

### WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

### **AGENDA**

# STUDY COMMITTEE ON THE INVESTMENT AND USE OF THE SCHOOL TRUST FUNDS

Representative Terry Katsma, Chair Senator Lena C. Taylor, Vice-Chair

August 16, 2018

Room 411 South State Capitol Madison, WI

10:00 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Representative Robert Brooks, Co-Chair, Joint Legislative Council.
- Terry C. Anderson, Director, Legislative Council Staff.

10:10 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ASSIGNMENT:

Representative Terry Katsma.

10:20 a.m. PRESENTATION BY THE STAFF OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC LANDS:

- Jonathan Barry, Executive Secretary.
- Tom German, Deputy Secretary.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • Madison, WI 53703-3382 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/lc">leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/lc</a>

## 11:15 a.m. WISCONSIN EDUCATIONAL MEDIA AND TECHNOLOGY ASSOCIATION PANEL:

- Kay Benning, Director of Library Services, Elmbrook Schools.
- Tony Spence, Chief Information Officer, Muskego-Norway School District.
- Micki Uppena, Library Media Specialist, Lancaster Community Schools.
- Janet Vraney, Library Media Specialist, Green Bay Public Schools.

#### 12:15 p.m. LUNCH.

#### 1:00 p.m. LOCAL GOVERNMENT PANEL:

- Robert Scott, Finance Director, City of Brookfield.
- Allen Buechel, County Executive, Fond du Lac County.
- Lester Lewis, Town Chair, Town of Molitor.

#### 2:00 p.m. PRESENTATION BY STATE TREASURER MATT ADAMCZYK.

2:30 p.m. BREAK.

#### 2:40 p.m. SCHOOL BOARD AND DISTRICT ADMINISTRATION PANEL:

- Doug Mering, Vice President, Baraboo School Board.
- Brian Krey, Business Manager, and Jon Novak, Business Manager Emeritus, River Valley School District.
- Todd Carlson, Superintendent, Gillett School District.
- Keith Brightman, Director of Finance and Operations, Menominee Falls School District.

#### 3:40 p.m. PRESENTATION BY SECRETARY OF STATE DOUGLAS LA FOLLETTE.

4:10 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

# [An orientation session for the committee's public members will begin one hour prior to the meeting.]

Other committee members: Sen. Stroebel and Rep. Vruwink; and Public Members Bannigan, Derr, Eager, Merkes, and O'Malley.