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IMPORTANT CHANGES 

Effective April 10, 2015 "Class A" licensees are 
authorized to provide free of charge to custom-
ers and visitors of legal drinking age, taste 
samples of intoxicating liquor other than wine 
not exceeding 0.5 fluid ounces each, for con-
sumption on the licensed premises. The licensee 
may provide one taste sample per person per day 
between the hours of 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. 

Effective April 27, 2016 the option for munici-
pal electors to determine by referendum whether 
a municipality shall issue a particular type of li-
cense is eliminated, the governing body of the 
municipality still determines which license the 
municipality will issue. Alcohol beverage rec-
ords required to be kept by manufacturers, 
distributors and retailers may now be kept on the 
licensed premises in electronic form only, paper 
records are no longer required. 

I. INTRODUCTION 

This publication provides information about state alco-
hol beverage and tobacco laws that affect you as a 
retailer. 

Most of the laws outlined in this publication are found 
in Chapter 125 and sections 134.65 and 134.66 of the 
Wisconsin Statutes. 

Municipalities also may enact additional regulations 
affecting your business. You should contact your local 
municipal clerk if you have questions about local ordi-
nances. 

If you are unable to find an answer to your question 
about state alcohol beverage and tobacco laws, email, 
write, or call the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, 
Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement Unit. 

Visit our website: revenue.wi.gov 

Email: DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforce-
ment@wisconsin.gov 

Write: Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
 Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement Unit 
 P.O. Box 8933 
 Madison, WI 53708-8933 

Telephone: (608) 266-2772 

CAUTION 

• The information in this publication reflects the 
position of the Wisconsin Department of Reve-
nue of laws enacted by the Wisconsin legislature 
as of December 1, 2016. Laws enacted after this 
date, administrative rules, and court decisions 
may change the interpretations in this publica-
tion. 

• The examples and type of sales and purchases 
provided in this publication are not all-inclusive. 
They merely set forth common examples. 

II. DEFINITIONS 

Adult – A person who is 18 years of age or older. 

Minor – A person who is under 18 years of age. 

Legal Drinking Age – 21 years of age. 

Underage Person – A person who is not of legal drink-
ing age. 

Beer – A fermented malt beverage containing 0.5% or 
more of alcohol by volume. 

Cider - an alcohol beverage that is obtained by the fer-
mentation of the juice of apples or pears and that 
contains not less than 0.5 percent alcohol by volume 
and not more than 7.0 percent alcohol by volume. "Ci-
der" includes flavored, sparkling, and carbonated cider. 
(Effective January 1, 2016) 

Intoxicating Liquor (Or Liquor) – All alcohol bever-
ages (other than beer) containing 0.5% or more alcohol 
by volume, and all wines. 

Alcohol Beverages – A statutory term which includes 
beer, wine, and liquor. 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelp.aspx?subject=doralcoholtobaccoenforcement
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ContactUs/dorhelp.aspx?subject=doralcoholtobaccoenforcement


Publication 302 
 
 

 4 

Painting Studio – An establishment primarily engaged 
in the business of providing to customers instruction in 
the art of painting and that offers customers the oppor-
tunity to purchase food and beverage for consumption 
while they paint. 

Provisional Retail License 

1. A municipal governing body that issues licenses 
shall issue provisional retail licenses. The govern-
ing body may by ordinance establish standards 
under which the licenses shall be issued and shall 
by ordinance designate the municipal official hav-
ing the authority to issue the provisional license. 

2. The provisional retail license may be issued only to 
a person applying for a Class “A” beer, Class “B” 
beer, “Class A” liquor, “Class B” liquor or 
“Class C” wine. 

3. The fee shall be determined locally but may not 
exceed $15. 

4. The license will expire 60 days after issuance or 
when the person has been issued a license as listed 
under 2. The official who issued the provisional re-
tail license may revoke the license if he or she 
discovers the holder made a false statement on the 
application. 

5. A municipality may not issue a provisional 
“Class B” liquor license if the municipality’s quota 
is filled. 

6. No person may hold more than one provisional re-
tail license for each type of license applied for by 
the holder per year. 

Class “A” Fermented Malt Beverage License –
Authorizes the retail sale of beer and beer-based cool-
ers, in the original sealed container, for consumption off 
the licensed premises. 

1. No sales to other licensees for resale; 

2. May sell in any quantity to the public; 

3. No beer sales between 12 midnight and 6:00 a.m. 

4. Local ordinances may further restrict these hours. 

5. May furnish customers with two 3 fluid ounce taste 
samples of beer between 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. 

“Class A” Liquor License – Authorizes the retail sale 
of liquor and wine, in the original sealed container, for 
consumption off the licensed premises. A "Class 
A"(cider only) license authorizes the retail sale of cider, 
and shall be issued to a license applicant holding a 
Class "A" (beer) license for the same premise. The sale 
of intoxicating liquor is limited to cider only. Munici-
palities may not charge an initial issuance fee for a 
"Class A" (cider only) license, but publication of the 
"Class A" (cider only) license application is required 
and the license applicant shall pay the cost of publica-
tion of the license application. 

1. No sales to other licensees for resale; 

2. May sell in any quantity to the public; 

3. May not sell intoxicating liquor and wine between 
9:00 p.m. - 6:00 a.m. 

4. Local ordinances may further restrict these hours. 

5. May furnish customers free of charge two 3 fluid 
ounce taste samples of wine between 11:00 a.m. – 
7:00 p.m. 

6. May furnish customers free of charge one 0.5 fluid 
ounce taste samples of intoxicating liquor other 
than wine between 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. 

Class “B” Fermented Malt Beverage License –
Authorizes the retail sale of beer and beer-based coolers 
for consumption on the licensed premises and for con-
sumption off the licensed premises. 

