
 
 

Good Time and Earned Time Policies for State Prison Inmates  
(as established by law) 

Created November 2011 (updated January 2016) 
 

This chart highlights sentence credit policies listed in state statutes that are applicable to inmates in state prisons. Earned time is defined as a credit against an 
inmate's sentence or period of incarceration that he or she earns for participation in or completion of productive activities. Earned time is distinguished from, and 
can be offered in addition to, “good time” credits which are given to offenders for following prison rules and required participation in activities.  
 

STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

Alabama 
§14-9-40 et 
seq.; §14-9-3 

20, 40 or 75 days 
per 30 days served 
for prisoner 
behavior, 
discipline, work 
practices and job 
responsibility. 

      30 days per 12 
months for blood 
donation; on top of 
other time earned. 

Time awarded 
based on inmate 
classification  

Alaska 
§33.20.010 

1/3 off prison term 
for good conduct. 

        

Arizona 
§41-1604.06 to 
.07 

1 day per 6 served 
for education, 
training, treatment 
programs and any 
assignments of 
confidence and 
trust. 

       DOC to create 
and base credit 
on classification, 
including 
ineligible classes 

Arkansas 
§12-29-201 et 
seq.  

30 days per month 
served for work 
practices, job 

90 days per 
completion of GED 

90 days per 
completion of 
vocational 

90 days per 
completion of 
drug or alcohol 

    Earned time not 
to exceed 360 
days, earned on 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

responsibilities, 
and rehabilitative 
activities. 

certification treatment top of good 
time. Board of 
Corrections to 
create inmate 
classifications  

California  
 Penal Code 
§2933 et seq. 
and §2935 

Six months per six 
months served or 
proportionally less 
time awarded for 
less time served, in 
line with 
regulations set by 
the secretary of 
corrections.   

 See other See other See other  2 days per 1 
day working 
for working at 
a 
conservation 
camp or for 
working as an 
inmate 
firefighter or 
after 
completion of 
training for 
those 
programs.  

Up to 12 
months for 
heroic acts in 
life threatening 
situations or 
providing 
exceptional 
assistance in 
maintaining the 
safety and 
security of a 
prison. 

1 – 6 weeks per 12-
month period for 
completion of 
rehabilitative 
programming as 
determined by DOC 
but may include 
academic 
programs, 
vocational 
programs, 
vocational training, 
and core programs 
such as anger 
management, 
social life skills, and 
substance abuse 
programs. Awarded 
on top of good 
time.  
Jail inmates-1 day 
per 8 hours of 
participation in 
educational, 
vocational, 
substance abuse, 
life skills, and 
parenting programs  

Certain inmates 
are only eligible 
to earn 15% of 
good time. 

Colorado 
§17-22.5-405 
et seq.  

10 or 12 days per 
month served 
based on DOC 
standards of 
consistent progress 

Up to 60 days per 
completion of 
program 
milestone or 
phase of an 

Up to 60 days 
per completion 
of program 
milestone or 
phase of a 

Up to 60 days per 
completion of 
program 
milestone or 
phase of a 

 1 day per 1 
day of 
working at a 
disaster site, 
on top of 

Up to 60 days 
per act of 
exceptional 
conduct.  

An additional 
maximum 30 days 
or maximum 60 
days for certain 
inmates without 

Administrative 
segregation 
inmates eligible 
for earned time 
after first 90 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

with work, training, 
group living 
(personal hygiene, 
cooperation, 
double bunking, 
and social 
adjustment), 
counseling and 
self-help groups, 
progress towards 
goals identified in 
diagnostic 
program, has not 
harassed victim, 
any parole release 
rules, and progress 
in literacy 
corrections 
program or 
correctional 
education program 

educational 
program. 

vocational 
program. 

therapeutic 
program. 

good time penal code 
infractions within 
specified 
timeframes, has 
been program 
compliant, and has 
not been previously 
convicted of certain 
felonies; at the 
discretion of the 
parole board. Up to 
60 days per 
completion of 
program milestone 
or phase of a 
reentry program.  

days 

Connecticut 
§18-98e 

       Up to 5 days per 
month for 
compliance with 
accountability plan, 
participation in 
eligible programs 
and good conduct. 
(credit may not be 
earned for only 
good conduct) 

Total credit 
cannot exceed 5 
days per month 

Delaware 
11 Del.C. 
§4381 

2 days per month 
for first year served 
and 3 days per 
month for 
subsequent years 
served for no 
violations and work 

Up to 5 days per 
month for 
participation in 
education 

  Up to 5 days 
per month for 
participation 
in work 

  Up to 5 days per 
month for 
participation in 
rehabilitation or 
program approved 
by DOC. Up to 60 
days for successful 

Good time not 
to exceed 36 
days per year 
and total credit 
not to exceed 
100 days per 
year; earned 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

toward 
rehabilitation 

completion of 
program designed 
to reduce 
recidivism 

time programs 
determined by 
DOC in line with 
authorized list 

Florida 
§944.275 and 
§944.801 

10 days per month 
served for 
participating in 
training, working 
diligently, using 
time 
constructively, or 
other positive 
activities 

6 days per 150 
hours of 
participation in 
correctional 
education 
program; 
60 days for 
completion of GED 

60 days for 
completion of 
vocational 
certificate  

   Up to 60 days 
for service in 
outstanding 
deed (saving a 
life or assisting 
with recapture 
of escapee) 

 education / 
vocation is a 
onetime credit; 
Inmate 
Education 
Guidelines 
§944.801 

Georgia §42-5-
101, HB349 
(2013) 

 1 day per 1 day of 
participation in 
academic 
education  

1 day per 1 day 
of participation 
in vocational 
education  

     Instructs the 
parole board to 
consider credits 
when making a 
release decision. 
Inmates 
convicted of 
certain offenses 
are not eligible 

Hawaii  
N/A 

        Requested 
development of 
earned time 
program 

Idaho §20-
101D 

      Up to 15 days 
per month for 
an 
extraordinary 
act of heroism 
at the risk of his 
own life or for 
outstanding 
service to the 
state of Idaho 
which results in 

  

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0900-0999/0944/Sections/0944.801.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0900-0999/0944/Sections/0944.801.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0900-0999/0944/Sections/0944.801.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0900-0999/0944/Sections/0944.801.html
http://www.legis.ga.gov/legislation/en-US/Display/20132014/HB/349
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

the saving of 
lives, 
prevention of 
destruction of 
major property 
loss during a 
riot, or the 
prevention of 
an escape from 
a correctional 
facility.  

Illinois 
730 ILCS 5/3-6-
3 

1 day per 1 day or 
4.5 days per month 
served for 
compliance with 
rules and 
regulations 

Good time 
multiplied by 1.5 
for participation in 
educational 
program;  
90 days for 
completion of GED 
on top of other 
good and earned 
time. 

 Good time 
multiplied by 1.5 
for participation 
in full-time 
substance abuse 
program 
 

Good time 
multiplied by 
1.5 for 
working in 
correctional 
industry 
assignment  
 

 Up to 90 or 180 
days for service 
as determined 
by DOC, 
including 
compliance 
with rules and 
regulations and 
services to DOC,  
community or 
state; at the 
directors 
discretion.  

Good time 
multiplied by 1.5 
for participation in 
behavior 
modification 
program, life skills 
program, or 
reentry planning.   
 

 

Indiana §35-
50-6-3 et seq., 
HB 1006 
(2013) 

1 day per 1 day 
served, 1 day per 2 
days served or 1 
day per 6 days 
served. For 
convictions after 
June 30, 2014: 1 
day per 1 day 
served, 1 day per 3 
days served, 1 day 
per 6 days served, 
or no credit. 

Time earned per 
completion of 
literacy skills 
program (6 
months), GED (6 
months), High 
School Diploma (1 
year), associate’s 
degree (1 year), or 
bachelor’s degree 
(2 years) on top of 
other good and 
earned time. 

Up to 1 year for 
completion of 
one or more 
career and 
technical or 
vocational 
education 
program on top 
of good time. 

Up to 6 months 
for completion of 
one or more 
substance abuse 
or basic life skills 
program on top 
of good time. 

   Up to 6 months for 
completion of one 
or more 
reformative 
program on top of 
good time 

Total credit not 
to exceed 2 
years or 1/3 of 
sentence, 
whichever is 
lesser. 

Iowa 15/85 of a day for 12/10 of a day per  12/10 of a day 12/10 of a  Up to 365 days  Inmates are 

http://www.in.gov/apps/lsa/session/billwatch/billinfo?year=2013&session=1&request=getBill&docno=1006
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

§903A.2 good conduct 1 day of  
participation in an 
educational 
program. 

per 1 day of 
participation in a 
treatment 
program 

day per 1 day 
working in 
the 
institution, 
Iowa state 
industries or 
an 
employment 
program TBD 
by DOC 

for exemplary 
acts 

either eligible 
for 15/85  good 
time or 12/10 
earned time 
dependant on 
type of 
sentence, not 
both. 

