## State of Misconsin JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Co-Chairs
LUTHER OLSEN
Senator

JOAN BALLWEG Representative



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF
Terry C. Anderson
Director
Laura D. Rose
Deputy Director

TO: MEMBERS OF THE STUDY COMMITTEE ON THE REVIEW OF TAX

INCREMENTAL FINANCING

FROM: Scott Grosz, Principal Attorney and Melissa Schmidt, Senior Staff Attorney

DATE: December 19, 2014

This letter is to notify you that the mail ballot submitted to your committee has been approved.

- WLC: 0015/2, relating to redetermination of base value for tax incremental districts, passed on a vote of Ayes, 18 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Kovari, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, Wilson, and Wortman); and Noes, 0.
- WLC: 0017/1, relating to designation of tax incremental districts as distressed or severely distressed districts, passed on a vote of Ayes, 17 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Kovari, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, and Wortman); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Wilson).
- WLC: 0019/1, relating to limits on TID creation as measured by total TID value, passed on a vote of Ayes, 17 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, Wilson, and Wortman); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Kovari).
- WLC: 0041/1, relating to inclusion of vacant land within the boundaries of a tax incremental district and exclusion of tax—exempt city—owned property from the initial tax incremental base of a tax incremental district, passed on a vote of Ayes, 17 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Kovari, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, and Wortman); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Wilson).

- WLC: 0043/1, relating to tax incremental financing project plan amendments and extending the life of a tax incremental district if the district is adversely impacted by statutory changes to the equalized valuation method, passed on a vote of Ayes, 16 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Kovari, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, Wilson, and Wortman); and Noes, 2 (Reps. Kuglitsch and Loudenbeck).
- WLC: 0047/1, relating to modifying the requirements for sharing tax increments by tax incremental districts, limiting the participation of certain special purpose districts in tax incremental district financing, and authorizing any tax incremental district to use allocated tax increments donated from another tax incremental district, passed on a vote of Ayes, 17 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, Wilson, and Wortman); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Kovari).
- WLC: 0048/1, relating to standing joint review boards, annual joint review board meetings, annual reports on tax incremental districts submitted to joint review boards and the department of revenue, department of revenue audits of political subdivisions failing to comply with annual reporting requirements, and granting rule-making authority; and the department of revenue review and determination of industry-specific town tax incremental district project compliance, passed on a vote of Ayes, 17 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Kovari, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, and Wortman); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Wilson).
- WLC: 0049/1, relating to industrial zoning requirements in tax incremental districts, planning commission notice for tax incremental district amendments, obsolete references relating to tax incremental districts, allocation of tax increments, joint review board review, and calculation of levy limits following dissolution of a tax incremental district, passed on a vote of Ayes, 17 (Sens. Gudex and Jauch; Reps. Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Ohnstad, and Zepnick; and Public Members Andrews, Harrigan, Kelley, Lincoln, Rasmussen, Ruechel, Serck, Slavish, Thillman, Wilson, and Wortman); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Kovari).

You will be notified when the Joint Legislative Council schedules a meeting to receive the report of your committee.

SG:MS:ty