State of Wisconsin

2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE
LRB-0236/P1

ARG:kjf

PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT to create 38.12 (14) of the statutes; relating to: registration priority for

certain courses offered at technical colleges.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill prohibits technical colleges that offer courses as part of a fire fighter
or emergency medical services training program from giving registration priority to
a resident of the technical college district (district resident) over a state resident
living outside the technical college district (nondistrict resident) if the nondistrict
resident registered for the course at least 15 days prior to the course start date and
the district resident registered for the course less than 15 days prior to the course
start date.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 38.12 (14) of the statutes is created to read:

38.12 (14) LIMITS ON REGISTRATION PRIORITY FOR CERTAIN COURSES. (a) In this
subsection:

1. “Emergency medical services training program” means a training program

for individuals who are, or are undertaking training to become, an emergency
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SECTION 1
medical technician, as defined in s. 256.01 (5), or a first responder, as defined in s.
256.01 (9).

2. “Fire fighter training program” means a training program for fire fighters
under sub. (9) or s. 38.04 (9).

(b) Each district board shall establish a written policy for all of its district
schools offering a fire fighter training program or emergency medical services
training program that prohibits the district school from giving registration priority,
for a course offered as part of the program, to any student who is a resident of the
district over a student who is a resident of this state but not a resident of the district
if all of the following apply:

1. The student who is a resident of this state but not a resident of the district
registered for the course at least 15 days prior to the date the course is scheduled to
begin.

2. The student who is a resident of the district registered for the course less
than 15 days prior to the date the course is scheduled to begin.

SECTION 2. Initial applicability.

(1) This act first applies to registration for courses offered in the first semester
or session beginning after the effective date of this subsection.

SEcTION 3. Effective date.

(1) This act takes effect on the first day of the 4th month beginning after
publication.

(END)