Kansas §21-
6821 

15% or 20% of 
prison term 

90 days for 
completion of a 
GED on top of 
good time. 

90 days for 
completion of a 
technical or 
vocational 
training program 
on top of good 
time.  

90 days for 
completion of a 
substance abuse 
program on top 
of good time. 

   90 days for 
completion of any 
other program 
which has been 
shown to reduce 
offender’s risk after 
release on top of 
good time. 

 

Kentucky 
§197.045 and 
§197.047, SB 
78 (2013) 

10 days per month 
served based on 
conduct 

90 days for 
completion of 
GED, high school 
diploma, two or 
four year college 
degree, or civics 
education 
program on top of 
good time. 

90 days for 
completion of 
two or four year 
applied science 
or technical 
education 
diploma or an 
online or 
correspondence 
education 
program on top 
of good time. 

90 days for 
completion of a 
drug treatment 
program or other 
evidence-based 
program on top 
of good time. 

  7 days per 
month for 
outstanding 
performance 
related to 
institutional 
operations and 
programs; 
additional 7 
days per month 
during an 
emergency on 
top of good and 
earned time. 

1/5 day per 8 hours 
of participation in 
state or local 
government 
entities work 
projects or work 
related to 
maintenance and 
operation of a 
correctional facility.  

 

Louisiana 
RS 15: §571.3, 
RS 15: §833.1, 
RS 15: §828, 
HB 59 (2013) 

45 days per 30 days 
or 3 days per 17 
days in custody for 
good behavior and 
performance of 
work or self-

   1.5 days per 1 
day working 
in lieu of 
incentive 
wages. 

30 days per 
30 days 
working on 
disaster 
remediation. 

 1.5 days per 1 day 
for performance in 
self-improvement 
activities in lieu of 
incentive wages. 

Inmates earn 
either good time 
or earned time, 
not both. Total 
good time 
limited to 360 

http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/13RS/SB78.htm
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/13RS/SB78.htm
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/ViewDocument.aspx?d=857081
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

improvement 
activities. 

days 

Maine 
17-A MRSA 
§1253 (8) – 
(10) 

Up to 4 or 5 days 
per month served 
based on conduct.  

      Up to 3 days per 
month for 
complying with 
transition plan for 
work, education or 
rehab; additional 2 
days per month for 
community-based 
work, education or 
rehab, on top of 
good time.  

 

Maryland 
Correctional 
Services §3-
701 et seq. 

5 or 10 days per 
month served 

5 days per month 
of participation in 
educational or 
other training 
courses on top of 
good time.  

5 days per 
month of 
participation in 
vocational 
courses on top of 
good time.  

 5 days per 
month for 
satisfactory 
performance 
in assigned 
tasks on top 
of good time.  

  10 days per month 
of participation in 
special selected 
work projects or 
other special 
programs on top of 
good time.  

Total credits not 
to exceed 20 
days per month.  

Massachusetts 
127:§129C and 
§129D 

 5 days per month 
of participation in 
a GED educational 
course or other 
educational 
course 

5 days per 
month of 
participation in a 
vocational 
program 

 5 days per 
month of 
working at a 
state hospital 
or state 
school; 
employed on 
work release 
or in prison 
industry. 

  5 days per month 
for any other 
program deemed 
valuable to an 
inmate’s 
rehabilitation. 
Additional 5 days 
while confined in a 
prison camp on top 
of other earned 
time. One-time up 
to 10 day credit for 
program requiring 
six months 
satisfactory 
participation. 
 

Total credits not 
to exceed 10 
days per month. 
Habitual 
offenders cannot 
earn good time. 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

Michigan 
§800.34 

        No credit.  
Disciplinary 
time: time 
added to prison 
term for 
misconduct to 
be considered by 
the parole board 
for release. 

Minnesota 
§244.05 

        No credit. Time 
added to prison 
term for 
misconduct or 
non-
participation in 
rehabilitative 
programming.  

Mississippi 
§47-5-138, 
§47-5-138.1, 
and §47-5-142 
 

4.5 days per 30 
days served for 
compliance with 
good conduct and 
performance 
requirements. 

