

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Legislative Council Study Committee on Bail and Conditions of Pretrial Release

Chair Van Wanggaard, Senator

1246 Blaine Ave. Racine, WI 53405

Jennifer Dorow, Chief Judge District 3 Waukesha County Circuit Court Branch 2 Courthouse, Room C267 515 W. Moreland Blvd. Waukesha, WI 53188

**Adam Gerol**, District Attorney, Ozaukee County 1201 Spring St., Box 994 Port Washington, WI 53074

Scott Horne, Judge La Crosse County Circuit Court Branch 4 333 Vine St. La Crosse, WI 54601-3296

**Jane Klekamp**, Assoc. County Admin. La Crosse County 212 6<sup>th</sup> Street North, Ste. 2400 La Crosse, WI 54601

**Kelli Thompson**, State Public Defender Office of the State Public Defender 315 N. Henry St. Madison, WI 53703

**Paul Susienka**, Sheriff Bayfield County Sheriff's Department 615 2<sup>nd</sup> Ave. East Washburn, WI 54891 Vice Chair Fred A. Risser, Senator 100 Wisconsin Ave., Unit 501 Madison, WI 53703

**Cindi Duchow**, Representative N22 W 28692 Louis Ave. Pewaukee, WI 53072

**Evan Goyke**, Representative 2734 W. State St. Milwaukee, WI 53208

**Gary King**, District Attorney
Eau Claire Government Center – 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor
721 Oxford Ave., Ste. 2570
Eau Claire, WI 54703

Joseph McCleer, Attorney McCleer Law Office, LLC 1127 S. Main St. Oshkosh, WI 54902

**Ron Tusler**, Representative W5721 Firelane 12 Harrison, WI 54952

Maxine White, Chief Judge Milwaukee County Circuit Court 901 N. 9<sup>th</sup> St., Room 609 Milwaukee, WI 53233-1425

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Study Committee is directed to review Wisconsin's pretrial release system, including considerations for courts in imposing monetary bail and for denying pretrial release. The committee shall review relevant Wisconsin constitutional and statutory provisions and best practices implemented by Wisconsin counties and other states, including use of risk assessment tools for informing pretrial detention decisions. The committee is directed to recommend legislation regarding bail and pretrial release that enhances public safety, respects constitutional rights of the accused, considers costs to local governments, and incorporates evidence-based strategies.

14 MEMBERS: 3 Representatives; 2 Senators; and 9 Public Members.

<u>LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF</u>: Katie Bender-Olson and David Moore, Senior Staff Attorneys; and Tracey Young, Support Staff.