
 
 

 

 

 

November 10, 2014 

FROM: Ben Kempinen 
   Clinical Professor 
   University of Wisconsin Law School 
 
TO:  Legislative Council Study Committee on the Review of Criminal Penalties  
 
As the work of our study committee comes to an end I believe we should recommend to the 
legislature additional study of issues raised during our tenure that have state wide importance but 
did not fit within our limited charge.   

In a sense this study committee's focus – the minor offense – is unique. More often than not 
legislative and public attention is focused on the serious offense or offender. However, the 
majority of criminal cases – consistently nearly 70% over the past several years – are 
misdemeanors. Although individually they may appear insignificant in the aggregate they 
consume more resources and affect a larger portion of our communities than do felony level 
offenses. As a consequence, the manner in which these offenses are defined, processed, and 
punished has a profound impact on Wisconsin offenders, victims, their families and 
communities, the police, prosecutors, trial judges, court personnel, defense attorneys, and other 
system shareholders involved in the criminal justice process, and of course, the taxpayer.  

To my knowledge, this study committee was among the first to focus on this important but often 
overlooked class of crimes. Although fidelity to our charge caused us to narrow our focus there 
are important issues regarding the minor offense that merit further consideration. At a minimum, 
they include: 

 (1)  Financial Consequences of Conviction – Expanded Options for Trial Courts and   
  Offenders 

Apart from any fine or restitution ordered, all persons convicted of a misdemeanor in Wisconsin 
are required by statute to pay certain fees and surcharges. The minimum amount due is $443; if 
there are specific charges with additional fees, surcharges, and assessments, or if the defendant is 
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convicted of multiple offenses, or if costs are imposed,1 the amount due will be greater. It is not 
uncommon for a defendant in a minor case to leave court owing in excess of $1000, with little 
realistic chance of paying.  

The statutes provide limited options for indigent defendants; community service is permitted 
only as a substitute for fines.2 The only response for non-payment expressly included in the 
statutes is committing the defendant to jail.3 In many counties warrants are issued for non-paying 
defendants who are then committed to jail for varying lengths of time. If the individual is able 
but unwilling to pay this may be an appropriate sanction; if they are indigent and unable to pay it 
not constitutional. Under either circumstance, it is costly to local taxpayers, offenders and their 
families.  

Local prosecutors, judges, and court personnel recognize the difficulty indigent defendants face 
when ordered to pay significant sums of money. In most counties, payment plans are arranged 
and managed by the clerks of courts – another cost to local taxpayers, and in some, courts 
suspend or waive certain surcharges or fees for pragmatic and fairness reasons.  

Several judges and prosecutors have suggested statutory revisions that would (1) permit 
community service for any non-restitution financial responsibility and (2) provide explicit 
authority to suspend payment in situations where the defendant lacks any realistic chance of 
compliance.   

(2)  Expansion of Expungement and Conditional Plea Authority 

At present, prosecutors and judges must decide if expungement is appropriate at the time of 
sentencing.4 The same statute also imposes limits on what offenses this option may be applied to.   

Similarly, a former practice in many counties involved conditional pleas of guilty. Under this 
approach, a person would plead guilty to a felony level offense, and, if certain future conditions 
were satisfied, have the conviction replaced by a misdemeanor. This generally applied with 
young offenders with no prior record, a supportive family, but who committed a serious offense. 
It was an attractive option to many prosecutors because it allowed for an immediate conviction 
and posed no risk of having to try a case months or years after the incident. If the defendant 
completed the conditions of the agreement, the charge would be changed to a misdemeanor. If 
not, the felony conviction would remain. In State v. Dawson, 2004 WI App. 173 (2004), the 

1 Wis. Stat. § 973.06. 

2 Wis. Stat. § 973.05. 

3 Wis. Stat. § 973.07. 

4 Wis. Stat. §973.015(1m)(a).  
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Wisconsin Court of Appeals concluded that the current statutory scheme did not allow 
conditional pleas. Several prosecutors have suggested this removed a valuable tool for resolving 
certain cases and that it might properly be included as a dispositional option.  

(3)  Diversion and a Victim’s Right to Restitution 

Nearly all Wisconsin counties have some form of diversion program. Defendants who 
successfully complete the program avoid having a criminal record and prosecutors save the time 
and effort of a formal prosecution. At present, our statutory treatment of diversion authority is 
inconsistent and cobbled together in several overlapping and inconsistent statutes.5 To the extent 
that expanded use of this option for low risk minor offenses is cost effective there is merit to 
providing a more helpful statutory structure for the creation and operation of such programs.  

There is also a question about a victim's right to restitution in the context of diversion programs6 
given that a judge’s authority to order restitution is limited to cases in which the defendant is 
convicted and many diverted offenders avoid conviction.7 Although payment of restitution is 
typically a condition of an informal diversion agreement, enforcement of such agreements can be 
more difficult than in situations where there is a judgment of conviction which incorporates a 
restitution order. Improvement of our statutory treatment of this issue would serve the interests 
of Wisconsin victims.  

(4)  Misdemeanor Options for First Offense Drug Possession Cases 

Wisconsin has seen an explosion of heroin and methamphetamine abuse. Related problems have 
touched communities throughout the state as users come from all economic, ethnic, and racial 
backgrounds. For some first-time offenders, an arrest for possession of heroin or 
methamphetamine may be their only exposure to the criminal justice system. At present, first 
offense possession of either heroin or methamphetamine is a Class I felony.8 A number of 
prosecutors have suggested a misdemeanor option for first offenses would be a useful tool to 
avoid marking a young person irrevocably as a felon.  

 

 

5 See, e.g., Wis. Stat. §§ 938.245; 967.055(3); 971.29; 971.37; 971.38; 971.40, and 971.41.   

6 A Wisconsin crime victim’s right to restitution is protected by statute, Wis. Stat. §950.04(1v)(q) and by the state 
constitution, Wis. Const. Art. I, sec. 9m.  

7 Wis. Stat. §973.20(1r).  

8 Wis. Stat. §§ 961.14(3) (k), 961.41(3g) (am), 961.14(5) (b), 961.41(3g) (g).  

 3 

                                                           



 

These are but a few of the issues that arise on a daily basis throughout Wisconsin in the 
administration of our criminal justice system. I note that Deputy State Public Defender Michael 
Tobin has raised others and I imagine many of the experienced members of our committee may 
believe additional issues with the minor offense merit further attention.   

Continuing our work can help improve the delivery of cost effective public safety to all members 
of our communities. For these reasons, I respectfully suggest we recommend further study of the 
minor offense as part of our committee's final report to the legislature.  
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