1. No sales to other licensees for resale; 

2. May sell in any quantity to the public; 

3. Must be closed between the following hours: 

a) Monday - Friday – 2:00 a.m. - 6:00 a.m. 

b) Saturday - Sunday – 2:30 a.m. - 6:00 a.m. 

c) Second Sunday in March – 3:30 a.m. – 
6:00 a.m. 

d) New Year’s Eve – No closing required. 
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e) Local municipalities may NOT further restrict 
the closing hours. 

4. No off-premises sales between 12:00 midnight - 
6:00 a.m. Local ordinances may further restrict 
these sales hours. 

“Class B” Liquor License – Authorizes the retail sale 
of liquor by the drink for consumption on the licensed 
premises and (if allowed by local ordinance) in the orig-
inal sealed container for off-premises consumption. 

A single, open bottle of wine may be taken off premise 
if ordered with a meal and re-corked prior to being tak-
en off premise. 

1. No sales to other licensees for resale; 

2. Off-premises sales of liquor, when permitted by 
local ordinance, limited to 4 liters or less; 

3. Wine may be sold in the original package, in any 
quantity, for on and off-premises consumption. 

4. Closing hours the same as Class “B” License, 
above. 

5. A winery that has a “Class B” (wine only) license 
issued under s. 125.51(3)(am) must close between 
9:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. 

“Class C” Wine License – Authorizes the retail sale of 
wine by the glass or in an opened original container for 
consumption on premises only. 

A single, open bottle of wine may be taken off premise 
if ordered with a meal and re-corked prior to being tak-
en off premise. 

1. No sales to other licensees for resale. 

2. Closing hours the same as Class “B” License, 
above. 

Notice - With limited exceptions, all retailers of alcohol 
beverages may only sell to consumers who are physical-
ly at the licensed premises. 

For example: 

(1) A customer phones in an order to a local pizza par-
lor (that holds a Class B beer license) to have a 

pizza and a six pack of beer delivered to his home – 
this sale is prohibited, as the sale was not made 
face-to-face to the consumer at the licensed premis-
es 

(2) A group of college students call their local liquor 
store and ask that 6 half barrels of beer be delivered 
to their house for a party – this sale is prohibited, as 
the sale was not made face-to-face to the consumers 
at the licensed premises. 

III. ALCOHOL BEVERAGE LAW 

A. Closing Hours 

1. Customers must leave the premises by the clos-
ing hour; internal business operations (counting 
cash, cleaning, repairs, etc.) may be done after 
hours but licensees must be able to prove that 
anyone on the premises after hours is there for 
these purposes. 

2. Hotels and restaurants whose “principal busi-
ness” is furnishing lodging and food to 
customers, drug stores, grocery stores, bowling 
centers, movie theaters, painting studios, indoor 
horseshoe pitching facilities, indoor golf simu-
lator facilities, indoor golf and baseball 
facilities (Class "B" premises), golf courses, 
and curling clubs may remain open after hours 
to conduct their regular business. They may not 
permit consumption of or sell alcohol beverages 
after hours. 

“Principal business” means the primary activity 
as determined by analyzing the amount of capi-
tal, labor, time, attention, and floor space 
devoted to each business activity and by analyz-
ing the sources of net income and gross income. 
The name, appearance, and advertising of the 
entity may also be taken into consideration if 
they are given less weight. 

B. Daylight Saving Time 

Section 175.095(2), Wis. Stats., states that daylight 
saving time begins at 2:00 a.m. the second Sunday 
in March and ends at 2:00 a.m. the first Sunday in 
November. 
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As such, clocks are set ahead one hour at 2:00 a.m. 
the second Sunday in March. Thus taverns would 
close at 3:30 a.m. daylight saving time on this date. 

On the first Sunday in November, the clocks are set 
back an hour at 2:00 a.m.; bars gain an extra hour 
and must close at 2:30 a.m. regular Central Stand-
ard Time. 

C. Training Requirements For Completion Of The 
Responsible Beverage Server Training Course 
(Required As A Condition Of Licensing) 

Applicants must successfully complete an approved 
training course, such as courses offered by the  
Wisconsin Technical College System, or similar 
approved classroom or online courses (see “Train-
ing” on the department’s website at revenue.wi.gov) 
unless: 

1. The person is renewing a retail or an operator’s 
(bartender’s/sales clerks) license. 

2. The person was the agent (within the last two 
years) for a corporation or limited liability 
company that held a Class “A” beer, Class “B” 
beer, “Class A” liquor, "Class A" (cider only), 
“Class B” liquor or “Class C” wine license. 

3. The person held a retail license or an operator’s 
or manager’s license during the past two years. 

4. The person completed such a course within the 
past two years. 

IV. LICENSING 

A license is a privilege granted by local authorities to a 
particular person, partnership, limited liability compa-
ny, or corporation to run a particular place for the time 
period specified. Just as one’s driver’s license can’t be 
used by another, an alcohol beverage license can’t be 
used by someone other than the licensee to sell alcohol 
beverages. The license or permit of a person who vio-
lates this shall be revoked. The governing body of every 
city, village, and town may, but is not required to, is-
sue local retail liquor and beer licenses. The 
municipality may refuse to issue licenses as long as it 
uses good judgment and does not discriminate between 
applicants. 

V. SALE OF ALCOHOL BEVERAGES 

The term “sale,” “sold,” or “sell” includes the transfer, 
gift, barter, trade, exchange, or any shift, device, 
scheme, or transaction whatever, whereby alcohol bev-
erages may be obtained. Giving away alcohol beverages 
or using any other device to evade the law relating to its 
sale is an unlawful sale. 

The following are some examples of illegal transactions 
at unlicensed premises: 

1. A “free” drink with a meal; 

2. A cover charge, whereby mix is furnished at a 
price, with “no charge” for liquor; 

3. A “free” bottle of liquor tied into the sale of 
some other item. 

Penalty: Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprison-
ment for not more than nine months, or both. 

