

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Legislative Council Study Committee on the Review of Wisconsin Technical College System Funding and Governance

Chair John Nygren, Representative

N2118 Keller Rd. Marinette, WI 54143

Bruce Barker, President

Chippewa Valley Technical College

620 W. Clairemont Ave. Eau Claire, WI 54701

Dan Conroy, Vice President, Human Resources

Nexen Group, Inc. 26837 Industrial Ave. Webster, WI 54893

Stephen Kohler, Director of Human Resources

Pierce Manufacturing, Inc. 2600 American Dr. P.O. Box 2017 Appleton, WI 54912

Cory Mason, Representative

1948 Michigan Blvd Racine, WI 53402

Joseph Sheehan, District Administrator

Sheboygan Area School District

830 Virginia Ave. Sheboygan, WI 53081

David Stark, President Stark Company Realtors 2980 Arapaho Dr. Fitchburg, WI 53719

Mark Tyler, President OEM Fabricators, Inc. 300 McMillan Rd. Woodville, WI 54028 Vice Chair Sheila Harsdorf, Senator

N6627 County Road E. River Falls, WI 54022

Allen Buechel, County Executive

Fond du Lac County 160 S. Macy St. Fond du Lac, WI 54935

David Dull, President/CEO

Allis Roller, LLC 9800 S. 60th St. Franklin, WI 53132

Debra Kolste, Representative

4105 Parkview Dr. Janesville, WI 53546

Susan May, President Fox Valley Technical College 1825 N. Bluemound Dr. Appleton, WI 54912

Jennifer Shilling, Senator

2608 Main Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Dennis Treu, Member

Western Technical College District Board

606 W. Wisconsin St. Sparta, WI 54656

Thomas Weatherston, Representative

5300 Santa Anita Dr. Racine, WI 53402

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Study Committee is directed to review the current governance model of the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) in the interest of transferring governance responsibilities of local district boards to the state WTCS Board and examine the current funding model for the WTCS with a preference toward reassigning current local property tax revenue to a broader state tax source.

16 MEMBERS: 4 Representatives; 2 Senator; and 10 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Mary Matthias, Principal Attorney; Dan Schmidt, Principal Analyst; and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.