30 days per month 
of participation in 
educational or 
instructional 
programs on top 
of good time; 
additional time of 
up to 10 days for 
every 30 days 
participation for 
completion 

  30 days per 
month for 
satisfactory 
participation 
in work 
projects on 
top of good 
time; 
additional 
time of up to 
10 days for 
every 30 days 
participation 
for 
completion 

  30 days per month 
of participation in 
special incentive 
programs on top of 
good time; 
additional time of 
up to 10 days for 
every 30 days 
participation for 
participation.  

 

Missouri 
§558.041 and 
14 CSR 10-
5.010 

1 – 2 months per 
year for acceptable 
behavior and 
appropriate 
program 
involvement.  

       Statute Instructs 
Department to 
create a policy. 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

Montana  
N/A 

        No credit. 

Nebraska §83-
1,107 

Six months per 
year, credit may be 
forfeited or 
withheld  for 
misconduct. 3 days 
per month for no 
class I or II 
violations nor more 
than 3 class III 
violations within 
preceding 12 
months. 

        

Nevada 
§209.4465, 
§209.448, 
§209.449, and 
§209.443, AB 
43 (2013), SB 
71 (2013) 

20 days per month 
served with no 
serious infractions 
and performing 
duties assigned. 

10 days per month 
for participation in 
study on top of 
good time. 60 
days for GED, 90 
days for high 
school diploma, 
120 days for 1st 
associates degree 
and up to 90 days 
for additional 
degrees on top of 
all other time.   

60 days for 
completion of a 
vocational 
education and 
training program 
on top of all 
other time; 
additional 
maximum 60 
days for 
meritorious or 
exceptional 
achievement in 
completing the 
program.  

60 days for 
completion of 
alcohol or drug 
treatment 
program by a 
licensed 
counselor on top 
of all other time.  

10 days per 
month for 
“laboring” on 
top of good 
time.  
 

10 days per 
month for 
participating 
in a 
conservation 
camp on top 
of good time.  

Up to 90 days 
per year for 
exceptional 
meritorious 
service on top 
of all other 
time.  

10 days per month 
for participating in 
a restitution 
center, reentry 
program, work 
release or any 
other program 
outside prison.  

Board of prison 
commissioners 
supposed to 
adopt 
regulations 
allowing 
offenders 
sentenced after 
June 30, 1969 
for crime 
committed 
before July 1, 
1985 to earn 
credit for 
donating blood. 
Cannot earn 
more good time 
credit than time 
remaining on 
sentence. Limits 
reduction from 
minimum term 
of imprisonment 
to 58%  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Bills/AB/AB43_EN.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Bills/AB/AB43_EN.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Bills/SB/SB71_EN.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Bills/SB/SB71_EN.pdf
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

New 
Hampshire 
§651:2(II-e), 
§651-A:22 and 
§651-A:22-a 

 90 days for GED. 
120 days for high 
school diploma. 
180 days for 
Associate’s Degree 
and 180 days for 
Bachelor’s Degree 

60 days for 
successful 
completion of 
vocational 
programming 

One-time 60 day 
reduction for 
meaningfully 
participating in 
recommended or 
mandated mental 
health and/or 
substance use 
treatment. 

   Up to 12.5 days per 
month served (150 
days per year) for 
good conduct and 
participation in 
programs designed 
to reduce 
recidivism.  

150 days 
“disciplinary 
time” added for 
each year of 
term; days 
reduced for 
good conduct at 
the same rate 

New Jersey 
§30:4-92; 
§30:4-92a  and 
§30:4-140 

7 days per month 
up to 16 days per 
month served, time 
awarded increases 
with number of 
years served for 
orderly conduct.  

Commissioner 
may award time 
for achievements 
in education on 
top of other time. 

Commissioner 
may award time 
for achievements 
in workforce 
training on top of 
other time. 

 3 days per 
month for the 
first year 
employed 
and 5 days 
per month for 
subsequent 
years working 
in honor 
camps, farms 
or details.  

    

New Mexico 
§33-2-34 

Up to 4, 8 or 30 
days per month 
served dependant 
on crime and 
quality of 
participation. 

3 months for a 
GED, 4 months for 
an associates 
degree, 5 months 
for a bachelor’s 
degree or 
graduate 
qualification 
completion, on 
top of good time. 

1 month for 
completion of a 
vocational 
program, on top 
of good time.  

1 month for 
completion of a 
substance abuse 
or mental health 
program on top 
of good time.  

  For a heroic act 
of saving life or 
property or 
extraordinary 
conduct that 
demonstrates 
commitment to 
rehabilitation. 
Amount earned 
at discretion of 
DOC.  

 Earned time 
awarded may 
not exceed 1 
year in a 12-
month period.  