VI. SELLER’S PERMIT 

A. Every individual, partnership, corporation, or other 
organization making retail sales, leases or rentals of 
tangible personal property in Wisconsin must have 
a seller’s permit. 

B. The alcohol beverage license and seller's permit 
must be in the same legal name (see exception be-
low). If the alcohol beverage license is issued to a 
partnership or corporation, the seller's permit must 
be too; not to the agent, officer, or individual. When 
dealing with a limited liability company (LLC) al-
ways issue the alcohol beverage license in the legal 
name of the LLC (not trade name or owner's name). 

Exception: Some alcohol beverage licenses are is-
sued to an LLC where the business operates as a 
sole proprietor or single member for sales tax pur-
poses. In such cases the LLC's seller's permit may 
be issued in the name of the sole proprietor or sin-
gle member of the LLC. If an LLC applies for an 
alcohol beverage license and furnishes a seller's 
permit that is not in the legal name of the LLC, call 
the department at (608) 266-2776 to verify whether 
the seller's permit is valid for the LLC. 
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Write: Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
 Mail Stop 5-77 
 PO Box 8949 
 Madison, WI  53708-8949 

Phone: (608) 266-2776 

Email: DORSalesandUse@wisconsin.gov 

Visit our website: revenue.wi.gov 

VII. FEDERAL TAX STAMP 

Before beginning business every retail licensee must 
file an Alcohol Dealer Registration with the federal De-
partment of Treasury Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and 
Trade Bureau (TTB). Use TTB Form 5630.5d. This 
form is available from the TTB website at: 
ttb.gov/forms/f56305d.pdf or by calling the National 
Revenue Center at 1-800-937-8864. Once you have reg-
istered your business, any change in your business 
operation must be reported before the subsequent Ju-
ly 1, using the same form. 

VIII. LICENSES FRAMED AND POSTED 

All liquor and beer licenses must be framed and posted 
in the room where the business is carried on. Everyone 
visiting the business must be able to easily see the li-
censes in that room. Any related permits and licenses 
(including seller's permits) should be posted with the 
alcohol beverage license. 

IX. REQUIRED ONSITE SUPERVISION 
OF LICENSED PREMISES 

A. Except in Class “A” beer premises between mid-
night and 6:00 a.m. (or any time when the sale of 
fermented malt beverages is prohibited by munici-
pal ordinance), one of the following must be present 
on all licensed premises during all business hours: 

1. The licensee, or; 

2. An adult member of licensee’s immediate fami-
ly (actually living in the licensee’s household), 
or; 

3. The corporation, or limited liability company's 
agent, (the agent’s immediate family members 

must have an operators’ license, if they super-
vise the premises in the agent’s absence), or; 

4. The holder of a provisional operator’s license 
(issued to persons enrolled in the responsible 
beverage server training course pending ap-
proval of an operator’s license by the municipal 
governing body), or; 

5. The holder of an operator’s or manager’s li-
cense. 

B. An adult working under the immediate supervision 
of any of the above does not need an operator’s li-
cense. NOTE: “Immediate supervision” means that 
the licensed person must be able to watch and su-
pervise each unlicensed person’s actions. This 
means that the licensed person must be in the same 
room or area as the unlicensed person, near enough 
to see and talk to him or her, and to be able to actu-
ally supervise the unlicensed person. 

C. An operator’s license is good in any premises in the 
municipality where it has been issued, but it may be 
used only in that municipality. Licensees may be 
prosecuted for not having the required supervision 
on their premises. 

X. SALE TO INTOXICATED PERSONS 

It is illegal to furnish alcohol beverages to an intoxicat-
ed person. The penalty for this violation is $100-$500 
fine, imprisonment for not more than 60 days, or both. 

XI. REFILLED LIQUOR BOTTLES 

A. It is illegal to refill any liquor bottle; you may not 
pour any substance into a liquor bottle, even the 
same brand of liquor. 

B. When a bottle is empty, deface its label and break 
the bottle. If the bottle has a Wisconsin tax stamp, 
deface this, too. 

C. You don’t have to break bottles saved for recycling; 
however, the labels must be defaced. Bottles saved 
for recycling must be placed in boxes marked “For 
Recycling Only.” 

mailto:DORSalesandUse@wisconsin.gov
http://www.ttb.gov/forms/f56305d.pdf
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D. You do not have to break empty ceramic decanters, 
but you must deface the tax stamp, if any. 

XII. IDENTIFICATION REGISTER 

A. The Department of Revenue recommends that every 
licensee keep an identification register book. The 
ID register may be used to record the identity of a 
person who alleges he or she is of legal drinking 
age. The book may also be used to record the iden-
tity of a person who alleges that he or she is an 
underage person’s parent, guardian, or spouse and 
that he or she has attained the legal drinking age. 
Record the date of purchase, the type of identifica-
tion used, and the address of the purchaser, then 
have the purchaser sign the register. Check the sig-
nature in the book against the signature on the ID to 
see that they match. 

B. The “Proof of Age Register” or “Identification Reg-
ister Book” may be purchased, at a small fee, from: 

1. Tavern League of Wisconsin, 2817 Fish Hatch-
ery Road, Fitchburg, WI, 53713-5005, phone: 
(608) 270-8591, email: info@tlw.org. 

2. Wisconsin Grocers Assn., One S. Pinckney, 
Ste. 504, Madison, WI, 53703, phone: 
(608) 244-7150, 
email: sdecorah@wisconsingrocers.com. 

XIII. PRESERVATION OF RECORDS 

Alcohol beverage (and cigarette and tobacco products) 
retailers must purchase these products only from Wis-
consin wholesalers. They may not be transferred 
between retail accounts, except that alcohol beverages 
may be transferred as specified in “Transfer of Alcohol 
Beverage Stock,” below. 

