  The fine for 
second offense operating while intoxicated is $350 to $1,100.  Typical court costs and surcharges 
associated with this offense, assuming the fine imposed was $350, are: 

Courts Costs and Surcharges Amount 

Driver improvement surcharge $365 

Penalty surcharge $91 

Jail surcharge $10 

Crime lab drug system surcharge $13 

Victim/witness surcharge $67 

1 For a complete listing of costs, fees, and surcharges that may be imposed on a person convicted of a crime in Wisconsin, see 
Informational Paper 59, Wisconsin Court System, published by the Legislative Fiscal Bureau and available here:  
http://legis.wisconsin.gov/lfb/publications/Informational-Papers/Documents/2013/59_Wisconsin%20Court%20System.pdf. 
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Courts Costs and Surcharges Amount 

Criminal court costs $163 

Ignition interlock surcharge $50 

When fees and surcharges are added to the $350 fine, the total amount the offender may 
be required to pay upon conviction for this offense is $1,109.2    

FORFEITURES 
As noted above, conduct that is punishable only by a monetary forfeiture is not a crime.  

Examples of law violations that are forfeitures include noncriminal traffic offenses, such as 
speeding or failing to yield the right of way. 

Like misdemeanors, forfeitures may also be either classified or unclassified.  Within the 
Criminal Code, they are classified; in the portions of the statutes outside the Criminal Code, they 
are unclassified.  The classes of forfeitures and their penalties are: 

Forfeiture Class Amount of Forfeiture 
(not to exceed) 

Class A $10,000 

Class B $1,000 

Class C $500 

Class D $200 

Class E $25 

As with fines for criminal offenses, the forfeiture amount is one component of the 
financial obligations conviction of a forfeiture offense entails, but it is not the only one.  A person 
convicted of a forfeiture offense must also generally pay various court costs and surcharges. 

DM:MQ:jal:ksm 

Enclosures 

2 A person convicted of an operating while intoxicated offense may also be required to pay additional costs related to his or 
her driver’s license, including:  the driver assessment fee; the occupational license fee; a license reinstatement fee; and 
ignition interlock costs. 
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