

# WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

# **AGENDA**

## SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON STATE-TRIBAL RELATIONS

Representative Jeffrey Mursau, Chair Senator Kathleen Vinehout, Vice-Chair

**September 12, 2018** 

Room 411 South State Capitol Madison, WI

10:00 a.m. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Representative Robert Brooks, Co-Chair, Joint Legislative Council.
- Jessica Karls-Ruplinger, Deputy Director, Legislative Council Staff.
- Representative Jeffrey Mursau, Chair.

10:15 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

10:20 a.m. REVIEW OF COMMITTEE WORK FROM 2016 INTERIM.

• LC Study Committee Memorandum, "Recommendations of the Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations Enacted During the 2017-18 Session" (September 5, 2018).

10:30 a.m. PRESENTATION ON AMERICAN INDIAN STUDIES CURRICULUM, INCLUDING REQUIREMENTS RELATED TO 1989 WISCONSIN ACT 31:

- David O'Connor, American Indian Studies Consultant, Department of Public Instruction.
- Dee Pettack, Legislative Liaison, Department of Public Instruction.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/lc">leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov/lc</a> http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc

\*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

#### 11:30 a.m. PRESENTATION ON BATTERY TO AN OFFICER OF A TRIBAL COURT:

- Judge Robert Collins, Oneida Judiciary.
- Judge James Schlender, Lac Courte Oreilles Tribal Court.
- John Wilhelmi, Attorney, Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin.
- Gary Besaw, Tribal Legislator, Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin.

### 12:30 p.m. COMMITTEE DISCUSSION AND PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

- October 10, 2018.
- November 15, 2018.
- December 13, 2018.

1:30 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

\*An orientation session for the committee's public members will begin one hour prior to the meeting. Legislative members are not required to attend.

Other committee members: Sens. Bewley, Carpenter, Petrowski, and Taylor; Reps. Considine and Edming; and Public Members Allen, Besaw, Cleveland, Daniels, Jr., Decorah, Holsey, McGeshick, Peterson, Summers, and Weaver.