New York 
Correction 
§803 - §805 

 Total of 1/7, 1/6, 
or 1/3 of the 
sentence for 
completion of a 
GED .  

Total of 1/7, 1/6, 
or 1/3 of the 
sentence for 
vocational trade 
certificate 
following at least 
six month of 

Total of 1/7, 1/6, 
or 1/3 of the 
minimum 
sentence for 
alcohol and 
substance abuse 
treatment 

   6 months for 
participation in 
work and 
treatment and 
completion of 
“significant 
programmatic 

6 month credit 
will be applied 
to the end of a 
prison term, on 
top of other 
credit earned.  
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

vocational 
programming or 
at least 400 
hours of 
community work 
crew service.  

certificate. 
 

accomplishment” 
(defined in statute).  

North Carolina 
§148-13, §15A-
1340.13(d), 
§15A-1340.18 
and P&P Ch. B, 
sec. 0100 

 Up to 30 days for 
each educational 
degree achieved.  

5, 15 or 30 days 
credit for 
completion of 
apprentice 
program, 
dependant on 
program.    

 2 – 6 days per 
month for 
working full-
time. 
Additional 
one day 
credit per 8 
hours 
overtime 
worked. DOC 
can also 
award time 
for working in  
inclement 
weather.  

 Up to 30 days 
for each 
exemplary act.  

2 – 6 days per 
month for full-time 
participation in 
programs that 
assist in productive 
reentry.  20% the 
minimum sentence 
for participation in 
treatment, 
education and 
rehabilitative 
programs – 
eligibility 
determined by the 
court.  

Monthly credit 
cannot exceed 6 
days per month. 
Completion and 
meritorious 
credit on top of 
other credit. 
Statute Instructs 
DOC to create a 
policy . 

North Dakota 
§12-54.1 

      Lump sum or 
monthly rate 
equal to 2 days 
per month for 
outstanding 
performance or 
heroic acts, on 
top of other 
earned time.  

5 days per month 
based on 
participation in 
court ordered or 
staff recommended 
treatment and 
education 
programs and good 
work performance. 

No more than 1 
day for 6 days 
served 

Ohio 
§2967.193 

 1 or 5 days per 
month of  
participation in an 
education 
program 

1 or 5 days per 
month of 
participation in 
vocational 
training  

1 or 5 days per 
month of 
participation in 
substance abuse 
treatment or sex 
offender 
treatment 

1 or 5 days 
per month 
working in 
prison 
industries 

  1 or 5 days per 
month of 
participation in a 
constructive 
program TBD by 
DOC with specific 
standards for 
performance 

May earn time 
for up to 2 
programs and 
total credit 
cannot exceed 
8% of total days 
of sentence. 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

Oklahoma 
§57-138,  
§57-138.1, and 
§57-65 

22, 33, 44, 45, or 
60 days per month 
for rehabilitation, 
obtaining job skills, 
and educational 
enhancement, 
participation in and 
completion of 
alcohol/chemical 
abuse programs, 
incentives for 
inmates to accept 
work assignments 
and jobs, work 
attendance and 
productivity, 
conduct record, 
participation in 
programs, 
cooperative 
general behavior, 
and appearance.  

10 – 30 days for 
educational 
accomplishments 
on top of good 
time; 90 days for 
completion of GED 
on top of good 
time; 200 days for 
a bachelor’s 
degree; 100 
credits for an 
associate’s 
degree. 

80 days for 
vocational 
certificate on top 
of good time.  

70 days for 
completion of a 
minimum 4 
month 
alcohol/chemical 
abuse treatment 
program on top 
of good time.  

  Up to 100 days 
for meritorious 
act within the 
public interest 
in enhancing 
public safety on 
top of all other 
time.  

10 – 30 days for 
programs not 
specified on top of 
good time.  
 
3 days for each pint 
of blood in first 30 
days, up to 5 days 
for each pint during 
any sixty-day 
period thereafter 
for jail inmates 

 

Oregon 
§421.121 
 

Total of 20% or 
30% of prison term 
on crime for 
appropriate 
institutional 
behavior 

        

Pennsylvania 
61 Pa CSA 
§4501 - §4512 

       1/4 or 1/6 the 
minimum sentence 
for participation in 
and completion of 
evidence-based 
program plan as 
determined by risk 
assessments 

Eligibility 
determined by 
sentencing 
court. 

