

## STATE OF WISCONSIN

## JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Legislative Council Study Committee on Public Disclosure and Oversight of Child Abuse and Neglect Incidents

Chair Patrick Snyder, Representative

129 East Charles Street Schofield, WI 54476

Diane Cable, Director

Department of Human Services, Eau Claire County 721 Oxford Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54703

Susan Conwell, Executive Director

Kids Matter, Inc. 1850 N. Martin Luther King Drive, #202 Milwaukee, WI 53212

**André Jacque**, Senator 1615 Lost Dauphin Road DePere, WI 54115

Jermaine Reed, Director Fresh Start Family Services

1720 West Florist Avenue, #200 Glendale, WI 53209

**Lisa Subeck**, Representative 818 S. Gammon Road, #4 Madison, WI 53719 Vice Chair Kathy Bernier, Senator

10923 40<sup>th</sup> Avenue Chippewa Falls, WI 54729

Emily Coddington, Associate Director

Wisconsin Assoc. of Family & Children's Agencies 16 N. Carroll Street Madison, WI 53703

Tim Easker, Director

Department of Human Services, Chippewa County 711 N. Bridge Street Chippewa Falls, WI 54729

LaTonya Johnson, Senator

2363 N. 54<sup>th</sup> Street Milwaukee, WI 53707

Lisa Roberts, Division Manager

Department of Health Services, Waukesha County 514 Riverview Avenue Waukesha, WI 53188

July 31, 2020

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Study Committee is directed to examine the requirements created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 78, and analyze whether those requirements provide an effective mechanism for public disclosure and legislative oversight of certain egregious incidents of child abuse or neglect and certain reports of abuse of children placed in out-of-home care. The committee shall consider whether to modify the types of incidents prompting disclosure and reports, as well as the nature and timing of any required disclosures or reports. In addition, the committee shall consider modifying the manner in which the Legislature reviews the required disclosures and reports and consider whether to subject alternative or additional information to regular review by the Legislature.

11 MEMBERS: 2 Representatives; 3 Senators; and 6 Public Members.

<u>LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF</u>: Amber Otis, Staff Attorney, and Melissa Schmidt, Senior Staff Attorney, and Tracey Young, Administrative Staff.