



# WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## **AGENDA**

# STEERING COMMITTEE FOR SYMPOSIA SERIES ON SUPPORTING HEALTHY EARLY BRAIN DEVELOPMENT

Representative Joan Ballweg, Chair Senator Alberta Darling, Vice-Chair

September 9, 2014

Room 412 East State Capitol, Madison, WI

10:15 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:15 a.m. PRESENTATION BY INVITED SPEAKER:

• Elizabeth Hudson, Director of the Office of Children's Mental Health, Wisconsin Department of Health Services.

#### 11:00 a.m. PRESENTATION BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Mary Anne Snyder, Director of the Office of Early Childhood, Colorado Department of Health Services.
- Keri Batchelder, Two Generation Manager, Colorado Department of Human Services

## 12:00 p.m. PRESENTATION BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

 Rob Reinhardt, Charlie Morgan, Christa Pugh, and John Gentry, Legislative Fiscal Bureau.

12:30 p.m. LUNCH BREAK.

1:00 p.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc">leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc</a>

- Fredi Bove, Administrator of the Division of Safety and Permanence, Department of Children and Families (DCF).
- Karla Broten, Youth and Family Program Manager, Barron County Health and Human Services Department.
- Mark Mertens, Youth and Family Services Division Manager, Outagamie County Health and Human Services Department.

## 2:00 p.m. PRESENTATION BY INVITED SPEAKER:

• Jonelle Brom, Out-of-Home Care Section Chief, Bureau of Permanence and Out-of-Home Care, DCF.

### 2:30 p.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Judy Norman-Nunnery, Administrator of the Division of Early Care and Education, DCF.
- Kath McGurk, Director of the Bureau of Early Learning and Policy, DCF.
- Debbie Drew, Director of the St John's Lutheran Church Child Care Program-Portage.
- 3:15 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT AND PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 3:45 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Berceau, Born, Genrich, Rodriguez, and Wright; and Sens. Lassa, Miller, and Olsen.