Keep invoices for all purchases of liquor, beer, (and 
cigarettes and tobacco products) on the licensed premis-
es for 2 years from the date of the invoice. Keep them in 
sequence and in chronological order. They must be 
available for inspection during business hours. Alcohol 
beverage records may be kept on the licensed premises 
in electronic form only, paper copies are not required. 

XIV. TRANSFER OF ALCOHOL 
BEVERAGE STOCK 

If you sell your business, you may transfer your sealed 
liquor, wine and beer stock to another retail licensee in 
this state. List your entire sealed stock on an inventory 
Form AT-900 available at the Department of Revenue’s 
website at revenue.wi.gov. Complete this form in dupli-
cate, sign it, and have it signed by the buyer. Give one 
copy to the buyer, to be kept as an invoice on the li-
censed premises, and keep one copy for your own 
records. Cigarettes and tobacco products may not be 
transferred. A licensed retailer may sell his or her entire 
sealed alcohol beverage stock in a liquidating transac-
tion to another licensed retailer  

XV. "WINE OR BEER WALKS" 

A. A "wine or beer walk" is a single-day event at 
which customers are served a glass of beer or wine 
at multiple locations (e.g., jewelry stores, art galler-
ies, clothing boutiques, salons, furniture stores, etc.) 
during their shopping visits. 

B. Effective October 23, 2015, Wisconsin law (2015 
Wisconsin Act 62) authorizes a municipality to  
issue Temporary Class "B" (beer) licenses and 
Temporary "Class B" (wine only) licenses to a  
qualified organization, including a chamber of 
commerce or similar civic or trade organization or-
ganized under chapter 181 of the Wisconsin statutes 
to promote economic growth and opportunity with-
in a local geographical area. 

C. Single-Day, Multiple-Location Event 

1. WINE EVENT: A municipality may issue to a 
qualified organization up to 20 Temporary 
"Class B" (wine only) licenses for a single-day, 
multiple-location event (commonly referred to 
as a "wine walk") on a specific date and time. 

a. The Temporary "Class B" (wine only) li-
censes must be issued to the same qualified 
organization, who is the licensee and spon-
sor of the single-day, multiple-location 
event 
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b. The Temporary "Class B" (wine only) li-
censes must be issued for the same date and 
time 

c. An admission fee must be charged for par-
ticipation in the event and no additional fee 
can be charged for the wine 

d. A municipality may authorize the licensee 
to permit unaccompanied underage persons 
to be on the licensee's premise only if the 
underage person is acting as a designated 
driver and has been provided a means of 
identification, such as a wristband, by the 
licensee 

e. No person may serve wine after 9:00 p.m. 
on premises for which Temporary 
"Class B" (wine only) licenses are issued 
for a single-day, multiple-location event 

f. A qualified organization may receive Tem-
porary "Class B" (wine only) licenses for 
up to two events during a 12-month period, 
and a municipality may issue Temporary 
"Class B" (wine only) licenses for a total of 
up to two events during a 12-month period 

2. BEER EVENT: A municipality may issue to a 
qualified organization Temporary Class "B" 
(beer) licenses for a single-day, multiple-
location event (commonly referred to as a "beer 
walk") on a specific date and time. 

a. The Temporary Class "B" (beer) licenses 
must be issued to the same qualified organ-
ization, who is the licensee and sponsor of 
the single-day, multiple-location event 

b. The Temporary Class "B" (beer) licenses 
must be issued for the same date and time 

c. An admission fee must be charged for par-
ticipation in the event and no additional fee 
can be charged for service of the beer 

d. Municipalities may authorize a Temporary 
Class "B" (beer) licensee to permit under-
age persons on the premises for which a 
beer license is issued 

e. There is no limit to the number of  
Temporary Class "B" (beer) licenses a  
municipality may issue to a qualified organ-
ization 

3. A municipality is authorized to charge a fee not 
exceeding $10 for each Temporary Class "B" 
(beer) or Temporary "Class B" (wine only) li-
cense issued for the single-day, multiple-
location event. 

4. Requirements applying to other alcohol bever-
age licensees also apply to Temporary 
"Class B" (wine only) and Temporary 
Class "B" (beer) licensees. Some of these re-
quirements include: 

a. The presence of licensed operators to serve 
the wine or beer and/or supervise the ser-
vice of wine or beer. Licensed operators are 
persons holding an "operator's license",  
often called a "bartender's license". Tempo-
rary operator's licenses may be issued to 
persons employed by or donating services 
to the qualified organization for the event. 
A person may hold two temporary operator 
licenses per year. 

b. Licensees must purchase all wine or beer 
from liquor or beer wholesalers or brewer-
ies/brewpubs authorized to self-distribute to 
retail licensees. 

D. Applications for Temporary Class "B" (beer) or 
Temporary "Class B" (wine only) licenses to hold  
a single-day, multiple-location event should be  
submitted to the municipality by the qualified  
organization using the Application for  
Temporary Class “B” / "Class B" Retailer’s Li-
cense (Form AT-315). The qualified organization 
should list each of the participating locations, de-
scribing the premises, or submit a separate 
application for each of the multiple locations partic-
ipating in the single-day, multiple-location event. 
Either method of submitting license applications is 
acceptable. 

XVI. CORKAGE FEES 

Corkage Fees: Wisconsin alcohol beverage law does 
not allow “corkage fees” – fees charged by restaurant 
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owners to allow patrons to carry in their own alcohol 
beverages to be consumed on the premises. 

If the restaurant does have an alcohol beverage license, 
the only alcohol beverages allowed on the premises are 
those which the retailer has purchased from a licensed 
Wisconsin wholesaler; the retailer is required to have 
invoices from the wholesaler showing what product the 
retailer has purchased from the wholesaler. 