Rhode Island 
§42-56-24 

Up to 10 days per 
month for good 

  5 days per month 
of participation;  

2 days per 
month 

 3 days per 
month for 

5 days per month 
for programs that 

Inmates serving 
time for murder, 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

behavior.  30 days for 
completion  

working in 
prison 
industries on 
top of good 
time.  

performing 
heroic acts or 
for 
extraordinary 
and useful ideas 
and which have 
been 
implemented 
for the benefit 
of the state 
resulting in 
substantial 
savings and/or 
a higher degree 
of efficiency or 
performance; 
on top of good 
time but NOT in 
addition to 
rehabilitation or 
other earned 
time.  

address inmate’s 
personal needs 
related to criminal 
behavior and 30 
days for 
completion of a 
program on top of 
good time.  

kidnapping a 
minor, sexual 
assault, or child 
molestation 
cannot earn 
good time 

South Carolina 
§24-13-210 to 
235  

3 or 20 days per 
month served for a 
good conduct 
record. 

Up to 1 day for 
every 2 or 6 days 
per month for 
actively enrolled 
and participating 
in academic 
training; granted 
upon successful 
completion on top 
of good time.  

Up to 1 day for 
every 2 or 6 days 
per month for 
actively enrolled 
and participating 
in vocational or 
technical 
training; granted 
upon successful 
completion on 
top of good time.  

      

South Dakota 
N/A 

        No credit.  

Tennessee 
§41-21-236 

Up to 8 days per 
month served for 
good institutional 

Up to 8 days per 
month of 
participation on 

Up to 8 days per 
month of 
participation on 

 Up to 8 days 
per month 
working on 

   Inmates can 
earn up to 16 
days per month 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

behavior.  top of good time.   
60 days for 
completion of 
GED, high school 
diploma, 2 or 4-
year college 
degree or applied 
sciences program 
on top of all other 
credit.  

top of good time;  
60 days for 
completion of a 
vocational 
educational 
diploma 

top of good 
time 
 

and one 
educational 
completion 
credit.   

Texas  
Gov. Code 
§498.002 - 
§498.003 

 10 to 30 days per 
month of 
participation in an 
educational 
program; literacy 
program only if 
inmate is a tutor 
or pupil 

10 to 30 days per 
month of  
participation in a 
vocational 
program 

10 to 30 days per 
month of 
participation in a 
treatment 
program 

10 to 30 days 
per month 
working in an 
industrial or 
other work 
program 

10 to 30 days 
per month 
working in 
agricultural 
program 

   

Utah  
§77-27-5.4 

       Minimum 4 months 
for completion of 
one program 
identified in case 
action plan.  

Earn credit for 
up to two 
programs. 
Parole board has 
discretion to 
award additional 
time.  

Vermont 
28 VSA §811 to 
§813 
 

    30 days per 
month for 
working in a 
work camp. 

    

Virginia  
§53.1-191, 
§53.1-202 et 
seq. 

      Time awarded 
is agency 
discretion for 
assistance in 
preventing an 
escape; blood 
donation to 
another 

4.5 days per 30 
served for 
participation and 
cooperation in 
programs based on 
a risk assessment, 
related to 
successful reentry 
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STATES GOOD TIME 

EARNED TIME 

NOTES 

Education Vocation Treatment Work 
Disaster / 

Conservation 
Meritorious Other 

prisoner; 
extraordinary 
service; suffers 
bodily injury 

Washington 
§9.94A.729 

Up to 1/3 of total 
sentence for good 
behavior and 
performance.  

      Up to 50% of 
sentence for good 
behavior and 
performance in 
reentry program 
plan.* 

Good time 
cannot exceed 
1/3 of total 
sentence. *50% 
does not apply 
to inmates 
convicted after 
July 1, 2010.  

West Virginia 
§28-5-27  

1 day for 1 day 
served as 
determined by 
DOC rules 

  See other   Time can be 
awarded at 
agency 
discretion, with 
approval of 
governor for 
exceptional 
work or service. 

  

Wisconsin 
§302.113(3) 
and §302.11 

        10 days – 40 
days added to 
mandatory 
release date for 
violating rules or 
not performing 
required duties. 

Wyoming §7-
13-420 and 
P&P #1.500 

Up to 10 or 15 days 
per month based 
on inmate 
performance, 
conduct and 
behavior.  

       Statute Instructs 
the governor, 
parole board 
and DOC to 
create policy 

Source:  National Conference of State Legislatures, November 2011 (updated Jan. 2015) 

 
NCSL Criminal Justice Program 

Denver, Colorado 
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