

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Legislative Council Study Committee on School Data

Chair Jeremy Thiesfeldt, Representative 604 Sunset Lane

Fond du Lac, WI 54935

David Bowen, Representative

4080 N. 21st St. #3 Milwaukee, WI 53209

Sally Flaschberger, Lead Advocacy Specialist

Disability Rights Wisconsin 6737 W. Washington, Ste. 3230

Milwaukee, WI 53214

Nicole Hafele, Teacher

Monona Grove High School 1007 Sandpiper Trail

Cottage Grove, WI 53527

John Humphries, Director of Pupil

Services/Acting/Substitute Principal

Dodgeville School District

121 North Grove Street

Mount Horeb, WI 53572

Chris Larson, Senator

3261 S. Herman Street

Milwaukee, WI 53207

Margaret Murphy, Member

Neenah School Board

517 Maple Lane

Neenah, WI 54956

Ann Steenwyk, Principal

Sheboygan County Christian School

929 Greenfield Ave..

Sheboygan, WI 53081

Vice Chair Devin LeMahieu, Senator

21 S 8th Street

Oostburg, WI 53070

Kevin Bruggink, District Administrator

School District of Oostburg

410 New York Ave.

Oostburg, WI 53070

Wendy Greenfield, Director of Advancement

Saint Lucas Lutheran School

648 E. Dover St.

Milwaukee, WI 53207

Kelly Hoyland, Technology Director

Menomonie School District

E6447 836th Ave.

Colfax, WI 54730

Kim Kaukl, Executive Director

Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance

1755 Oakwood Circle

Plain, WI 53577

David Murphy, Representative

1777 Ivy Lane

Greenville, WI 54942

Sondy Pope, Representative

317 Nesheim Trail

Mt. Horeb, WI 53572

<u>STUDY ASSIGNMENT</u>: The Study Committee is directed to review all student data gathered by the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) and the data security measures that protect student privacy. The committee will study whether the data is required by federal law, state statute, or administrative rule and the purposes for which the data is utilized, and consider developing legislation to limit the types of student data collected by DPI and to improve the security of that data.

15 MEMBERS: 4 Representatives; 2 Senators; and 9 Public Members.

<u>LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF</u>: Katie Bender-Olson, Senior Staff Attorney, Brian Larson, Staff Attorney, and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.