If the restaurant does not have an alcohol beverage li-
cense, allowing consumption of alcohol beverages is 
prohibited and the restaurant owner can be charged for 
allowing its illegal consumption. 

XVII. CREDIT LAWS 

A licensee may only buy liquor or beer for cash or on 
credit terms for a period not to exceed 30 days (liquor) 
or 15 days (beer). Licensees may not buy liquor if they 
are in debt to any liquor wholesaler for more than 
30 days, or beer if they are in debt to any beer whole-
saler for more than 15 days. A person may not be issued 
a license if he or she exceeds these limits. 

XVIII. INSPECTION OF LICENSED 
PREMISES 

A. Licensed premises may be inspected by law en-
forcement officers during all reasonable hours, 
including all business hours. All rooms connected 
to the barroom, sales room, or storage area may be 
inspected as part of the licensed premise. Refusing 
to permit an inspection is grounds for revocation or 
suspension of the license. 

B. Liquor, beer, cigarettes, and personal property kept 
in violation of the statutes may be seized. 

XIX. UNDERAGE PERSONS ENTERING 
LICENSED PREMISES 

A. An underage person accompanied by his or her par-
ent, guardian, or spouse of legal drinking age may 
be on any licensed premises. 

B. An unaccompanied underage person may enter a 
Class A alcohol beverage licensed premises to buy 
items other than alcohol beverages. The underage 

person may not stay on the premises after the pur-
chase. 

C. An unaccompanied underage person may also enter 
a licensed premises if: 

1. He or she is an employee, resident, lodger, or 
boarder on the premises, or; 

2. He or she enters to do business other than 
amusement or the purchase or consumption of 
food and beverages (see exception B above), or; 

3. He or she enters to buy food in a restaurant 
whose “principal business” is serving food, or; 

4. The premises is a hotel, drug store, grocery, 
bowling center, movie theater, painting studio, 
service station, indoor golf simulator facility, 
indoor golf and baseball facility on premises 
holding a Class "B" license, vessel, private ten-
nis or soccer club, ski chalet, golf course or 
clubhouse, racetrack licensed under ch. 562, in-
door or outdoor volleyball court, curling club, 
billiards center having 12 or more billiards ta-
bles, privately owned fishing business that is 
open to the public for a fee, car operated on a 
railroad, a regularly established athletic field or 
a county or municipally owned public facility 
as defined in sec. 125.51(5)(b), Wis. Stats., of 
the statutes, or a center for visual or performing 
arts, or; 

5. The premises is in a state park or forest or a 
park owned by an agricultural society receiving 
state aid. 

6. The premises has a Class “B” beer or “Class B” 
liquor license and the underage person is there 
to do business at an auction or flea market. In 
this case, the underage person may not enter 
any room where alcohol beverages are sold, 
furnished or possessed. 

7. The premises has a Class “B” beer or “Class B” 
liquor license and the underage person is in a 
room where no alcohol beverages are sold, fur-
nished, served, or consumed by anyone when 
the underage person is present. This applies on-
ly if the municipality adopts an ordinance 
allowing it. The local law enforcement agency 
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must authorize, in writing, the presence of un-
derage persons on the date of the authorization. 
A separate authorization is necessary for each 
date on which underage persons will be on the 
premises. (Sec. 125.07(3)(a)(8), Wis. Stats.) 

8. The underage person is on Class “B” or 
“Class B” licensed premises, on a date specified 
by the license, when no alcohol beverages are 
consumed, sold, or given away. The licensee, 
the agent named on the license (if a corpora-
tion), or a person with an operator’s license 
must be on the premises unless all alcohol bev-
erages are in locked storage. The licensee must 
notify the local law enforcement agency, in ad-
vance, of when underage persons will be on the 
premises. (Sec. 125.07(3)(a)(10), Wis. Stats.) 

9. The underage person enters and remains in a 
dance hall, or banquet or hospitality room at-
tached to a Class B licensed premises, for the 
purpose of attending a banquet, reception, 
dance or other similar event. 

10. The underage person is at least 18 years old, 
and is working under a contract with a licensee, 
permittee, or corporate agent to provide enter-
tainment for customers on the premises. 

11. The premises is issued a temporary Class “B” 
(picnic) beer license and the licensee is author-
ized to permit underage persons on the premises 
by the official or body of the municipality that 
issued the license, or, the premises is licensed 
as a temporary "Class B" (wine only) license 
and the licensee is authorized to permit unac-
companied underage persons, acting as 
designated drivers, who are provided a means 
of identification by the licensee, such as a 
wristband to be on the licensee's premise. 

Note: When the purpose of the above exemptions 
(that is, bowling, dining, recreation, etc.) can be ac-
complished without the underage person being in 
the barroom or other areas where alcohol beverages 
are sold or consumed, the underage person may not 
enter or remain in such areas (State vs. Ludwig 
Lanes, 31 Wis. 2nd 690). 

D. No retail licensee may permit an underage person, 
not accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse of 

legal drinking age, to enter any part of the licensed 
premises for any purpose except those stated on 
pages 10 and 11. 

E. You should demand proof of age of anyone entering 
the premises who appears to be under the legal 
drinking age. Wisconsin residents may prove age 
with either a valid Wisconsin identification card or 
a pictured Wisconsin driver’s license. You or your 
employee should require anyone who has shown 
proof of legal drinking age to sign an ID register 
book, if the person’s age is in question. Record the 
date of purchase, the identification used, the ad-
dress, and the signature of the purchaser in the 
book. The book should be kept on the premises and 
available for inspection by any peace officer. 
(Sec. 125.07(7), Wis. Stats.) 

XX. SALES AND SERVICE OF 
ALCOHOL BEVERAGES TO 
UNDERAGE PERSONS 

An underage person accompanied by a parent, guardian, 
or spouse of legal drinking age may be sold or served 
alcohol beverages in any licensed premises. 
(Sec. 125.07(1), Wis. Stats.) 

XXI. POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL 
BEVERAGES BY UNDERAGE 
PERSONS 

An underage person may not possess alcohol beverages 
anywhere unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or 
spouse of legal drinking age (sec. 125.07(4)(b). This 
does not apply to underage persons employed by the 
following types of licensees or permittees, in the course 
of this employment: (sec. 125.07(4)(bm), Wis. Stats.) 

A. Brewers 

B. Beer wholesalers 

C. Liquor wholesalers 

D. Facilities for the production of alcohol fuel 

E. Retail licensees or permittees, under the provisions 
of secs. 125.32(2) and 125.68(2), Wis. Stats., (laws 
covering operator’s licenses), or for delivery of un-
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opened containers to the home or vehicle of a cus-
tomer. 

F. Campuses, if the underage person is at least 18 
years of age and is under the immediate supervision 
of a person of legal drinking age. 

XXII. NONALCOHOL “BEER” 

Section 125.02, Wis. Stats., classifies “alcohol beverag-
es” as those beverages containing 0.5% or more alcohol 
by volume. Beverages that contain less than 0.5% alco-
hol by volume are not classified as “alcohol beverages”. 
Thus, these “nonalcohol” beverages are not regulated 
by Chapter 125; they are to be treated the same as other 
noncarbonated waters and sodas, and may be sold to 
anyone, regardless of age. 

These beverages should not be confused with those la-
beled “low alcohol” (L.A.), which generally contain 
3.2% alcohol, and are regulated by Chapter 125 as be-
ing alcohol beverages. 

XXIII. EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS 

A. Minors under 14 years of age may not be employed 
where alcohol beverages are sold except that minors 
as young as 12 may be employed at such establish-
ments if their parents own the business. 

B. Minors 14 and older may be employed where alco-
hol beverages are stored, sold, or served if they are 
not serving, selling, dispensing, or giving away al-
cohol beverages. This applies to all places licensed 
to sell alcohol beverages, including stores, service 
stations, bars, and restaurants. 

C. Minors may not be employed or appear as musi-
cians, singers, performers, or dancers at roadhouses, 
dance halls, night clubs, taverns, or similar places, 
except: 

1. Minors 16 or 17 years of age may be employed 
or appear as musicians in a hall on Friday, Sat-
urday, or any other day not followed by a 
school day, or before midnight on Sunday, if 
the hall was rented to celebrate a special event 
such as a wedding, holiday, birthday, or anni-
versary. 

2. Minors may be so employed or appear at danc-
es held solely for minors, conducted by private 
clubs or civic organizations, where admission is 
limited to the club membership or by club invi-
tation, and the general public is excluded. 
(Sec. 103.78, Wis. Stats.). 

(Sec. 103.78(1)(d), Wis. Stats., and Wis. Adm. 
Code DWD 270.) 

XXIV. OTHER LAWS RELATING TO 
UNDERAGE PERSONS 

A. No one may falsely represent that he or she is of 
legal drinking age to ask for or obtain alcohol bev-
erages in any licensed premises. (Sec. 125.07(4), 
Wis. Stats.) 

B. No one may possess or consume alcohol beverages 
in a public, parochial, or private school, through 
12th grade, or in a vehicle owned by, rented, or 
consigned to a school or while participating in a 
school activity, without the express, written permis-
sion of the school administrator (sec. 125.09(2), 
Wis. Stats.) Permission may not be given to under-
age persons. 

C. A licensed alcohol beverage retailer may bring a 
civil action against a person who violates the state's 
underage drinking law, if the following conditions 
are met: 

• The conduct must occur on the retailer's 
premises 

• The retailer must mail notice of the intent to 
bring action to the underage person or the 
underage person's parent, as applicable at 
least 15 days prior to filing the action 

• The retailer must not have been convicted 
of, received a citation for, or been charged 
with a violation of the underage drinking 
law 

• The retailer must have reported the suspect-
ed conduct to law enforcement at or near 
the time when the conduct was first discov-
ered 

This provision does not apply if the underage per-
son was employed by or assisting a law 
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enforcement agency in carrying out enforcement to 
determine compliance with, or investigating poten-
tial violations of the prohibition on underage 
persons in licensed premises. A retailer prevailing 
in the civil action shall be awarded $1,000 in dam-
ages and the costs of bringing the civil action. 
(Sec. 125.07(4)(f), Wis. Stats.) 

XXV. PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS 

A. Alcohol beverage licensees permitting unaccompa-
nied underage persons to unlawfully enter the 
premises are subject to a forfeiture of not more than 
$500. (Sec. 125.07(3), Wis. Stats.) 

B. An unaccompanied underage person unlawfully 
entering a licensed premises is subject to a forfei-
ture of not less than $250 nor more than $500, 
suspension of his or her motor vehicle operating 
privilege as provided under sec. 343.30(6)(b)1, Wis. 
Stats., participation in a supervised work program, 
or a combination of these penalties. 

C. A person selling or furnishing alcohol beverages to 
an unaccompanied underage person is subject to a 
forfeiture of not more than $500 if the person has 
not committed a previous violation within 30 
months of the violation nor more than $500 or im-
prisoned not more than 30 days or both for a 
subsequent offense within 30 months of the viola-
tion. (Sec. 125.07(1), Wis. Stats.) 

If a violation occurs on licensed premises, detected 
by means of an undercover underage person em-
ployed by or assisting a law enforcement agency, 
only the individual responsible for providing the al-
cohol beverages to the underage person may be 
issued a citation for or charged with, the violation. 

D. An underage person misrepresenting his or her age 
to obtain alcohol beverages is subject to the same 
penalties described in B. above. 

E. Anyone unlawfully possessing or consuming alco-
hol beverages on a school premises, in a school 
vehicle, or while participating in a school activity is 
subject to a forfeiture of not more than $200 
(sec. 125.09(2)(d), Wis. Stats.) except that disposi-
tion in the proceedings against an underage person 
shall be as provided by ss. 48.344 and 125.07(4)(c) 
and (d), Wis. Stats.. 

F. The alcohol beverage license of any person com-
mitting a violation of sec. 125.07(1), Wis. Stats. 
shall be suspended for: 

1. Not more than 3 days if a second violation is 
committed within 12 months of a previous vio-
lation. 

2. Not less than 3 days nor more than 10 days if a 
third violation is committed within 12 months 
of two previous violations. 

3. Not less than 15 days nor more than 30 days if a 
fourth violation is committed within 12 months 
after committing three other violations. 

XXVI. FALSE ID CARDS - PENALTIES 

A. Anyone other than a person authorized by 
sec. 25.085, Wis. Stats., or sec. 343.50, Wis. Stats., 
who makes, alters, or duplicates an official identifi-
cation (“ID”) card, provides an official ID card to 
an underage person, or knowingly provides other 
documentation to an underage person claiming that 
the underage person is of legal drinking age may be 
fined not less than $300 nor more than $1,250 or 
imprisoned not less than ten days nor more than 
thirty days, or both. 

B. Any underage person who does any of the follow-
ing may be penalized. For a first violation, a 
forfeiture of $300 - $1,250, suspension of the per-
son’s driving privilege, participation in a supervised 
work program, or any combination of these penal-
ties. 

1. Intentionally carries an official ID card not le-
gally issued to him or her, an official ID card 
obtained under false pretenses, or an official ID 
card which has been duplicated to give false in-
formation. 

2. Makes, alters, or duplicates an official ID card. 

3. Gives false information in applying for an offi-
cial ID card. 

4. Intentionally carries an ID card or other docu-
mentation showing that he or she is of legal 
drinking age, knowing that the documentation 
is false. 
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5. Provides to another underage person an official 
ID card or other documentation claiming that 
the other underage person is of legal drinking 
age, knowing that the documentation is false. 

C. Any person who violates “A,” above, for money or 
other consideration is guilty of a Class I felony. 

XXVII. ID/DL CHECKING GUIDE 

A. False ID/DL Checking Guide 

• Ask pertinent questions about the ID presented. 
For example, if an ID card is presented as proof 
of age, ask how the driving was on the way to 
the establishment. If the person was driving, ask 
to see his DL. 

• Check the card’s expiration date. If the DL has 
expired, maybe it really does not belong to the 
holder, but to an older sibling who has already 
got a replacement for it. How did he/she get to 
the establishment - drive, using an expired DL? 

• Watch for stamp of “duplicate” on the card. If 
they have a duplicate, maybe someone else has 
the original, and one of them is lying. 

• People with false IDs rarely carry backup doc-
umentation, whereas most people have several 
forms. When confronted with a possible false 
ID, ask for further documentation. 

• Question the carrier as to some basic infor-
mation on the card, such as address, exact birth 
date, middle initial, or spelling of last name. If 
they don’t answer to your satisfaction, refuse 
service and request that they immediately leave. 

B. Things to look for: 

• Glue lines. 

• Bumpy surfaces by the picture or birth date. 
Any surface area inconsistent with the rest of 
the ID usually indicates tampering. 

• Overlay of reprinted numbers (and a shadowy 
or cloudy image). ID card may have been 
opened to alter numbers. 

• Missing spots on the state logo. ID alterers of-
ten forget to pay attention to one of the most 
obvious clues on the card. 

• Comparison to legitimate DL or ID. Letters and 
numbers; size of lettering; format of the card. 
How may digits for expiration and date of 
birth? 

• Use a blacklight and magnifying glass to check 
for security features such as ultraviolet/micro-
printing on the DL or ID. 

• Check reverse side lettering. Oftentimes coun-
terfeiters will spend great amounts of time on 
reproducing an authentic-looking photoboard, 
but will merely photocopy the reverse side. 
These are often blurred, a sure sign of photo-
copying. 

• Bend the card, feel it. How does it feel com-
pared to the authentic card? 

• What is the color of card? 

• Check the size of the DL. How does it compare 
to a genuine one? 

• Check the color/thickness and clarity of letter-
ing. 

• Check thickness of the card. 

• Check the corners of the card. Are they well-
rounded and smooth or uneven and jagged? 
This is one of the best methods for detecting 
counterfeit cards. 

• Is there shading or glare on the picture or red-
ness in eyes? Most driver licensing stations 
have their cameras set to avoid these problems. 

• Use an ID Checking Guide, especially in areas 
where there is a heavy out-of-state population 
(colleges, tourist communities). There are sev-
eral commercial companies that publish these 
guides, which picture all of the states’ driver’s 
licenses. 

• Consistency with the numbers. These are often 
targets for alteration experts. Look closely, be-
cause they may really be altered. 

• Always check the reverse side. 

• Compare questionable document to the “stand-
ard”, your own driver’s license. Check letters 
and numbers, both for size and consistency 
against the authentic card. 
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• Check the laminate. How does it compare to the 
authentic? Is it clear or cloudy? 

XXVIII. CIVIL LIABILITY FOR 
RETAINING ID 

Civil Liability for retaining proofs of age. 
(Sec. 125.039, Wis. Stats.).  

No person who holds a license or permit and no em-
ployee of such a person is civilly liable for retaining a 
document presented as proof of age for a reasonable 
length of time in a good faith effort to determine wheth-
er the person who presented the document is an 
underage person or to notify law enforcement of a sus-
pected violation of carrying a false ID. 

XXIX. CIGARETTE/TOBACCO 
PRODUCTS LAWS 

A. Definitions: 

• Cigarette - any roll of tobacco wrapped in paper 
or any substance other than tobacco. 

• Nicotine Product – means a product that con-
tains nicotine and is not any of the following: 

1. A tobacco product. 

2. A cigarette. 

3. A product that has been approved by the 
U.S. food and drug administration for sale 
as a smoking cessation product or for an-
other medical purpose and is being 
marketed and sold solely for such an ap-
proved purpose. 

• Tobacco products means cigars; cheroots;  
stogies; periques; granulated, plug cut, crimp 
cut, ready-rubbed and other smoking tobacco; 
snuff, including moist snuff; snuff flour; caven-
dish; plug and twist tobacco; fine cut and other 
chewing tobaccos; shorts; refuse scraps, clip-
pings, cuttings and sweepings of tobacco and 
other kinds and forms of tobacco prepared in 
such manner as to be suitable for chewing or 
smoking in a pipe or otherwise, or both for 
chewing and smoking; but "tobacco products" 

does not include cigarettes, as defined under 
s. 139.30 (1m). 

• Adult - a person who is 18 years of age or old-
er. 

• Minor - a person who is under 18 years of age. 

B. License Required - You may not in any manner or 
upon any pretense or by any device, directly or indi-
rectly sell, expose for sale, possess with intent to 
sell or give away any cigarettes or tobacco products 
to any person not holding a license or permit under 
sec. 139.30-139.41 or 139.79, Wis. Stats., without 
first obtaining a license from the municipality 
where you are doing business. 

C. Purchases/Preservation of Records - No retailer 
may possess cigarettes or tobacco products pur-
chased from anyone other than a manufacturer, 
distributor or jobber who holds a valid permit from 
the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. If a retailer 
purchases tobacco products from an out-of-state 
company that does not have a permit from the Wis-
consin Department of Revenue, the retailer must 
obtain the permit from the Wisconsin Department 
of Revenue. Retailers must keep invoices for all 
purchases of cigarettes/tobacco products on the li-
censed premises for 2 years from the date of 
invoice. Keep them in sequence and in a chronolog-
ical order. They must be available for inspection at 
all reasonable hours, including all business hours. 

D. Inspection of Licensed Premises/Confiscation Au-
thority - Licensed premises may be inspected by 
law enforcement officers during all reasonable 
hours, including all business hours. All cigarettes or 
tobacco products kept in violation of the laws and 
all personal property used in connection is subject 
to seizure. Any refusal to permit the inspection is 
punishable by fine, imprisonment or both. 

E. Sales to Minors/Sales of Individual Cigarettes - No 
retailer may sell or give away cigarettes, tobacco 
products, or nicotine products (including electronic 
cigarettes containing nicotine) to minors; no retailer 
may sell individual cigarettes. 

F. Possession of Cigarettes/Tobacco Products/Nicotine 
Products by Children - A child may possess ciga-
rettes/tobacco products/nicotine products for the 
sole purpose of resale in the course of employment 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.30(1m)
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during his/her working hours if employed by a re-
tailer licensed under sec. 134.65, Wis. Stats. 

G. Training Requirement - Retailers are required to 
provide training to employees whose duties include 
the sale of cigarettes/tobacco products/nicotine 
products. The training program must be an ap-
proved program by the Department of Health and 
Family Services. 

H. As of March 1, 2004, only those cigarettes and 
Roll-Your-Own (RYO) tobacco products listed  
on the Wisconsin Department of Justice’s (DOJ) 
website listing labeled Directory of Certified  
Tobacco Manufacturers and Brands may be sold 
to Wisconsin consumers. (DOJ’s website: 
https://www.doj.state.wi.us/dls/tobacco-directory.) 
Product that is not listed cannot be sold or pos-
sessed for sale after the date shown on the website 
listing. Wholesalers and retailers who possess this 
product for sale or sell this product in violation are 
subject to confiscation of that product and/or fines, 
forfeitures and revocation of their permits. 

I. Minimum Markup on Cigarettes and Tobacco at 
Retail. The unfair Sales Act Sec. 100.30, Wis. 
Stats., commonly referred to as the Minimum 
Markup Law”, applies to the sale of cigarettes and 
tobacco products and is regulated by the Wisconsin 
Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Pro-
tection (DATCP). For questions on cigarette and 
tobacco products pricing/markup, please contact 
DATCP at the following numbers: (608) 224-4992 
or (608) 224-4989. 

Alcohol or tobacco products may not be sold at less 
than cost by either wholesalers or retailers. Cost in-
cludes a presumptive 3% markup by wholesalers 
and presumptive 6% markup by retailers.  

XXX. VIDEO GAMBLING 

Effective July 26, 2003, the video gambling statutes 
were amended to provide that only a Special Agent of 
the Department of Revenue that is certified as a law 
enforcement officer may investigate or enforce video 
gambling violations on Class B alcohol beverages li-
censed premise, if the Class B premises has no more 
than five video gambling machines. 

The penalties for having five or fewer video gambling 
machines on a Class B premises include seizure of the 
machines, seizure of money in the machines, and a pen-
alty of $500 per machine per incident. A municipality 
may also enact ordinances regulating these machines. 

It is a felony for a Class B establishment to have more 
than five video gambling machines on premises; it is 
also a felony for a Class A licensee to have any video 
gambling machines on premises. In these instances, the 
licensee may be arrested either by a Special Agent of 
the Department of Revenue or a law enforcement of-
ficer in the jurisdiction where the arrest is made. 

The Department of Revenue conducts tax audits of both 
machine operators and Class B establishments. The 
gross receipts from these illegal machines is also sub-
ject to Wisconsin sales tax, the net income is subject to 
Wisconsin income or franchise tax, and the purchase of 
the machines is subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax. 

https://www.doj.state.wi.us/dls/tobacco-directory
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