

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

STUDY COMMITTEE ON VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTER AND EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN SHORTAGES

Senator Stephen Nass, Chair Representative Jesse Kremer, Vice-Chair

September 20, 2016

Room 412 East State Capitol Madison, WI

9:30 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

9:35 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM THE COMMITTEE'S AUGUST 30, 2016 MEETING.

9:40 a.m. PRESENTATION BY LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL COMMITTEE STAFF:

• Memo No. 1, *Options for Legislation Regarding Training Requirements* (September 9, 2016).

10:00 a.m. DISCUSSION OF OPTIONS FOR LEGISLATION.

11:45 a.m. LUNCH.

12:30 p.m. PRESENTATION BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS:

- Gerald Derr, Chair, Town of Bristol, Dane County, and President, Northeast Dane Fire Unit.
- Kenneth Monroe, President, Village of Bloomfield, Walworth County.
- Kathy Overman, Treasurer, Town of Spider Lake, Sawyer County.

1:15 p.m. PRESENTATION BY WISCONSIN FIRE CHIEFS:

• Timothy Bantes, Fire Chief, Town of Grand Chute Fire Department, Outagamie County.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/lc http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

- Barry Kuenkel, Fire Chief, Cumberland Fire District, Barron County.
- Nathaniel Melby, Fire Chief, Town of Campbell Fire Department, La Crosse County.

2:00 p.m. PRESENTATION BY WISCONSIN EMS PROVIDERS:

- Michael Fraley, EMS Coordinator, Portage County EMS.
- Mark Fredrickson, Executive Director, Gold Cross Ambulance, City of Menasha, Calumet and Winnebago Counties.
- Eric Nilson, Ambulance Administrator, Sawyer County Ambulance.
- Larry Ullmer, Director, County Rescue Services, Inc., City of Green Bay, Brown County.
- 3:15 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 3:50 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.
- 3:55 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 4:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sen. Bewley; Rep Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright.